WalesSouth AfricaWales (3) 12 / 6 (3) Springboks (Final Score)

Wales and the South African Springboks did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Millennium stadium, Cardiff, Wales at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

Take Note that the England vs Australia game was at the same time slot as the Wales vs South Africa game, therefore we concentrated on the Wales vs South Africa game, with SCORE UPDATES at the Bottom of the Article on the England vs Australia game.

Wales:

• Penalties – Leigh Halfpenny (4)

• Penalties – Pat Lambie (2)

Wales
South African Springboks
29 November at 16:30
  • Team: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (Captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Gethin Jenkins
    Replacements: 16 Emyr Phillips, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 James King, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende

Expected weather: The roof will be closed, as always, but it will be damp underfoot and even though the surface has improved, it still cuts up at times. High of 12°C and low of 7°C
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Pascal Gauzère (France)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

EnglandAustraliaEngland (13) 26 / 17 (3) Wallabies (Final Score)

England and the Australian Wallabies did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 BST & GMT).

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 6 & CSN on TV in SA.

656 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Wales vs South Africa – Live Game Article

1 2 3 22

Therefor Engalnd?

iPad

According to some, Janneman will now come into his own after Jaques Fourie’s retirement from international rugby earlier this week. The feeling is that he is now assured of the no. 13 jersey for next year’s WC and that that fact will help him to play to his true potential (20 test matches into his international career). Amazed

Let’s wait and see if he can start his “new beginning” today against Wales. Can he start to show us how he was going to take the “international rugby world by storm”, as was predicted more than 3 years ago at the end of the Junior World Cup. Wink

It will be The Cousins and the Taffies.

And if that upsets anyone…………………………………………….WTF.
    That’s life.

There is more serious shit all about us.

3 @ Nama:
    I recon the Bulls should play Burger Odendaal at No 12 and Jan Serfontein at No 13, the whole of Super Rugby 2015… that should settle him nicely at No 13, with lots of vital experience there and maybe he adds a few things to his armaments in the process too while he is at it.

South Africa is short on quality No 13’s!

– Juan de Jongh impresses at Currie Cup level, bit less so at Super Rugby level… and has never impressed at Springbok level.
    – Paul Jordaan is excellent on attack but very frail on defence.
    – JJ Engelbrecht is rightly in the Springbok wilderness and should never make Springbok centre again if it was up to me.
    – The Cheetahs have had a lot of turnaround in the players who played centres in the last few years and Rayno Benjamin who was tried at No 13, was one of the worst defenders at No 13 in the 2014 Super Rugby season, according to the stats.
    – The Lions centres need to find some continuity and stability next season, but it is a long way to go till a Lions centre can be made a Bok.

Who else is there as a very logical candidate for No 13, without converting a wing like S’Bura Sithole or JP Pietersen or one of the regular inside centres to a No 13?

What has been impressive with Jean de Villiers and Jan Serfontein at centres for the Bokke, is that midfield defence has been bloody solid… and THAT is needed in a World Cup tournament.

Watching the replay NZ/Wales at the moment, 3-3 at the break.
    We will have to play out of our socks here today this is one hell of a Welsh side Afraid
    Marcell vs Warburton a determiner at the breakdowns, Ritchie came second last Saturday….
    Lambie has to kick those penalties, all of them!

GO BOKKE! Going to miss this one, hope its a good one for all of you watching

The thing is that HM is effectively playing Janneman at 12 even though he wears the no. 13 on his back. Would be much better if he just comes out and select Jan at inside centre and Jean at outside centre. A lot of Jan’s weaknesses as an outside centre are being masked because he plays in the inside channel so much. Obviously good for the team but it still does not make him the answer at outside centre. Maybe if he plays there for the Bulls regularly, as you suggest, he may well be the solution in a year or two. For now, I still have my reservations.

I’m not so sure that JdJ had been afforded the same kind of opportunities that other players have but we’ll have to agree to disagree on him. He is the only quality specialist outside centre that we currently have and has proved himself to be the best in the country over the last two years at least.

De Allende, Taute and JJE are just not outside centres.

Rayno Benjamin and Jordaan, as you rightly point out, are disasters on defence.

In our last 4 matches we conceded 3 tries against NZ, 2 against Ireland and 3 against England. Italy didn’t score a try against us but they are more likely to score with their forwards against us in any case.

6 @ Pietman:
    Hi Pietman there were a lot of turnovers on both sides in the Wales v Aus game. Warburton is really good at 7, not sure if he is injured but on form Tipuric is up there with the best as well so we lucky that he is not on the bench to take over from Warburton.

The field is levelling out Pieterman……………………………………………………………next years RWC could be the best ever.
    The Eurotrash are making inroads every day.

Ireland have just won consecutive Test Matches against the Wallabies and the Boks…………………………………Next year, that may well be good enough, to get them into the RWC Final.

@ cane:
    Yip, especially with the RWC being held in the UK….home games, all of them, for the Irish and Poms.

8 @ Nama:
    Another thing I would do, if I was the Sharks (and by implication on request by Heyneke Meyer for the Bokke), is to play S’Bura Sithole continiously at No 13 in 2015’s Super Rugby season.

I rate S’Bura highly and I recon he could become a devastating No 13 over time.

It’s a bit bloody sad that this game will be the LAST Southern Hemisphere rugby of importance before a loooong off-season.

Soon we will be galla-ing for decent rugby again… and will have to keep ourselves sort of satisfied with some Euro Rugby, Cricket… ect, ect.

Full discussion on the individual Super Rugby squad members for the 5 participating SA Super Rugby sides in December will be very interesting though.. and will keep us nice and busy!

Yes, he put in a few good performances a 13 for the Sharks. Probably some questions about his defence as well but it can only improve if he plays there more regularly.

14 @ Nama:
    Attacking ability and generally the ability to side-step as well as proper vision and a feel for the game one cannot teach… that lies in the natural sportsman inside, honed over many years.

One CAN refine it…

However, I believe defence and defensive control and alignment can for the large part be taught.. those are techniques, structures, player alignment, it is the clever limitation of space and it is about presenting the opposition the correct shoulder… ect, ect.

So, yeah, I think it can be taught…

Maybe in line with that, Paul Jordaan should also be sent to DEFENCE SCHOOL.

Agree with you there.

Also attitude… a very important ingredient of a good defender. Just compare Aplon/Kolbe with a bigger Hendricks. The aforementioned two are not afraid to put their bodies on the line against much bigger players while Hendricks seemed to shy away from direct contact.

16 @ Nama:
    Yip!

That lekker muscle between the ears… mindset…

Maybe Kolbe should for now be groomed as Willie le Roux’s World Cup understudy at fullback for 2015, as I do not believe we have found his replacement yet in case he gets injured. Kolbe and Mvovo, I feel, is bloody well suited to that role.

After 2015 the world could be Kolbe’s oyster!

Will have to see how he goes in SR next year.

AB/Aus are masters at the cross kicks and they have players who are great at plucking the ball from the air. I can see their SR teams employ that tactic against the Stormers quite a lot when they get into our 22 because of Kolbe’s size. But I do think that the positives he brings to the table outweighs the negatives.

18 @ Nama:
    Yip… the All Blacks and Crusaders use Kieran Read a lot out wide, to grab balls from cross-kicks.

Big tall forward, with great hands, against a smaller and less robust winger almost every time…

I also think there are many, many positives in Kolbe’s play.

What’s your feeling about this afternoon’s game? I’m getting tired of the Boks not performing well… consistently. A lot of mediocre/crappy performances interspersed with a very good performance.

Which Bok side will turn up today?

20 @ Nama:
    I am worried about today… hope the one foot is not on the plane back already.

Flok, nou wil hulle hê ek moet help om Kombi seats terug te sit en in te click, voor die game beginne…

Hulle beter hulle gatte in rat kry, die horlosie tik!

Ok, hier gaat ons!
    Laat rol Bokke, hierdie is n MOET wen, o flokkit, julle moet hulle vat voor, sommer van meet af!
    Go Boykies! Vir oulaas… Slam-Dunk

Springboks coming out onto the pitch

Wales now also led out onto the pitch, by Sam Warburton, who was not in South Africa in June with Wales.

Roof of Millennium Stadium is closed today.

First a minute of silence…

Next up will the the Anthems

Stand up for the South African National Anthem!

OK, Nkosi done and dusted…

Now for the Welsh voices….

Anthems already done at the England / Wallabies game too!

Welsh Anthem now done and dusted too.

Wallabies have just kicked off in the other game!

1 2 3 22

Total 50 users including 0 member, 50 guests, 0 bot online