USANew-ZealandUSA Eagles (6) 6 / 74 (43) All Blacks (Final Score)

The United States of America’s Eagles and New Zealand All Blacks did battle in the End Of Year Tours at

Soldier Field, Chicago at 22:00 SA Time (15:00 Chicago Time, 20:00 GMT, 09:00 Sunday NZ Time).

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1 CSN on TV in SA.

USA:

• Penalties – Adam Siddall (2)

• Penalties – 0
  • Tries – Nathan Harris (1), Cory Jane (1), Patrick Tuipulotu (1), Sonny Bill Williams (2), Charles Piutau (1), Julian Savea (2), Joe Moody (1), Aaron Cruden (1), Israel Dagg (1), Sam Cane (1)
  • Conversions – Aaron Cruden (4), Dan Carter (3)

Unites States Of America
New Zealand All Blacks
1 November at 22:00
  • Team: 15 Chris Wyles, 14 Blaine Scully, 13 Seamus Kelly, 12 Andrew Suniula, 11 Brett Thompson, 10 Adam Siddall, 9 Mike Petri, 8 Danny Barrett, 7 Scott Lavalla, 6 Todd Clever (Captain), 5 Hayden Smith, 4 Samu Manoa, 3 Olive Kilifi, 2 Phil Thiel, 1 Eric Fry
  • Replacments: 16 Tom Coolican, 17 Nick Wallace, 18 Mate Moeakiola, 19 Tai Tuisamoa, 20 Louis Stanfill, 21 Shalom Suniula, 22 Folau Niua, 23 Troy Hall
  • Team: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Kieran Read (Captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Victor Vito, 5 Patrick Tuipulotu, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Joe Moody
  • Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ben Franks, 19 Brodie Retallick, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Dan Carter, 23 Julian Savea

Assistant Referees: Chris Assmus (Canada), Andrew McMaster (Canada)
TMO: Brian Arciero (Canada)

189 Responses to End Of Year Tours: United States of America vs New Zealand – Live Game Article

OK, almost Pumpkin time, signing off here too.

150 @ Angostura:
    Tjorts Agness… have a good one!

Scott spedding, ex Shark is called up for france as well, his reaction…

Attachment:

Thanks for the power cut Eskom you useless bunch of tw*ts.
    Disapproval

@ BrumbiesBoy: what can we say? Powerless idiots. Simply shocking.

You cant call Brumbiesboy or all people suffering without power idiots Pleasure

Tassies wrote:

@ BrumbiesBoy: what can we say? Powerless idiots. Simply shocking.

So many puns 😆

@ MacroBok: ja well. Boredom set in.

we lost power this evening. No issue. Simply powered up the braai. But for some(who are married to gaming etc) this is a major train-smash. Life used to ge so much simpler.

I’m busy planning a trip up the “Weskus” which fortunately only requires the power of the wind, sea, sun, elbow and sometimes the combustion engine. Now isn’t that something to look forward to?

Kia ora, I see there was reference to Sbw being a Code Mercenary…. I suppose it is how you perceive it… Me personally couldn’t give a hoot… He has played for the two teams that I hold in the highest, the Mighty Kiwis and the Nz flagship, the All Blacks… and has made a good fist of it.
    I remember when he left Nz as a fifteen year old to pursue his dream of becoming a professional RL player and to see him hitting holes for the Abs 14 years later makes me sit back in awe of his talent and professionalism… If he is a mercenary then so be it…. all good….

162 @ Te Rangatira:
    Yeah, it was me who described him as a Code Hopping Mercenary… and yes again you are right, the perception is in the eye of the beholder.

I think he is supremely gifted as a rugby player… very, very bloody good too!

I have a problem with hopping codes so many times though… as a 15-year old he hopped to Rugby League, then he hopped back to Rugby Union, some pro boxing in between… back to Rugby League and now back to Rugby Union again.

In my eyes that is a Code Hopper…

It’s not about the fact that he plays for the All Blacks and quite frankly if a South African or Bulls player did the same, he would be a Code Hopper too in my eyes.

I can’t help but feel how good Sonny Bill would have been by now if he did not have this code hopping flaw in his make-up and constitution.

@ grootblousmile: gooi naandt GB. Sparring with the enemy again tonight I see. I happen to share you view in its entirety. Chasing the $ is not in my book of acceptable practises, especially at the income levels of these guys.

Howzit grootblousmile… yes I can understand your thoughts on Sbw being a code hopper and there are many Nz’ers, dyed in the wool All Black & Rugby nutters 😆 who feel the same way. But where I come from, here in Auckland, many of us have played and support both codes, so he is one of us…we can identify with him and the respect he has for both codes… To see him transfer the skills he has learnt in the underdog code of League to the International stage of Union gives us a thrill…Maybe he wont go down as the greastest Ab or even the best of the Kiwis, perhaps the greatest Mercenary of them all, to me that is good enough…

164 @ Tassies:
    Maybe we’re too “Old School”, Tasse.

I do not have a problem with the guys earning god money from the game.

If one compares a rugby career to a regular job, it has to be noted that I also frown on someone who cannot keep one steady job, but chooses to job-hop.. which in my eyes is a very undesired practice.

I see that as a loyalty failure, to put it bluntly…

But I do not prescribe how others should perceive or need to perceive it and in the context of the comments the other night, I had an objection against my opinion described as NONSENSE. To that I do take objection and voiced my displeasure at it.

I do not think Rangi overstepped that line a couple of comments up, in fact he is quite diplomatic about it… and I respect his feelings and opinion about the matter.

@ grootblousmile: Yup. Saw that. Personally I thought that to be rather mild banter from Nortie but then that’s just me. What I most enjoy about this site is the gentlemanly repartee between the okes on this creation of yours, without the woos factor. Most folk have an opinion, if sometimes plain dof(like a few who shall remain nameless), but opinions are accepted and respected. Its one of the qualities which makes this site what it is and we all come back for more. Not the only quality though. Pub night is a big win too. 🙂

165 @ Te Rangatira:
    No problem Rangi… describing it like you do, does mitigate it somewhat.

You have to appreciate that in SA, Rugby League is a non-factor… in fact it is a puny, puny sporting code in our neck of the woods.

To me it still amounts to some form of job-hopping though… and that is largely what I frown upon. Like I indicated, to me it has basic loyalty or disloyalty elements attached… therefore the mercenary tag I ascribe to it.

@ Te Rangatira: fair enough Rangy. Where is RL played in your good city? Out of what stadium? Just interested.

167 @ Tassies:
    I try and stay innovative… and suggestions about more new ideas is always welcome.

Just wish I had bloody more time available sometimes, man… jeez I work my butt off!

@ grootblousmile: ditto GB. AND I do not frown on players striving to earn what they can. Its their living. But I do have a problem when I perceive this to trump a basic moral code. For example, when contracts are broken in favour of a higher bidder.

171 @ Tassies:
    I also have an issue with Jake White… if that serves to answer that question!

@ grootblousmile: you’re not alone. I sent my first mail off before 6 this morning. Zip break whatsover until I walked in the door a 5 to 7 this evening. I wish I could say that was a freak day. The price one pays for being a small business owner. In this climate the pressure on some of us is immense. You know there’s a problem when you look forward to your first break in over a year and it’s a 5 day trip up the Weskus with your mates, sleeping under the stars and a morning dive in the chilly Atlantic in search of an orange breakfast that crawls. 😀

@ grootblousmile: it does. After reading his book, I’ve never been surprised by his behaviour since and merely serves to endorse what I perceive to be a flawed character. A good coach mind you. In a technical dimension.

@ grootblousmile: Nope. I like it just the way it is. As the saying goes: “if it ain’t broke, why fix it?”

Hi Tassies, just at work at the moment, but there are league clubs throughout Auckland….especially strong in South Auckland, West Auckland and in Suburbs around the inner city, where Sbw grew up and played for Mt Albert. Auckland is also the home of the Warriors, Nz’s only NRL franchise.

I am currently reading Richard Branson’s latest book, The Virgin Way. What an interesting and innovative character. I’m wondering how he going to deal with his latest setback, for which he is taking heaps of flack. He certainly knows how to push the boundaries and more often than not, succeeds in his mission.

173 @ Tassies:
    I try to rest on a Sunday… so I slept late yesterday… very late.

But then I had to work in the late afternoon into the small hours again, till bloody 02:30 this morning because of work pressure.

It’s OK though, I virtually do not know what working for a boss is like, quite frankly I would not be able to take an asshole’s shit and I have had ONE tough boss now for 25 years… the toughest bastard out there… myself!

I am not an early morning person, my body clock just does not function that way, but I work deep into nights… late nights!

As I am sitting here, still in my office, I am waiting for some PC’s to finish what they are doing, before I go in to the house… and tomorrow is another rough day out there.

But I won’t change it for the world, and luckily in my lines of business the tills keep rolling, so all is good!

@ Te Rangatira: thanks for that Rangy. Seen your good city(during the RWC) but was limited to N Shore (as you’d expect) and the city centre. Aside from that, drove south on the freeway en route to Wellington. Can’t observe much from the freeway sadly. Absolutely loved Kiwi. Damn we were well received everywhere. But I blame you guys for my damaged liver.

177 @ Tassies:
    Can’t remember when last I read a book… and I so enjoyed reading!

Doing what I do, the eyes take a pounding though… so when away from a PC Screen, I have to totally break away from straining the eyes…

Total 98 users including 0 member, 98 guests, 0 bot online