Ruan Dreyer

Ruan Dreyer

Golden Lions prop Ruan Dreyer has been called up to the Springbok squad as injury cover for Jannie du Plessis.

Dreyer will join the squad in Italy as soon as his travel arrangements have been made.

Du Plessis left the field during the Springboks’ 31-28 victory over England at Twickenham on Saturday.

rugby365

The Boks are already without back-up tightheads Frans Malherbe and Marcel van der Merwe.

“Jannie will probably not be ready this weekend and Gurthro Steenkamp is not available to face Wales next week so we’ve decided to bring Ruan in,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“Ruan has been very good this season and played an integral role in the Lions’ strong performances in the scrum.

“This presents a great opportunity to work with him.”

70 Responses to End Of Year Tours: Springboks – Lions prop Ruan Dreyer called up to squad

Ps i like the team you selected. Looks damn exciting.

But the 5 changes we saw was guys that has been with the swuad all RC. AND NOT 3 OR 4 deputants.

We will also have to rever5 back to another team for wales.

31 @ MacroBok:
    Because Wales still loom, is exactly why I would play as few as possible of the OVERSEAS contingent in the Bokke, because they will not be available for the Wales game anyway, due to the fact that 29 November falls OUTSIDE the international window.

In my mind that rules out Goosen, Habana, Bakkies, Gurthro, Jano Vermaak, JP Pietersen, Flo Louw & Morné Steyn…. already for the Italy game!

Jannie du Plessis is injured and most probably out of the Wales Test as well, so never a better opportunity to test 2 new tightheads at the Springboks!

Sorry for the caps.

Id like to keep most of the team but rotate duane eith carr and bring julian in… Also what is the solution for fb? Goosen or mvovu? Also what is de allendes role in the team? And who is backup at 13?

GBS although I like your team, bear in mind that Schalk is not available. Oupa should then slot in but IMO Heyneke will not pick such an inexperienced loose trio.
    I’m also quite certain that he’ll pick Coenie at 3 and not at 1. I have expressed my views before that Coenie is no tighthead. Although I therefore agree with you, I don’t think HM will “listen” to us

BTW I wonder how much game time De Allende has had this season. The guy must be beyond rusty !! After his comeback from injury he has virtually never played a match !!

34 @ charlesm:
    Yeah, I am well aware that MY team will not be selected… as I’ve already stated.

… and yeah, Coenie will get the nod as starting Tighthead…. pity, I would never play him at Tighthead again.

I forgot that old Schalla also now counts as an OVERSEAS player… eish!

In light of that, Oupa would probably start as Blindsider… which would make me select Marcell Coetzee as the experienced loosie to start at openside, but then I’d have Jaco Kriel on the bench, and give him a good run, if possible.

@ charlesm:
    I agree. I want kriel to play as much as anyone, but finding backup to duane is a priority.

29 @ grootblousmile:
    Agree, and HM needs at least 2 equally good players in each position…all top flight teams do, to challenge a WC.
    We are getting there, and as with that team you selected, they do need to blood some new players to see if some of them have what it takes.
    Bok supporters are fickle creatures though, we demand results every test, so it’s difficult for the coach to blood new p,ayers and to keep winning or playing well enough to keep the wolves at bay.
    Geen wonder die coaches raak so vinnig grys nie 😆

Hi nortie re your comment earlier about the players not been willing to give up their places – I think this Boks coaching team coach and select the team Wink

Yep Bully, agree with that.
    GBS was rightfully mentioning that the current coaches have the full backing and respect of the players, and according to all reports it certainly seems like that, but I still believe that deep down, every player will try and cling onto his spot, even if rotating (or sitting out) might be for the better good of the team.
    In Afrikaans we have a nice saying that sums it up….”die een se dood is die ander se brood”

11 @ Bullscot:

Yes, upon reflection, you’re correct in respect of Jano Vermaak & Johan Goosen – but the Bokke don’t need Gurthrö, Bakkies, & Morné if they are not going to be selected for Saturday’s match 23. There is enough cover inside this squad for unforseen injuries at loosehead, lock & flyhalf.

Problem areas going forward is tighthead,over reliance on Matfield, Vermeulen, Le Roux, Jannie and even JDV. At this stage there are no clear challengers for their positions that has been trialed. Though Flip, Alberts, Flow and Malherbe are bound to come back from injury.

The team I would play.

Trevor/Beast
    Strauss
    Redelinghuys/Coenie

When is Trevor going to get a start, he is going to be in the matchday squad. regardless so we have to give him a start eventually, Strauss could keep that combination with Trevor to make Julians transition a little easier. The bok management know full and well Coenies weaknesses at 3, so it would be very disappointing to start him there and a huge error by HM.

Bakkies/Matfield
    Eben

3 constants in this selection, Bakkies,Matfield and Eben are all in the world cup plans… Lood is just too far down the pecking order to justify selection when these three are available, Id bring Lood in on the bench next week, but with Flip, PSDT there ahead of him it will be difficult to see him make the WC squad in the NH. I would have Eben play the No5 role till Matfield takes the field, as long as Eben gets a full game. Plus the Italians will target us in the scrums and a heavy second row will help stabilise the scrums and give our backs front foot ball.

Marcell
    Oupa
    Carr…/vermeulen

I would like Kriel there, but 2 debutants is a bridge too far. Truth is Kriel is the better player, but for now we need cover for Duane and Carr is the man atm, Oupa has been there all year and has played together with coetzee and Coetzee has been one of our best forwards this year, would like him there to give some stability. Duane for some experience off the bench, painfully no Kriel.

Reinach/Hougie
    Lambie/Pollard

Little explanation required.

Senatla
    JPP

Senatla will be exciting while JPP will give us XP in the back three

De Allende
    JDV

Give de Allende a shot at 12

Mvovu/Willie

We laughed at percy who surprised us all… lets give him a shot.

Italy has a decent pack & an outstanding #8

I agree with MacroBok – we shouldn’t be arrogant & underestimate them

I can’t see bringing in more than 2 or 3 uncapped players as a sound Test match strategy … it creates undue risk & is not really to the uncapped players advantage (when there is a dearth of experienced “hardebaarde”)

Angostura wrote:

Italy has a decent pack & an outstanding #8

I agree with MacroBok – we shouldn’t be arrogant & underestimate them

I can’t see bringing in more than 2 or 3 uncapped players as a sound Test match strategy … it creates undue risk & is not really to the uncapped players advantage (when there is a dearth of experienced “hardebaarde”)

3 uncapped players in my team 😳

but in 2 of our problem areas, tried my best to have experience as backup or in a combination with them though.

If Willie does not make it this weekend then Goosen would come onto the bench… biggest problem with my team is no center cover other than Pollard… but I maintain that i believe that Lambie and Pollard at 10/12 would be interesting, especially if we are enjoying front foot ball with Lwazi running from deep to take those long crisp flat Pollard passes… it might just work.

@ MacroBok:
    Hi pal.Agree.But that would mean dropping our
    captain.Not a bad idea though.

@ ryecatcher:
    Hey uncle rye, trust you are well.

I was just suggesting it as possible bench cover. I would like to start with de allende at 12 and jean at 13.

@ MacroBok:
    Hi MB de Allende a no more than adequate provincial
    player.Keep and sleep well

@ MacroBok:

when i suggested pollard/lambie at 10/12 some months ago, i was greeted with jeers of derision – you included.

why are you dodgy lot now following me? 🙄

@ Charo:
    49 Only 3 of us left to take on the hordes.Angostura,yourself and myself.We few.
    We happy few.We band of brothers.(W.S.)
    Hope that you and Helen
    are well.
    REgards.Rye.

My team for Italy would look like this:

15 Willie le Roux
    14 Seabelo Senatla
    13 Jan Serfontein
    12 Jean de Villiers
    11 Lwazi Mvovo
    10 Patrick Lambie / Handré Pollard (40 min each)
    9 Cobus Reinach
    8 Nizaam Carr
    7 Schalk Burger (for the experience factor)
    6 Jaco Kriel
    5 Lood de Jager
    4 Eben Etzebeth (needs to be played into form)
    3 Julian Redelinghuys
    2 Adriaan Strauss
    1 Coenie Oosthuizen (yes at LOOSEHEAD, not at tighthead)

Bench:
    16 Bismarck du Plessis (not Scarra, he is too far off the mark still)
    17 Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira – Loosehead sub
    18 Ruan Dreyer – Tighthead sub
    19 Victor Matfield or Bakkies Botha, does not really matter which one
    20 Marcell Coetzee
    21 Francois Hougaard
    22 Handré Pollard / Pat Lambie (40 min each… does not really matter who starts and who benches if they are each getting a full half game)
    23 Damian de Allende – Versatile, can play 12, 13, wing.

Firstly we should kick all our penalties, no Baabaa running rugby before the game is in the bag

I would play Goosen at 15 to see what happens we might need the fragile Johan

Allende next to Jean won’t be much of a disruption either, put Serfontein on the bench

I would play Pollard and Jano, if it doesn’t work out bring Reinach on after half time, try him and Pollard as well for twenty minutes and them play Lambie.

Marcell and Oupa with Jaco instead of Schalk, bring Carr on early

Maybe Eben and Bakkies with Lood coming on early?

Hey GBS, I drove past this the other day and thought it looked familiar 😛

http://glassblowca.nationprotect.net/

52 @ Victoriabok:

Fark, that’s one business I do NOT have…

…. as far as the rest is concerned, I sell from condoms to used Cadillacs…. hahaha

52 @ Victoriabok:

Fark, that’s one business I do NOT have…
    …. as far as the rest is concerned, I sell from condoms to used Cadillacs…. hahaha

I could see you involved in “blowing” 😆

@ Charo:
    As far as i recall i have maintained that if he is such a talented footballer as people suggest then he should be an adequate 12.

“The key to unlocking South African rugby’s attacking potential at the back is to start selecting a different type of player in the all-important inside centre position.
    That’s the view of former Springbok coach Nick Mallett, who feels it is no coincidence South Africa have failed to provide invention and flair at a time when they are virtually the only top rugby nation that continues to select centres whose main role is to operate almost as an extra flank by setting up the ball.
    Everywhere you look at the moment, the most successful teams appear to be the ones that have a player in the No 12 jersey who has either moved there from flyhalf, or who can easily make the switch if required.”

“But if you want to attack successfully, you have to have a creative presence at 12, someone with handling skills, stepping ability, someone who can pass well both left and right.”

5 August 2006

Used condom salesman’s slogan – “Refurbished French Letters”?

Scans revealed no fracture(s) to Willie’s cheekbone but “he’ll be managed during the week”.
    I’d say don’t play him on Saturday but use Goosen seeing that he’ll not be available next week.

@ Angostura:
    56: sadly Jean seems to have lost that ability to create space. The other possibility is that he has been “over coached” to such an extent that he simply goes for the crash ball too often nowadays

Angostura wrote:

“The key to unlocking South African rugby’s attacking potential at the back is to start selecting a different type of player in the all-important inside centre position.
    That’s the view of former Springbok coach Nick Mallett, who feels it is no coincidence South Africa have failed to provide invention and flair at a time when they are virtually the only top rugby nation that continues to select centres whose main role is to operate almost as an extra flank by setting up the ball.
    Everywhere you look at the moment, the most successful teams appear to be the ones that have a player in the No 12 jersey who has either moved there from flyhalf, or who can easily make the switch if required.”

“But if you want to attack successfully, you have to have a creative presence at 12, someone with handling skills, stepping ability, someone who can pass well both left and right.”

5 August 2006

and we have not changed in 8 years 😆

Total 61 users including 0 member, 61 guests, 0 bot online