John Philip "Bakkies" Botha

John Philip “Bakkies” Botha

John Philip “Bakkies” Botha, born 22 September 1979 in Newcastle, KwaZulu-Natal has had a glittering international career that drew to a close on 22 November 2014.

He will continue to play for his French Club Toulon and has even hinted at retiring in South Africa with the Currie Cup.

In his professional career Botha has won everything there is to win.

With the Blue Bulls he won the Vodacom Cup in 2001 and then went on to add three Currie Cup titles to his name in 2002, 2004 and 2009.

With the Bulls in Super Rugby, Botha was part of the first South African team to lift the trophy in 2007 (in the professional era – with Transvaal winning the Super 10 in 1993), and then again in 2009 and 2010.

rugby365

For the Springboks he has won the World Cup in 2007, the Tri-nations in 2004 and 2009 as well as a British and Irish Lions Series Trophy in 2009.

Botha has also picked up the Mandela Challenge plate in 2005 and 2009 against the Wallabies and the Freedom cup against the All Blacks in 2004 and 2009.

For Toulon, Botha won the European cup back-to-back in 2013 and 2014 as well as scooping the Top 14 League in 2014.

A true giant of the game in every sense, it is easy to smile when watching this clip…

Bakkies Botha, Willie John McBride, Victor Matfield & Heyneke Meyer

Bakkies Botha & Juan Smith in the streets of Toulon with their home-made BOEREWORS - You can take the BOER out of South Africa but you cannot take South africa out of the BOER!

Bakkies Botha & Juan Smith in the streets of Toulon with their home-made BOEREWORS – You can take the BOER out of South Africa but you cannot take South africa out of the BOER!

Bakkies Botha & Bryan Habana having a BRAAI in Toulon, France.

170 Responses to A TRIBUTE to Bakkies Botha, the hard man of Rugby

Tassies wrote:

@ Victoriabok: yip. And it brings tears to the eyes certainly. I watched this series. The Kiwi rebels were know as the NZ Cavaliers. Pretty decent side they were too.

The teams

http://www.espnscrum.com/scrum/rugby/match/21864.html

28 @ Victoriabok:
    Ja, Doornspruit Kelders… of Heuningspruit Kelders in Sunnyside.

29 @ Victoriabok:
    Klubrugby gespeel vir Harlequins, oopkantflank

@ MacroBok:
    HI MB
    THE backline vs Cavaliers and in flour bomb test put current
    crop to shame.Gerber,Mordt,Carel,Botha,Serfontein.Michael dup.
    Why dont we produce players of this calibre anymore?

@ ryecatcher:
    Morning uncle catcher of the rye

Those were all great players and will remain legends.

Just like comparing cricket players there will always be pitfalls when comparing rugby players out of different eras also we are comparing these guys who are legends in their own right+growing legends in our heads+what we visually see as short highlights packages to guys we have watched all year play well over a 1000 hours of rugby playing at their worst and their best.

Nothing to be proud of their Groot.
    The gutless cu..t (Your Cuzzie ), blindsided Dalton and ended his Tour. (Not that Cavaliers Tour should ever have gotten off the ground in the first place.)

This is the kind of thing Bakkies made a speciality of.

Meet the new Bok,
    same as the old Bok.
    Won’t get fooled again….no….no.

@ MacroBok:
    More neef.Sorry but dont agree with you.
    Crashball =current,Beating opponents with skill(side steps,swerves,
    change of pace the past.
    Danie Gerber,Carel incomparable whatever
    the era played in.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Rye

@ ryecatcher:
    No I am not saying Danie is not the best 13 we ever had, it would be difficult for anyone to argue against it.

But it is difficult to measure how Jean de Villiers would have gone in that era and style of rugby against the likes of Michael du Plessis for example?

Australia batsman Phil Hughes is in a critical condition after being hit by a bouncer at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The South Australia batsman, 25, who has played 26 Tests, collapsed after a delivery from New South Wales bowler Sean Abbott struck him on the helmet.

Hughes was carried off on a stretcher and an ambulance took him to hospital where he has undergone surgery.

South Australian Cricket’s manager Tim Nielsen said “the outcome is unlikely to be known for 24-48 hours”.

Jeraldjay wrote:

Australia batsman Phil Hughes is in a critical condition after being hit by a bouncer

How terrible!
    I wish him a complete & speedy recovery.

Geoff Boycott on the hazard of facing the ‘quicks’:

“To have some idea what it’s like, stand in the outside lane of a motorway, get your mate to drive his car at you at 95 mph and wait until he’s 12 yards away before you decide which way to jump.”

Geoff Boycott (1989)

Going to miss this man on the field. Always hard, always uncompromising, sometimes a bit over eager, but always an imposing presence on the field. He epitomised the way SA plays rugby on a good day.

@ Angostura:
    And to think that they never wore helmets once.
    May he make a full recovery.
    Andy Roberts broke David Hookes jaw with a bouncer.
    There is a story(Probably apocryphal) of brain exposed .
    Regards
    Rye

35 @ cane:
    O, dry your legs!!

If you think for a second that punch was unprovoked, then think again until it sinks in!

@ ryecatcher:

Howdy Rye

Yes, in retrospect it is frightening the risk batsmen & close-in fielders were exposed to in previous eras.
    I think it was the late Tony Greig that introduced the helmet to cricket.

Ciao

39 @ Angostura:

Yes it’s terrible news.

We were told to “keep your eye on the ball” as youngsters.

But these things happen and pitch conditions plays a major role.

35.A precursor to Cowan holding Bakkies jersey while he was chasing ball.
    Geldenhuys banned by Doc.
    from representing Boks.Ever again.Cowan remained unpunished.
    If you guys rejoice in calling Bakkies a thug,then Brad Cowan/Dalton
    (And several others) were unmitigated weasels.Not the archetypal
    hard but fair Kiwi rugby player which you love to portray selves
    as being.

I incidentally watched the Cavaliers game.You say that you boycotted the tour. Speaking from experience much or merely manifesting the NZ media habit of ignoring Kiwi indiscretions .
    Your TV repeated Bakkies klap ad nauseam.Showed Cowans
    jersey tugging once.Puts the producer constant repeats at
    Ellis Park in perspective.
    Something once written about removing the beam from your own
    eye.
    So lets hear it for Brad,certainly Bakkies equalNot to mention Richard Loe.Skinner.et al et al et,al
    You have a wonderful team whose rugby I admire.But also exhibit
    a cynicism which I despise.
    Spelling pass muster?

Rye

@ ryecatcher:
    35 What gives you the opinion that you can insult Springboks
    unopposed in every post of yours?
    Repetition = Boredom.Hence general lack of response to your
    snide comments

King Hit…………………………….from behind.

And your Cuzzie was then excluded from The Springbok Selection Process.

Seems even the SARU agree with me.

Another feature of THAT TOUR was the lineout lifting by the Boks. Still illegal under IRB Rules.

But hey WTF……………………………………everybody knows the dice were loaded.
    Everybody knows.

47 @ ryecatcher:
    Yeah Rye, his measure is not equal, one eye clearly closed or missing…. but that’s how we know it.

@ ryecatcher:

As I said, even the Bok Selectors seem to have agreed with me.
    We don’t all have to agree……………………………..do we?

@ Jeraldjay:

They used to call it the “perfume” ball… those perfectly pitched deliveries that rise sharply off a only fractionally short delivery passing close enough to the face of a batsman for him to “smell the leather”.

I think it was Malcolm Marshall who once nailed Mike Gatting and afterwards found fragments of the bone of Mike’s nose in the ball.

Lets hope the surgery to Hughes was successful and he makes a full recovery.

@ Angostura:
    44 Hello Ango.Long time and hope that you are well.
    There was a guy who played in unhelmeted era for
    “Mean Machine” Best hooker of short ball I have ever seen..
    (Mackenzie)
    Son opened for Boks until a few years ago.
    Regards
    Rye

@ ryecatcher:

As for insulting Springboks …………………………………………………Google Bakkies Botha or read his Profile on Wikipedia to see what the rest of humanity think.
    A thug is a thug by any other name.

51 Thanks music man.That is where my
    reference to exposed brain came from.Malcolm Marshall/Gatting
    Regards
    Rye

48 @ cane:
    Oh you google and youtube well… I have also seen that clip where they talk about lifting and such…

It was a different era, with differing interpretations worldwide, not only here or there in New Zealand.

Let it go Canie, you come accross as a terribly sour and embarrassing whinger…

You are a hypocrite!

You stand thousands and thousands of miles away and condemn the fact that the Cavallier tour took place…. well, by ’86 we were already fixing South Africa ourselves…

By ’83 already many, many like me voted in a Refferendum for constitutional change in our beautiful country (my first EVER vote, as a 19-year old)… by ’90 Mandela was freed through our own negotiations, in ’92 more than 2 thirds of white South Africans (68.73%) voted in a Refferendum for negotiated change in South Africa… and by ’94 Mandela was President, voted in by ourselves.

You’re pityful, truly pityful!

@ cane:
    As are several Kiwi players
    Rye.

57 @ ryecatcher:
    The American Indians have a saying which basically says “Don’t judge a man, until you’ve walked a mile in his moccasins!”

It is a beautiful way of looking at things, to place yourself in another man’s position, and thinking what you would have done… IN THAT SAME POSITION!

@ ryecatcher:

Rye, that was Kevin McKenzie – yes, a fearless hooker of the cricket ball, sporting his cap only …
    but
    imo the best (as in the most devastatingly effective) exponent of the hook shot that I’ve seen was Denis Lindsay in the 1966-67 Test series vs Australia; I can remember him taking apart the Aussie, Dave Renneberg (who loved bowling the bouncer).

Of his performance in 1966-67, Wisden wrote: “Lindsay, came in and made what would have been the hundred of a lifetime for most mortals. The last of them in difficult conditions in Johannesburg in the fourth Test occupied only 105 minutes and then as before he let loose a flood of thrilling strokes without ever seeming to use other than the middle of the bat. In the series he made 606 runs at an average of 86.57 and yet in subsequent seasons in the Currie Cup he scarcely made a run.”

Point one:
    I think you mean Condemn. (The Cavaliers). I absolutely do NOT condone that bunch of Mercenaries.

Point Two:
    When and where have I ever insinuated that you, or any other person on this site, has, or did have, less than true Democratic Principles?

Point Three;
    A hypocrite………………………………………………..True……………………………………….I hold my hand up.
    Now the rest of you can as well.

Point four:
    Pitiful………………………………………………. ;)…………………………………………I always have been……………………………………. but if you only want YES MEN here……………………………………pull the plug.

Point Four;
    Let it go caner……………………………………………………yeah right.

Total 105 users including 0 member, 105 guests, 0 bot online