Heyneke Meyer

No overseas-based players will be available for the Boks’ end of year Test against Wales at the Millennium Stadium.

The Springboksโ€™ end-of-year tour itinerary includes Tests against Ireland in Dublin (8 November), England in London (15 November), Italy in Padova (22 November) and Wales in Cardiff (29 November).

โ€œThe match against Wales falls outside the IRB Test window so our overseas-based players will not be available for that match, which will provide a good test for our depth in South Africa and Iโ€™m excited to see what a number of our younger players can do in the Millennium Stadium,โ€ said Meyer.

Sport24

That rules out the likes of Francois Louw, Morne Steyn, JP Pietersen, Fourie du Preez, Bryan Habana, Schalk Burger, Bakkies Botha, Gurthro Steenkamp, Ruan Pienaar.

The 36-man touring squad for will be announced on Sunday, 26 October (the day after the Currie Cup final) and they will get together in Johannesburg for a pre-departure camp on Wednesday, 29 October before leaving for Dublin on Saturday, 1 November.

Meanwhile, the 20 Springboks currently contracted by the South African Rugby Union (SARU) will take part in a training camp in Stellenbosch from 20 – 24 October as preparation for the tour next month.

The decision to invite the contracted players to the camp was taken in agreement with the provinces. This was done in line with a request from SARU to the provinces regarding the use of nationally contracted players in the Currie Cup.

The 20 contracted Springboks:

Willem Alberts (loose forward), Marcell Coetzee (loose forward), Damian de Allende (centre/wing), Jean de Villiers (centre), Bismarck du Plessis (hooker), Jannie du Plessis (prop), JJ Engelbrecht (centre/wing), Eben Etzebeth (lock), Cornal Hendricks (wing), Francois Hougaard (scrumhalf), Siya Kolisi (loose forward), Patrick Lambie (flyhalf/fullback), Willie le Roux (fullback/wing), Victor Matfield (lock), Tendai Mtawarira (prop), Coenie Oosthuizen (prop), Jan Serfontein (centre), Adriaan Strauss (hooker), Flip van der Merwe (lock) and Duane Vermeulen (No 8).

76 Responses to Springboks: No “foreign Boks” for Welsh test

Wonder if HM will see this as a good opportunity to give some of the younger/fringe players a run, just to check our depth (maybe some 3rd choice players) before the WC? Also – will he rest some of the “overplayed” players, but then potentially risk losing because so many senior players won’t be playing?

Either way, I think the future of Bok rugby looks good.

Not too bad for the Springboks, out of the starting positions this past Saturday only Bryan Habana is effectively out of that game!

The bench will be more affected, with Schalla, JP Pietersen and Bakkies not available.

No major issues… gives us a chance to bring Lwazi Mvovo back in as well as giving Lood de jager more experience.

@ grootblousmile: Hmmm . . . what about resting some of the tired guys? Will he take that chance? Or will that mean too many regular starters not starting?

3 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Discussed that this morning with someone in my office.

Maybe it’s time to rest Jannie du Plessis, maybe even Beast.

Resting Duane THORmeulen might be the right idea too, but how do you replace the Super hero?

I’d bring Nizaam Carr into the loosie fold, he deserves it… can play No 7, 6 or 8 and would cover for Schalla’s absense.

@ grootblousmile: Jannie, Beast, Jean, Duane, Bissie could do with a break. I really want us to have 3 good players in every position, and a clear pecking order. For a poz like scrumhalf, i think it’s clear: FDP, Houg, Reinach. But, for example who is our 3rd choice hooker?

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:

there will be lots of gum gnashing but i think that our 3rd choice hooker is kyle cooper.

5 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Jean de Viliers is our Bokke captain and won’t be rested… whereas I agree maybe he should be.

Bissie is coming right slowly after Jake the Snake stuffed him and big boet Jannie up in Super Rugby… Bissie was great again on Saturday.

Doc Jannie had a better game and has improved over the last month after also being played into the ground by Jake the Snake.. but I do think he needs rest and we do need to develop alternatives at tighthead!

Beast needs a bit of rest…

How’s about experimenting with the freegin strong Golden Lions / Lions front row options a bit, they have scrummed all comers shitless this whole year already!

3rd Hooker is probably still Schalk Brits.

@ Charo: I don’t know enough to comment on that. I think it’d help a lot of the payers if they knew where they fit into HM plans.

I suppose the problem is also exacerbated by the fact that several players can play various positions and are seen as “versatile” which could be their downfall. I’d think the 2 centres are a situation where this could be a problem. Ie – wanting to name 6 players for the 2 slots.

SHIT! Forgot Ruan in my SH list – guess that pushed Houg to 3rd choice and Reinach to 4th . . .

Blinkers… big black and white ones…

Great upcoming hooker is Armand “Akker” van der Merwe… been watching the oke the whole Currie Cup and have been greatly impressed.

… on top of it he plays in a strong, strong front row combo… in red and white…

@ grootblousmile:7

for the wales game schalk brits won’t be eligible.

actually, that lions hooker is having a great season and looks like one for the future.

@ grootblousmile:9

no different to the bulls and stormers fans boet

5 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    They will effectively now have a month off before the tour.
    Should be enough of a break?
    6 @ Charo:
    I kind of enjoy this “angry warthog” Armand from the Lions at the moment as well

@ grootblousmile:10

ahaaaa….

you are cleverer than i thought

@ nortie:12

crikey, you too nortie :mrgreen:

12 @ nortie:
    Hehehe at “Angry Warthog”!

Akker played for SWD and for the Leopards before settling in at the Golden Lions… great prospect and would really like to see how he goes in Super Rugby!

@ nortie: Damn! I actually forgot they get a break now!
    ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Thanks for reminding me
    Who-s-the-man

{korling, korling, korling Nortie & Brumbies Boy}

Position (last week) Member Union Rating Point
    1 (1) NEW ZEALAND 92.60
    2 (2) SOUTH AFRICA 90.41
    3 (4) ENGLAND 85.68
    4 (3) AUSTRALIA 85.07
    5 (5) IRELAND 83.44
    6 (6) WALES 80.70
    7 (7) FRANCE 80.01
    8 (8) SCOTLAND 77.75
    9 (9) SAMOA 76.35
    10 (12) ARGENTINA 75.97
    11 (10) JAPAN 75.63
    12 (11) FIJI 74.58
    13 (13) TONGA 72.83
    14 (14) ITALY 70.92
    15 (15) GEORGIA 70.46
    16 (16) ROMANIA 68.42
    17 (17) CANADA 67.77
    18 (18) USA 67.30
    19 (19) RUSSIA 63.00
    20 (20) URUGUAY 62.8

@ Angostura: Thanks for that – nice to see both my teams in the top 5!!

Delighted

I have been a bit surprised and miffed that Heyneke has not utilised the Golden Lions front row options at the Bokke, specially the props… and I would also think that a player like Jaco Kriel at the Lions should at least have been included into Bok training camps as a loosie option.

This coming from me as a person who generally does not like the Golden Lions as a province and one who only prefers the Lions over the Sharks, nobody else… but you have to give credit where due!!

Johan Ackermann has certainly turned out to be a good coach… now he must just translate that successfully onto the Super Rugby stage.

@ Angostura:
    I saw the moves, so your and Macro’s team is now 10th, above the Japanese and Fiji.
    Congratulations ๐Ÿ˜‰

MY team is second on the heels of the number 1 team ๐Ÿ˜€

MacroBlouBul wrote:

MY team is second on the heels of the number 1 team

Stront man, jy is n closet Argie.
    Net, jy weet goed hulle is te kak om as n eerste keuse span te he ๐Ÿ˜†
    Flippen Argie Apologist

#12 wins #3 ๐Ÿ˜€

Good to see the Wallabies have fallen to 4th, behind England!

And the gap between No 1 and No 2 has shrunk considerably….

MacroBlouBul wrote:

#12 wins #3

You mean #10 beats # 4?

Argentina is till a ringer at No 10… and I think they should belong at No 8, above Scotland and Samoa.

My pleasure ๐Ÿ™‚

@ MacroBlouBul:
    Ek skreeu eerder vir die Tjaaaaarks voor ek vir daai laser wielding span skreeu
    Hulle is nr 2 op my shitlist spanne, n entjie agter die Franse, maar definitief daar.

Thanks for the help yesterday. Hope you got a decent amount of sleep in last night.

25 @ nortie:
    Nogsteeds beter as Japan

Total 34 users including 0 member, 34 guests, 0 bot online