EP KingsSteval PumasEP Kings (19) 26 / 25 (17) Pumas (Final Score)

The Eastern Province Kings and Steval Pumas did battle in the ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division at

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth at 19:10 SA Time (17:10 GMT).

EP Kings:

• Penalties – 0
  • Tries – Tobie Botes (1), Ronnie Cooke (1), Paul Schoeman (1), Scott van Breda (1)
  • Conversions – Gary van Aswegen (3)

Pumas:

• Penalties – Justin van Staden (2)
  • Tries – Frank Herne (1), Justin van Staden (1), Stefan Watermeyer (1)
  • Conversions – Justin van Staden (2)

Eastern Province Kings
Steval Pumas
10 October at 19:10
  • Team: 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Ronnie Cooke, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Tobie Botes, 8 Tim Agaba, 7 Devin Oosthuizen, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Darron Nell (Captain), 3 BG Uys, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Simon Kerrod
  • Replacements: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Charl du Plessis, 18 Lizo Gqoboka, 19 Steven Cummins, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Jaco Grobler, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa
  • Team: 15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 JW Bell, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Reynier van Rooyen, 8 RW Kember, 7 Brian Shabangu, 6 Corne Steenkamp (Captain), 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Corne Fourie
  • Replacements: 16 Francois du Toit, 17 DeJay Terblanche, 18 Frikkie Spies, 19 Uzair Cassiem, 20 Dylon Frylinck, 21 JC Roos, 22 Jerome Pretorius

Referee: Marius Jonker
Assistant Referees: Christie du Preez, Tahla Ntshakaza
TMO: Jason Jaftha

195 Responses to Currie Cup: Eastern Province Kings vs Steval Pumas – Live Game Article

Tjorts okes!

NOU gaan ek ‘n bed hard moer!

@ grootblousmile: been to that game a few times boet. When you work for yourself………

i did not watch the game but just saw the results here.

Well done to the Kings… very happy that they have at least won one game…

Something to build on for next year ..( i know it’s a kak cliche but nevertheless….)

@ nortie: makes life interesting then doesn’t it Nortie?

122 @ Tassies:
    People who do not work for themselves do not appreciate what tough bosses those who work for themselves have!

Been working for myself since 1990 now… 24 years with an extremely demanding boss!

Only EVER worked for a boss for less than 3 years of my total working life.

Tassies wrote:

@ MacroBlouBul: that was one mighty good game of rugga MB. Carel made a serious point by thrashing the Oz good and proper. Then he was fired. Hows that for justice and recognition?

Carried him on the field on their shoulders didnt they?

@ robzim: Howzit Rob. You doing that Paarl thingie in a few weeks? Bidvest are not my favourite people right now so I’m on a boycott they have anything to do with. 👿

Watching the cricket I can’t help being in awe of the equipment and bats today’s players use.
    They hardly punch the ball and it races to the boundary.
    I wonder how they would have fared with a bat Bradman had to use and vice versa.
    That’s why it’s so difficult to compare players of different era’s

Coaching is for mere mortals and not for the super gifted players

Therefore people like (for example) Carel, Maradonna ( football) and Mike Proctor ( cricket) were never very good coaches.

Must be terrible to try and teach someone something that is so easy and obvious to you but so hard to grasp or master for them.

and Carel was they guy that told Kobus Wiese to lift his game because he is not good enough 😀

@ grootblousmile: 😆 totally. I was fired from my comfortable job in Springs in 1985 and been working for ‘a tough boss’ ever since. A few roadblocks along the way I have to acknowledge. But then what is life without the odd hiccup? Hairs on chest they say.

but surely there WAS something there with Carel? Especially on that last game… He could still be an excellent coach especially considering how professional set ups have got with more use of kicking coaches, defense instructors…

@ MacroBlouBul: 😆 😆 😆 he’s lucky he’s still alive if that’s the truth

Gosh what a brilliant “catch”

@ robzim: there’s probably some truth in that theory Rob.

Tassies wrote:

@ robzim: Howzit Rob. You doing that Paarl thingie in a few weeks? Bidvest are not my favourite people right now so I’m on a boycott they have anything to do with.

Howzit,

i am not sure what event you are referring to?

I am going to concentrate mainly on road cycling for now building up to the Argus next year.

Did you manage to get in? Seems they sold it out in 8 hours, i got in through pedal power association before entries opened.

If you want to do a night ride at Meerendal you must tell me then we can arrange to meet up there for a ride and a drink or 2 afterwards?

@ nortie: ja, that bloody linseed oil never quite did the trick did it? I remember one bat in particular, which I lovingly oiled from day one, knocked it in by the book, gave it a smack in some arb game and it broke in half. Was seriously pissed. The old bats were not the same as the current variety. Nowhere close.

Tassies wrote:

@ nortie: ja, that bloody linseed oil never quite did the trick did it? I remember one bat in particular, which I lovingly oiled from day one, knocked it in by the book, gave it a smack in some arb game and it broke in half. Was seriously pissed. The old bats were not the same as the current variety. Nowhere close.

Sounds like a Duncan Fearnley 🙂

@ robzim: yes. There was a hiccup in that little window but somehow I managed a successful registration in amongst the site going down. So Argus is a go.
    Meerendal. That sounds like a plan Rob. I’ll speak to our ‘leader’ who arranges these things from that side and let you know via this RT lot. I’m riding more road to Simonstown currently because I’m lazy and unfit. Its also quite lekker early on a sunday am. Road bike is a doddle.

@ robzim: you know Rob, mine was a Mike Proctor. He obviously only endorsed the bat and I cannot remember the brand truth be told.
    When I was a lightie(10), Proccie and Peter Pollock ruled the world in bowling terms. Graham and Richards ruled the other world. I copied Proctor’s bowling action for a while, such was his influence. For those who don’t know, that team klapped the Oz ‘six love’ when they came to visit. Saw them at the Wanderers as a very small boy and have never forgotten.

@ robzim: sorry Rob. Failed to answer properly. Its the new Paarl Bidvest MTB race over and around the rock. They’re talking it up and I’m not listening for reasons explained earlier.

That is cool, i do not live far from Meerendal and can go there at short notice.

Road riding early Sat/Sundays is great.. i usually go for a long ride with City Cycling Club on either a Sat or Sun, the numbers make it so much safer and it is also quite social.

Seems like the sweet spot today stretches from the handle to the toe

Proccie was fearsome to say the least.. always seemed as if he bowled off the wrong foot but he was lightning quick… later also bowled quite decent spin.

His batting was as swashbuckling as his bowling.. do u remember the 5 x sixes he hit in succession off Ashley mallett ( i think) playing for WP against the Aussies near the end of his career?… like Richards and Pollock cricket was perhaps too easy for him.

Great innings by Morne, great chase this

146: baie goeie krieket game. Net jammer Morne is ‘n man onder die kinders (plaaslike reekse), maar ‘n kind onder die manne (internasionale krieket).

@ Ben-die-Bok:
    Ja Behardien ook, sy 100 was puik gewees

So……

Total 49 users including 0 member, 49 guests, 0 bot online