DHL WPCell C SharksWP (20) 20 / 28 (11)ย Sharks (Final Score)

DHL Western Province and the Cell C Sharks did battle in the ABSA Currie Cup Premier Division at

Newlands, Cape Town at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

WP:

• Penalties – Kurt Coleman (2)
  • Tries – Pat Howard (1), Kurt Coleman (1)
  • Conversions – Kurt Coleman (2)

• Penalties – Lionel Cronje (5), Fred Zeilinga (1)
  • Tries – Sibusiso Sithole (1), Lourens Adriaanse (1)

DHL Western Province
Cell C Sharks
11 October at 17:05
  • Team: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 EW Viljoen, 13 Pat Howard, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Devon Williams, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 4 Jurie van Vuuren, 3 Brok Harris (Captain), 2 Neil Rautenbach, 1 Oliver Kebble
  • Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Justin Ackerman, 18 Gavin Annandale, 19 Anton van Zyl, 20 Patrick O’Brien, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Chevandre van Schoor
  • Team: 15 SP Marais, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Sibusiso Sithole, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Teraย ย Mtembu (Captain), 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Stephan Lewies, 3 Matt Stevens, 2 Monde Hadebe, 1 Thomas du Toit
  • Replacements: 16 Franco Marais. 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 JC Astle, 20 Khaya Majola, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Fred Zeilinga

Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Lourens van der Merwe, Marc van Zyl
TMO: Shaun Veldsman

295 Responses to Currie Cup: DHL Western Province vs Cell C Sharks – Live Game Article

Sharks should not be happy with this win, not with a full strenght side against complete second stringers, where Mr Mediocrity himself, Verbrokkel Harris, was captain.

First half the young 2nd string WP bucks played well, to just fall flat when the more experienced Sharks upped the ante.

That’s where experience has the upper hand… the Sharks saw that what they were doing was’nt working in the 1st half and changed tack accordingly in the 2nd half, whereas the young WP bucks changed a formula which worked so well in the 1st half to a more kick-oriented approach in the 2nd half and paid the dear price.

But I do not think it was in vain that WP applied their 2nd stringers, they learned from the experience without getting stomped on too badly and at the same time rested some weary bodies for next weekend against the Blue Bulls in the one semi-final.

My sentiments as well. The youngsters were not disgraced at all. Their inexperience was what let them down. That and the fact that the old WP illness of trying to protect a lead instead of building on it. Zero points in the 2nd half after scoring 20 in the 1st half, including two scintillating tries, is testament to that.

Howzit guys.
    My take on the game…….
    Sharks, after scoring an easy try in the first minute, thought this was going to be a cake walk and started playing touch rugby to have a little fun.
    This looseness allowed wp b into the game and they led at half time.
    Second half the Sharks played more serious rugby and the wp youngsters were rattled.
    Still, there are some good players in that team (pat Howard etc) but also some very average ones as well (that #14 looked particularly useless).

@ Charo:

Oh the guy the with bad hair cut – He’s going to have to change the way he plays and get more in the game.

And change his hairdresser.

@ IAAS:
    As I said last night it is the gayest hairstyle in the cc.

@ Charo:

Yeah, worse than Percy in his heyday. ๐Ÿ˜€

I’m sure it’ll get better – his play – not the hairstyle.

214 @ IAAS:
    215 @ Charo:
    The hairstyle is not the problem… Julian Savea also now sports a similarly crappy hairstyle… must be the new craze – boble on top of the head with a mooosa kuif… but just look at how well Savea plays!

I expect that after coming from Bloemfontein where EW Viljoen was in an all boys school (Grey College), that Varsity life and the freedom as well as all the chickies available, adversely affects certain okes, till they catch the eventual wake-up.

EW Viljoen was a very, very impressive fullback at Grey Collage in his matric year.

He was kak on Saturday though… and someone needs to tell him that much!

Ja maybe it’s because I am bit of a ballie but fashion ramp hairstyles seem wrong on a pro rugby player.
    ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

@ Charo:
    I watch the odd old highlights package.

The big question is, what happened to all the bald rugby players?

@ MacroBlouBul:
    Talking about us ballies?
    ๐Ÿ˜ˆ
    BTW I am far from bald.

@ Charo:

Remember the days when Calla Scholtz wore white boots – not much was said.

Percy does it – and the world erupts.

These days guys wear boots that are of different colours – I think puma. And to think of the sleeves the guys wear- not just one tattoo.

The point I am making is that if you want to look different on the field, then at least make a difference on the field.

@ IAAS:
    haha no, I am just sure there were more bald rugby players in the 80’s

Maybe that was the fashion statement of the 80’s

@ IAAS:
    Extract from Taine Randell’s latest column:
    “Beale, Quade Cooper and James O’Connor were known as the brat pack but in reality they are the “nothing pack” with no substance behind their tattoos and gelled hair.”

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/opinion/10606484/Randell-Show-the-Wobblies-team-no-mercy

I particularly enjoyed this sentence in the piece. I take it you didn’t pick the Argies last weekend. ๐Ÿ™„ ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜Ž ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ๐Ÿ˜€

“As bad as the Wallabies are, let’s congratulate the Pumas. They have added plenty to the Rugby Championship and their inclusion to Super Rugby will help them and be just as flavoursome for the competition. “

IAAS wrote:

I particularly enjoyed this sentence in the piece. I take it you didnโ€™t pick the Argies last weekend.
    โ€œAs bad as the Wallabies are, letโ€™s congratulate the Pumas. They have added plenty to the Rugby Championship and their inclusion to Super Rugby will help them and be just as flavoursome for the competition. โ€œ

Completely discredited the entire article ๐Ÿ˜†

@ MacroBlouBul:

and Nortie ๐Ÿ˜†

208 @ grootblousmile:
    Hondo has friends?

Pat Howard is going to play some big rugby, hopefully he will get more game time in SR next year.

228 @ MacroBlouBul:
    I almost said Honda, Kwasaki & Suzuki are best buddies!

Well, birds of a feather, flock together…

He and Skoppie would make a great pair in adjoining padded rooms in Falkenburg!

No ways, Skoppies was a much nicer oke.

231… Especially considering Skoppie comes with the handicap of being a PW supporter

@ MacroBlouBul:

He is one youngster I will keep an eye on.

231 @ MacroBlouBul:
    Jeeez, nou vat jy Hondo laag jong!

Delighted

Look, at least Hondo just talks kak… a lot of it too… but he does not Fuckadilly around and personally insult every-farking-body.

Skoppie would not last here on Rugby-Talk.com… not for more than 5 comments, I’m sure… then he’ll be kicked to touch!

@ MacroBlouBul: @ 231

I found skoppies posts easier to understand.

Skoppies comments when Jake “quit” the Sharks:

“Bad news coach, don’t say I never warned ya, yep that I did, I could see Smit and White parting company pretty smartly when they shook hands on this tenuous deal less than a season ago. Shows you don’t need to be a Nostradamus when you see a snake slithering down the road you know its gonna be shedding its thin veil of uncommitted skin any time soon.”

233 @ IAAS:
    HAASie, hasie bloubal… parra het gepoep

When do you get yourself a Gravatar picture, boetman?

IAAS wrote:

@ MacroBlouBul: @ 231
    I found skoppies posts easier to understand.

Well Skoppie used to repeat them enough times for it to sink in ๐Ÿ˜€

No problem with differing opinions from me (even though i obviously dont always like it), so I can tolerate it opposed to censorship… but there is no point for a racist tit to hang around imo

238 @ MacroBlouBul:
    He is the “Alliteration King”… and the farker comes from the town next door to me, Springs!

No wonder Springs has gone backwards at such a rate of knots, there is nobody to build temporary shithouses!

Total 79 users including 0 member, 79 guests, 0 bot online