Steve Hansen

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen doesn’t mind having a public pop at the Wallabies, but when it comes to one of world rugby’s enduring rivalries, and South African coach Heyneke Meyer, there is nothing but mutual respect.

“I myself have a huge amount of respect for their coach [Heyneke Meyer]. I think he’s a good man and a good coach,” Hansen said today, ahead of Saturday night’s test against South Africa in Wellington.

“Their captain Jean [de Villiers], having his 100th game [on Saturday] I’d like to congratulate him on that.”

stuff NZ

“It’s a marvellous achievement, especially when you see the way he started his career.

“His first two tests he was out for eight months [after the first] and then six months the second time.

“He’s shown a lot of character and that’s the character they have throughout their team.

“I was lucky enough to spend a bit of time with a number of them in the Baabaas [Barbarians] over the last couple of years and I really enjoyed their company.”

That extends to Meyer, with whom Hansen chats on a fairly regular basis. The All Blacks coach even went to Meyer’s home during last year’s Rugby Championship.

“We had a barbecue… and if we were in Christchurch [this week] we’d be doing the same there. Probably not a barbecue, but we’d have a meal together and we do speak and, like I said, I’ve got a lot of respect for South African people.

“It’s a beautiful country and they’ve gone through a hell of a lot and through sheer determination they’ve kept the country together and I enjoy their company.”

In fact, Hansen and Meyer even have a ritual going where the losing coach fetches the winner an after-match beer.

“He probably wants me to go and get a beer for him. We’ve got a wee thing going at the moment, he’s been getting it lately so he’s probably keen on me to go and get it.”

A fair bit has been made of Meyer’s decision to start 20-year-old Handre Pollard at first five-eighth on Saturday. A star of South Africa’s under-20 team, Pollard has just three test caps to his name and his selection is seen by some as a huge gamble. Not by Hansen, though.

“I remember when Dan Carter didn’t have any test caps [and] I was coaching Wales. He smashed us.”

109 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Hansen on Meyer

@ cane:

Just like in real life you would be fetching me the Tuis.

@ cane:
    Heyneke is a clever bugger….for the price of a chop and a boerewors roll he has made Steve his friend for life….and can hopefully keep feeding him grub in exchange for tactics.

22 @ cane:
    Eish, you guys don’t realise how I hate playing Policeman.. but you also do not realise fully how bloody necessary it is… more than 5 years of experience (and doing it the right way) has taught us nicely here and because there is control, is why R-T has grown so substantially over the years.

Anyway, enough of that type of stuff… we have a big Test coming up, so I suppose we should banter a bit…

30 @ Best:
    I do not understand the insistence on continuing with Ruan Pienaar… or as some coin him, Ruin Pienaar.

I sommer call him “Die donkie met die afraende gesig soos ‘n hartseer weeluis!”

@ grootblousmile: At least Ruin’s consistent

I hear on the Radio News that Judge Masipa has already said in her ruling that Oscar Pretorius is not guilty of Murder (both on the Dolus Directus – direct intent to kill, and Dolus Eventualis – Indirect Intent to kill and reconciling with the idea), but it sounds by all indications that he WILL be found guilty of Manslaughter (the negligent killing of a person).

Will be interesting to hear what she finds and what the sentence would be…

I am of the opinion that she is grossly erring on the Dolus Eventualis portion of murder… and that Pistorius should at least have been found guilty of Murder, not only manslaughter.

I can see some appeal cases coming up… I would if I was Gerrie Nel (Prosecuting Advocate for the State).

35 @ Best:
    Yip, consistently KAK!

We know Groot.

It’s tough at the TOP.

And we ALL appreciate what you are trying to achieve here (successfully I will add).

Gunther and I have been trading insults for so long they are no longer insults.
    They are …………..they are……………they are…………………..let me think here……………well I suppose, they are …………………………insults.
    But they are insults between two consenting adults.

Good Night All.
    And God Bless each and every one of You Mothers.

@ cane:

Good night you nutter.

38 & 39 @ cane:
    Cheers old fella!

Trouble in paradise with the boggers?

Was listening to the Oscar trial in the car this morning.

From the first few comments that I heard it came across as if she was leaning towards manslaugther.

According to David O’Sullivan on 702 (a “non practicing lawyer” like yourself) the state can only appeal in a case where they believe the Judge has made an error in law.

Not sure if this would apply here, but if he walks away with a minor jail sentence (or even suspended!) then I’m sure there will be something of a public outcry.

I’m damn sure it wasn’t premeditated, but would almost be willing to put my head on a block (not worth much anyway) and say it was all done in a rage during an arguement.

Anyway, TIA so we all know that the right amount of money can buy freedom from anything.

One things for certain if Oscar does any jail time he will be facing some Dolus Erectus from his 300 pound Zulu cell mate.

43 @ gunther:
    Some nice use of gutter latin there.

Made me almost spew coffee onto the keyboard.

Cheers gents.

Time to get the F out of Blue Bull country and head South to where we ALL REALLY do have RED Blood.

G’night all.

The state should’ve trialed Oscar for murder instead of premeditated murder. That would’ve put Oscar away for 10-12 years (like the Waterkloof 4). Instead he is going to walk away with a suspended sentence most probably.

Murder would’ve been much easier to prove than premeditated murder.

43 @ gunther:
    Yeah!

The mothertrucker just takes away one of Oscar’s stumps and he can’t even run away… and he’s farked, pun intended!

46 @ Nama:
    That’s not how it works.. if you are charged with the higher crime, you can be found guilty of the lessor crime anyway.

A Charge Sheet, containing the charges, will in anyway always contain alternative charges, covering all bases.

Dolus Eventualis is in fact not premeditated murder… well in fact Dolus Directus is in many cases also not premeditated murder.

The difference between muder and manslaughter is INTENT vs NEGLIGENCE, in causing a death.

I miss the Keo rough and tumble!!

“Question is did OP foresee the possibility of death when he shot, TM asks. This is key to murder verdict. Answer has to be no. How could he? asks Judge.”

Oscar will not be enjoying drinking Castle’s and shooting guns under bar tables with his friends for a while it seems!!

Stumped in fact.

We Brits all thought old Oscar was a marvel!!

We do not think he deserves an Oscar for his terrible acting ability!!

Fark, embarrassing.

Is he a Sharks fan?

Just wondering! 😕

48 @ grootblousmile:
    “A Charge Sheet, containing the charges, will in anyway always contain alternative charges, covering all bases.”

We’ve never heard that Oscar was alternatively charged with murder and that was always my concern.

Gunther will attest to the fact that I’ve said from the beginning that the state would struggle to prove premeditated murder. It now turns out that they couldn’t.

@ Nama:

Listen to a lawyer Grootie is trying to help you.

Gerrie Nel is clearly incompetent the star should have used Norman
    Arendse.

It turns out that way.

Blue Bird wrote:

Is he a Sharks fan?

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online