Bryan Habana

Centurion Bryan Habana

The Springboks will seek “clarity” around Bryan Habana’s controversial sin-binning but have refused to blame match officials for their one-point loss to the Wallabies in Perth.

Referee George Clancy’s call to pull a yellow card from his pocket in response to Habana’s high shot on Australian winger Rob Horne in the 65th minute lit up social media with a torrent of criticism for Clancy and the International Rugby Board’s management of its match officials.

And while a clearly agitated Heyneke Meyer walked into the post-match media conference after the match, the South African coach demurred from jumping on board, calling instead for “consistency” across the board.

smh

“You know the answer and I know the answer, so I’m not going to answer that,” he said when asked for his take on the decisions.

“But the ref’s always right and the only thing as a coach you want is consistency.”

Captain Jean de Villiers echoed his coach, saying the second top-ranked side in the world would “take this one on the chin”.

De Villiers was heard addressing Clancy on the pitch as the Irish referee was watching the video replay on the big screen, telling him Habana’s tackle was “exactly the same” tackle that Horne had made on him earlier in the match.

“That was my message to him on the field. We just want that consistency throughout a game,” he said after the match.

“He obviously deemed that one to be different and we’ll have a look again at our review of the game.

“To sit here and complain about the referee’s decisions, I don’t think that’s our way, and we’ll just take this one on the chin.

“We know that we could have won it, we played some good rugby at times and probably due to our own mistakes at the end we didn’t win it.

“We’d like to get some clarity on some issues but we’re definitely not going to blame the referee for his decisions.”

Meyer also kept his own counsel when asked whether the Springboks were being “targeted” by the referees.

“I’d love to answer that question but I’m not going to put my foot in it,” he said.

“At the end of the day we respect the referee, he has to make choices, and we’re never going to use that as an excuse.

“Again with Duane [Vermeulen’s penalty for a high shot on James Slipper], I thought it was an excellent tackle but if that’s the way the referee sees it then we’re never going to use it as an excuse.

“I want to keep my integrity intact, we take it on the chin, he’s the sole judge and we respect what they do.

“On the day I thought we really played well but we didn’t get the result.”

Wallabies coach Ewen McKenzie said he was happy to get the win – the side’s first under his stewardship against a side higher than Australia in the world rankings – and praised the character of the team to come back from a 23-14 deficit with 11 minutes left on the clock.

“It was a frustrating second half. We did alright in the first half playing into the wind but in the second half we found ways ​to turn over the ball and keep ourselves pretty much pinned down in our half,” McKenzie said.

“The scoreboard was a little daunting with 15 minutes to go but we knew the game would be about character, and it was never going to be a big scoreline so we had to stick at it. We built pressure and had a good result from the bench as well, and came up with a win.

“It doesn’t matter if you score in the first minute or the last, just as long as you score.”

Australia are still in third spot on the Rugby Championship table. The All Blacks have taken the lead from the Springboks after a 28-9 victory against Argentina in Napier on Saturday.

Outside centre Tevita Kuridrani, in a welcome return to Australia’s midfield, was named man of the match and players’ player.

81 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Boks refuse to blame loss on Habana yellow card

Yes HM don’t blame the ref look at your farkin game plan. They start picking up the tempo and we keep on kicking the ball back to the on the odd occasion that we got our hands on it late in the second half.

We had the majority of the ball during the match yet how many times did we see more than 3 phases? How many times did the ball go down the backline to the wings?

How many times did we try and attack the outside channels? On the few occasions we did we either scored or came close to scoring.

The problem is not the refs or SA being targeted by referees. The problem is your coaching philosophy. You can either make winning at all cost your primary focus or you can focus on playing better rugby.

The All Black focus is the latter and it cost them a few RWC titles but in the process they elevated them self to a level that has never been seen before at international level. They play heads up rugby meaning they are rigidly adhering to a set game plan. They can play different types of games depending on opponent, weather and match circumstances. They often switch from one approach to another during a match.

We lost this match because of rigid adherence to a pre-match determined game plan and inability to adjust during the match. We lost because we are too scared to play proper rugby.

Ek is Gatvol vir jou skop en jaag rugby ou boet.

Should be the AB are NOT rigidly adhering to a pre-set game plan.

Interesting that very little is said about Steyn and his mistakes. Stephen Donald lost his place in the 2011 AB RWC squad for exactly the same mistake Steyn made in this match. Not landing a penalty line kick in the last 4 minutes of the match.

Steyn then went on and botched the kick off as well.

@ McLook:
    You’re right… Meyer is into his third year now and there is stagnation in the Bok team due to the way Meyer wants them to play… it could turn into regression because of his selection policies which rely on very old hands and legs…I can’t think of one new player he has brought in other than Willy who has made a significant impact that has cemented them a place in the team… surely this must ring bells for Meyer…

Te Rangatira wrote:

@ McLook:
    You’re right… Meyer is into his third year now and there is stagnation in the Bok team due to the way Meyer wants them to play… it could turn into regression because of his selection policies which rely on very old hands and legs…I can’t think of one new player he has brought in other than Willy who has made a significant impact that has cemented them a place in the team… surely this must ring bells for Meyer…

Yes in business terms it is called over using your resources to turn in a profit. You run your me machinery to the maximum in order to make an impression and then get out when everything start breaking down. The next guy then looks like a complete idiot because he has to do maintenance work and rebuilding at cost of productivity.

Meyer is going to leave SA rugby in a bad state. No new talent, very few new skills, stagnation and regression due to a bunch of players that knows only one way to play the game namely box kick and pod. He push his young players to soon and destroy’s their confidence and his team selections are focusing on players that can play only one style of rugby. This man is not taking SA rugby anywhere.

@ McLook:
    Once again..I have to agree..Meyer had preconceived plans…regarding player selection and strategies.. from day one of his tenure but like his game plan he had no contingencies really… He knows that he has to change up his strategies but all the groundwork he has laid down over the last two years or so doesn’t allow him to change tact unless he strips everything down and starts again…sadly his time table doesn’t allow this…Sometimes you have to bite the bullet and go back to square one..but that’s not possible here…so here’s hoping the new guy who comes in at some time has the balls to do the right thing

Te Rangatira wrote:

@ McLook:
    Meyer had preconceived plans…regarding player selection and strategies.. from day one of his tenure but like his game plan he had no contingencies really… He knows that he has to change up his strategies but all the groundwork he has laid down over the last two years or so doesn’t allow him to change tact unless he strips everything down and starts again.

Exactly right. He picked heavy, big slow players to play a set piece type game at the cost of flair, explosiveness and ball-carrying ability. Halfway though his second year he realised he has to change now he tries and bring some ball carrying into the mix by targeting the breakdown skills. The problem is that there is no balance in the squad in terms of size for set piece and explosiveness/speed and flair to run with the ball. He brings in a young flyhalf (Pollard) to attack the defensive line but select two pack donkeys outside him (De Allende and De Villiers). At the same time he select a heavy loose-trio with no explosiveness and linking ability.

In his whole pack he has one player Etzabeth with ball carrying explosiveness. The problem with Etzabeth he is not really a natural ball player. His normal loose-trio of Alberts, Vermeulen and Flo is also top heavy with no speed, speed endurance, and natural linking ability. So he can’t play the fast game and can’t attack the outside channels because his loose forwards can’t keep up. Even if we drive the ball through channel 1 there is no real pace onto the ball.

And as you say it’s to late to change because he has no structures and players in place to change.

@ McLook:
    Yeah…that explains it all to a T really.
    .. he selects players to fit his style of play and strategy…whereas it is best to look at a player and see what they can bring to the table and develop a job definition where his skills can be utilised to the fullest within the group dynamics…. I thought he was getting it right with Hennie LeRoux but then last night he gets him to kick which isn’t his greatest strength..he’s ok but he should be running and passing

Messam & Whitelock will probably miss next weeks test, so both our 6’s gone and down to our 6th best lock ( Thrush) advantage Bokke if this continues we might have to take the underdog tag 😛

@ NZINCHINA:
    It’s going to take a big effort by the Abs to shore up the loss of key players especially Whitelock… I’m looking forward to what tactics the Abs bring to try and minipulate the Bok forwards into one on one’s with our steppers and speed men… key for Abs is to make sure they get their fair share of possession and not give penalties away in their half..

Not solely to blame but had a huge impact on the game. Especially considering an Aus player made the same tackle on JDV earlier in the game.

@ MacroBok:
    It was a big call and the kiwi lines men tried his best to lend some sanity to the situation…but this Clancy guy gave an early indication that he has a thing for big tackles that look a little high

Phweeeew, I’m so glad I’m not a fickle Springbok supporter…. but rather a Springbok supporter who stands by my team!

Call me fickle if you want to but I’ve had enough of this dumb rugby the Springboks keep on playing. I aggree to a large extent with what Wallabie say on another thread: “Wallabies played (average but) will get better. RSA (on the other hand) has their best team in years with heaps of talent but will not get better.

It is criminal that the boks are limited (by) the bok game! They have a side to blow away the ABs and Wallabies but they just kick the ball away.
    Never have i seen a bok team that has (such) immense talent in the forwards and backline! But the bok game plan will always make South Africa predicatble!”

What got to me during this game that it was quite noticable that the Wallabies were trying to pick up the pace/tempo after the last Springbok penalty. What do the Springboks do they box kick and/or just kick the ball down field? Where was the Captaincy at that stage. First thing you do is get hold of the ball and slow the game down by controlling the ball. If you do kick kick it out because we’ve been winning their line-out ball or at least made it poor ball for them.

I believe HM has been trying to play both a fast and set piece game with players that are mostly suited to play the set piece game. We lack speed and explosiveness in the loose-trio and in the backline. We are have no starter moves off set piece and we still try and play the box kick pressure game.

In my heart I will always be a Springbok supporter but I will distant myself from them emotionally. I hope they keep on losing if they play like this. Any win will just hinder progress. It is time for a different mindset.

The referee was appalling but we could have taken the game away from the Aussies if we played with a little more daring/variation; if we played to our true potential.

The definition of stupid is if you try doing something that clearly does not work over and over again.

Indeed.

Some fairly immature responses.

@ gunther:

What is your mature view on the game?

Just please don’t say “we wazz robbed” , that is even worse then immature.

🙂

No you are quite right.

It was a thoroughly deserved yellow.

You farking Aussie quisling.

@ gunther:

” refs make mistakes” – Funny guy

@ NZINCHINA:

You would have been squealing like a pregnant schoolgirl Noodleboy so help yourself to some shutthefuckup.

@ gunther:

“Refs make mistakes”,I hope you don’t mind me quoting you Funny guy.

@ NZINCHINA:

Most do.

Unless they’re bent kiwis like Bryce and Paddy.

In which case they’re just craven.

Noodles.

@ gunther:

Peyper made Clancy look like a……I can’t remember your one liner you have so many, you ready for the first of your bi-annual beatings on Saturday 😛

@ NZINCHINA:

Look compared to crooked paddy both those refs are
    Outstanding.

I’ll be in the bush this weekend.

How about you another weekend in front of your computer.

Maybe some light relief at ikea.

@ gunther:++

You can catch the replay Monday night 😛

gunther wrote:

@ NZINCHINA:

You would have been squealing like a pregnant schoolgirl Noodleboy so help yourself to some shutthefuckup.

Very mature response. Very insightful.

@ McLook:

😛

@ NZINCHINA:

Oh look you’ve found a friend. How sweet.

@ McLook:

Actually it was your startlingly mature response to our loss in Saturday.

Are you still going to support other teams against the Boks because you don’t like their game plan?

Honestly that’s the list pathetic thing nice ever heard.

You big farking baby.

@ gunther:

He has a point though funny guy, name calling is your specialty.

But you do it in such a clever mature way so it’s alright. 😛 😛

@ NZINCHINA:

Any port in a storm hey noodles.

Total 20 users including 0 member, 20 guests, 0 bot online