Rapport Transformation Agenda

SA Rugby transformation Agenda

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) has confirmed its plans to ensure that half the Springbok team is made up of players of colour by 2019.

Rapport on Sunday revealed SARU’s Transformation Strategic Plan, which aims to bring all of South Africa’s representative rugby teams, along with domestic teams in line with national targets in five years.

Of the Springbok team currently competing in the Rugby Championship, 19% of the players are non-white, while only 12% are black African. Zimbabwean-born prop Tendai Mtawarira was the only black African player to start in the defeat to Australia in Perth, with Trevor Nyakane warming the bench.

But SARU wants to make sure that by 2019 at least half the Springbok side consists of players of colour, with 60% of those required to be black African.

SARU also set a mandate for Bok coach Heyneke Meyer to select at least five black players in his squad for the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England as well as include seven players of colour in his match-day squad in the lead-up to the tournament.

According to Beeld, all 14 of South Africa’s provincial unions approved the new strategic plan on August 13 this year.

SARU has already shared the plan with SASCOC and the sports ministry. The next step is for SARU’s general council to approve the plan.

At least half the Springbok side must consist of players of colour in five years’ time, with 60% of those required to be black African.

SARU’s Strategic Transformation Plan will address transformation in rugby in a bid to meet racial targets by 2019.

Sport24 – Rapport

In addition, Heyneke Meyer will be expected to field a side containing at least five black players at the World Cup in England next year.

The plan, which was revealed in Sunday newspaper Rapport, will see a comprehensive overhaul of the current structures, including demands on the Springboks, Blitzboks and Junior Boks teams, as well as teams in the Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup and Super Rugby tournaments. There will also be quotas in amateur rugby and across all Craven Week tournaments.

The aim is to make sure that all representative teams contain at least 50% players of colour within the next five years.

Of the Springbok team currently competing in the Rugby Championship, only 19% are non-white, while only 12% are black African. Zimbabwean-born prop Tendai Mtawarira was the only black African player to start in the defeat to Australia in Perth, with Trevor Nyakane warming the bench.

The plan was drawn up by the SARU executive council earlier this year after being heavily criticised by the department of sport, and sports minister Fikile Mbalula, over the lack of transformation in the current Bok team.

Meyer will be encouraged to make sure there are at least seven players of colour in the Springbok match-day squad from next year, while Neil Powell’s SA Sevens squad will be expected to adhere to a strict 40% colour quota.

Dawie Theron’s Junior Boks have to select at least 12 players of colour in his squad of 28 for the 2015 Junior World Championship in Portugal, four of whom must be black.

The plan will also address transformation among coaches, referees, team managers, administrative officers and suppliers of services to SARU.

At least 30% of national coaches must be coloured come next year, with at least 10% required to be black.

“It’s a sustainable way to implement transformation in South African rugby,” said Mervin Green, Saru’s general manager for development. “Most of SARU’s provinces have failed to yield results due to lack of proper talent identification and development programmes.

“The transformation plan will be monitored annually to identify barriers that have a negative impact on the implementation.”

173 Responses to Transformation: This is how SA rugby must transform (Revised)

1 2 3 6

Good plan
    The breaking away from the Super Rugby that involves NZ and Oz teams is just part of the process,
    There will be few positives though:
    Club rugby may get a revival
    More white school kids will concentrate on learning, less on steroids and HGH
    The indignity of watching the ABs destroying the Boks time and again will fade
    An exile SA team representing say Andora may emerge with the IRB blessing 😆

Coloureds are going to get screeeeeeewed.

SARU & the Department of Sport, take your racist quota system/targets & shove them where the sun doesn’t shine, I WILL NOT SUPPORT teams which are not selected on merit and my stance is not negotiable, you know that your ‘transformation’ plans are in direct contradiction with what is stated in the country’s Constitution.

“No ‘abnormal’ sport in a ‘normal’ society”
    Disapproval Disapproval Disapproval

@ Hondo:
    Irritates the shit out of me to agree with you Happy-Grin

But definitely, only way forward is for the big unions to break away from SARU somehow.

I guess I better start printing more membership cards for the “glass is half empty” club…..as if yesterday’s loss wasn’t enough to garner new members, now this 🙄

50%, 30%, 20%

Is that 7.5 whities, 4.5 Blacks and 3 Colourds per run on team or 11.5 Whities, 6.9 blacks and 4.6 Coloureds?

Personally I think they just gave this “proposal” to a four year old to draw a “graph” without much thought.

This also means that Meyer will likely be the last white coach south africa will see, so that leaves… AC?

Oe ja ek was vanoggend biki op EmoWorld, ek sien Zelinga waaroor die ouens aangegaan het asof hy die nuwe antwoord op loskakel van die bokke moet wees word nou gese hull wil hom maar veld toe stuur saam SP Marais.

8 @ MacroBok:
    Jip, die manne is maar baie ongelukkig daar.
    Ek dink die enigste Unie wat veilig gaan wees in die toekoms is die Pumas……5 minute alleen saam met Jimmy in donker kamer en daai SARU inspekteurs sal uitstap met knoppe op hulle kop en se “they are albinos, they are albinos”

This also means that Meyer will likely be the last white coach south africa will see, so that leaves… AC?

Or Jake…..he has a cunning plan……

50%, 30%, 20%
    Is that 7.5 whities, 4.5 Blacks and 3 Colourds per run on team or 11.5 Whities, 6.9 blacks and 4.6 Coloureds?
    Personally I think they just gave this “proposal” to a four year old to draw a “graph” without much thought.

In other words in reality the actual targets will be more like:

7 Whities, 5 blacks and 3 coloureds (47% White, 33% and 20%)

Well so far Tera as captain is backfiring… then again, it does not matter.

Or Jake…..he has a cunning plan……

If these targets are real and not just window dressing, there is no way they would give Jake the job.

Screw you SARU.

Screw you, screw you screw you.

Time for “World Rugby” to get involved.

And the IOC as well.

12 @ MacroBok:
    Yep, it only matters on EmoWorld….even his selections in SR (and the comments that went with the selections) were geared towards this moment.
    He really does have a cunning plan….

Now now BB, relax.
    Picture how nice the 2020 Bokke will look running out in their new “7/11” sponsored jerseys.
    Then we can also claim that our world ranking of 12 is not a true reflection of where we should and could have been.

I agree, eveything he has done so far has been with a plan in the “bigger picture”

Now now BB, relax.
    Picture how nice the 2020 Bokke will look running out in their new “7/11″ sponsored jerseys.
    Then we can also claim that our world ranking of 12 is not a true reflection of where we should and could have been.

and we would all know it is true 😀

18 @ MacroBok:
    Wouldn’t we just 😆

@ MacroBok:
    Have you also noticed a distinct lack of Shark supporters here this weekend?
    I wonder what could be wrong?
    Maybe they all went camping this weekend…. 😆

16 @ nortierd:
    Yeah right, the “transformation” of SA soccer was “smoothly implemented” years ago & look what a fcuking mess & a joke it is now.

21 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Aren’t we good at soccer?
    I’m sure that’s what I heard

The transformation plan is quite a joke ( if true) but if one looks at the outdated game plan relying on the box kick alternated occasionally by the kick and jag method that the current bok team dishes out under the HM regime I wonder if things can really get much worse.

21 @ BrumbiesBoy:

Our soccer team is so far undefeated under the new coach called Bru Shakes and I expect them to break into the top 80 teams in the world quite soon 🙂

robzim wrote:

21 @ BrumbiesBoy:

Our soccer team is so far undefeated under the new coach called Bru Shakes and I expect them to break into the top 80 teams in the world quite soon

There we go….chin up BrumbiesBoy, we are on the up
    Approve

23 @ robzim:
    Maybe HM also has a cunning plan?
    Pick whomever you want in positions 11-15, the ball won’t be going anywhere near them in any case

Flok, keep getting “server problem” messages, outta here for now, cheers guys, gotta ride home.

1. Beast/ Trevor
    2. Scarra/Tyson
    3. Quota White player
    4. Eben
    5. PSDT
    6. Kolisi
    7. Oupa
    8. Carr
    9. Quota White player
    10. Jantjies Jr
    11. Senatla
    12. De Allende (Djy weet mos)
    13. Sithole
    14. Hendriks
    15. Kolbe

Extras:

Mapoe
    Od-one and other one
    A bunch of entitled 15 year olds playing for Grey, Bishops, PRG and Affies….

Embrace the future!!!!!

28 @ Stormersboy:
    That’s the spirit
    Who should be coach?
    That team looks like they can run a bit, need someone who embraces the running game

PDivvy of course!!

Chester, Jerome, AC, the rest will be history!!!

1 2 3 6

Total 710 users including 0 member, 710 guests, 0 bot online