Ruan Pienaar

Get better as quickly as possible, Fourie du Preez!

That should be the earnest, continued wish of all astute Springbok enthusiasts… even given the knowledge that his return to fitness after an ankle operation for national team purposes probably only comes in time for next year’s roster.

But with 2015 hardly unimportant as it signals the advent of another World Cup, in the United Kingdom, that’s still not the worst scenario to mull over.

Sport24

Frankly, the more often the proven genius and much-needed game management of Du Preez is not available to the Boks, the more prone they seem to be becoming to experiencing critical breakdowns of efficiency and X-factor in the key scrumhalf slot.

It happened again in Perth on Saturday, where South Africa’s sterility both at No 9 and to a lesser extent flyhalf, in the shape of Morne Steyn, hardly aided the cause in the damaging, controversial 24-23 Castle Rugby Championship defeat to Australia.

Elsewhere on the park, a host of Bok players produced either forceful or at least acceptably decent performances and it is widely acknowledged – even among some Aussie pundits and observers – that the visitors ought to have done enough to win after building up a nine-point cushion and looking in control until a sequence of late events, including the bewildering yellow card for caps centurion Bryan Habana, conspired against them.

Admittedly, the Boks were also their own worst enemies for botching this one, and are now under enormous pressure to knock over the mighty All Blacks in their own Wellington den this Saturday (09:35 SA Time) if the 2014 tournament isn’t to be turned into simply another one-horse race.

Wholesale changes – despite the inevitable, emotion-laden public spittle that inevitably follows a loss – are not justifiable: instability and heightened unfamiliarity of combinations are the last thing the underdogs need for their tough quest in the Cake Tin.

Yes, Steyn’s failure to find touch from a manna-from-heaven, relieving penalty in the dying stages will long be remembered as a massive contributor to the Wallaby rally for a fortunate triumph, but I also made the point on Saturday that ahead of that gremlin, the seasoned if rather predictable pivot hadn’t performed too poorly.

You have to fancy that coach Heyneke Meyer will forgive the expensive boo-boo and stick with Steyn against New Zealand, figuring that his experience and kicking ability both at the posts and out of hand – supplemented by a very necessary, particularly thunderous effort from the Bok pack – is the likeliest passport to an upset in what look like being soggy conditions once again.

But is a scrumhalf shake-up required to pep up the broader “nine and ten” dynamic this weekend, perhaps infusing a welcome mystery element to a partnership that seems no more than bland and workmanlike at present?

It is desperately tempting to believe so, after Pienaar struggled yet again to truly impose himself on the Perth fixture – in damp, Ulster-like conditions that are supposedly his forte.

Of course it is a subjective exercise but a mounting common denominator in Bok Tests minus the services of the ever-shrewd, crisp-passing Du Preez is a low score for the scrumhalf (whether Pienaar or anyone else) out of 10 on the Sport24 performance chart.

It was no different at Patersons Stadium where we gave Pienaar the lowest ranking of the entire Bok side (4.5), a downgrading even of the five dished out to him in the nerve-jangling Salta clash with Argentina a fortnight earlier.

In mitigation, there are times when you can feel quite sorry for scoring him so low, as seldom does a game go by where he doesn’t contribute at least some useful element now and then, and it can come to light more on second viewing of a particular match.

For instance, just how thankless would it have been for any scrumhalf operating behind that violently retreating Bok scrum in Argentina?

In Perth, too, Pienaar was an alert mopping-up element on defence at times when peril possibly stared the Boks in the face … although the old bogey of the player just looking too infuriatingly sluggish and unassertive at his core trade certainly resurfaced as well.

The tricky question facing Meyer, if he acknowledges a need for a shake-up, is which of Francois Hougaard or Cobus Reinach to install in Pienaar’s place; the former is presumably next in the intended pecking order as he was the substitute against the Wallabies.

But Hougaard has had his own Test-level ghosts, including a penchant for struggling with his box and clearance kicks, making him vulnerable to charge-down, whilst Reinach is a mercurial, effervescent character and nippy athlete but can go a bit “headless chicken” strategically.

Perhaps, though, this is one occasion where you simply must make a change for the very sake of it, in the desperate hope that it makes a difference?

The No 9 jersey is a weakness for the Springboks right now, and there don’t seem any guaranteed, immediate-fix solutions on that front.

But let’s not forget that next year it should, all going well on the Du Preez recovery front, suddenly veer toward an area of strength once more.

Yes, there is mounting debate about the wisdom of Meyer putting his faith in more than a handful of perceived “old crocks”, with decidedly mixed success of late.

But the one veteran to have convincingly reminded – prior to his latest injury setback – that class is permanent has been the 32-year-old former Bulls favourite.

Does Du Preez have another World Cup in him?

Fuelled by what we’ve seen of others in the No 9 shirt for the Boks, and even acknowledging the passing of his peak … oh, you bet he does.

It is just a shame he can’t gallop in on his horse to Wellington.

101 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Boks desperate for a No 9 spark

The Glass Half Empty or Fookin Completely Empty, Club… that’s how I feel about Ruan Pienaar and have felt about his Springbok inclusion for years now already!

Fact is, he does not work or produce at scrumhalf in the Springbok setup… that much we know, we also know he has not worked for a few years already…

It is clear for all to see, except the Springbok Management!!

So, why continue with him, why not go to unnatural lenghts to try other scrumhalves… if Hougie is not the natural successor.

Hell, try Reinach, Super Sareltjie…. the man in the moon, Twee Buffels Met Een Skoot Doodgeskietfontein’s 3rd Team scrummie, Laerskool Bultfontein Laerskool’s scrummie… anything but Pienaar, for Farks Steaks!!

But NOOOOOOOOO, they continue with the Kameelperd met die Afdraende Gesig Soos ‘n Hartseer Weeluis!!

Flok, die ou is kaksleg!

ABP.

You could say exactly the same about Morne. Those 2 do more single handedly to lose games for the Boks than they do to win.
    Both need to dropped asap.

3 @ John Galt:
    John,

To a degree I agree with you… however the flyhalf berth is a bit of a conundrum… with Johan Goosen not having shaped, Lambie not having shaped, Pollard now recently not having shaped, Marnitz Boshoff out with a long term injury, none of the WP or Cheetahs flyhalfs standing up well enough to be counted.

Morné Steyn made a terrible mistake, not to kick that fatefull last penalty out and of course to also not kick the last kick-off the required 10m, but he slotted every freegin penalty from any angle before that, which built that nice lead we had with 13 minutes to go…. his defence was solid.

Rather than throw him to the wolves, as I would like to happen to Ruan Kotsnaar, I would want to see what a proper scrumhalf can do, to link forwards and backs properly. Add to that a change in game approach, to limit the bloody up-and-unders, to play more possession rugby and things might improve considerably already.

Look, the Springboks had far more than 50% possession on Saturday, they had far better territorial Advantage than the Wallabies… so that was a huge positive.

The Springbok replacements on Saturday was a big problem… and Heyneke Meyer will have to take a huge amount of the blame for that as well… plus the Springboks as a whole, for choking in the last 13 minutes.

Bismarck added very little value, except the vital steal to set up Morné Steyn’s kak penalty, Lambie missed 2 absolutely vital tackles (one on Kuridrani) and Lambie was absolutely nowhere, Lood de Jager keeps missing tackles and I do not think he is an adequate scrummager yet.

Quite frankly the subs were diabolical!

The long term solution at flyhalf is not Morné Steyn, there you have my agreement, but neither is Lambie or Johan Goosen… and Pollard needs to grow into more maturity before we know about him…. same with Marnitz Boshoff.

At scrumhalf, with all due respect, there are many untried options, which could provide some spark… Cobus Reinach, Sarel Pretorius.. to name just 2.

What about Jano? If HM liked Kockott, and if he wasn’t looking for a French berth, would be the ideal no9.

@ Lion4ever:
    I am 100% behind you regarding Jano… fark k ows why he has been thrown away

gunther wrote:

ABP.

ABR.

Sports Day
    at the Glass Half Empty Primary School

Things were getting a little tense in the build-up to the Annual Sports Day at the Glass Half Empty Primary School.
    Scowls, muttered expletives, jostling for position, elbows in the ribs, standing on toes, shoves in the back… were the order of the day! And that was just among the parents in the half-empty stands of the Glass Half Empty School!

Little Johnny was crying at the shot-put ring… searching the stands for his dad… but his dad had refused to come because he knew little Johnny wouldn’t win… and being such a focused, driven and successful businessman, Little Johnny’s dad only backed winners!

Little Lucy was anchoring her team in the 4×100… her dad was there. Her mum was too. They’d come to see Little Lucy lead her team to victory. Little Lucy could run you see! In fact Little Lucy’s folks were so proud they were screaming, “That’s our girl! That’s Little Lucy! We’re sooo proud of her!” They screamed so loudly that Little Lucy heard them and looked into the stands and waved at her parents. “Mummy! Daddy! Look at me!”
    As she slowed to look at her parents she was passed by the other teams!
    “Run Lucy!” Screamed her Mum and Dad. “Ruuuun…!!”

But it was too late.
    Lucy’s team came stone last.
    “What did you DO…?!” Asked her deeply embarrassed father. “You should have won! You should’ve run to the end! You shouldn’t have slowed down to wave to us!
    Don’t you learn? You did the same last year. You ran the wrong race! You used the wrong game-plan! Didn’t I tell you run as fast as you can run…? Right to the end…? And it’s not over till the fat girl wheezes in…? Well, the fat girl beat you too! And she’s not even ranked in the top ten fastest girls!!
    What did your mother and I do to deserve public humiliation? Why should we come to watch your sports day if you’re going to make such stupid mistakes? Next year we’ll join the other empty half of the glass-half-empty parents and not come at all! But if we do, we’ll cheer for Little Sally’s team. At least they know how win! They’re a better team than yours.”
    Little Lucy burst into tears.

Just then Little Wendy’s dad’s voice drowns out Little Lucy’s dad’s voice. Little Wendy’s dad is screaming at the running coach, “It’s all your fault you moron! Why did you select that pathetic little girl? She’s useless! You should’ve selected my Little Wendy. Then we would have won the race! Hell, you’re a useless coach! We’d better get a new coach before next year.”
    Watching her dad scream and perform, Little Wendy burst into tears.

And so it was every year, at every event, at the Glass Half Empty Primary School. Parents performing on the sidelines when their children didn’t perform on the track. Parents screaming. Children balling their eyes out. Everyone blaming everyone.

Or was it…?

Hang on…? What’s that…? Is that laughter we hear?
    Yes, indeed, there’s a small group of parents and children who actually seem… oh heaven forbid… they seem… Happy…! 😯
    The children are laughing. The parents are laughing. Their children didn’t win anything. But they’re still happy with them. Oh my lordy…! They’ve even bought them ice-creams…! To celebrate…! Celebrate what…? Being losers…? They’re obviously happy to reward mediocrity…! What sort of life lesson is that to teach children? Scandalous…! What terrible parents…!
    Some people!

The Glass Half Empty parents were not pleased. Not pleased at all!
    “We’ll start a Facebook petition,” suggested one.
    “Let’s go on strike!” suggested another.
    “We’ll go to the Constitutional Court,” they all agreed.
    “It is our right to send our children to the Glass Half Empty School. It is our right to teach them to be realistic! It is totally wrong and offensive to expect us to accept children whose parents belong to the Glass Half Full Society! We must get them expelled. It must be illegal to have these Positive Bleddie Agents in our midst. They have no right to be happy. Or to express their happiness. They will corrupt our children with their positivity! What will we do if our children hear these rumours and learn these evil lessons of happiness and sunshine, rainbows… and… and… ice-cream… just for taking part…! What will they do next?”

And so the Glass Half Full Society was banned and the members branded as villains. But they didn’t mind… they knew the Glass Half Empty Parents were beyond redemption… but they could still turn a few of their children!

@ ufo:

Did little Johhny threaten to pull on an All Black shirt and stop supporting the Spwingboks because the coach was nasty.

@ gunther:

you’ve read the book too, i see… 😉

@ ufo:

Naughty Haymaker when he was good he was good and when he was bad he was howwid.

@ gunther:

indeed…

and all the other children took their toys and went home…

@ ufo:
    Nice story 😀
    I would maybe add that if Little Lucy got paid 4 million Rand a year to run a proper race, then perhaps the parents have a case?
    If she does it solely for the love of the game, and not as her job, then she can make elementary mistakes.

@ ufo:

What I find odd is that our super 15 teams were rubbish this year but we should still win the RC?

@ gunther:
    The glass half empty club would have told you from the beginning that we would not, the glass half full club blindly believes that we would.
    See the difference?
    The empty club questioned our poor play, the full club was happy with the wins over Wales and Argentina.
    Being a member of the empty club simply means that we still wear our Bok jerseys and hope things will go better on the weekend, but we realize that our team is not in the same class as the All Blacks, and we aren’t surprised if we lose after leading, because we won 2 tests out of the last 5 by trailing and also managed to fluke a win.
    The shoe must sometimes be on the other foot?
    We hope the coach and team finds the balance and plays decent rugby, and we know even when poor we will beat all teams except All Blacks, Australia and England, because, even when poor, we are still better than the rest of the world.

@ gunther:

exactly…

but now it’s all his fault for not pulling a hat out of the rabbit…! 🙄

and on the other hand norts… it remains a sport… and (unless you’re an indian bookie…) pretty much anything can and will happen… wins are not guaranteed… for anyone…
    and yes… the argies did make even the mighty ABs look quite ordinary in that first half… had that charge-down try been awarded… it may have given the argies the extra oomph and self-belief to challenge the ABs for longer…

what i don’t get is people who call themselves “supporters”… abandoning all support when their team is down… when it really would count… and be appreciated…

seems so many guys… as evidenced by the fast growing numbers (as admitted by you) of your glass-half empty club… are only prepared to support a successful team… at which time the team doesn’t really need the “support”… seems they’re not interested in actually supporting a struggling team and struggling coach…

more like fair-weather fans to me than genuine supporters… but then again… maybe true supporters only support winning teams and only dumb fans like me support teams not playing well…?

but hey… what do i know…? i’m alleged to embrace mediocrity…!! 😉

FdP was a disaster last time out vs the ABs at Ellis Park, the perfect complement to the inapt Morne Styen?
    You may think otherwise though 😉

@ ufo:
    There is a difference between glas half empty and abandoning the team.
    Picking the Aus to win at the weekend, or NZ this Saturday on a prediction game is merely weighing up the factors and going with ones head, nothing personal against the Boks, just plain common sense.
    The Argies losing by 19 was no surprise, they have lost by between 15-20 every year in NZ by that score since 2012.
    I think they have regressed, they drew with us at home in 2012 and have lost the next two years.
    They will be beaten in Arg by the AB’s by 35 plus, as per usual, then it’s nice weather and a hard field for the AB’s to run.
    Nothing has changed results wise in 3 years, how is that progress?
    If the AB’s had a decent kicker on Saturday the score would have been 30 plus.
    4 tries to 0 ( maybe 1) is still a drubbing, their backline scored with ease against us, they couldn’t dent the AB defense, as expected.
    Then people wonder how Aus got that last try?
    Our backline doesn’t know what is going on, players are out of position, the pivots are poor, even Willie is forced into a kicking game.

@ Hondo:
    FdP at his worst is still better than Ruan at his best.
    Problem is, FdP only plays home games (when fit) so it’s a pity the WC next year isn’t in SA

14 @ gunther
    1.Blues
    2.Crusaders
    3.Sharks
    4.Highlanders
    5.Reds
    6.Waratahs

1.Brumbies
    2.Crusaders.
    3.Stormers
    4.Chiefs
    5.Blues
    6.Bulls

1.Bulls
    2.Chiefs
    3.Hurricanes
    4.Crusaders
    5.Waratahs
    6.Sharks

@ ufo:
    Support works both ways…I have personally not said I’m not supporting the Bokke, I said that about the Stormers in the SR though…..there were plenty of gatvol Stormer supporters as well.
    Support doesn’t come cheap lately, jerseys cost a huge amount and then they change it every year.
    Tickets are anything but cheap, especially for tests.
    If you fork out 500 bucks to support your team against Wales and Argentina (not powerhouses of world rugby) you expect, no, they are professionals, you may demand a decent showing.
    Then you get fed a bunch of tripe on the field with a dose of “we built character” or “my best wet test ever”, then I agree that supporters have the right to tell them to get their act together.
    Last year the Boks lost at Ellis Park, yet no one complained. Why? Because we played a great game and lost fair and square to better opponents, but we played decent rugby which the supporters embraced

18 @ nortierd:

“If the AB’s had a decent kicker on Saturday the score would have been 30 plus.”

If Morne had made a decent kick and found touch… we would have won the game…?

“Then people wonder how Aus got that last try?”

When we were down to 14 men…?

See Norts… you make excuses/exceptions and use “what ifs” etc to defend and justify the All Blacks performance…

but don’t show the Springboks the same latitude or courtesy… and ignore all mitigating factors that compounded and caused the loss…

i’m not saying we played well or deserved to win… but fact is… had Morne made that kick… and we won our lineout… which was probable… you would be bemoaning another close and “undeserved” win…

if you’re going to play the coulda shoulda woulds for the ABs… surely you should allow the Boks the same leeway…?

just saying…? 😉

@ ufo:

Don’t be logical.

21 @ nortierd:

come on bud… supporting is not about buying a new jersey every year… or forking for tickets to every game…

how many ManU supporters around the world get jerseys every year or go to matches…?

but they still support… passionately…

support is about sticking with your team through thick and thin… imo anyway…

you’re welcome to do and say as you please… support and back who you like… we do live in a democracy now after all…

would be great if you could show the glass half full guys the same courtesy… no…?

anyway norts… have a 7pm to get to…

laters…!

Bye Bye

@ gunther:

hehehe…

cheers…

@ ufo:
    Cheers

gunther wrote:

@ ufo:

Don’t be logical.

Logic is how you figure out that, with the best of intentions, your team isn’t as good as you would like to believe.
    Now, some might blindly keep the faith and be ok with that, and the plethora of usual sound bites and excuses that follow games, others get fed up with it and would like to see some sort of improvement.
    But that makes us bad supporters?
    I really don’t mind the Rah rah Riepa supporters eating sunshine and never having empty glasses, but there is just as many supporters that could stomach a loss if the team at least tries to play rugby, or the coach selects players that is there with a purpose of building in mind.
    Sometimes you have just got to buy the pencil from the Jehovas witnesses, so I’ll rather stop this debate, as it’s pointless anyway.
    And no, I won’t pick the Bokke to win on Saturday, that would be illogical

We can beat those farkers on Saturday…

The word around the campfire is that its gonna rain.

Keep it tight, tackle like theirs no tomorrow and moer them at the set pieces.

They know we the only ones that can give them a go.

28 @ Jeraldjay:
    Will the rain suit us?
    We have had two wet weather tests this year, scraped a win at home against Argentina and lost to Australia.
    Wet weather won’t instill anymore confidence in our chances

You can run on for a long time
    Run on for a long time
    Sooner or later God’ll cut you down

Go tell that long tongue liar
    Go and tell that midnight rider
    Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
    Tell ’em that God’s gonna cut ’em down