Desmond Tutu

Anglican Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu says South Africa deserves to have a Springbok team representative of its rainbow nation, The Star reported on Friday.

“Now, nearly 20 years later, I lament the tortoise pace at which transformation at the highest level is being effected,” he said in a letter to The Star’s sister paper, The Cape Times.

Tutu criticised the SA Rugby Union (SARU) for the pace of transformation in the team, and said it was “particularly hurtful” to see the selection of black players as “peripheral squad members never given the chance to settle down and earn their spurs.”

Sport24

He said the country deserved a team that represented the “full spectrum of the rainbow that defines us”.

“Surely, by the 20th anniversary of our freedom from enforced separateness, there are a couple of dark horses out there to run with the browns and the chestnuts in feature races?”

On Saturday, the Springboks take on Argentina in Salta in the Rugby Championship.

Their starting 15 will include four coloured players (Cornal Hendricks, Damian de Allende, Bryan Habana and Gurthrö Steenkamp), and the remaining 11 are white. Two (Tendai Mtawarira and Lwazi Mvovo) of the eight players on the bench are black.

With the eye on next year’s Rugby World Cup, former Springbok captain John Smit says it is important for the Boks to beat the All Blacks in this year’s Rugby Championship.

Under the guidance of Heyneke Meyer, the Springboks have lost four Tests on the trot against the All Blacks.

Their last win came in Port Elizabeth in 2011, when Peter de Villiers was still the coach.

The Boks are scheduled to meet the All Blacks at the semi-final stage at next year’s World Cup in England, and Smit feels they must beat them now in order to go into the event confident.

“You don’t want to enter a World Cup tournament without beating New Zealand. Now is the time,” Smit said.

Before the semi-finals of next year’s showpiece event, South Africa could face either Australia, Wales or England in the quarter-finals.

In this year’s Rugby Championship, the Boks tackle the Kiwis on 13 September (Wellington) and 4 October (Johannesburg).

122 Responses to Springboks: Tutu wants more black Boks, John Smit wants Boks to beat All Blacks

ryecatcher wrote:

87 My comments seem to have been moderated.Thanks anyway.Regards Rye

Everything in moderation. Including moderation 😉

How you doing?

Jeraldjay wrote:

82 @ robzim:

Sorry Rob. I fortunately do Walk Alone.

I’m a Gooner for life…

Your bad luck then 🙂

Things are looking up for your team though, they seem to be closing in on Cavani as well..

@ ryecatcher:
    Pay it no mind bru, that’s our friend Pops…he sees black where other people see red when angry Happy-Grin

Peter must be closing in on 60 now… faaark, some of us are goners and that boy is still surfing!

Old surfers never die 🙂

Dugald M is also quite a waterman.. I think he is into open ocean rowing… either him or Donald.

And yes, Donald did play for Scotland a few times.

Best Ikey center pairing in my day was Babrow and Fiasconaro…Dirk was flyhalf then.

91 Hi pal.Wonderful to hear from you.Seems that Stormers and WP
    will have fabulous teams this year.Now that they have unshackled
    themselves from a defensive mindset.
    Kind regards Rye

92 @ robzim:

Life’s tough if you a Arsenal, Stormers/Province Proteas & Bok fan.

No draw, not under Steve Walsh anyway 😉
    And,
    Thanks for connecting Gunter with Tutu, seems to me a good match 😉

98 @ Hondo:
    Was referring to Angostura correctly predicting the draw between Aus and NZ in Sydney last week.

Don’t bother.

Were dealing with a mental amoeba here.

@ gunther:
    I’m sure he would have made a killing if he had also placed a wager on a draw

Surprising really when you think he makes a living from his betting skill and unsurpassed rugby knowledge.

I am a big fan of the Arch…
    But perhaps he should concentrate on the sports that are obviously too white.
    Let him start with swimming.

@ nga puhi:18

Poops you are a clown boet.
    Peyper admitted to getting some calls on the scrums wrong – not to having a shocker like Bryce…….or Honiss.
    He wasn’t forced to make an apology……
    Unlike your man Paddy who made the poor Ozzie ref apologise to the all black team.
    The sanctimonious kiwis forget all these things and then bawl like kids when things don’t go their way.
    As for that Messam thing, like Gunther said, where was this threat on a life?
    Calm down, your hatred is messing with that brain cell of yours.

@ Charo:
    104 One half of his nic sounds like what is said when assailed by
    an unpleasant odour.
    Appropriate.
    Regards Rye

@ Charo:
    The shallow side of the pool, please,have mercy Charo…there may be sharks over at the deep end if your private swimming pool is anything to go by!

Kia ora Pops, did you know that amongst all Bryce’s “bad calls” it was also his fault that a certain Springbok (Jaque Fourie?) dropped the ball with an open tryline abegging?
    Amazed

@ ryecatcher:
    Nga Puhi is an Iwi a Tribe … it is made up of many hapu. .subtribes…I connect to Te Mahurehure from Ngapuhi ki Hokianga and Ngati Mahia a hapu of Nga Puhi in Mangakahia…

@ Charo:
    and up yours charo, fact is Peyper was poor last weekend, I said as such, the man himself admitted as much, yet you lot seem to have a problem when a kiwi moans about a ref.

this site after the Eden park test when Bizzy got sent off, and the subsequent all out attack on NZ and kiwis, makes my complaints pale in comparison.

why can saffas whinge incessantly about refs but when we kiwis feel aggreived we arent allowed to mention the ref?

its a shame the hypocrisy on this site is so very very thick

wait until a saffa is carded in TRC, it will be open slather again.

nice comments rye, the sort Id expect from someone who seems to have nominated himself the arbiter of what constitutes decency these days.

but continue mocking my culture, it seems such an ingrained response from a SA such as yourself.

Are you guys now finished insulting each other and fighting?
    It’s like the one says something while the other is sleeping (damn time differences 😀 ) then when the insulter goes to sleep the insultee (poetic license to make up my own words now) wakes up and insults back, then goes to sleep and the new insulted wakes up and the cycle continues.
    Personally, I think it’s time you guys laid this one to bed, the Sydney test is now a week old, so chill, wait for Eden Park, and you can start all over again.

Why can’t ex props..locks…forwards in general be international refs…is it a prerequisite to be a little weasel…

@ nga puhi:
    @ Te Rangatira:
    Top of the morning to you Kiwis, howzit!
    Good luck, I will be keeping a keen eye on the linesman and TMO todsy Wink
    And here is to hoping that you lot can give the folks in the “Land of the Long Silver Medal” something to celebrate about for a change, so nga puhi, get those Speights out so long bru …Cheers

And also a big cheers to our Kiwi brothers and SA referees!!! Woodstock Beer Beer Approve

My comment is awaiting moderation?
    Wtf is this? Cry-Out Amazed
    I was just saying good morning…

Something I heard this morning:

“Hurt people hurt”

“Hear the sound between the black & white keys”

C’mon tis time to break this vicious cycle, this downward spiral … you can do it, if you really want to …

Good Morning Pietman… time to party… :p

@ nga puhi:
    @ Te Rangatira:
    Morning fellas!
    (Just checking if this one will also be moderated…. Tears )
    Shyte start to your rugby day, I tell you, your first friendly post bring moderated….

@ Te Rangatira:
    Kia ora…!
    I thought I had put up some friendly comment for you boys, but it was moderated!
    Whatsup, you Kiwis persona non grata here on RT all of a sudden or what ?

This is what I said in the intro of my commen being moderated at the moment….maybe one shouldn’t use words like linesman and TMO anymore!:

” @ Te Rangatira and ngha puhi:
    Top of the morning to you Kiwis, howzit!
    Good luck, I will be keeping a keen eye on the linesman and TMO today !”

Lol….when I don’t notice the lines men I’m happy as for the Ref…if I can’t remember his name..it’s usually a game well done…

Total 146 users including 0 member, 146 guests, 0 bot online