Jean De Villiers

Springbok captain Jean de Villiers is clear that his team need to take a massive step up before they face the Wallabies in Perth in their next Castle Lager Rugby Championship game on 6 September.

The Bok captain arrived home from the great Salta escape โ€“ where the Boks needed a penalty four minutes from time to beat a plucky, aggressive Argentinean team โ€“ knowing that the weight of public outrage at the result would be waiting for his team.

But De Villiers is a pragmatist, and, as he points out: it wasnโ€™t the greatest of performances, but a win is a win.

SuperSport

While there is a lot for the Bok management to work on before they take on the Wallabies, and even more before they head to Wellington to face the All Blacks a week later, it isnโ€™t all doom and gloom in the Bok camp, even though it may seem so for their fans.

โ€œWeโ€™re not happy with our performance but definitely happy with the two wins,โ€ De Villiers said on arriving back in Johannesburg.

โ€œI think we all know that this is a very tough competition and if you keep on winning โ€“ if you are not firing on all cylinders, that is a positive result. Weโ€™ll take the two wins but there’s still a lot of hard work that needs to be done before the next game.โ€

While De Villiers is still adamant that the Argentineans are a lot better side than their 12th place on the IRB rankings portrays, he accepts that the pressure is on the team to show they can do better when they head to Perth. Argentinaโ€™s lowly log position comes mainly from the fact they play a B-team in the June internationals and only have their European based stars for the Rugby Championship, meaning their ranking has been in freefall for the last two years.

The ranking clearly isnโ€™t something Los Pumas care too much for, and most rugby fans will agree that on the evidence of the last two weeks they would give most teams ahead of them on the rankings a massive fright, if not condemn them to defeat.

Still, for a team that constantly talks about concentrating on their own game, the Boks have a lot of work to do. They arenโ€™t satisfied with how they played, something that De Villiers took every opportunity to underline.

โ€œI think thatโ€™s a good thing (that the public expect more from us),โ€ De Villiers admitted. โ€œIf the supporters and public can put as much pressure on us as possible to achieve better and perform better, then I see that as a positive sign. I think once we are happy with mediocrity and just putting up an average performance then I think we are in trouble. We see it as a good thing and we know we didnโ€™t play well. We need to up our game and we need to improve.โ€

The Bok captain said he did take note of the impressive All Black performance on Saturday in putting up a half century against the Wallabies in their demolition at Eden Park, but that for now, they are in the distance. First priority is the Perth game, and that is where the Boks need to focus their attention right now.

โ€œThey were impressive but we are only seeing them in three weeks’ time,โ€ De Villiers said on the All Blacks.

โ€œThe focus for us right now is Australia and putting up a good performance against them, after that weโ€™ll take on the next one.โ€

โ€œAt the end of the day weโ€™re happy that we won two out of two and weโ€™re top of the log at the moment in the Rugby Championship.

โ€œBut we are very realistic in the way we played and what lies ahead for us.

โ€œThere needs to be improvement and if we want to walk away with the trophy at the end of the tournament we need to put up better performances.โ€

271 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Springboks – Jean stating the obvious

I just dont believe in principle that we should absolutely throw all our toys out the cot because it was Argentina, their Nr. 12 ranking is not reflective of the standard of rugby they delivered…simple as that emoboy ๐Ÿ˜‰

Time for you to join the glass half full group.

eg spurious

“A day you don’t learn something new is a day wasted.”

209 @ Nama:
    Ja, utter kak… glass sommer farking empty kak…

… but we still won…

… and we know where to improve…

Oh, and did I mention, we still won!

210 @ grootblousmile:
    Welkom terug GBS, vertrou jy het ‘n lekker breuk gehad, jy moet maar Nortie onder hande neem, hy laat die Sharks supporters lyk soos mans onlangs terug van hulle honeymoon.

Most of the private game reserve periodically sawing off the Black Rhinos’ horns which supposedly the poachers’ target, the White(wide lip) rhinos are usually not affected but things could have changed lately
    Black Rhinos aren’t protected for 2 decades in the Kruger nor are the tuskers, I’ll be surprised if any of them still survive

212 @ IAAS:
    My glass was half full IAAS.
    I thought we would scrape a win by between 5-10
    Basterdos only managed to win by 2 ๐Ÿ˜€
    Argentina were 3-7 points better than I expected, those up and coming cads

215 @ MacroBok:
    Ja, ek sien hy en Namascara is lekker flokken EMO!

Mens kan Nortels nรชrens heen vat nie, nie eers na ‘n hodeskou nie… hy sal die prys vir “Owner and dog lookalike” wรชn!

…hy laat hulle lyk asof hulle volgende jaar weer die conference cup gaan wen… Happy-Grin

@ MacroBok:
    To me it does not matter if it is 12th ranked or 1st.
    By now after 29 games under HM we must deliver a solid game. We must have more than one plan, and the brilliant players brought in must show some guts and skills.
    They can not hope to pluck the “rat out of the hat” like PdeV said. It must be natural instinct.
    Practice makes perfect

superBul wrote:

@ MacroBok:
    To me it does not matter if it is 12th ranked or 1st.
    By now after 29 games under HM we must deliver a solid game. We must have more than one plan, and the brilliant players brought in must show some guts and skills.
    They can not hope to pluck the โ€œrat out of the hatโ€ like PdeV said. It must be natural instinct.
    Practice makes perfect

We all want to win well, but like our 73 point win last year, people would still find a reason to complain… dont you agree?

Well then, congrats to the Boks on an utter kak win.
    …should we now be satisfied with that?
    …do we really know where the problems are?

Oh yes, congrats to the Bokke on a kak win. ๐Ÿ˜‰

@ MacroBok:
    Ha ha , you fellows want to talk about emo…jeepers, you’ve been camping out for 3 weeks outside Loftus with cases of vrot tomatoes and rotten eggs waiting for your team and Ludeke to come out of their weekly uitkak parade ๐Ÿ™„

222 @ Nama:
    Bwahahaha

No we should not be satisfied, but neither should we be EMO about it…. hehehe

Jy’s weer lekker snaaks, jou Namakwalander!

Kom jy ooit hier in Gangsters Paradise? Indien so wil ek jou ‘n bier koop!

Typical emo deflection ๐Ÿ˜›

Some would argue the vrot tomatoes were inside Loftus all along.

@ Hondo:
    Hondo my friend the rinos are killed for pieces of their horn. It is a massacre. Last year 1004, this year so far almost 600, it will top last years figures. The White rhino is killed too. In fact 90% is White Rhinos. They have some success with anti poaching , but far too many poachers get away. Every week you hear of one poacher killed , one wounded and one got away. It must be 3 killed , no one to tell the story. They must just disapear, leave their corpses in the veld let the predators feast on them.

223 @ nortierd:

Ek is darem nie so erg nie, Norts, sommige dom fokkers like allerhande Facebook Petitions al om van Ludeke ontslae te raak… asof dit nou enige effek sou hรช.

Ek verkies die ander metode, Jakarandaboom en ‘n sterk tou… hahaha

225 @ MacroBok:
    Now, that’s no way to speak about Luke and his Kings…they were your guests after all

This is how I see the last 2 weeks – Norty and Nama. I never was good at summaries – but this is better.

Argument Clinic

Man: Ah. I’d like to have an argument, please.

Receptionist: Certainly sir. Have you been here before?

Man: No, I haven’t, this is my first time.

Receptionist: I see. Well, do you want to have just one argument, or were you thinking of taking a course?

Man: Well, what is the cost?

Receptionist: Well, It’s one pound for a five minute argument, but only eight pounds for a course of ten.

Man: Well, I think it would be best if I perhaps started off with just the one and then see how it goes.

Receptionist: Fine. Well, I’ll see who’s free at the moment.

(Pause)

Receptionist: Mr. DeBakey’s free, but he’s a little bit conciliatory. Ahh yes, Try Mr. Barnard; room 12.

Man: Thank you.

(Walks down the hall. Opens door.)

Mr. Barnard: WHAT DO YOU WANT?

Man: Well, I was told outside that…

Mr. Barnard: Don’t give me that, you snotty-faced heap of parrot droppings!

Man: What?

Mr. Barnard: Shut your festering gob, you tit! Your type really makes me puke, you vacuous, coffee-nosed, malodorous, pervert!!!

Man: Look, I CAME HERE FOR AN ARGUMENT, I’m not going to just stand…!!

Mr. Barnard: OH, oh I’m sorry, but this is abuse.

Man: Oh, I see, well, that explains it.

Mr. Barnard: Ah yes, you want room 12A, Just along the corridor.

Man: Oh, Thank you very much. Sorry.

Mr. Barnard: Not at all.

Man: Thank You. (Under his breath) Stupid git!!

(Walk down the corridor)

Man: (Knock)

Mr. Vibrating: Come in.

Man: Ah, Is this the right room for an argument?

Mr. Vibrating: I told you once.

Man: No you haven’t.

Mr. Vibrating: Yes I have.

Man: When?

Mr. Vibrating: Just now.

Man: No you didn’t.

Mr. Vibrating: Yes I did.

Man: You didn’t

Mr. Vibrating: I did!

Man: You didn’t!

Mr. Vibrating: I’m telling you I did!

Man: You did not!!

Mr. Vibrating: Oh, I’m sorry, just one moment. Is this a five minute argument or the full half hour?

Man: Oh, just the five minutes.

Mr. Vibrating: Ah, thank you. Anyway, I did.

Man: You most certainly did not.

Mr. Vibrating: Look, let’s get this thing clear; I quite definitely told you.

Man: No you did not.

Man: You didn’t.

Mr. Vibrating: Did.

Man: Oh look, this isn’t an argument.

Mr. Vibrating: Yes it is.

Man: No it isn’t. It’s just contradiction.

Mr. Vibrating: No it isn’t.

Man: It is!

Mr. Vibrating: It is not.

Man: Look, you just contradicted me.

Mr. Vibrating: I did not.

Man: Oh you did!!

Mr. Vibrating: No, no, no.

Man: You did just then.

Mr. Vibrating: Nonsense!

Man: Oh, this is futile!

Man: I came here for a good argument.

Mr. Vibrating: No you didn’t; no, you came here for an argument.

Man: An argument isn’t just contradiction.

Mr. Vibrating: It can be.

Man: No it can’t. An argument is a connected series of statements intended to establish a proposition.

Man: Yes it is! It’s not just contradiction.

Mr. Vibrating: Look, if I argue with you, I must take up a contrary position.

Man: Yes, but that’s not just saying ‘No it isn’t.’

Mr. Vibrating: Yes it is!

Man: No it isn’t!

Man: Argument is an intellectual process. Contradiction is just the automatic gainsaying of any statement the other person makes.

(short pause)

Man: It is.

Mr. Vibrating: Not at all.

Man: Now look.

Mr. Vibrating: (Rings bell) Good Morning.

Man: What?

Mr. Vibrating: That’s it. Good morning.

Man: I was just getting interested.

Mr. Vibrating: Sorry, the five minutes is up.

Man: That was never five minutes!

Mr. Vibrating: I’m afraid it was.

Man: It wasn’t.

(Pause)

Mr. Vibrating: I’m sorry, but I’m not allowed to argue anymore.

Man: What?!

Mr. Vibrating: If you want me to go on arguing, you’ll have to pay for another five minutes.

Man: Yes, but that was never five minutes, just now. Oh come on!

Mr. Vibrating: (Hums)

Man: Look, this is ridiculous.

Mr. Vibrating: I’m sorry, but I’m not allowed to argue unless you’ve paid!

Man: Oh, all right.

(pays money)

Mr. Vibrating: Thank you. (short pause)

Man: Well?

Mr. Vibrating: Well what?

Man: That wasn’t really five minutes, just now.

Mr. Vibrating: I told you, I’m not allowed to argue unless you’ve paid.

Man: I just paid!

Mr. Vibrating: No you didn’t.

Man: I DID!

Mr. Vibrating: No you didn’t.

Man: Look, I don’t want to argue about that.

Mr. Vibrating: Well, you didn’t pay.

Man: Aha. If I didn’t pay, why are you arguing? I Got you!

Mr. Vibrating: No you haven’t.

Man: Yes I have. If you’re arguing, I must have paid.

Mr. Vibrating: Not necessarily. I could be arguing in my spare time.

Man: Oh I’ve had enough of this.

Mr. Vibrating: No you haven’t.

Man: Oh Shut up.

(Walks down the stairs. Opens door.)

Man: I want to complain.

Complainer: You want to complain! Look at these shoes. I’ve only had them three weeks and the heels are worn right through.

Man: No, I want to complain about…

Complainer: If you complain nothing happens, you might as well not bother.

Man: Oh!

Complainer: Oh my back hurts, it’s not a very fine day and I’m sick and tired of this office.

(Slams door. walks down corridor, opens next door.)

Man: Hello, I want to… Ooooh!

Spreaders: No, no, no. Hold your head like this, then go Waaah. Try it again.

Man: uuuwwhh!!

Spreaders: Better, Better, but Waah, Waah! Put your hand there.

Man: No.

Spreaders: Now..

Man: Waaaaah!!!

Spreaders: Good, Good! That’s it.

Man: Stop hitting me!!

Spreaders: What?

Man: Stop hitting me!!

Spreaders: Stop hitting you?

Man: Yes!

Spreaders: Why did you come in here then?

Man: I wanted to complain.

Spreaders: Oh no, that’s next door. It’s being-hit-on-the-head lessons in here.

Man: What a stupid concept.

There is more to come ๐Ÿ™
    Interesting squad, don’t you think so?
    3 LH props selected for one spot
    3 FHs selected for one spot
    3 Centres selected for 2 spots
    3 Hookers for one spot
    3 Scrumhalves selected for 0ne spot
    1 recognised TH!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

Was einde 2012 daar in daai geweste.

Maak dit ‘n KWV en ons kan gesels. Nou nie juis ‘n ou vir bier nie.

Kom jy saam Loftus toe Saterdag….ek dink dit gaan n baie lekker game wees om na te kyk, en shame, hulle wil darem seker voor n paar mense ook speel

@ IAAS:
    Monty Python?

But, when is it an argument and when is it a debate or a difference of opinion?

229 @ IAAS:
    Now I want to complain!

You made me read all that kak!!

Naandse.
    Ek het pas ingekom na n lang werkdag en wou nie eintlik deel he aan julle privaatgesprek nie, maar ek dink jy moet maar stadig ou bul, asseblief, onderstaande aanmerking staan my glad nie aan nie, jammer om te se. En ek ken julle beide lank genoeg om my bek daaroor te rek.
    Van wanneer is jy die weglopers se segsman?
    En nou kan jy my maar kom byt!

“You have chased almost all our Bruvvas away, and sorry old mate that is going to happen to many more”

232 @ nortierd:
    Ja, maar ek sal in die Press Box gaan sit… wie wil nou saam met plebs soos julle uithang!

231 @ Nama:
    Het juis so paar bottels KWV hierso, kan werk ja!

To save time reading it, watch the movie…. ๐Ÿ˜†

@ Nama:

We had this on the other site just to lighten the mood a little. And it is only Monday.

En nou gaan ek stort en slaap, nag almal.
    Praat annerdag weer rugby, dis hoekom ons hier is mos….

Total 29 users including 0 member, 29 guests, 0 bot online