Rugby-Talk.comHi Rugby-Talkers,

What a frustrating day and a half it was on Monday and Tuesday morning!!

Our Rugby-Talk.com Web Hosts were supposed to automatically renew and extend the DOMAIN REGISTRATION of Rugby-Talk.com… and it slipped between the cup and the lip. I was supposed to check that the renewal took place… and did’nt.

So, Murphey’s Law applied and the DOMAIN NAME officially expired on 2 August 2014, keeping the cached pages live in South Africa till morning somewhere yesterday, Monday 4 August 2014… when it disappeared on us all for a while, saying the web page is not available.

Of course I immediately jumped on the Web Hosts and were all over them, like a rash.

To say that I was livid, is probably the understatement of the century!

Bottom line is the DOMAIN RENEWAL was done, post haste, paid for in US Dollar and within hours the website was live again… in the United States… but nowhere near Africa, of course!

What happens is that DOMAIN PROPAGATION has to take effect all over the world as the NAMESERVER POINTING takes place and now has to take hold all over, with the different world ISP’s refreshing their cache at different intervals. Proper Propagation of a Website Domain often takes as long as 48 Hours, luckily we were fortunate enough to have less than 24 Hours out in the cold dark world.

The Silver Lining, I suppose, is that this happened on a Monday and not later in the week or on a game weekend.

Apologies for the inconvenience and the downtime!

At least Rugby-Talk.com boasts a proud history of great uptime and this little snag was a mere blimp on the radar, very quickly alleviated!

Regards,

Rudi Geldenhuys

(Webmaster grootblousmile)

41 Responses to Rugby-Talk.com WEBSITE OUTAGE!

Because I spent so much time yesterday fighting with the web hosts… and confirming and re-confirming that everything was back on track, I ended up working on my other IT business stuff till 05:00 this morning… it was getting light already when I climbed into bed for a quick power nap till 08:30, after which it was all guns blazing again at my office.

Needless to say I am rather farking miffy today… and not in the most pleasant of moods!

Welkom terug Mnr Webmonster

Phew, for a moment there I thought I was somehow trying to log onto Voldy.

Horror of horrors!!!
    Tired

4 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    I will NEVER, but NEVER leave the Rugby-Talkers in the lurch, like what happened on Voldy!

This is OUR Rugby Community, together… and the Rugby-Talkers are important to me.. and always will be.

Yep, a sight of relief

Welcome back RT family welcome home… 😛 Was a bit Weary

…so glad RT is up and running again…

8 & 9 @ Gumboots:
    Ja swaer…

Jeez, so many things to remember these days, such a lot of little odds & ends in the background here which most are totally oblivious to..

I was “Behoorlik Bedonnerd” yesterday when our rugby house went missing for a while… ek wou naderhand my eie kak met klippe gooi, damn it was frustrating!

What is heartening is the fact how quickly you lot old Voldy folk have made this your new Rugby Home and how seemless you have integrated here, and now carry the best interests of Rugby-Talk.com in your hearts… as if you had always been part of this wonderful tool of ours.

Dankie tog!!! gedink ek moet weer keo lees.Hou soo aan Groot.

11 @ saffer:
    Will do so… this is OUR house, ons plekkie… where likeminded fellas & flatties enjoy rugby!

8 & 9 @ Gumboots:
    Ja swaer…

Jeez, so many things to remember these days, such a lot of little odds & ends in the background here which most are totally oblivious to..

I was “Behoorlik Bedonnerd” yesterday when our rugby house went missing for a while… ek wou naderhand my eie kak met klippe gooi, damn it was frustrating!

What is heartening is the fact how quickly you lot old Voldy folk have made this your new Rugby Home and how seemless you have integrated here, and now carry the best interests of Rugby-Talk.com in your hearts… as if you had always been part of this wonderful tool of ours.

I have to say you make us feel at home here! At Voldy we were even abused by the housekeeper. 😆 It has been a great move by us and I trust some of the others will also join us sooner rather than later…

For a moment i thought i was deleted

Although i dont talk much lately i do visit and read all the headlines. In All honesty there is far too much to read here for a busier guy. But i read the more active thread comments and trust the opinions of my friends here.

Keep going Rudi, you are still the most passionate member here and i will always try and stay part of this great Rugby Home.
    THANK-YOU

@ superBul: hear hear SB. Concur exactly. I too cannot spend the time I’d like to on this site or any other for that matter. But right here is as close to what I’d call home. Folks I’d happily braai with. That says it all.

@ Gumboots: GB I was wondering wat die hel gaan aan met my goed. Then the sun arose again.

Everybody likes a community. Size is of no consequence. Small works too. This small community of friends who all happen to love rugby, is sometimes what makes life worth living. Keo had it in patches but was to interspersed with lousy attitude from some. GBS keeps his house in order which is the way I/we like it. Am I becoming too sentimental?

@ grootblousmile: GB you don’t know what you’ve created here boet. Takes what you’ve lost to realise what you’ve lost. Most of us are grateful to you for the effort.

nou moet ek bed toe. 🙂
    Chaars

Approve

Hahhah, I thought Rugby Talk had crashed because and English woman had won the Rugby Talks superBru crown!!!

Cheers GBS, thanks for your efforts.

Who-s-the-man

English Rose you stayed on top for how long? Never crashed. Maybe Jake must read your biography Overjoy Roses-are-red

I must try and get on here at night, late night. Maybe a nice Night Owl club reunion.
    During daytime i am very busy. And i crash to sleep easily after a hard days work. After my power nap i am wide awake around midnight. I use it mostly to Google new trends and garden ideas.

Will right now start to study a picture someone send me and create a patch like that for them.

Thank you old friend, however, I just got lucky!!

It was huge fun, but I am rubbish at Currie Cup so everyone will enjoy seeing me flounder there!! Pondering

I think a Night Owl Reunion night would be fantastic, what a brilliant idea.

Just need to track down Soda Joe and get Grant 10 to make a guest appearance!! Overjoy

Blue Bird wrote:

Thank you old friend, however, I just got lucky!!

Our greatest golfer Gary Player used to say “the more i practice the luckier i get”
    I was on my worst ever SBru, i did not even pick every week.
    At this stage i dont even feel like playing for a while.
    i think i won twice in my first year and are now beating my Bulls team in a win less run

The Bulls are not The Bulls that I first knew!!

But teams have sticky moments………. WE must have patience!

Keep with the superBru, it is a roller coaster ride, sometimes it is nice to do wild picks just to see what happens!!

Blue Bird wrote:

The Bulls are not The Bulls that I first knew!!

We need some serious talking in Pretoria. Never before did we have or just waited patiently for 5 years without a Cup.
    Although many people laugh of the CC , i still feel strong about that CUP. Our greatest players cried in winning it and almost lost it in not getting a sip out of that Cup.
    Nothing is sacred anymore.
    i have not heard much about the Ranfurly shield , do they still play for it?

15 – 19 @ Tassies:
    Thanks Tasse!

I am glad most Rugby-Talkers feel a passion for this website.

It was due to this SHARED PASSION that the website was first formed, to some extent, BUT it is definately due to this SHARED PASSION that I keep putting into this website what I have done and will continue to do!!

14 @ superBul:
    Thanks.

Its called the ITM Cup now, as far as I know.

Total 36 users including 0 member, 36 guests, 0 bot online