EP KingsDHL WPEP Kings (11) 16 / 35 (10) WP (Final Score)

The Eastern Province Kings and DHL Western Province did battle in the Currie Cup Premier Division at

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth at 19:10 SA Time (17:10 GMT).

EP Kings:

• Penalties – Scott van Breda (2)
  • Tries – Luke Watson (1), Kevin Luiters (1)

Western Province:

• Penalties – Demetri Catrakilis (3)
  • Tries – Pat Howard (1), Nizaam Carr (1), Michael van der Spuy (1), Cheslin Kolbe (1)
  • Conversions – Demetri Catrakilis (3)

EP Kings: 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Ronnie Cooke, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Tobie Botes, 8 Luke Watson (Captain), 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Steven Cummins, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka
Replacements: 16 Albe de Swardt, 17 CJ vd Linde, 18 Darron Nell, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa.

Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (Captain), 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis,  9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Manuel Carizza, Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Alistair Vermaak
Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Eben Etzebeth, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Pat Howard.

Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Christie du Preez, Jaco Pretorius
TMO: Deon van Blommestein

197 Responses to Currie Cup: Eastern Province Kings vs DHL Western Province – Live Game Article

hehe he will definitely be in the team.

Final Score: DHL Western Province 35 / 16 EP Kings

Okaaay….oppie nippertjie, mooi Percy Kolbe, jy het WP se seisoen gered!

Bokke, Sharks & Kings, in that order

Kolisi gave some excellent moral support today, he saved his best work for congratulating the try scorers.

Bonus point try. Job done. But the penalties and YC’s will be addressed. Has to be.

# hey man Pietman Ruan is a bakgat player seen him play many good games, just seems once opinions are formed on some players they (the opinions) are hard to shift

So he had a busy day.

Not too bad for Province taking into consideration that they played for 30 min with 14 men ( their own fault) and that it was their first match in a very long time ( their braintrust decided that they should not play any warm up matches)

Next week at home should be better.

157 @ Bullscot:
    hammer right on the head, you nearly split it right down the middle.

EP Kings should stop dreaming about entering the Super rugby comp just yet, me thinks… Worry

@ IAAS:
    haha yes to WP’s try scoring standards

(mind you I don’t think the blue bulls will manage three tries vs the kings)

Bullscot wrote:

# hey man Pietman Ruan is a bakgat player seen him play many good games, just seems once opinions are formed on some players they (the opinions) are hard to shift

Bakgat player in the NH, I have nothing against the man, saw him play great rugby for the Sharks at #9 and #10…and saw him play as kuk for the Boks as well. Too slow…

Lekker gooi JdJ die Klein Drakensteinse rooi taal Delighted

I will build and schedule tomorrow’s 3 Live Game Articles for the 3 Currie Cup games in the morning.

I need sleep tonight… I had a virtual all-nighter again last night here at the office, just had a power nap, then was up again and only got back from clients at 18:50 tonight… just in time to do my Bru picks and build this Live Game Thread…

Lekker gooi JdJ die Klein Drakensteinse rooi taal

You were right with your prediction earlier on….. your old friend Luke got the official MO M 🙂

@ Angostura:
    #154 sorry got logged out. Cheers for that pity your team didn’t give you something to celebrate tonight hopefully they will come good for you soon. As for me must be obvious Blue Bulls/Bulls are my team and Glasgow Warriors. On the international front it still is the Boks followed closely by Scotland.

Luke Watson – Man of the Match. After his team went down 35 – 16.

That’ll be a difficult one for visiting teams to get their hands on. 🙄

If ever I’ve seen a hometown decision……..

Good game from Luke
    Not so good from the Kings
    WP will be there or thereabouts at the business end
    G’nite

hehehe… ” Demitri put us on the fast foot forward”….. classic Wellington English.

And well deserved as well! Give the man his dues…but don’t you Luke groupies now start thinking Green and Gold again! Overjoy

#163 I wish he had got more into the flyhalf role think he was looking good there for the Boks and some of the best games have seen him play for Ulster at flyhalf a real general

robzim wrote:

hehehe… ” Demitri put us on the fast foot forward”….. classic Wellington English.

Ek smaak daai! Lekker om te hoor as man in die buiteland sit…

Interesting start to the Currie Cup of 2014!

I am a bit hesitant about the Blue Bulls chances tomorrow and for the season….

He played flyhalf at Grey College, kept Morne out of Cravens the first year (Ruan was Std 9 when he played provincial schools). Talented player, will go to WC as utility back, no question.

@ Angostura:
    Tjorts, see you tomorrow.

@ Angostura:
    If the passing was more accurate it could have been much closer. Line outs ? What line outs, it looked like they played against 5 Victor Matfields, shit scared and ugly line out work

It seems like the hard fast passing and lineout throws are Carlos Spencers idea but not mastered by the players yet

Total 34 users including 0 member, 34 guests, 0 bot online