Allister Coetzee

Has Allister Coetzee reached the end of the road with the Stormers?

The Stormers’ Super Rugby regression will continue unabated in the years ahead if not for decisive intervention.

Four short years ago they were losing finalists. Just two years ago they topped the log and lost in the semi-final to the Sharks. In 2014 they finished 11th, having lost nine out of 16 matches and, more tellingly, lost any aura of being a formidable opponent.

SA Rugbymag

They’ve recruited Gert Smal to assist in halting the slide to mediocrity. On the early evidence of his influence, he has only managed to slow it, and even then, not significantly so. Their attack has been terminally crocked, and while they used to be able to boast about their excellent defensive structures, they are now 11 tries worse off than what they were at the end of their tournament last season. A clutch of key players are either injured or on the brink of catastrophic injury (Duane Vermeulen being just one example in the latter category) because of being overplayed. Players like Siya Kolisi and Jaco Taute have stalled in their development. There are gifted youngsters coming through the system but none who will make an immediate impact. The future looks bleak.

It’s frightening how far the franchise has slipped in four years. The departure of Rassie Erasmus hastened the decline. He implemented excellent structures on and off the field and cast the vision for a bright future. The void he left hasn’t been adequately filled.

The loss of senior players to foreign clubs has been another contributing factor. I appreciate the difficulty in countering foreign contracts, but the Stormers’ player retention has been poor, even in the context of that. So too their talent identification in age-group levels and in the senior ranks, the latter seeing average players like Elton Jantjies and Michael Rhodes become Stormers regulars.

Head coach Allister Coetzee will point to an injury list from hell in the period in discussion as a mitigating factor in their decline. However, even sides ravaged in the manner they have been have shown that while it does compromise your ability to win regularly against elite sides, it should not render you a soft target. The Stormers have become just this due to their failure to grow their game. This speaks to the limitations of their coaching staff, and those limitations are significant.

The Western Province Rugby Union have vehemently batted away any questions about the future of their coaching staff, declaring their support despite the franchise finding itself trapped in a maze of mediocrity. Indeed any media criticism of their coaches or the team’s performances have been seen as treachery of the highest order. I’ve heard more than one journalist tell me about taking calls from WP HQ intended to scare them into line. I ignored that call. Seven times. And I expect to ignore another series of calls once this column circulates at Newlands.

They appear happy to marinate in this mediocrity, rejecting outside perspectives on their performance and forecasts of their future. Coetzee looks set to continue in his role indefinitely, when he and his assistants’ ongoing value should be seriously assessed. I can’t see any objective review process finding them suitable to continue.

A semi-final finish or Currie Cup victory will be pointed to as vindication for sticking with Coetzee and co. Yet finishing as semi-finalists or victors in a competition that has been seriously diluted shouldn’t be a measure of any ambitious Super Rugby side. The South African Super Rugby challenge needs a powerful Stormers contribution. At present, it’s getting a tame one and will continue to as long as the men in power refuse to take decisive action.

35 Responses to Super Rugby: What now for woeful Stormers?

First an Article by John Cardinali (Spelling),
    and now one by Ryan Verde.

Is this Deju Vue…………………………………..or the awakening of a dragon.

At least 16-0 will keep them going for a while

complaints to wpru will be redirected to 0860 0 16 0 16.

Allister has a bumper sticker on his sponsored Ford Fiesta that reads: How is my coaching? Phone 0800 eat shit and die

ford just gave him a new 1600.

At that stage they signed a two year deal and is to late for Ford to back out now 😀

The other bumber sticker says “Onthou djy?”

Hey, I can go on holiday…. Nortie can take over here with ease for a while!!

I worked right through the night on stuff I was battling with here at the office, till 06:15 this morning! So, I thought should I just keep going or go take a power nap… the nap won… and then won again when I overslept till 10:30… fokkie toggie!

When I walked back into the office, I dreaded going to look for fresh news, knowing there would be lots to attend to..

So I started my normal routine, doing all my incoming and outgoing Mails, Downloading new Supplier Price Lists, setting a number of PC’s & Notebooks on my work benches to work… and now’s the 1st time I have had the opportunity to check what’s happening on R-T.

So, what do I find… Nortie has helped out a tremendous lot with articles… what a pleasant relief!

My bloody, pun intended, eyes are shot to ribbons, need a new set… anybody have some spare? I need Blue eyes… good ones!

Take the week off Groot.
    You sound like you need a break.

Naughtie will keep the flag flying.

You won’t miss much.

Sharks will shaft brave Highlanders by 13.
    Brumbies will hold out against Chief by 8.

9 @ cane:
    Fark Mainstay, if I could CLONE myself, I would… far too few hands, eyes, ears… and not a competent person in my office to delegate to properly!

At least here at R-T, we are now able to get a perspective from more than one pen… or more than one keyboard… and that helps out a lot!

ford just gave him a new 1600.

At that stage they signed a two year deal and is to late for Ford to back out now

I heard that Allister was very upset with his new Ford…he took it back and demanded that they upgrade him to the new Lately model.
    The salesman tried to explain that they don’t have such a car, but AC wasn’t having any of that.
    He told the guy while watching TV the new Ford ad came on and the ad asked “have you driven a Ford lately?”

A birdy told me that AC will stay but that the other two will get their marching orders.

We’ll see. The performance of the whole SA conference besides the Saaahks is a bloody disgrace.

True, they were very disappointing, especially the Bulls (except for a few Capies in the team keeping them honest and in contention). Bunch of show pony dollar chasing slapgatte…

Sharks hopefully can save some Saffa face this weekend and thereafter…. I-Wish

First step down there should have been for them to appoint Dobson as CC coach. At least then AC can take a break after SR, and they can see if Dobbo has what it takes in a slightly higher level.

I really hope we don’t lose him too, he has paid a lot of dues over the last couple of years and IMO deserves to know if he is in their plans as a coach going forward

ja meneer but i am not expecting miracles…

Looking forward to the Currie Cup……..

Ja, daai gaan lekker wees vanjaar, die Curriebeker!

Stormersboy wrote:

A birdy told me that AC will stay but that the other two will get their marching orders.

We’ll see. The performance of the whole SA conference besides the Saaahks is a bloody disgrace.

Hi Boet

I really think we need a new broom to sweep clean… He is very stuck in his ways…

The Sharks are the playing the same way the Stormers did – must be the White/AC way really…

Ai, man kan ook nie eens meer lekker jou sorrows down innie Kaap nie Amazed
    Gelukkig het hy darem nie die fish en tjips shop in sy moer gery nie!

WP player suspected of DUI

Cape Town – Western Province Rugby have confirmed that one of its players was arrested over the weekend for suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol.

In a statement released by WP on Monday, the player was held on suspicion that his blood alcohol content exceeded the legal limit.

“The player’s vehicle was stopped at random on Saturday night and there is no allegation that he drove the vehicle in any untoward manner,” read the statement released by WP.

“WP Rugby fully supports safe and responsible road usage.

“WP Rugby will also support the player, who has an exemplary disciplinary record to date, through its employee assistance programme.”

The WPRFU also confirmed that they will not be making any further statements regarding the matter.

The Stormers lost their final Super Rugby match of the season 34-10 to the Sharks on Saturday.

Stormers wing, Cheslin Kolbe was arrested in November 2013 for a similar offence when returning from a night out.

He is due to appear in court in August for the incident

Ad looks sharp now! Approve

Thelo wants Chester and Jerome Paarwater.

Hondo is going to shit himself.

Daai manne se karre is mos almal seker gemerk met hulle name en borge ens.

Die spietkop moes seker maar n Bul of Shark ondersteuner gewees het
    Wink

@ gunther:
    Maybe time to give Turkey Shields and Kobus van der Merwe a call too…no point in having all those rugby fundi plakking around the mountain and not using them…

gunther wrote:

Ha ha
    I would venture to guess that he will never be caught placing a bet on the Stormers again

Ad looks sharp now!

Thanks mate…

gunther wrote:

Has anybody even seen Chester recently?

Did anyone watch the Craven Week. Province just pipped the first game 33-32. They didn’t look the part…

Daai manne se karre is mos almal seker gemerk met hulle name en borge ens.

Die spietkop moes seker maar n Bul of Shark ondersteuner gewees het

/blockquote>

Verstaan jy? Overjoy
    Wat is dit met die manne wat so WP- karre afskryf en slinger-slinger ry…Bobby, Ricky, Cheslin, Earl, Nog Een…hulle moet mos nou al weet daai Blou Bul spietkops merk hulle.

Anyways cheers all… have to run…

gunther wrote:

Has anybody even seen Chester recently?

In Kenia, I think, coaching, the last time I saw him on tv.
    Hy is amper net so dik nou soos Jake.

Total 24 users including 0 member, 24 guests, 0 bot online