FIFA World Cup 2014 - BrazilThe FIFA Football World Cup 2014 is nearing the end in Brazil.

The Quarter-Finals are a thing of the past, only 4 Teams remain!

In the Semi-Finals we have 2 South American Teams against 2 European Teams, who will come out on top? If a Team wins here, they progress to the Final and the loser books a place on the 3rd Place Play-Off!

It is the 3rd Place Play-Off on 12 July and the all importeant Final on 13 July 2014.

In the 1st Semi-Final on 8 July it is Brazil vs Germany and the 2nd Semi-Final on 9 July is between Netherlands vs Argentina.

All of the games are live on TV in SA on SS3 HD, SS3 & Maximo.

127 Responses to FIFA Football World Cup: Semi-Finals – Tuesday & Wednesday (8 July & 9 July)

What a game by Germany
    I watched the highlight package on Supersport Blitz, the faces of the poor Brazilian fans is Priceless. That shock in their faces, they better get some serious counseling to some of the fans.

How is this for taking the blame?
    Would you ever hear this from AC or maybe any other SA rugby coach?

Brazil coach Luiz Felipe Scolari asked for forgiveness from his countrymen on Tuesday after his team’s historic World Cup thrashing by Germany.

“We ask for forgiveness,” a shellshocked Scolari said after Brazil were torn apart 7-1 in their semifinal meltdown.

“To the people, please excuse us for this negative mistake.”

The 2002 World Cup-winning coach took full responsibility for the performance.

“I’m responsible for what the team does out on the pitch – and I am to blame for this result,” he said.

“I’m sorry we could not reach our goal. The fans supported us even when it was five, six, or seven down to Germany.

“It’s not normal to concede four goals in six minutes but it can happen.

“Even Germany couldn’t believe what was happening.”

It was the most shocking result in the tournament’s history, Brazil’s record World Cup defeat and their first at home in 64 competitive matches since 1975.

Out of 149000+ people who are playing Superbru for the World Cup, one person picked the exact score of 7-1 😯
    Either a genius, a psychic or a complete idiot who just went wild and didn’t have a clue.

@ nortierd: It was probably Bakkies.

Amazed

BrumbiesBoy wrote:

@ nortierd: It was probably Bakkies.

So you are saying option 3?

It’s really refreshing to read Scolari accepting full responsibility for the massacre and not looking for excuses like injured players, jaded players, bad luck, bad refs, pressure on players from home fans or any of the usual ridiculous excuses we are so used to hear from local coaches. And thank goodness he also did not mention anything about going back to the drawing board, working at the mistakes and coming back as a stronger team.

68 @ robzim:
    Unlike the Russian coach 😀
    That level of accountability won’t be seen from SA rugby coaches

“The only time a semi was more awkward than last night was when Brokeback Mountain premiered”

#64 WOW wonder if that Bru picker put any money on it, wonder what the odds were? Was thinking today anybody winning big money getting that score correct may have got a knock on their door from the investigators… it was probably just one of those outrageous results that occasionally happen, a bit like the one on Saturday at Newlands Happy

So will it be Argentina or Netherlands night tonight? Would normally want Netherlands to win but now their manager has joined the dark side and one of their star strikers jumped ship to go there too last season am not so sure…

Lol, it should have been 8-0, but Ozil missed a sitter and one quick, unexpected counter later it was 7-1.
    Was a surreal match to watch, that periods between minute 11 and 29 was something I’ve not seen previously, not in a match of this magnitude

I picked Argentina.
    It’s a huge call for me, most went for the Dutch.
    I’ll either be moving into 1st in my pool, or will be dropping from 2nd to who knows how low if the Dutch win.

I’m just thinking that at least one South American side should reach the final?

OMG the Argies wears the Cheetahs jumper. HKGK.

Go Kaaskoppe.
    Who-s-the-man

have not really got into this World Cup as much as thought I would especially after the big win against Spain by Netherlands, thought I would then have in the end and now am away so won’t see much more, need an early night tonight need lots of beauty sleep 😀 enjoy the game

hup Holland hup.

@ dwarslat:
    Hi dwarslat enjoy the game hope there are lots of good goals

Cheers

robzim wrote:

hup Holland hup.

Not for tonight….hup Holland, hup into the 3rd place playoff match 😉

Hi rob to you too, enjoy the game.

Enjoy the game fellas… we went out for dinner to a lekker place in Benoni, had a few glasses of wine and am now just in a mellow mood.

Will put some more rugby news on in the morning.

Goooooooooo Rugby!

So I’m the only one rooting for the Argies tonight?
    No particular reason, just a SuperBru pick.
    Nothing personal Holland, I just think Argentina can win this one.

84 @ nortierd:
    Ons was toe daar by Fahrenheit… ek het ‘n Prawn starter gehad en toe ‘n moosa lekker Fillet Steak met ‘n Jalepino Sous… en toe natuurlik ‘n Creme Brulet vir nagereg…

Is nou behoorlik knuppeldik en flokken lui!

Delighted

Ek het net so bietjie daai Sokker en Weepu Artikels van jou “Op-ge-tidy”….

Goeie nag, slaap sag!

Ek sal een of ander tyd die plek gaan uitprobeer
    Nog net goeie goed gehoor van dit

Messi free kick saved.
    First real shot on target from either side

86 @ nortierd:
    Ons was al heelwat daar… en nog nooit teleurgesteld nie.

Tjorts!

Messi is more heavily marked than Jonah Lomu was in the ’95 World Cup final against the Bokke

Thanks
    Lekker slaap

Total 102 users including 0 member, 102 guests, 0 bot online