Morné Steyn

Morné Steyn

South African coach Heyneke Meyer dished out a swipe at the ongoing criticism of Springbok flyhalf Morné Steyn.

The 55-Test veteran was a pivotal player in the Boks’ 38-16 (5 tries to 1) demolition of Wales in Durban at the weekend, but still haven’t convinced his detractors that he is the real deal.

Not only did he produce a 100 percent goal-kicking performance (5 conversions and a penalty), but the 37 times he handled the ball he kicked just 10 times – with 21 passes and 6 runs.

The Bok coach, Meyer, pointed out that the high attrition rate among flyhalves makes Steyn an even more valuable asset to the national team.

rugby365

Patrick Lambie is only expected to return in July after undergoing surgery for a pectoral muscle injury, while Marnitz Boshoff rolled his ankle at training in Cape Town recently.

Added to that Johan Goosen his knee at the weekend and is also in doubt for the return Test against Wales in Nelspruit this coming Saturday.

When Goosen left the field in the second half in Durban, minutes after replacing Steyn, Ruan Pienaar stepped into the flyhalf spot and performed admirably.

Meyer admitted that even with his depleted resources he has “options” at No 10.

“It is a pity that Johan Goosen was injured,” Meyer said, adding that Steyn remains a valuable asset to the team.

“Morné has always been written off here,” the Bok mentor said, adding: “When he didn’t play regularly for Stade Francais in France, they said it was the end of Morné.”

“We scored 6 tries with him at flyhalf last week and this match we scored 5 tries against a world class defensive team.”

The coach said Steyn “ticked all the boxes” and was “awesome” in the way he controlled the game.

“His goal-kicking was superb and I think it was a total performance by Morné.”

“He is up there with the best in the world.”

Describing the 29-year-old as a “true character” and a “true warrior”, Meyer expressed his admiration for the manner in which Steyn continues to confound his critics.

“We were a bit under pressure, with all the flyhalves that are injured,” Meyer said, adding: “Morné always plays well for the Boks and I am very proud of him.”

With South Africa Under 20 captain Handré Pollard involved in the IRB Junior World Championship – where the Baby Boks will play their England counterparts in the Final in Auckland, New Zealand, on Friday – Boshoff is likely to come into the selection frame as Steyn’s understudy if Goosen is ruled out.

Another player who came in for special praise from the Bok coach is Jan Serfontein, who started at centre for the first time – after getting his first nine caps off the bench.

“They have some big ball carriers and I though Jan was superb,” Meyer said.

“He has never played alongside JP at centre,” the coach said, adding that – given the new combination – he felt the Bok defence was awesome.

“I wasn’t happy about the 1 try.”

“That is a non-negotiable for us.”

“We could have scored 2 or 3 more tries, but I would take 5 tries to 1 in any conditions against any country.”

“We said, for us to play well Jan must defend well and I thought he was awesome.”

150 Responses to June Internationals: Springboks – Morné Steyn up with the best in the world, says Heyneke

1 2 3 5

Morne’s form is very heavily dictated by whether or not Fourie plays 9.
    They still make a killer combination, and if Fourie starts at 9 then you can be sure Morne will have a stellar game, the flipside is when Ruan starts, Morne will have a more quiet game.

Morné certainly had a staunch game on the weekend!

Why not the’ Best of the Bests’!
    HM must be in a superlatives mood?
    Morne spent the whole season on the bench in France, wasn’t good enough to dislodge a 20 years old rookie?
    🙂

@ Hondo:
    HM must be in a superlatives mood?

I think he tries to make the guys believe more in their own ability
    i think with his background as motivator he must know this can boomerang. The opponents can feed from this more.

Imagine i play against the Worlds best no 10(according to HM), what will i do bow down and admire him or will i try to outplay him. Best motivation from your opposing coach.

HM does not need to say all this in public. That can be kept in the change room. But remember i am from the old school. Buurman van Zyl is by far the best the Blue Bulls ever had, he did not talk before a game.

If the Bokke manage to win anything this year you can just imagine HM, he’ll have all his team as the best in the world in thier respective positions, in the last 48 hours his full back is the best in the world and now Styen is also right up there. Steyn wouldn’t make the AB E team at 10.

“Up there with the best in the world” I think that is a fair comment.
    It’s also true that he is not too prone to injuries, his longevity is an asset.
    Goosen is almost much younger than Steyn, but can you plan long term with him?
    In Steyn any coach at least knows he has someone he can bank on to get the job done, kick his goals and odds are, stay injury free.
    @NZ in C, he might not make your team, but at least he single handedly once beat your team scoring 30 plus points on his own.
    In Steyn, Lambie and Pollard SA is well set at flyhalf for the next couple of years.
    Our issue is who will play 9, because the scrumhalf dictates how good the flyhalf will look.
    Let’s see how great all the NZ fly halves will look with Ruan playing at 9 for the AB’s

Good post Nortier!
    The last two sentences have enough substance to compile a dissertation for a D.Phil degree on the topic of SA halfbacks.
    Just look how good Morne was playing with Jano Vermaak…..now if there ever was a loss to SA rugby, Jano, eishhhh…..
    Imagine the Golden Lions’ backline with Jano and Marnitz!
    I sure hope HM brings Jano home soon, before WC2015, now that Boshoff is also in the mix.

You know, I take it, that Ruan and Morne have been playing together as schoolboys in Bloemfontein, for the Cravens; Ruan at Grey and Morne at Sand du Plessis, if memory serves?
    I still think Ruan is a better #10 than #9….

Agree, obviously Ruan has something that many coaches, even before HM, has seen and identified.
    Maybe we, the viewers are too critical, but jeez, we can’t all be wrong to notice how slow his service is?
    I agree that Jano was a huge loss, he just started looking good in the Bok jersey. The Bulls messed up big time by not looking after him better.
    Reinach should be brought into the group at least, just to soak up the atmosphere and see how things are there, at this stage, of the 9’s in SR he looks like the best bet.

I see that Nigel Owens is refereeing the Crusaders v England match.
    Might favor the Poms slightly having a NH ref officiate.

Ruan was messed up at the Sharks! They played him everywhere in the back-line, except at center, hell, he even played wing!
    He is a natural #10/#15, like Gysie.
    He kept Morne out of Free State Cravens for a while….at#10!!!! Strange old world, ek se….

Saders gaan op hul moer kry, hoor my lied…jy en GBS…

I’m biased, so my vote will go to Pollard 😀

The International Rugby Board has confirmed a shortlist of four nominees for the IRB Junior Player of the Year 2014 Award, with the winner set to be announced following the final at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday.

Finalists South Africa and England each have a player nominated in captain Handré Pollard and wing Nathan Earle respectively, with Ireland centre Garry Ringrose and New Zealand wing Tevita Li completing the quartet of players.

The management of the 12 teams involved in the IRB Junior World Championship 2014 in New Zealand voted on their top three players after each round with votes tallied to provide the shortlist of nominees.

The public now has the chance to vote on this shortlist on the official Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/irbjuniors. The results of the public poll will be considered, along with the original votes, when finalising the winner.

Saders gaan op hul moer kry, hoor my lied…jy en GBS…

Ag nee man, wees nou so dat ons ook van jou kan hou
    Goooooo Crusaders, don’t give the Poms anything out of this tour

It boggles the mind that a union like this can have an equal vote as the Sharks, Bulls, WP etc.

Farktup verby

The Border Rugby Football Union’s fleet of vehicles has been repossessed by the bank.

Three months ago, Saru withdrew financial support and called for Border to be put under administration.

Now some vehicles have been removed from the union and sent to Rose-Innes Auctioneers in Braelyn, according to the Daily Dispatch.

One of the vehicles had ANC branding on its mirrors and it is alleged that some of the vehicles were used for election campaigns in the Buffalo City area.

‘The repossession of the vehicles coincided with a decision taken to release them as they were too draining [financially] for the union,’ said BRFU administrator Monde Tabata. ‘This won’t affect the quality of rugby here.’

Noodleboy and Hondo.

Dumb and Dumberer.

Doesn’t look like the Crusaders game is being televised.
    That sucks

Strange that….I have the broadcast on OSN over here.
    You should be able to watch on Sky or BBC Sports…just stay away from vipbox and livid player download…faarkin thing nearly destroyed my pc with malware after your friend Victoriabok sent me there : Disapproval

@15 Hulle moet maar vir Cheeky kry as adviseur…

Easy try England…they just waltzed through, Cipriani!

Doesn’t look like the Crusaders game is being televised.
    That sucks

7-0 Eng after 3 minutes

Shit….3 minutes gone England already leading 7-0
    Not looking good
    Ja Pietman, ek weet, you told us so

try this stream Nortie

http://cricfree.eu/live/watch/crusaders … land/42914

England dominating tight phases at the mo…another scrum penalty to Eng…

Eng try, checking if ball was out on the sideline.

looks okay

12-0 kick to come

Waltzing through again! Faark me, Saders are completely overwhelmed…they look dumbfolded and blindfolded….

Thanks Pops, but if it started like that, I’m not sure I want to watch 😀
    Farken gut was talking bullocks again

Waltzing through again! Faark me, Saders are completely overwhelmed…they look dumbfolded and blindfolded….

missing a fair few ABs though boet, so always going to be a lot weaker.

1 2 3 5

Total 96 users including 0 member, 96 guests, 0 bot online