Willie le Roux was electric against Wales!

South AfricaSpringbok coach Heyneke Meyer praised his team’s character and commitment in Durban after they defeated Wales 38-16 in the first of two tests in the Castle Lager Incoming Series at Growthpoint Kings Park on Saturday.

The coach admitted that they had a tough week leading up to the Test match, as they had to take to the field with a number of new combinations and debutants.

“It was a tough week with a lot of disruptions. I asked the guys to put their bodies on the line today as it was important for us to start well. I am very pleased with their response and effort, especially in the first half. I am very proud to be coach of this team,” Meyer said.

The coach was pleased with the effort on attack, which resulted in 5 tries, and he applauded the impact of Willie le Roux at fullback.

“I will take 5 tries to 1 anytime, anywhere in the world,” said Meyer. “Last week we scored 6 against a World XV and now 5 against one of the top defensive teams around.”

“Willie is probably the best fullback in the world at the moment. He is playing with a lot of confidence and has a license to express himself. I am very happy about his progress since he started on the wing last season. I challenged him to improve his aerial skills and defence last season and he did that very well.”

“We wanted to improve our scrummaging and we conceded no penalties there. We have good options in the team, and to see the young guys like Lood (de Jager) and Cornal performing the way they did was very pleasing. Jan (Serfontein) also did very well in his first start, especially as he has not played with JP (Pietersen) in the midfield before.”

More information on injuries will be made available on Sunday, but Meyer indicated that Johan Goosen (knee) and Bakkies Botha (Achilles) left the field in discomfort.

Springbok captain, Victor Matfield, said the scoreline was indicative of his team’s effort, especially in the first half. “We are happy,” said Matfield. “But there is still some hard work ahead as we made too many mistakes in the second half. However, the nice part of that is that we can put in the hard yards this week. We can only get better the more we play together.”

“We made some errors in the second half, but none in the first half. At this level, if you give away ball, you can be without it for 10 minutes.”

The Springboks and Wales will play the 2nd of their 2 Tests in the Castle Lager Incoming Series at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit next Saturday.

188 Responses to June Internationals: Springboks – Meyer says Willie’s THE BEST

1 2 3 7

Think that accolade is a bit premature, very very good player, so is Ben Smith, but they all seem to be ignoring Folau.

1 @ nortierd:
    World rugby presently has some great International fullbacks!

Leigh Halfpenny
    Willie le Roux
    Israel Folau
    Ben Smith (not Israel Dagg, he’s wayyyyy down the pecking order now)
    Mike Brown

All excellent and all game breakers in their own right!

Folau is streets ahead of Free Willie…. as is Rob Kearny and Leigh Halfpenny. Willie’s performance must be seen in perspective… he caught a few high balls and made a few runs against an under strength out of sorts “end of season” Wales team … no real big deal… HM should wait for him to do the same against the AB’s when the pressure is on before he makes his ” best in the world” claims.

Was Wales really understrength?

I think they played their best available side.

Sure they have injuries… we had an article on it here on R-T, but the Springboks have a comparable amount of injuries at present.

Willie was exceptional yesterday, quite sublime!

Willie now needs to continue that form, but it must be said he’s been good for a while now already.

On the day yesterday, Willie was superb. It’s one of those rare days where a player hits a purple patch.
    The chip kicks he overdoes sometimes in SR all came off against Wales, and he played a huge part in outpricing success. It won’t also be that way, but I would prefer to have him there at least trying things.

It’s great that he has carte blance to play things as he sees it. At least we now also have an attacking minded fullback that does the basics right as well.

5 @ nortierd:
    Credit to Heyneke Meyer backing his players with X-Factor, to exhibit and continue with their game breaking abilities.

When Heyneke took over at the Bokke, there were fears from some quarters that he was going to transform the Bokke into order-taking robots, with no individual flair.

We now see the opposite, and it’s refreshing to see.

I also see a very BALANCED approach between attack, defence, set pieces, kicking game, ground ball battle, running game, tactical game, by the Bokke… complete rugby!

Oh, and before some accuse me of Heyneke bias… I see his faults too!

Both teams missed players but I think we have more depth while Wales cannot really replace their world class players like captain Sam Warburton and Halfpenny and even the British Lions hooker Richard Hubbard and centre Scott Williams. Their other missing players are sort of “replacable” imo.

The only player we cannot really replace is Etsebeth and maybe Jean or Steyn at inside centre..… there is not much difference between the other injured Boks and their replacements.

re Heinecke and the refreshing approach… I fully agree… he has a far more “heads up” approach than Jake White for example and must get credit for it.. the boks certainly seem to play more expansive than during the tenureship of PdV and White.

So England saw their arses yday too? Not much of a surprise I guess.. The England /Uruguay match later this week is going to be a thriller… If Suarez is still not ready to play England will have a fair chance I suppose.

Yep, Willie is not the sort of player you can pigeonhole, and HM is no fool.

He obviously knows a hell of a lot more about the game than me, so I am happy to let him make the decisions and pick the side 😉

I just hope that everyone who is now singing his praises also stand by him when, not if, he makes a crucial error with a chip gone wrong that costs us a game in the future. That’s the nature of Willie and the way he plays, he will win you games, but might lose you one as well. So as long as we all know and realize this and support him through both

robzim wrote:

So England saw their arses yday too? Not much of a surprise I guess.. The England /Uruguay match later this week is going to be a thriller… If Suarez is still not ready to play England will have a fair chance I suppose.

Surely they should reach the second stage?
    Hate to think they won’t.

So everything is ‘The Best, ‘super’ etc, soon I expect it will be ‘the Greatest’ or ‘the Best Ever’?
    This terminology indicates some 3rd world thinking, Willie didn’t exactly excelled himself against the Kiwis btw?
    I can tell you the Frogs also ignored Folau yesterday, watch the recording 🙂

My ranking:
    1. Dagg
    2.Halfpenny
    3Ben Smith (better at 14 though)
    4. Rob Kearny
    5. Willie (he is an 11 actually )
    6. Mike Brown
    7. Fodden

9. Folau
    10. Taute

Both Willie and Folau lacks any defensive skills, nor they have a positional awareness or cover defence and it counts against them, their tackles count is appalling

The one main difference between HM and Divvie and White is, HM doesn’t talk too much. He is obviously on track with his game plan and attack plays a huge part, but we don’t hear him talking about it and indirectly dissing the previous coaches as if they didn’t know what they were doing and he will now fix it.

The guy is a gentleman in public and you can see his passion for the Boks and his job.

I’m sure in the confines of the cloakroom he can be all hellfire and brimstone with the best of them, but at least his feet are planted firmly on the ground, and not in his mouth

I only saw the whole match now, on YouTube.
    It wasn’t a great match, in my opinion, despite my initial excitement yesterday when I read your comment during the match (you lot sounded a bit like Gerard Viviers awarding the world title to Pierre Fourie, until I saw the fight replay and realized he had won barely 4 rounds out of 15 against Bob Foster Conceited ! )

But Heyneke is obviously trying out some combinations, and the game plan seems solid, apart from the deviation from it during the last 30 minutes.
    Three things stood out: JanSerf will have to be coached to play wider, he is a Danie Gerber type center, not a Pieter Muller. Nortie also mentioned this crash ball tendency yesterday.
    Vic Matfield is surprisingly fit still and injuries permitting, his leadership is crucial for WC2015.
    And Goosen’s goose is cooked already, pity, but we must forget about him for next year.

And oh, Willie le Roux…..! Pure magic….hope and pray he carries through to WC2015 and doesn’t hurt himself under those high bombs he so fearlessly has to face time after time.

@ Hondo:
    Put Folau in a team with the AB’s , English and Bok forwards and let’s have a look.

I would rather have a 15 that scores 2 tries, sets up 2 more and maybe let’s in one because of a missed tackle.

agree

Maybe e just tried a page out off Jake Wite,s motivational textbook.

@ Hondo:
    And for the record…….the Frogs are definitely not a barometer for judging rugby, they were lucky to get 0. 😀

They didn’t pitch up to win a rugby game, they only went out not to concede 50 points again.

@ 10

There is no guarantee… Uruguay is a very strong team.. they are above England in the world rankings and they will be desperate and they are used to the conditions in South America… England is not used to the heat and the slightly uneven surfaces at some of the venues… and Costa Rica beat Uruguay by quite a margin so one can also not underestimate them… its truly the “group of death” … England is in trouble imo… I saw the press are already having a fuil go at Wayne Rooney…. he certainly did not look like a £300 000 a week player last night.

O well, there is always a chance for them at Top Trumps 😀
    Speaking of Rooney, I’ll mail GBS another pic he can load here….

@13

Ja, old Spiekeries was a legend…

The only time he threw the towel was against the 74 Lions when he said: ” Die Koeeel is nou dear die kerk, selfs die preekstoel kon dit nie keer nie”

13 @ Pietman:
    The BIG Bok disappointment yesterday was Goose!

I think he must go play in France, get his body up to par and injury free… and only then, if at all, be considered for the Bokke again!

His best move is going to France for the money, it doesn’t look likely that he will have a long career, best he cash in now.

I sent you some more pics you can load on for Rob….if he wants to see them, lol

Happy-Grin For sure,Spiekeries with his Lexington between thumb and forefinger behind the open microphone…but Leon Schuster got him good on ”Vrypostige Mikrofoon” that time….old Gerard was the moer in with ‘Sersant de Beer van Brits se polisiestasie’!

Nortie’s photos:

Rooney Tunes

Italian Celebrations

Wouldnt it be brilliant if we can build around Willie, we just need a pair of Smith,s
    Put tat two all blacks in te back line of te Boks and we will score 5 tries against any team

Do we ave a no 9 that are tat sharp?
    And Serfontein also solid but not briliant

Maybe Pollard at 12, or one of JdeJ or JdeV

Lexington….a blast from the past
    Daai tyd het die manne nog sigarette gerook wat vandag se rokers borshare sal gee eerder as borskanker.

Lexington, Gunston en Guilaisse (sp)

Kan nie onthou of ek die Goose al 80 minute sien speel het nie….behalwe die keer toe hy 36 punte teen Paul Roos aangeteken het vir Grey Kollege……

I would love to see more of Willie and Mvovo together, getting time to gel and get used to playing more often as a combination.

26 @ Pietman:
    Soos Nortie sê, hy moet maar Frankryk toe vir die geld, want hy gaan nie ‘n lang career hê nie.

Hy is brittle, van glas gemaak… en nog kak geglasblaas ook!

I remember that..something to do with a permit for a rifle I think?

For me Schuster was at his best on Radio.. a classic was when he called David Kramer and did one of his songs for him.. David was such a gentleman he even corrected the chords for Leon… ” Nee man, kap hom in n E, nie in ‘n C nie” or something like that.. lol.

hhh

daar was n probleem met my H , sorry

1 2 3 7

Total 60 users including 0 member, 60 guests, 0 bot online