SpringboksSeven uncapped players, Damian de Allende, Lood de Jager, Cornal Hendricks, Teboho Mohoje, S’bura Sithole, Marcel van der Merwe and Callie Visagie, have been called up to Springbok duty as part of a 36-man squad for the Castle Lager Incoming Series next month.

The squad also includes experienced World Cup winners Schalk Burger and Victor Matfield, while there is a return to the Springboks for Schalk Brits, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, Lwazi Mvovo and Frans Steyn, all of whom last played Test rugby in 2012.

The national selectors have also kept a great deal of continuity. In total, 12 players who started the final Test of 2013, where the Springboks beat France in Paris for the first time in 16 years, have been retained in the squad.

However, notable omissions include Springbok captain and SARU’s Player of the Year in 2013, Jean de Villiers, who is out with a knee injury, and the Young Player of the Year for the last two seasons and IRB Player of the Year nominee last year, Eben Etzebeth, who has been given more time to fully recover from the foot injury which has kept him sidelined this entire season.

The Springboks will also be without one of their vice-captains, Adriaan Strauss, who has been suspended for three matches as well as the experienced Jaque Fourie, who started all three Tests last November but has been ruled out with an ankle injury and Pat Lambie, a regular member of the squad for the last two years.

“It’s never easy starting the international season without a number of key players, but it’s the same for our opponents as well and there are no excuses – we simply have to hit the ground running this week and make sure we start the season as well as possible,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer, who will name the interim captain next week.

“Injuries also provide opportunities for new players and from what I’ve seen at the training camp in Durban earlier this week, they are also raring to go.”

“Oupa Mohoje got an opportunity at the Cheetahs following injuries to Lappies Labuschagne, Philip van der Walt and Jean Cook, and he took his chance. At the Sharks, Stephan Lewies came in for the injured Pieter-Steph du Toit and he came very close to inclusion in this squad.”

“It was also wonderful to see the excitement in the more experienced players, who have tasted what Test rugby is about. Everyone knows we’re at the start of a challenging season but everyone is raring to get going.”

Meyer said that all of the uncapped players deserved their opportunity.

“Damian, Cornal, Oupa, S’bura, Marcel and Callie have all been in great form recently for their various Vodacom Super Rugby franchises, while Lood was very impressive before his injury and he underlined that with a great attitude and work ethic at the Durban camp,” said Meyer.

“Some of them have been on the national selectors’ radar for a bit longer, while others have been very impressive at our training camp in Durban. They all deserve their selection and now it’s up to them to make the most of it.”

“Damian and S’bura both bring utility value to the team, as they can play in more than one position in the backline.”

“Cornal, who was the SA Sevens Player of the Year in 2013, is very fast and has a couple of very special attributes, so we’re very excited to work with him and hopefully improve him as a player.”

“Upfront, we’ve been very impressed with Lood and Oupa recently. Lood is a no-nonsense lock who will learn a lot from Victor and Bakkies, while Oupa is a superb line-out option, very fast and good with the ball in hand.”

“Marcel and Callie have been part of a resurgent Bulls pack recently and their play in the set-pieces is very good. Marcel can play on both sides of the scrum, which makes him a valuable option in the squad, while he also carries the ball well and has shown he can steal ball at the breakdown. Callie brings superb line-out throwing and great scrumming power, while he is never shy to do the dirty work on the field.”

Meyer added that he is looking forward to welcoming Matfield and Burger back into the Bok fold.

“Last year we saw what it meant to Bakkies, Fourie and Jaque when they returned and they showed that age should not be any measure when it comes to Test rugby – if you have the goods and can perform at world-class level, you deserve to be selected,” said Meyer.

“Victor and Schalk have both been out of the game for some time and for different reasons. A year ago, Schalk’s playing future was in doubt, so it’s great to have him back in the Bok fold and I’m looking forward to working with him for the first time. Their excitement at the Durban camp was palpable, but also contagious. The younger players fed off that and I know they will add a lot of value to the squad.”

On the inclusion of Brits he said: “Schalk was part of our plans from the beginning. He is one of the best hookers in the world, is one of the nominees for Heineken Cup Player of the Year and brings heaps of experience with him.”

Strauss, who has been suspended for three weeks for an illegal tackle last weekend, will rejoin in the squad for the final week of the Castle Lager Incoming Series, when his suspension has ended.

Injured players who were not available for selection after featuring in 2013, are De Villiers, Etzebeth, Lambie (bicep), Fourie (ankle), Frans Malherbe (concussion), Scarra Ntubeni (foot), Chiliboy Ralepelle (knee), Frik Kirsten (neck), Pieter-Steph du Toit (knee), Franco van der Merwe (ankle), Arno Botha (knee), Pierre Spies (bicep), Louis Schreuder (hand) and Gio Aplon (elbow).

Juan Smith was also in the selection frame, but as he has been struggling with an injury in recent weeks, he requested the national selectors not to be considered.

The Springbok squad for the Castle Lager Incoming Series 2014:

• Willem Alberts (Cell C Sharks), Loose forward – 30 Test caps
  • Bakkies Botha (Toulon, France), Lock – 78
  • Schalk Brits (Saracens, England), Hooker – 5
  • Schalk Burger (DHL Western Province), Loose forward – 68
  • Marcell Coetzee (Cell C Sharks), Loose forward – 15
  • Damian De Allende (DHL Western Province), Centre / Wing – 0
  • Lodewyk de Jager (Toyota FS Cheetahs), Lock – 0
  • Juan de Jongh (DHL Western Province), Centre – 14
  • Bismarck du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Hooker – 57
  • Jannie du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Prop – 51
  • Fourie du Preez (Suntory, Japan), Scrumhalf – 67
  • JJ Engelbrecht (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Centre / Wing – 12
  • Johan Goosen (Toyota FS Cheetahs), Flyhalf – 4
  • Bryan Habana (Toulon, France), Wing – 95
  • Cornal Hendricks (Toyota FS Cheetahs), Wing – 0
  • Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Scrumhalf – 27
  • Zane Kirchner (Leinster, Ireland), Fullback – 28
  • Siya Kolisi (DHL Western Province), Loose forward – 10
  • Willie le Roux (Toyota FS Cheetahs), Fullback / Wing – 12
  • Francois Louw (Bath, England), Loose forward – 28
  • Victor Matfield (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Lock – 110
  • Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje (Toyota FS Cheetahs), Loose forward – 0
  • Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), Prop – 53
  • Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks), Wing – 7
  • Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota FS Cheetahs), Prop – 14
  • Ruan Pienaar (Ulster, N Ireland), Scrumhalf – 74
  • JP Pietersen (Cell C Sharks), Wing – 51
  • Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Centre – 9
  • S’bura Sithole (Cell C Sharks), Wing / Centre – 0
  • Gurthrö Steenkamp (Toulouse, France), Prop – 49
  • Frans Steyn (Cell C Sharks), Utility back – 53
  • Morné Steyn (Stade Francais, France), Flyhalf – 54
  • Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Lock – 34
  • Marcel van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Prop – 0
  • Duane Vermeulen (DHL Western Province), No 8 – 16
  • Callie Visagie (Vodacom Blue Bulls), Hooker – 0

326 Responses to June Internationals: Springbok Squad named – 7 Uncapped players

1 2 3 11

Well done to the “new guys”.

Can’t help but think that HM only watches certain players and games.

When you have over 110 players to pick from there will always be disappointments, but I feel bad for Jaco Kriel, Paul willemse, Brussouw and even faf de klerk

Interesting side!

In the backs, all of Ruan Pienaar, JJ Engelbrecht, Johan Goosen and possibly even JP Pietersen do not deserve to be in the squad at present.
    In the forwards, all of Callie Visagie, Gurthro Steenkamp and Siya Kolisi also do not deserve to be in the squad at present.

Do I think out of this squad that a very good Springbok side can be picked… definately!

Johnnie Wilkenson, pure class, what a player.
    Another right footed drop, Touloun 12-Castres 10

I’ll add Marcellina Coetzee, Francois Hougaard, Duanne Vermeulen and yes, even Frans Steyn, to that list. Apart from his kicking to poles, Fransie has been utterly poor in my not so humble opinion.

well actually if Meyers is c @ Nama:
    who is your flyhalf?

Toulon het die gesegde, you cannot buy happiness, verkeerd bewys.

Hulle het vir hul ‘n wereldspan gekoop om bekers te wen, en nou is almal happy daar in Toulon.

Al die rugby bekers van volgende jaar word gewen met kontraktering hierdie jaar, nie die gameplanne of afrigters nie, maar die grootste en slimste beursie.

3 @ grootblousmile:
    Glad to see you are still of sober mind and can still reason.

5 @ Nama:
    Not a great deal of consistency in SA Rugby so far in 2014!!!!!!!!

Willie
    JPP
    Jan
    FS
    Habana
    MS
    FDP

Duane
    Alberts
    Louw
    Vic (baie goed uitgerus nadat hy ‘n vet toffie vir die Bulle gewys het)
    Bakkies
    Sannie
    Bissie
    Beast

Coenie
    Brits
    Marcel vd Merwe
    Flip
    Schalk
    Hougaard
    Goosen
    Die Ellendige

John Daly admitted this week that he has gambled away USD 55 Million since he won his first major (1989?)

And we think Rugby Union is a major World Wide Sport?

Ons het nie die tipe kwaliteif losskakel wat ons graag sou wou he nie, maar nou weet ons ook dat HM “sysms” speel. So, die losskakel wat sy “systems” die beste ken is Morne. Ek dink egter hy sal met Goosen begin al het Elgar Watts heel jaar beter vertoon as Goosen by die Cheetahs.

Good evening chaps.

Not a bad squad at all. A few passengers, but his has already been mentioned. Why such a HUGE squad, especially that we are playing at home? You can surely bring in players if and when guys are injured…

Well done Lions and Stormers… I would never have called either result. Let’s hope that this squad can do us all proud…

Vanaand Daniesourus se laaste game van sy roemryke loopbaan, hy gaan netnou as supersub opkom.

Approve

“sysms” = systems

Bleddie rekenaar spel nie soos ek tik nie. 😆

13 @ Gumboots:
    Hellooooooooo Gumy Berry Juice!

How is Pantoffeltjie?

13 @ Gumboots:

HM, al werk hy die Bulle deur hul ore die laaste paar jaar (veral vandag), is wel ‘n goeie coach en beplan vooruit. Kry ‘n klomp spelers in die groep sodat hul vinnig kan inpas as daar beserings is hierdie of volgende jaar.

Daarom die groot groep.

14 @ Ben:
    Nog ‘n Rugby legend “langbome toe”?

Geez he was a brilliant player.

What odds 2-3 years “back home” to settle into retirement?

@ Nama:
    Sonder om aan heyneke se “systems” te dink, wie is jou best loskakel dan?

Dink ook nie De Jager is beter as Paul Willemse nie, en Oupa Majole is beter as JDP nie.

Maar ja, HM moet die ANC ook in ag neem (wat die laaste keuse betref).

13 @ Gumboots:
    Hellooooooooo Gumy Berry Juice!

How is Pantoffeltjie?

Howzit Buddy! 🙂 Sy is goed dankie. Kry net baie min tyd om te gesels. Werk, werk en werk…

Only saw the last ten minutes of the Stormers game and couldn’t believe the result of both this game and the previous one…

I expect an experimental team for the world xv game, our strongest teams for wales, and trying out 1 or 2 combinations for wales.

and trying out 1 or 2 combinations for Scotland.

18: Unsung hero wat saam met Bakkies en Vic gespeel het. Ek het gehoor sy gesondheid is nie te lekker nie, maar wie weet, dalk kan die Bulle hom hopelik nader trek. Bulle kort nog ervaring, die jongmanne nog nie reg nie.

@ Ben:
    The same run on team that I posted on the Stormers thread.

Your reserves however, I don’t agree with.

Brits
    Coenie
    Gurthro
    Flip
    Kolisi
    Hougie
    Mvovo
    De Allende / JJ

19 @ MacroBok:
    Who cares?????????????

HM will pick who he thinks, as against who really is the best 10 in spite of all evidence.

There is no more Doc Craven or Louis Luyt to “force” him to pick the best player any more,

I expect an experimental team for the world xv game, our strongest teams for wales, and trying out 1 or 2 combinations for wales.

I actually think he will stick to what he had… maybe use one or two to come on as subs later in the game… a few very lucky to be in the squad – JJ, Kolisi to name just two…

Anyways, I have to run. Have a good one…

Bye

21 @ Gumboots:
    Yeah, the Bulls threw it away after almost all the results this weekend from other sides above them went right down the Bulls allyway!

Earlier in the week, if you asked me who I wanted to win between the Sharks and Stormers, I would have said Sharks… but this morning was the last straw from certain Sharks supporters, for me, and I supported the Stormers wholeheartedly against the Sharks tonight as a result….

What a way the “Blinde Sambok” has, to bring those who are arrogant and selfish down to earth.

I do not say all Sharks supporters are blind and full of kak, but I do not see why I need to support a fellow SA Franchise if their supporters (some of them) do not support other SA Franchises in reaching the play-off’s.

Things are hectic my side too, lots of ancillary things happening, which had to be jockeyed this past week!

All, I’ve had a k@k day. I’m now going to sit in front of where my TV used to be and discuss things with the Captain.

Have a great Sunday. I’m gonna “moer” a golf ball as if it was the kont that stole my TV.

Well done all the winners!!!!!!

1 2 3 11

Total 145 users including 0 member, 145 guests, 0 bot online