South AfricaWalesA late penalty try saw the Springboks claim a dramatic 31-30 victory over Wales in a match dominated by the whistle of referee Steve Walsh in Nelspruit.

Wales came within minutes of recording their first-ever victory over the Springboks in South Africa, but it was not to be as the home side came back from the dead to sneak a victory.

After being blown off the park in the opening exchanges in Durban last week, Wales served the Springboks some of their own medicine in the first half-hour by scoring 17 unanswered points.

Both sides made a fairly sloppy start to the game, with crucial handling errors killing any meaningful momentum but Wales drew first blood when Dan Biggar sent his second kick at goal through the poles and Morne Steyn had a chance to respond but sent his kick wide.

rugby365

The visitors crossed the whitewash soon afterwards when big Jamie Roberts powered his way over from a set move after a line-out which put them 10-0 up.

Wales kept the pressure on as the Springboks started falling off more tackles in their own half and it was not long before they had crossed the tryline again with Alex Cuthbert dotting down and Biggar’s conversion gave them a healthy 17-0 lead.

However they were struck a double blow when first lock Luke Charteris and then Biggar were shown yellow cards for deliberately collapsing two different mauls and the Springboks were awarded a penalty try after a sustained period of pressure in the corner.

With Wales down to 13 men the Springboks sniffed blood and a flowing movement from their own half started by JP Pietersen saw them stretch the Welsh defence with Willie le Roux eventually putting Cornal Hendricks over for the try.

That reduced the gap to 17-14 at the break after what had been a half of two halves which saw Wales make all the early running before the Springboks were able to bring themselves back into the contest.

Wales struck first in the second half when hooker Ken Owens barged his way over for their third try to cap a period of pressure and give them a valuable 24-14 cushion.

The Boks got back within striking distance with a penalty from Steyn after spending some quality time in Welsh territory without much reward, but Biggar responded almost immediately with three more points of his own.

Things got even worse for the Springboks when Flip van der Merwe was shown a yellow card for playing Alun Wyn Jones in the air at the restart and the lead was out to two converted tries soon afterwards when Biggar slotted another penalty.

The Boks got back within striking distance when Le Roux ghosted through a gap to score, and the conversion from Steyn made it 30-24. That left them seven minutes to find the winning try and it came when Liam Williams barged Hendricks into touch in the corner without using his arms.

South Africa:

• Tries: Penalty Tries (2), Cornal Hendricks (1), Willie le Roux (1)
  • Cons: Morné Steyn (4)
  • Pen: Morné Steyn (1)

Wales:

• Tries: Jamie Roberts (1), Alex Cuthbert (1), Ken Owens (1)
  • Cons: Dan Biggar (3)
  • Pens: Dan Biggar (3)

Yellow card: Luke Charteris (Wales, 30 mins – Deliberate infringement), Dan Biggar (Wales 32 mins, Deliberate infringement), Flip van der Merwe (South Africa, 58 mins – Dangerous tackle)

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Wynand Olivier, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Josh Turnbull, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (Captain), 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins
Replacements: 16 Matthew Rees, 17 Paul James, 18 Aaron Jarvis, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Dan Baker, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 James Hook, 23 Matthew Morgan.

Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Francesco Pastrana (Argentina)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)

77 Responses to June Internationals: Review – Springboks vs Wales

Any ideas on the FH and no. 6 position for the Boks on Saturday?

If JW was still the coach I’m sure we would’ve seen a loose trio of Schalk, Alberts and Vermeulen. Will HM be inclined to go that route as well or will Kolisi be included after Hoskins’ call for ore black Africans?

26 Dan.Vehement denials(I think he does protest too much) and stony
    silences make strange and often dishonest bedfellows.
    Mercifully the forensic report was commissioned by the new administration.
    If auditors have signed off the report in a matter of this magnitude,.then be
    sure of its veracity.Keep well pal.Rye

26 Dan Sorry Dan Tourettes and Tourettes again

Kak and Kak again

Go well pal”
    Regards Rye

@ Nama:
    Aren’t ‘Captain Naidoo’ and his ‘investigators’ still busy solving the mystery of that manslaughter outside Kings Park last year?
    where will they have any time and manpower to start a new investigation?
    😀 😀 😀

@ Nama:
    Pretty simple

Simple? @ Nama:

Pretty Simple
    SARU hasn’t payed the dude, the default is he can go and play anywhere, which he does
    Simple?

37 Hi Dan.I suppose that everybody has their price.But this if true deserves
    time in the slammer.

Regards and good night.
    Rye

Here we go again, eishhh! Welcome to World Cup 2015 already….SARU’s quota plan in jeopardy.

Johannesburg – A legal team is preparing to submit an official complaint to the International Rugby Board (IRB), against the South African Rugby Union’s (SARU) proposed quota system, civil rights organisation AfriForum have said on Monday.

AfriForum chief executive Kallie Kriel said IRB rules prohibited racial discrimination and political interference in rugby.

“SARU’s instruction to the Springbok coach is a crude form of racial discrimination and an indication that SARU has surrendered to the quota threats of the minister of sport, Fikile Mbalula,” Kriel said in a statement.

AfriForum’s legal team would look into the possibility of opening a case with the International Court for Arbitration in Sport (CAS).

Beeld newspaper reported on Monday that SARU president Oregan Hoskins had sent a message to Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer about having a greater representation of blacks in the national team.

Hoskins said he personally delivered the message to Meyer.

“We need to give black players, specifically ‘African blacks’, more chances in the team,” he told the Afrikaans daily.

“I spoke to the coach and he agreed, the time is right for this.

“I believe we will already see a change or two against Scotland this coming weekend.”

Kriel said it was not in the interest of South African rugby, players or the supporters of the sport for SARU to “blatantly contravene” the IRB’s rules.

AfriForum supported rugby development, and wanted everyone to have the opportunity to participate in the sport, he said.

“A racial quota system disadvantages all talented players of all races,” Kriel said.

“White players are disadvantaged because they are excluded from participation based on their race and the validity of the inclusion of black players in teams is by default suspect.”

AfriForum’s complaint was based on bylaw 3 of the IRB rules and regulations.

It compels the IRB to prevent any form of racial discrimination in rugby.

Regulation 20 determines that any action in rugby which entails racial discrimination amounts to “misconduct”.

The IRB may institute disciplinary steps against any rugby body that violates these rules.

“Saru and government should address their own failure to develop young talent at school level with development programmes rather than playing the numbers game in a top-down manipulation of the sport,” Kriel said.
    SAPA

Is dit die kak waarmee jy opgeskeep moet sit?

http://m.lolx.tv/v/404/?src=fb

Broer, daai goed is nie lekker nie, weet hulle nie, wat goes up, must come down

40 @ nortierd:
    Dis nou wat mens noem “Ongeorganiseerde Chaos”!

Hulle is heeltemal befok in hulle koppe!

Cowboys & kroeks se moer, grensvegter se moer, Rambo se moer, Chuck Norris se hele militêre moer…. die klomp sponsparras!

Geld se baas as mens na die karre kyk, maar geld koop nie verstand nie

It will only get worse.

You only need to read Nic Borraine’s analysis of the changes to property law as in this country to realise how much so.

Hondo is going to end up flipping burgers in Clapham.

There’s another one gone at the Bulls.

The Bulls have issued a Media Release to say Vlok Cilliers, Bulls kicking coach / consultant will take up a postion at WP in July 2014.

The Bulls will now use Louis Koen who is employed by the SAY Mobi-Unit as well as Derick Hougaard.

It’s life reality in SA, they always try something to get under the skin: affirmative action, vuvuzelas, quota
    Best’s just to ignore it, pretending the Boks are truly RWC contenders, let alone the RC, not worth taking it seriously

Next to go home will be Slapchips

More ineptness.

Can you blame Vlok?
    The Bulls have Pollard, how would you feel if you are a coach and you realize that you can’t teach a 20 year old anything that he can’t already do?

43 @ gunther:
    A chap by the surname Boraine, was a Professor of mine at Tuks, all those years ago… but why does the name Alex Borraine stick in my head, somehow?

No wait, Andre Boraine…. he was the chap who gave us Civil Procedure, if I’m not mistaken.

So ‘n baardbek ding, wat ook net goed was om te TEACH, omdat hy dit nooit in die praktyk sou maak nie!

alex borain was ondervoorsitter van die waarheids en uitverkoop komissie gewees

50 @ smallies:
    O Flok ja, nou weet ek hoekom die Alex ook in my kop gesteek het…

I see Tyrone Holmes, the now Scotland International and Ex WP player’s mother liked the Rugby-Talk Facebook page… so she must be a reader here too.

So, if you read this Debra.. register and join us here!

50 @ smallies:
    O Flok ja, nou weet ek hoekom die Alex ook in my kop gesteek het…

Ek dink daai rooikop Andre is Alex se laaitie, hom en sy seun eendag oppie vliegtuig gesien.

@40 Ja, die klomp is nog agter die klip, erg primitief…pas my, hoe meer onnosel hulle is hoe duurder raak ek.
    Beste van alles, ek is nou nader aan die Kaap as wat ek was toe ek in Pta gewerk het! Happy-Grin

53 @ Pietman:
    Kan so wees, ja… ek sien Alex is in 1931 gebore, so hy is nou so 83 (as hy nog leef) en Andre het in 1985 by Tuks aangesluit, net voordat ek met die Law dinge daardeur gedraf het.

Die Andre Boraine was toe jonk, so Yuppie-tipe gewees.

@ nortierd: Jis Nortie, do you ever sleep boet? You must be the most prolific boytjie on this site by a country mile. But keep it up because there is always a yarn to tell someone with you always around. I’m the opposite as you might have noticed. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy you guys. I’m just lazy. So what’s up? Beast and Flip taking a rest. Then who? Interrasant.

@ Pietman: en so gelukkig is tjy Piet. Net om die hoek is jy by die enige Nuweland onder die enige berg end anderkant die enige Forries.
    😎

Andrew Mehrtens said this.

At the risk of upsetting a Cantab or two, here’s some advice for Steve Hansen on the reintroduction of Dan Carter to the All Blacks – don’t pick him for the Rugby Championship.

I’m serious. After sweeping the English 3-0 to extend their test-win streak to 17, the All Blacks have shown they can survive, and even thrive, without their great No 10. Now I’d like to see him earn his test recall with a standout provincial campaign for Canterbury.

I know there’s precedent for immediate post-sabbatical reintroduction with Richie McCaw last year, but given the depth at No 10 now, and given Carter’s fragile fitness in recent seasons, I’d like to see this process handled differently.

siraas then, the boys copped a bit of a wakeup call over the weekend then. Not a bad thing I thought. Heyneke seemed to agree. We seem to hold the idea that the six nations sides this year are second class compared to us S Hemisphere lot. Well that’s going to be our downfall if this attitude prevails. We’re seeing that now with the possible exception of the Frogs, who are poorly managed under Saint-Andre methinks.

Total 47 users including 0 member, 47 guests, 0 bot online