Demetri CatrakilisKobus van WykStormersThe Stormers have been boosted by the news that Demetri Catrakilis and Kobus van Wyk have been cleared for selection ahead of their Super Rugby match against the Western Force at Newlands on Saturday.

Catrakilis has not played since breaking his nose against the Lions on 19 April, whilst Van Wyk’s wrist injury – suffered against the Highlanders on 3 May – has healed a lot quicker than initially anticipated.

Sport24

It was confirmed earlier that hooker Scarra Ntubeni will be out for at least eight weeks, whilst calls on the fitness of Brok Harris, Michael Rhodes, Schalk Burger and Jean de Villiers will be made before announcing the team on Wednesday afternoon.

Ntubeni fractured a metatarsal in his left foot in their defeat to the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday evening.

Rhodes will return to training on Tuesday and be assessed afterwards ahead of the clash against the Force, while Oli Kebble will undergo a concussion test on Wednesday to ascertain his availability for the match.

Prop Frans Malherb  is still not available for selection and will not be available for selection.

The following squad players remain sidelined with injuries at present: Prop Steven Kitshoff (knee), hooker Tiaan Liebenberg (neck), locks Eben Etzebeth (foot), Jurie van Vuuren (shoulder), De Kock Steenkamp (groin), Rynhardt Elstadt (shoulder), Gerbrandt Grobler (shoulder) and Manuel Carizza (wrist), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (knee), scrumhalves Louis Schreuder (fractured thumb) and Godlen Masimla (wrist), Gary van Aswegen (groin), wing Sailosi Tagicakibau (calf muscle) and fullbacks Gio Aplon (elbow) and Ryno Eksteen (knee).

67 Responses to Super Rugby: Stormers – Catrakilis & Van Wyk back from injury

Flynn from the Saders is joining Toulouse?!
    bye bye Chiliboi?
    You can bet the Stormers will be in a race to get his services, I can see a monumental battle for the starting spot in the Lineup!

Pap en parra boudjies just don’t combine so well

@ Hondo:
    Those guys play so much rugby, I doubt Chilliboi played every game though, those french try to have 2 good players per position.

The only way the French will have 2 decent players per position is if they bring in 2 foreign players per position

32 @ nortierd:
    haha that’s what I meant

32 @ nortierd:
    haha that’s what I meant

Lol, hulle is k@k verby.
    Pox so nou en dan per geluk n wen teen n ordentlike span, maar bly k@k

ek weet hoe voel jy ook die franse maar ek het meer verwys na die club spanne

So aangeneem
    Dis juis hoekom hulle rugby so vrot is, waar moet hulle jong spelers speel?
    Miskien moet ons begin om jong Franse spelers in te voer, soos wat hulle met ons jonges doen?

Ek wonder of hul sal kom? ek dink die clubs koop ook al die jong spelers daar soos die sharks bulle en wp hier doen om hul weg te hou an ander spanne af, teen n helse prys.

It seems that WP is attemting to sign Johan Goosen.

@ dWeePer:
    hmmm an injury prone player that will come at a very very high price…sounds like something WP would do.

How is it possible that Gary has fallen so far behind? I can not believe it.

dWeePer wrote:

It seems that WP is attemting to sign Johan Goosen.

Why on earth would we want him.
    They should have never let Swiel go.
    We already have enough injured players, now they want to import more?

@ dWeePer:
    hmmm an injury prone player that will come at a very very high price…sounds like something WP would do.
    How is it possible that Gary has fallen so far behind? I can not believe it.

Gary is even more injury prone than Goosen, I know it’s hard to believe, but it’s the truth.
    Maybe Tiaan Liebenberg needs someone new to chat with while injured on the sidelines, so Goosen might be fresh conversation

Du Preez and Eksteen is the way forward at 10, leave the rest, Swiel included where they are

Gena_ZA wrote:

Du Preez and Eksteen is the way forward at 10, leave the rest, Swiel included where they are

Dink net hoe lekker sou Swiel gespeel het met n span wat wil hardloop.
    Met de Jongh wat op sy skouers sit kon hulle gevaarlik gewees het

No I know Gary is injury prone, but he still played vodacom cup, after the bulls game last year he was a “possible springbok” with passes like lightning lol

Goosen must be asking a small fortune for prices to compete with what Toulon would offer him. I think the rumour is also that the bulls want him a few weeks ago, fark knows why we would pay so much for a currie cup stand in.

But I also know the Bulls will be signing a marquee opensider soon 😀

Gena_ZA wrote:

I agree, but dont throw Coleman away just yet, I think the phillips and eksteen combo could be exciting in age group currie cup this year to inest in them for a year or two.

@Macro
    Volgens Skop is Gary n Bok
    En natuurlik is Deon n Bok haker ook
    You must remember, times are lean if you are a Stormer supporter, any half decent performance by any of our players send us in raptures

Not a too bad group of players this, and Mallet should give them some good background on our guys, seeing that he is analyzing our teams every weekend in the studio.

World XV squad:

Backs – James O’Connor (Australia), Drew Mitchell (Australia), Hosea Gear (New Zealand), Sitiveni Sivivatu (New Zealand), Aurelien Rougerie (France), Rene Ranger (New Zealand), Matt Giteau (Australia), François Trinh-Duc (France), Rory Kockott (South Africa), Jimmy Cowan (New Zealand).

Forwards – Steffon Armitage (England), Alexandre Lapandry (France), Roger Wilson (Ireland), Mamuka Gorgodze (Georgia), Alistair Hargreaves (South Africa), Joe Tekori (Samoa), Juandré Kruger (South Africa), Schalk Brits (South Africa), Andrew Hore (New Zealand), Schalk Ferreira (South Africa), Sona Taumalolo (Tonga), BJ Botha (South Africa) and Carl Hayman (New Zealand).

haha ja ek kan onthou, as gary, pollard en willie almal loskakel gespeel het sou die bokke nooit verloor nie

Ha ha
    Gewoonlik is sy beste spanne gekies na die wedstryd.
    Darem maar lekker gelag partykeer

From SARugbymag

Handré Pollard will captain the Junior Boks at the IRB Junior World Championship in New Zealand.

Pollard, who will be competing in his third consecutive tournament, will be ably assisted by his vice-captains, No 8 Aidon Davis (EP Kings) and fullback Jesse Kriel (Blue Bulls).

The former Paarl Gym captain has been causing quite a stir with his performances for the Bulls at Super Rugby level, and has been touted as a potential Springbok flyhalf, even before the year is out.

@ MacroBull: Difference is JdV isn’t inside him. JdV doesn’t distribute enough for JdJ to shine. Tries to run into opposition and give short flat passes. JdJ in space is incredible.

Guess it’s Skoppie’s love child at hooker from here on out for the Stormers. Eish.

@ Best:
    Then again this weekend JDJ had Peter Grant at 12… JDJ is playing a lot better with or without JDV this year, he is making the right decisions more often than not.

JDJ stats in the Bulls game…

1 try, 1 try assist, 2 defenders beaten, 50m run

1 knock on, 7 carries, 3 passes, 2 penalties conceded, 2 tackles made, 1 missed tackle, 76 minutes played.

JJ Engelbrecht

9 tackles made, 2 defenders beaten, 1 turnovers won, 28m run, 1 kick, 1 missed tackle, 5 carries, 3 passes.

Morning MacroBull do you have a twin, I see there are two of you logged on – double trouble Afraid Happy-Grin

haha it does that because I am logged on with my browser and phone and I usually have like 20 tabs open on my browser when I am researching things for work, and I keep them open if I need to leave my office to go to the workshop, I need to multitask or else I can’t stay awake at work. iPhone and I also use my phone sometimes where the apps stay open.

Morning Scottie

57 @ MacroBull:
    Ahhh got it Approve multi-tasking?? as a bloke that is something am not meant to be able to do Happy-Grin

59 @ Bullscot:
    Well I am not saying I am any good at it 😛

Total 41 users including 0 member, 41 guests, 0 bot online