Special EditionSuper RugbyThe Cell C Sharks returned from their Australasian tour at the top of the Vodacom Super Rugby Log while the Vodacom Bulls and DHL Stormers continued their good home form this weekend.

The Durbanites beat the Blues for the 10th consecutive time, by 29-23, in Albany on Friday morning. They won 3 from 4 on tour Down Under, which is equal to their best tour ever in 2009, and bagged 13 Log points in Australasia, firming their grip of the top spot on the standings after 4 tough games abroad.

Later on Friday, the Vodacom Bulls were at their brutal best as they probably recorded their best win of the season when they dismantled the 2013 runners up, the Brumbies, by 44-23 at Loftus Versfeld. The score probably flattered the visitors as the side from Pretoria remained unbeaten at home this season.

On Saturday morning in Perth, the Lions fought very hard to win their final tour match, but ultimately came up short as they were beaten by 29-19 by the Force.

Round 15 came to an exciting end in Cape Town on Saturday evening when the DHL Stormers beat the Toyota Cheetahs by 33-0 in a rather one-sided match.

It was only the 3rd time ever a team managed a clean sheet in a South African derby – the 1st time was in 1999 when the Cell C Sharks beat the Vodacom Bulls by 29-0, while the team from Pretoria beat the Southern Kings by 34-0 last year.

In total, it was the 5th time ever that a SA franchise failed to score a point in a Vodacom Super Rugby match. The Vodacom Bulls lost 27-0 to the Crusaders in Timaru in 2011 and the DHL Stormers lost 22-0 to the Crusaders in Cape Town in 2008.

Unfortunately Toyota Cheetahs captain Adriaan Strauss has also been cited for alleged foul play during their match against the DHL Stormers. He is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackle when he tackled Stormers player, Kobus van Wyk. The incident occurred in the 23rd minute of the match.

The referee for the match, Stuart Berry, reviewed the incident with the television match official and issued a Yellow Card for the incident. Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play

The citing is to be considered in the 1st instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Adam Casselden. All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the 1st instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.

Cell C SharksBlues (6) 23 / 29 (16) Cell C Sharks:

The Cell C Sharks’ Australasian tour ended on an outstanding note and they have returned unbeaten from New Zealand after beating the Blues by 29-23 in Albany on Friday morning.

It was the KwaZulu-Natalians’ 10th consecutive win over the team from Auckland and one where they won thanks to superb defence. It was the first SA clean sweep of New Zealand since 2010.

The visitors controlled the game very well in the first half and took the points whenever they were available. Their defence was yet again superb and they competed very well on the ground, but the basis was laid by a strong set piece.

Frans Steyn contributed 16 points via the boot, which included a drop goal, as he moved past 100 competition points at the North Harbour Stadium.

Bismarck du Plessis crashed over for the only try in the first half and Cobus Reinach rounded off after a loose ball was hacked through, which gave the Cell C Sharks a nice cushion with 25 minutes left in the game.

• Tries: Luke Braid (1), Tevita Li (1)
  • Conversions: Simon Hickey (1), Ihaia West (1)
  • Penalty goals: Simon Hickey (2), Ihaia West (1)

Cell C Sharks:

• Tries: Bismarck du Plessis (1), Cobus Reinach (1)
  • Conversions: Frans Steyn (2)
  • Penalty goals: Frans Steyn (3), SP Marais (1)
  • Drop goal: Francois Steyn (1)

BullsVodacom Bulls (23) 44 / 23 (6) Brumbies:

The Vodacom Bulls were at their brutal best as they dismantled the Brumbies and won a repeat of last year’s Vodacom Super Rugby semi-final rather comfortably by 44-23 at Loftus Versfeld on Friday evening.

The home team displayed a lot of patience on the attack and gradually broke down the Brumbies’ defence. They took their chances well and scored some great tries, while never looking to force anything.

Despite hunting the bonus point, which they got in the end, the Vodacom Bulls took every opportunity to kick for points, which ensured they kept the scoreboard ticking over regularly. And even when they comfortably ahead, they still kicked their goals.

Their attacking play, built on the foundation of a very solid set piece, was good as Jan Serfontein, Jono Ross (twice) and Bjorn Basson scored tries. Jacques-Louis Potgieter contributed 22 points with the boot.

If there is one blight on the Vodacom Bulls’ performance, it is perhaps the three soft tries they conceded, but with a full house of five log points in the bag, they will only worry about that when they start their preparations for their next game on Monday.

Vodacom Bulls:

• Tries: Jan Serfontein (1), Jono Ross (2), Bjorn Basson (1)
  • Conversions: Jacques-Louis Potgieter (2), Handré Pollard (1)
  • Penalty goal: Jacques-Louis Potgieter (6)

Brumbies:

• Tries: Henry Speight (1), Ben Mowen (1), Tevita Kuridrani (1)
  • Conversion: Christian Leali’ifano (1)
  • Penalty goals: Christian Leali’ifano (2)

Western ForceForce (15) 29 / 19 (9) Lions:

The Lions put up a very brave fight in their final Vodacom Super Rugby tour match, but two late tries by the Force meant they lost this encounter by 29-19 in Perth on Saturday.

The visitors from Johannesburg refused to give up against the high-flying Force. Unfortunately their defence leaked tries at crucial stages of the match and it was a five-pointer in the 79th minute by the home team’s captain, Matt Hodgson, which sealed the win for them.

The Force, back in Perth after their South African tour, managed to find holes in the Lions’ defence when they needed to and they exploited this well.

The Lions were still in control shortly before the break at 9-3, but two quick tries by the Force meant they started the second half leading by 15-9.

A fourth Marnitz Boshoff penalty goal saw the gap close to 15-12 and with six minutes to go, the Lions were still in with a sniff, but they again conceded a try which gave the Force some breathing space.

Still the visitors refused to give up and the hit back almost immediately when Elton Jantjies went over for a converted try to make it 22-19, but then Hodgson got his second and it was all over for the men from Ellis Park.

Force:

• Tries: Matt Hodgson (2), Jayden Hayward (1), Chris Tuatara-Morrison (1)
  • Conversions: Sias Ebersohn (1), Jayden Hayward (2)
  • Penalty goal: Sias Ebersohn (1)

• Try: Elton Jantjies (1)
  • Conversion: Elton Jantjies (1)
  • Penalty goals: Marnitz Boshoff (4)

StormersDHL Stormers (15) 33 / 0 (0) Toyota Cheetahs:

The DHL Stormers recorded only the third-ever clean sweep in a South African Vodacom Super Rugby derby when they beat the Toyota Cheetahs by 33-0 at DHL Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday afternoon.

It was the Capetonians’ fourth consecutive home win of the season, which saw them move past the Toyota Cheetahs on the log as they scored a bonus-point for four tries in the process.

The match was played in tough conditions and the home team adapted better to the wind and rain. They attacked when the opportunity arose and scored some good tries, while their defence was also very good.

The DHL Stormers, who lost their captain Jean de Villiers before the match with an injury concern, were dominant from the start and never looked back as they kept the pressure on the Toyota Cheetahs, with especially Damian de Allende proving a handful on attack and defence.

Deon Fourie and Kobus van Wyk scored tries in the first half and although the spectators had to wait until the 70th minute for the home team’s third try, by Siya Kolisi, the end of the match was an exciting affair as Sailosi Tagicakibau got the fourth try with less than four minutes left on the clock.

DHL Stormers:

• Tries: Deon Fourie (1), Kobus van Wyk (1), Siya Kolisi (1), Sailosi Tagicakibau (1)
  • Conversions: Kurt Coleman (1), Peter Grant (1)
  • Penalty goals: Kurt Coleman (2), Peter Grant (1)

Toyota Cheetahs:

Other results – Round 15:

Rebels 19 / 41 Waratahs (Melbourne)
Highlanders 30 / 32 Crusaders (Dunedin)
Hurricanes 45 / 8 Chiefs (Wellington)

417 Responses to Super Rugby: SA Review – Round 15 – Impressive wins for Sharks, Bulls & Stormers

1 8 9 10 11 12 14

Though Carel did deserve some credit for the team he built, where is he now?

I will never forget the first rugby game i went to, the 60 pointer against Aus at Loftus where Percy got that Hat Trick, we played some lovely rugby back then, though not always successful.

Carel did put them on the right path, but the balance wasn’t quite there.
    Losing to the Lions was a death knell, although the kickers must take a huge part of the blame, all of them

That test was one of those great days when everything just clicked

I wonder who HM is going to pick as reserve hooker to Bissie now that Strauss is banned for 3 weeks?

Gary Botha

gunther wrote:

Gary Botha

Ha ha
    Deon Fourie

@ gunther:
    gunther wrote:

Gary Botha

Close – He picked – the one, the only – Callie Visagie !!! 😯

277 @ nortierd:
    Vir die World XV sal blerrie Callie Visagie maar seker op die bench wees, maar daarna dink ek Schalk Brits gaan agterbly as 2de en later 3de haker.

We have no hooker depth in SA. Brits, Burden, Reyneke…

Where has Chilliboy gone ?

@278
    Wasn’t Ben at some stage during the season going on about how poor Visagie was at line out time?
    Almost as bad as our Deon.
    I suppose Schalk Brits will be back up, he is in SA for the World XV match against the Boks in any case, he might as well stay on for the 2 Welsh tests

Die beste hooker in die land is Stacey Labuschagne.

Of so so se die mense wat weet!! 😆

@279 and 282
    Snap

gunther wrote:

Where has Chilliboy gone ?

Injured
    Think he hurt his confidence when he got to Europe and saw that he was actually overrated.
    It’s an injury that seems to be inflicting a couple of SA players, think Morne Steyn has also caught it, and Habana has a bad dose of it as well

Snoek wrote:

Die beste hooker in die land is Stacey Labuschagne.

Of so so se die mense wat weet!!

282 @ nortierd: Yes, he is bad, and although he is better than at the beginning, one can honestly say that more accurate hookers have played for the Bulls over the last decade or two, maybe even three.

@ Blue Traveller:
    280 Has to be Burden.HM sit met ,n las op sy gemoed

288 @ ryecatcher:
    Burden’s problem is that he is also overseas… and logic should dictate that if ever there is a toss-up between an overseas hooker and a local SA man, the local man will get the benefit. It does not mean I think a Callie Visagie or a Deon Fourie or Scarra Ntubeni or a Kyle Cooper are better hookers than Burden, in fact quite the opposite, but that would be the way Heyneke would look at a 2nd and later on at a third choice hooker.

Burden’s situation is different from that of Flo Louw, Morné Steyn, to an extent even to Bakkies Botha’s case and maybe even to an extent to Bryan Habana’s case…

In Morné Steyn’s case, he is the incumbant Springbok flyhalf – coupled to a few key flyhalf injuries locally.
    In Francois Louw’s case, once again the incumbant Opensider, with Marcell Coetzee injured and Heinrich Brussow back and in form but a bit on the backburner.
    In Bakkies Botha’s case, he has a superb history with Victor Matfield, is on form at Toulon – coupled to a number of Springbok injuries in Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Franco van der Merwe ect.
    Bryan Habana is the incumbant Springbok left wing and the other local okes mostly lack Springbok experience

As far as I’m concerned Ruan Pienaar should be much in the same waters as a guy like Craig Burden… he is overseas, and enough local talent like Cobus Renach and Charl McLeod are present in SA… and if one has to pick from overseas Rory Kockott and Jano Vermaak should be before him in the queue anyway. I recon that’s one FLAW of Heyneke Meyer’s, that he will once again include Ruan Pienaar in the final Springbok Group.

As far as I am concerned, Juan Smith falls into the same category as Burden and Pienaar.

The root of the problem is that the overseas players cannot take part in Training Camps during the year, like this past weekend’s one, therefore it makes sense to limit overseas players to critical positions where there is a shortage or where the overseas player is clearly the best in his position, at that juncture.

289 @ grootblousmile:
    Funny how your exceptions work in favour of two former Bulls stalwarts – Steyn and Bakkies. I’m sure it’s just a coincidence :mrgreen:

I’m with GBS on this one, Callie has played well enough to shade the rest, especially given the opposition and the “local” factor.

Thing is, sometimes opportunity knocks, lets see what happens.

I also agree on the other selections, including GBS’ view of Pienaar, who shouldn’t be there.

Morne Steyn is still the man, with Eben and PSDT injured Bakkies has to be there, same with Bryan, he is still no 1. FLO and Heinich are in a different class to Coetzee as far as fetching goes, Coetzee is more of a 6-7 hybrid. A good player but without the turnover nous that the first two have.

As far as hookers go, if you were looking overseas then Britz has to get the nod above Burden. Without a doubt. But for now Visage is the man, righfully so.

Please god no more Pienaar.

290 @ kaksioek:
    Strangely enough, that’s what it is, just coincidence.

Did you even bother to read what I said about why I thought Heyneke would do these things.

Let me put it this way, Kyle Cooper, a Natal Player, deserves to be in the Springbok Training Group ahead of Callie Visagie.
    What you also failed to see is that I rate Cobus Reinach and Charl McLeod, both Sharks, higher than Ruan Pienaar, or any of the Stormers scrummies or for that matter higher than Piet van Zyl the Bulls bench scrummie.

That comment of mine (No 289) was trying to explain why Burden stands a lower chance, because of his circumstances and Bok policy… where at the same time I expressly said Burden is better than Callie Visagie, Deon Fourie and Scarra Ntubeni.

Fark, you Tjarkies are sensitive folk… and you clearly need to learn to read properly… and then remember what you have just read… and then understand what you have just read and remembered.

Anyway, I am wasting my time explaining to you, I’d rather have an intelligent discussion with someone else, after I’ve put more rugby news on….

If you are still not getting the drift that I’m intimating that you are rather thick… then here it is:

Kakkers, you are thick, bro!

Okay Rudi, read my post #290 and then read yours #293. Which of the two comes across as more sensitive? 😆

291 @ Stormersboy:
    I am not a Callie Visagie fan…

I think his lineout throwing is average at best and I think his workrate around the park is too low. I think he does not tackle enough as well.

I deliberately left Schalk Brits out at hooker for now, because he is IN the World XV side against the Springboks op 7 June, whereafter I recon he will be drafted to the Bokke, to be bench hooker till Adriaan Strauss returns.

There is no such thing as an intelligent rugby conversation. Let’s face it. We’re talking about a game played by a handful of people officiated by a group that don’t understand the rules and spectators and fans that run on emotion not logic. Talk rugby, have a beer, relax, put out your opinion and accept someones going to disagree with you, sh.. some may even laugh at you.

294 @ kaksioek:
    Who’s talking “Sensitive” here… Nivea Cream is sensitive, it is sensitive under a lekker girl’s armpits, on her belly… and a bit lower down…. hehehe

It is sensitive seeing an Anti-Sharks bias in EVERY-FOOKING-THING, however well it was meant.

I’m talking about stuff that has nothing to do with sensitive… I am saying how I think Heyneke and those chaps look at things and where I differ from their way of thinking.

It has sweet blue buggerall to do with Bulls or Ex Bulls vs Sharks or Ex-Sharks….. fokkol, my friend!

297 @ grootblousmile:
    “Who’s talking ‘Sensitive’ here?” You, in post 293.
    I’m not sure what your issue is, but I’ll leave you to figure it out.
    Hope you have a nice evening.

»it is sensitive under a lekker girl’s armpits,on her belly and a lil bit lower down «

Joh.

297 So who is being sensitive here.What I attempted was a weak play on words (Burden=las in Afrikaans)
    and HM,s dilemma in this regard.
    Anyway Rudi,thanks for everything.
    Hey Artist How are you doing.?Still cashing cheques.?

1 8 9 10 11 12 14

Total 59 users including 0 member, 59 guests, 0 bot online