BluesCell C SharksBlues (6) 23 / 29 (16) Sharks (Final Score)

The Blues and Cell C Sharks did battle in Super Rugby at

North Harbour Stadium, Albany at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time, 07:35 GMT).

• Penalties – Simon Hickey (2), Ihaia West (1)
  • Tries – Luke Briad (1), Tevita Li (1)
  • Conversions – Simon Hickey (1), Ihaia West (1)

• Penalties – Francois Steyn (3), SP Marais (1)
  • Drop Goals – Francois Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Bismarck du Plessis (1), Cobus Reinach (1)
  • Conversions – Francois Steyn (2)

Blues

Cell C Sharks

23 May at 09:35
  • Team: 15. Lolagi Visinia, 14. Frank Halai, 13. Pita Ahki, 12. Ma’a Nonu, 11. Tevita Li, 10. Simon Hickey, 9. Bryn Hall, 8. Jerome Kaino, 7. Luke Braid (Captain), 6. Peter Saili, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu, 3. Charlie Faumuina, 2. Keven Mealamu, 1. Tony Woodcock
  • Replacements: 16. James Parsons, 17. Sam Prattley, 18. Angus Ta’avao, 19. Hayden Triggs, 20. Steven Luatua, 21. Jamison Gibson-Park, 22. Ihaia West, 23. Albert Nikoro
  • Team: 15. SP Marais, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. S’bura Sithole, 12. Paul Jordaan, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Francois Steyn, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Willem Alberts, 7. Tera Mtembu, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Ryan Kankowski, 20. Keegan Daniel, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Tim Swiel, 23. Heimar Williams

Referee: Nick Briant (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Aki Aso (Japan)
TMO: Aaron Peterson (New Zealand)

255 Responses to Super Rugby: Blues vs Cell C Sharks – Live Game Article

I don’t think that this ref can be accused of bias.
    He has been fair at crucial times and gave the Sharks penalties that can secure them this game.
    That last penalty wouldn’t have been given if he was so skelm

YeeeeeeHaaaaaa, great win. Well played Sharks, you really deserved this one

Kicked out by Fransie Steyn,,, Sharks win… 2 from 2 IN New Zealand!

Sharksssssssssssssssss yesssssssssssssssssssss, even against the odds, well done boys

Well done Sharks, great win and a brilliant tour.
    Respect to the team

Final Score: Cell C Sharks 29 / 23 Blues

well done sharks!

Siyabonga Nortietjie 😉 :mrgreen: 😆

Ek is so bleddie trots op die span, ons met die geel karate uitsort.

Pumas Nkandla must be a place of joy right now…..

Sharks up to 44 Log Points now… almost into the Play-off’s… and they still have 3 games to come.

kaarte is nou eweskielik karate

Snoek wrote:

Ek is so bleddie trots op die span, ons met die geel karate uitsort.

Bleddie goed ou maat, hulle gaan beker toe! Bokker die geelkaarte, hulle speel lekker so met 14…

its one thing to have peyper at home. but to win away against top teams with cheating refs is truelly incredible. well done sharks eh tjarks 😀

I don’t want to say I told you so, but when Jake said he wants to win 4/4 every laughed at him as being ridiculous. Yes, he only won 3, but the intent was there. If you go set your sites low that is usually where you will end up as well.

Congrats Sharks, you are making your supporters proud.

Morning GBS, thanks again for your help re: the Brumbies accomodation etc.

I went through to P-town yesterday…the bad news is that I came back empty-handed…

Cry-Out

But the good news is my wallet’s still intact!!!

Damn fine performance, even though I had to take a work break during the end of it :mrgreen:

Phew! close game at the end but we done it…. Happy-Grin

WELL DONE Jakey’ Boys! Brilliant tour down under for us. Pity we lost to Brumbies still think a game we could have won had we taken out chances at least we picked up a bonus point there. 3 from 4 is brilliant not sure when last a Sharks team has won two in NZ. Jake is the man…. Happy-Grin No matter how boring our game we doing the business under Jake and so damn proud of my team.

Have a few beers now and enjoy this magnificent tour you had. Then back to business next week against a really improving Stormers side.

For now feel on top of the world. If I could we do a round around the block! hahahahahahaha. Overjoy We sure as hell have the Blues number. Think this is now 10 wins against them on the trot. They have not beaten us since 2006. Think we beat them twice in 2007 by playing them in the semi of that years SR.

Sharks forever! Cool

Grats Sharks, very good victory.
    Must say I would prefer a no9 in the Bok squad that can actually play + have speed vs. a guy that used to date a HP color printer..

225 @ Snoek:

For sure boet. Jake meant what he said we almost did. Still say had we taken our chances against the Brumbies we would have won that one as well. Still have it on my pvr and looked at it again this week. Sure if Fransie got all his kicks there we would have won but it was all the fumbling with the ball that cost us we could have scored a try or two there for sure. Never mind we took a point out of that game and we now won 3 from 4. Brilliant from our Sharks. So damn pleased could take a damn run down the road if I could….. hahahahahaha.

First time a SA team has beaten the NZ teams twice on tour. The last time it was also the Sharks that done it as well……….. :mrgreen:

Puma@230

We must enjoy this, you know how it is in derby games. The Stormers will define their season by trying to beat the Sharks just like we did by beating them in the semis when they had home final waiting.

So, it is still tough up there, although I think this is the conference sowed up now.

Beer pots empty now at the neighbors’, I suppose….that’s why you are back at your own Nkantla so quickly Cheers
    Congrats on your boys bru, well done again.
    Think you can start stocking up on the magou and mathomba for the final so long, Sharks are on their way!

220 @ Pietman:
    Bwahahahahahaha. That was funny boet….. Overjoy Overjoy Who-s-the-man

233 @ Pietman:

Everyone is still back there talking about our team. I had to come back as the builder was back to show him some snags he has to fix next week.

Hell I am happy boet. So close but we won and that all that counts. Jake is the man for sure. WE have 3 excellent coaches in this country only 3 with our huge talent depth our coaching should be way, way better. For now all we have is: Jake, Mallett and Meyer. We also have Brendon Venter who I rate as highly he should come back here to coach as well.

First time a SA team has beaten the NZ teams twice on tour. The last time it was also the Sharks that done it as well………..

am I correct in saying that it cant be the first time then?

Glad to see this too:

Horwill to face SANZAR hearing for Ref comments

Article Published: Friday 23 May 2014

Reds captain James Horwill will face a SANZAR hearing after he criticised match referee Steve Walsh after their 27-30 loss to the Rebels on Saturday.

Referee Walsh red carded Ed O’Donoghue on advice from TMO Steve Leszczynski and awarded a match winning penalty to the Rebels in the final minute of the match. O’Donoghue’s red card was later removed from his record by SANZAR.

SANZAR have now completed an investigation into comments made by James Horwill in his on-field post-match interview following match played at Suncorp Stadium on 17 May 2014.

The comment in question attributed to Mr Horwill is: “In the end, once again we were robbed by a stupid refereeing decision.”

SANZAR has referred the matter for a hearing in accordance with SANZAR’s Disciplinary Rules.

In bringing this complaint, SANZAR will allege that the comment made by Mr Horwill amount to Misconduct under Rule 10 of the SANZAR Disciplinary Rules and breaches the SANZAR Code of Conduct Section 8.3 (3) of the Super Rugby Tournament Manual, which reads as follows:

Section 8.3 (e) “All persons shall not publish or cause to be published criticism of the manner in which a Match Official handled a match.”

The matter will be heard by SANZAR Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC via teleconference on Tuesday 27 May 2014: 5:30pm (AEST), 7:30pm (NZST), 9:30am (SAST).

323 @ Snoek:

For sure Snoek. I think somehow these saffa derby games are the hardest for our teams. We know each others play like a book. Also the rivalry between us is even more so than playing the overseas sides. We too are so physical against each other so hope no injuries next week. Just hope the boys don’t slack off for that game as the next week they with the Boks. The last time in 2012 when we were playing the Lions a week before the Boks had to play we went walk about there. As I think none want to pick up a injury before playing for the Boks. So keeping fingers crossed no injuries after this game and next week we go into the game not thinking of the next week with the Boks but rather still have our minds on this tourney.

@ Ashley:
    I also noticed that 😉

236 @ Ashley:

You absolutely right Ash…. hahahaha. Thanks for correcting me there. What I meant was this is the 2nd time boet. The last time was the Sharks as well in 2010.

Total 113 users including 0 member, 113 guests, 0 bot online