Jaque FourieCentre Jaque Fourie is unlikely to feature for the Springboks this year due to an ankle injury.

According to reports, Fourie will undergo an ankle operation on Tuesday which could keep him out of the game for up to six months.

Sport24

Fourie, 31, last played for his Japanese club, Kobe Steelers, at the end of February.

It was initially reported that he would be ready for the Boks in June, but the ankle injury has proven to be worse than initially hoped.

The Springboks start their year with a game against the World XV at Newlands on 7 June, followed by 2 Tests against Wales (Durban 14 June and Nelspruit 21 June) and 1 against Scotland (Port Elizabeth 28 June).

26 Responses to Springboks: No Jaque Fourie for the year – injured

Blessing in disguise?

Jacque was’nt exactly flash last year for the Bokke and some very good centres have put their hands up this Super Rugby Season… time to give them a bit of experience and retain them for the Bokke…. Damian de Allende & S’Bura Sithole!

Yip, Jaque wasn’t great at all last year. I can’t help but wonder what happened to JJ Engelbrecht this year – he is woefully out of form.

JJ has never been good anyway, it is just that more people recognise it this year.

@ kaksioek:
    JJ was the stand out center last year in Superrugby, this year he is nowhere. It is almost like he is scared, he is super fast, he just needs to back his pace, just so tentative.

4 @ MacroBull:
    Yip, very tentative on attack this year.

But to be fair, JJ’s defensive alignment and general defence has never been textbook quality… and THAT is the problem I have with him at Outside Centre. I think he is way better suited at right wing.

I thought JJ was great last year, and didn’t see too much wrong with his defence (despite the claims from many of the Stormers fans on Keo). Perhaps Meyer can get him up to speed again for the Boks. Otherwise he could be a good winger, but we all know that position has certain “political” requirements that he doesn’t meet.

But he ads a great deal on attack, your not going to tell me conrad smith is a brilliant defender

7 @ MacroBull:
    Tjom, YOU said he’s been nowhere this year and so tentative on attack this year, 2014… and I agreed with YOUR words, now you turn it around and say he adds a great deal on attack… so which is it?

Conrad Smith is a good defender, certainly better than JJ at it… but anyway, maybe you just need to differ from me on priniple.. I guess.

Unfortunately I want to look at form IN 2014, when I consider someone for the Bokke and I do not consider JJ being in great form in 2014, whereas there are some centres who are in great form at present.

No, we can all agree he has not been anywhere near standard, but from how he played last year and the potential he can add. The way he plays now he honestly doesn’t deserve to play for the Bulls, but when he plays well there is a great deal of value to add, even from center, when he is decisive he can be a huge gamebreaker.

… he isnt in form this year, I 150% agree with you.

What happened to Flo.

His not in the 36 man squad and also not on the injury list.

9 @ MacroBull:
    He’s got to show some return to form first to convince me he is a Bokke outside centre for the June Internationals and The Rugby Championship.

Until then all I have to go on is to compare him to the rest of his peers at outside centre.

In line with what I’ve just said and in line with the fact that the Bokke training squad is thin at flyhalf, I am left with the conundrum of who I would pick for these June Tests, if I were Heyneke Meyer (which I am not, luckily).

So, my choice of backline would include Fourie du Preez (Hougie on the bench), Frans Steyn at flyhalf before either of Marnitz Boshoff or Johan Goosen in the queue (Morné Steyn would probably be selected though).

At No 12 I would play Damian de Allende and Jean de Villiers would have to be in the side, because he is Bok Captain, so he could slot in at No 13 as far as I’m concerned.

The form back 3 would have to be Cornal Hendricks, Lwazi Mvovo and Willie le Roux at present (Bryan Habana would probably replace Cornal Hendricks).

Now we know Frans Steyn prefers playing at No 12 and not at Flyhalf… I just do not see a clear Springbok alternative at flyhalf for Morné Steyn having emerged in 2014 and THAT is the only reason I would play Fransie there… call it a stop gap if you will. I think Marnitz Boshoff is one season away (if he shapes more) from Bok selection in a game and I think Johan Goosen does not deserve a starting berth or a bench berth yet in 2014.

11 @ Tuff Gong:
    Flo was injured and is on the comeback trail in the UK at present… not exactly game fit just yet… but I recon he will be at No 6 openside for 7 June at the Bokke, if not the week thereafter.

Heyneke does not change players easily…

A fit Flo is the 1st player I will select in any Bok starting XV.

Never has a bad game.

14 @ Tuff Gong:
    Flo has been really good at the Bokke, pity that he has signed on for 3 more years at Bath though.

… and I think Richie Gray has done wonders with the Springbok Ground ball / Breakdown chase, battle and fight, so expect the Bokke loose trio to be very competative again this year, now that Richie Gray has been appointed on a permanent basis with the Bokke.

Yes Gray has added value and has changed the “to the ball” mindset not only with the loosies but the entire team.
    Thats the only way to beat the AB’s, compete for the ball on the ground, get the turnovers against the run of play and if all else fails at least you slowing their game down.

16 @ Tuff Gong:
    True… I also think the All Blacks are vulnerable in the tight 5, specially at lineouts, the maul from the lineout and to an extent in the scrums too.

Their backline is super dangerous though and the Bokke would have to choose wisely to neutrlize that.

I am worried about the Bokke conditioning though, we’ve seen the All Blacks pull away from the Bokke too often in the last 20 minutes, even at altitude here in SA.

Yes. They showed their class against us in the last 20min at FNB last year. After flying from Argie and playing on the once feared highveld.

GBS, Retallick and Whitelock will once again be a thorn in our side so they definitely not weak at 4 & 5.

18 @ Tuff Gong:
    The All Blacks are not No 1 in the world for nothing, and we’ve battled against them, there’s no getting around that.

But they are takable, they have chinks in their armour and I’m not one who believes in revering them.

They simply have to be dismantled, somehow… and it could be done, both away from home and at home.

The Wallabies is an unknown entity this year, but they have their problems too, Quade Cooper out for a long stretch now with his AC joint injury, the Reds players and Genia not in great form. Will be interesting to see how they go against France in June.

They not invincible and when rattled they also crumble under pressure. If only Craig Joubert showed more balls in that RWC final.

Funny thing is if we play to our strengths and really dominate them upfront and deny them front foot ball we should beat them.

Our points will be from penalties and we wont score many tries.

It wont be pretty rugby but who cares.

20 @ Tuff Gong:
    I am hoping the SA Super Rugby sides are almost all starting to rise and hit some form.

It certainly looks like the Cheetahs & Stormers have improved.

It looks like the Bulls are getting rid of their early season blues.

It appears the Sharks have learnt to dismantle New Zealand sides at home, with the wonderful win against the Crusaders.

The Lions are not good though, but luckily they do not have many Springbok contenders.

If all of that is true, our sides are peaking at the right time for Springbok purposes… and I hope that becomes a serious worry for the Ozzmob and the New Zealanders!

I am gatvol of their supporters thinking the SA Conference is far weaker!

The 7 June International against Nick Mallett’s World XV, is not to be underestimated… very attacking backline full of X-Factor players, good loosies, solid side… if they gel.

Very little preparation time for the Bokke and to bring the various elements together again for the Springboks to fire properly.

Cheers GBS.

Hoop jy’s reg.

Tyd om hierdie AB supporters hier in die Kaap stil te maak.

I too am worried about flyhalf and it is safe to assume that Pienaar will be included, unless Meyer had an immense change of heart, which I sincerely doubt.

Hello all you blooming job seekers!
    Hel, dis darem lekker as mens ledig kan wees hierdie tyd van die week om nonsens op n rugbysite te gesels… Amazed

Total 29 users including 0 member, 29 guests, 0 bot online