CheetahsLions Super RugbyCheetahs (10) 20 / 21 (9) Lions (Final Score)

The Toyota Cheetahs and Lions did battle in Super Rugby at

Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84FxGreFTeM[/youtube]

• Penalties – Johan Goosen (1), Elgar Watts (1)
  • Tries – Raymond Rhule (1), Cornal Hendricks (1)
  • Conversions – Johan Goosen (2)

• Penalties – Marnitz Boshoff (6)
  • Drop Goals – Marnitz Boshoff (1)

Cheetahs: 15 Willem le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Johannes Prinsloo, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Coenraad Oosthuizen, 2 Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1 Caylib Oosthuizen
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Nicolaas van Dyk, 19 Rynhardt Landman, 20 Jean Cook, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Elgar Watts, 23 Ryno Benjamin.

Lions: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Ruan Combrinck, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Franco Mostert, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Willie Britz, 20 Warwick Tecklenburg, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Coenie van Wyk, 23 Alwyn Hollenbach.

Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Greeff (South Africa)

364 Responses to Super Rugby: Toyota Cheetahs vs Lions – Live Game Article

1 2 3 13

Hak Vrystaat, hak
    Today I will be hoping for a Cheetah win, not because I like them, but because I don’t want to start the SR like the Varsity Cup in SuperBru

I got a fright today, when I saw a headline that LOURENS, N-Tvl hero had died…

Thought it was my childhood hero, Thys Lourens. Oom Thys Lourens and my late dad, GBS Maksimus, were friends. Hell, we even had an African Gray parrot which we named Thys, in honour of Oom Thys.

It turns out to be Johnny Lourens, aged 89, who died.

Rest in peace to a Northern Transvaal hero!

kan iemand nie die oorlosie bietjie aanstel nie….

Sheet.

Got a 10 ton truck full of work to get through before I can settle down to watch this game. At least the significant other has agreed to light the fire and burn the meat before the game starts, so hopefully just sneak in the house, gooi a dop, and watch the game with a decent steak.

Could be a long hot afternoon for the Lions, but maybe they just give all of us okes WITH RED BLOOD, a late valentines gift to rub in peoples collective noses.

I doubt it but one never knows what happens in mid February on a Rugger pitch,

I picked the Cheetahs on SuperBru, so that alone should GUARRANTEE the Lions at least a draw.

Hopefully catch up later.

Scrumdown wrote:

Sheet.
    Got a 10 ton truck full of work to get through before I can settle down to watch this game. At least the significant other has agreed to light the fire and burn the meat before the game starts, so hopefully just sneak in the house, gooi a dop, and watch the game with a decent steak.
    Could be a long hot afternoon for the Lions, but maybe they just give all of us okes WITH RED BLOOD, a late valentines gift to rub in peoples collective noses.
    I doubt it but one never knows what happens in mid February on a Rugger pitch,
    I picked the Cheetahs on SuperBru, so that alone should GUARRANTEE the Lions at least a draw.
    Hopefully catch up later.

Geez, if you have ruined it for us I am going to be very unhappy with you.

Overjoy Your sarcastic “talking up” of the Lions team make up and chances did not go unnoticed on the Lions team thread, so just for that you deserve to have your afternoon well and truly spoilt like vrot chicken in an army curry!

Player to watch for me is going to be jaco kriel. And how Boshoff can manage the game.

Cant remember if I have ever been this excited about a Lions vs Cheetah game.

Are we drinking yet?

Scrumdown wrote:

Your sarcastic “talking up” of the Lions team make up and chances did not go unnoticed on the Lions team thread, so just for that you deserve to have your afternoon well and truly spoilt like vrot chicken in an army curry!

WHAT? I truly believe that the Lions will be very competitive, especially in the derbies, and this is the kind of thanks that I get for it? I am hurt. It cuts deep! Tears

I’m guessing there will be one upset today. I hope it is not in this game though…

Loosehead wrote:

I am hurt. It cuts deep

Not as deeply as that vrot chicken curry will cut into your sleep!

Scrumdown wrote:

Loosehead wrote:
    I am hurt. It cuts deep
    Not as deeply as that vrot chicken curry will cut into your sleep!

You really are a vindictive and cruel person aren’t you? I have been nothing but supportive of the Lions since they snotklapped the Kings and returned to the S15, and this is how I am thanked? With food poisoning? Dik swak!I am going to braai steak after the very close match between the MIGHTY LIONS and the Vrystaat, will stay away from chicken and chicken curry for a while.

The anti Cheetahs spite from certain Lions supporters is just plain hurtful! To think that they can be so horrible so close to Valentines Day.

14 @ Loosehead:
    Your comment being no 14 is quite apt for a valentine weekend.

I deliberately choose the Cheetahs on SuperBru.

If the Lions should rise above the valentine rhetoric,and do manage a win, I am genuinely surprised and hold the moral high ground of being a supporter of a team that everyone expects to end bottom of the SA conference but who have cast off the shackles of mediocrity. If they get snot klapped, I can point to my SuperBru and exclaim with sorrow that it was expected.

Either way I stand on the 1st tee tomorrow as a winner! (Before I’ve even hit a brand new golf goon into the water)

Goodbye Duminy… Good catch…

Scrumdown wrote:

14 @ Loosehead:
    Your comment being no 14 is quite apt for a valentine weekend.
    I deliberately choose the Cheetahs on SuperBru.
    If the Lions should rise above the valentine rhetoric,and do manage a win, I am genuinely surprised and hold the moral high ground of being a supporter of a team that everyone expects to end bottom of the SA conference but who have cast off the shackles of mediocrity. If they get snot klapped, I can point to my SuperBru and exclaim with sorrow that it was expected.
    Either way I stand on the 1st tee tomorrow as a winner! (Before I’ve even hit a brand new golf goon into the water)

Arrogant Lions supporters playing golf while the humble Cheetahs supporters lick their wounds. Thinking

Loosehead wrote:

Arrogant Lions supporters playing golf while the humble Cheetahs supporters lick their wounds.

Opinionated Cheetahs supporters asking “are we drinking yet?” while the Lions’ supporters slave away trying hard to keep the national GDP at an acceptable level so that prospective investors can place their hard earned foreign exchange into SA markets, there-by creating an environment where teams like the Cheetahs can develop lots of young players for the Sharks to poach. Overjoy

Scrumdown wrote:

Loosehead wrote:
    Arrogant Lions supporters playing golf while the humble Cheetahs supporters lick their wounds.
    Opinionated Cheetahs supporters asking “are we drinking yet?” while the Lions’ supporters slave away trying hard to keep the national GDP at an acceptable level so that prospective investors can place their hard earned foreign exchange into SA markets, there-by creating an environment where teams like the Cheetahs can develop lots of young players for the Sharks to poach.

You have me there!
    Two hours to kick off!

Wat drinks ons?

Flokken baie, en baie gou ook…

Fark it’s hot outside and of course doing plumbing outside in the full sun tends to make one thristy, irritated and lus for farking rugby!

19 @ Loosehead:
    Enjoy. Hopefully catch up for the game.

Too much to do still.

20 @ grootblousmile:

Its very hot here as well. Going to be like this for the rugby later and the humidity is high as well. The wind is picking up a bit now so that might cool it down but not great for the rugby.

This should actually be the game of the weekend, maybe the stakes are higher in Durban, but both these sides will want to throw the ball around a bit and both prefer to play for the win, rather than not to lose. I reckon this is as close to a NZ type derby we will see outside of NZ

23 @ nortierd:

Far too hot and humid here to throw the ball around. Expect to see a lot of handling errors due to the high humidity.

Is that Volmink kid from the Lions injured?
    He looked a good prospect in last year’s CC, exciting runner

20 @ grootblousmile:
    Its very hot here as well. Going to be like this for the rugby later and the humidity is high as well. The wind is picking up a bit now so that might cool it down but not great for the rugby.

Now, now Puma, no heat, wind , humidity, injuries, flight socks, in flight movies, travel, bad in flight movies, having Jannie DuP etc etc for 2014 please
    This is your Golden Era if I’m not mistaken, and champions elect prosper no matter what the conditions or circumstances. Calder will make them see it, Jake will tell them it’s so and John will poach every boy older than 5 if those already bought can’t deliver the promised trophy

Okay back for the Cheetahs/Lions game then will be heading out to watch the Sharks/Bulls game later.

Catch up here at 5pm. Not going to bother watching the rest of the cricket either.. 🙂

23 @ nortierd:
    Far too hot and humid here to throw the ball around. Expect to see a lot of handling errors due to the high humidity.

Howzit Pooms, see my post 25, thought I had to get the Golden Era champions elect dig in before the start of the tournament.

25 @ nortierd:

Well have to see how we play first under Jake. For now only saw the Sarries game. But we will be ready I am sure. Just never have seen a brilliant game in Durban in this heat and humidity. I will be happy with a one point win that is enough… Tounge-Out

Okay catch up later.

Going for a swim bloody hot here.

28 @ Puma:
    Sharks will be strong on defence, don’t think they will be all that flash on attack this early in the season…. unless their forwards get good dominance.

Fransie Steyn will run crash ball all day, Cobus Reinach will be too slow behind the forwards to get the ball out nicely…

1 2 3 13

Total 124 users including 0 member, 124 guests, 0 bot online