Melbourne RebelsCheetahsRebels (17) 35 / 14 (0) Cheetahs (Final Score)

The Melbourne Rebels and Toyota Cheetahs did battle in Super Rugby at

AAMI Park, Melbourne at 10:40 SA Time (19:40 Melbourne Time, 08:40 GMT).

Rebels:

• Penalties – Angus Roberts (1)
  • Drop Goals – Angus Roberts (1)
  • Tries – Lachlan Mitchell (1), Jason Woodward (1), Luke Burgess (1), Bryce Hegarty (1), Scott Higginbotham (1)
  • Conversions – Bryce Hegarty (2)

• Penalties – 0
  • Tries – Jean Cook (1), Ryno Barnes (1)
  • Conversions – Johan Goosen (2)

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Lachlan Mitchell, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Scott Higginbotham (Captain), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Luke Jones, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith
Replacements: 16 Steve Fualau, 17 Max Lahiff, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Cadeyrn Neville, 20 Colby Fainga’a, 21 Ben Meehan, 22 Angus Roberts, 23 Tom Kingston.

Cheetahs: 15 Willem le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Johannes Prinsloo, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Coenraad Oosthuizen, 2 Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1 Caylib Oosthuizen
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Nicolaas van Dyk, 19 Rynhardt Landman, 20 Jean Cook, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Elgar Watts, 23 Hennie Daniller.

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Matt O’Brien (Australia), Michael Hogan (Australia)
TMO: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)

344 Responses to Super Rugby: Melbourne Rebels vs Toyota Cheetahs – Live Game Article

Sien die Sharks, Leeus en Cheetah ondersteuners baklei lekker hier wie Morne Steyn se toksakke gaan dra as die Bokke weer speel.

Wink

The first hiding of note for the weekend – lets hope it’s the last

300 comments, wow!

Just For Kicks wrote:

Are the Rebels that good?

Don’t think so, they beat all comers in their warm up games, got rid of Beale and O’Connor who, although superstars, was disruptive.
    The Reds and Waratahs should still be the better Aussie sides. Cheetahs surprised many teams last year, but surprises don’t last.
    Will be interesting to see how they go against the Reds next week

tough luck cheetahs… not much else to say… never in the game…

well done rebels…

good to see higginbotham back… will add the steel to the aussie pack they were missing last year… i said last year (before he was injured) he’d be aussie captain if i was coach…

303 @ Pietman:
    Ja, dit gaan geil hier op R-T

Suddenly it is looking uphill for Cheetahs. They have Reds next week and still the blues and canes to play. blues looked terrific against the Saders earlier.

Rebels deserved winners! Ref and commentators competing for Ass of the year, and Cheetahs back to the drawing board. First game on tour flutters? Hopefully, because the Reds are ging to be tough next week.

2nd wrong Bru pick… hehehe

Is this the year of the underdog? Blues beating the Hurricanes, and now the Rebels beating the Cheetahs. And the Lions winning their first 2 matches of the seasons, with both games being regarded as upsets, and Highlanders beating the Blues.

by the looks of it, any win point is good because this was an “upset”

Lots went for the Rebels, especially in my other pools, but I only went by 8
    Still happy with the point, especially after the Crusaders losing earlier

@ Cheetah4eva:

Which game you watching?

Saw rhule take two forward passes in first half!

The Cheetahs now shying away from their kick, chase, tackle and turnover game from last year… I do not know why teams stick to what they are good at.

Agree, It looks like the ‘underdogs’ are finding their collective feet much fast than the top teams this year. Good to see, makes the latter stages much more exciting

Well, 2 surprize results on a nugter Friday morning….

What else is news in the rugby world?

@ Ben: Delighted Bwaahaaa… Morne wat op die bench sit in Frankryk?

Worry Me too, and the Blues was an upset! Cheetahs match was 1st on tour, and Rebels were good value for the win!

I hope this dispels that, “but it is the first game of the seaon” nonsense.

@ Wallabie.:
    Walla, are you really going to try defend this rubbish Aussie ref, and really the commentators were as bad. First Kafer trying to justify a punch, and then a late tackle. How low are you Aussies prepared to go. After that loud mouth Warner being fines, a bit of introspection would have been expected Tounge-Out

Problem is, 2013 heightened the Cheetah expectations to a new level.
    Before last year, this was the norm, win one, lose 2 or 3
    It’s been like that for years, except for last year

by the looks of it, any win point is good because this was an “upset”

Lots went for the Rebels, especially in my other pools, but I only went by 8
    Still happy with the point, especially after the Crusaders losing earlier

Yeah I know a few people went for it, but like last week i dropped nearly 50 places, this week so far I am up 14 and also got the crusaders wrong. (On RT).

Now only for the Stormers to win, but they really screwed over many a superbru last year.

Well don’t think any team will take the Rebels lightly after that game. Now come on Stormers need them to win for my bru. Saders and Cheetahs have let me down and surely
    I must be on the bottom now.

@ Cheetah4eva:

My theory is when our team loses the ref is not seeing every pass, we never see the forward passes by our team….even the blades of grass is leaning forward when the bounce is awkward.

Why did the cheetahs players not get sent off for holding the rebels flanker….yes the rebels flanker got rightly got sent off but even the ref said the cheetahs player was holding on illegally.

All in all, yes there was stuff missed but think the cheetahs got more of the rub..

Close your eyes Stormer supporters they showing last weeks game against the Lions…hehe

@MB
    I went Canes by a HUGE score, granted, I picked them after 13 minutes of watching the Stromers disgrace themselves at Ellis Park. Overjoy so I won’t mind the Canes winning
    So far though, home teams only, so Stormers will probably win

I know everyone likes giving the Bulls crap about the camo… but geez that orange is an eyesore.

Okay out of here now catch up for the Stormer/Canes game later.

Cheers everyone.

306 @ ufo:
    Agree bud he had a good game.

Total 50 users including 0 member, 50 guests, 0 bot online