BullsGrant HattinghThe Vodacom Bulls confirmed on Wednesday that regular captain, Pierre Spies, has been withdrawn from the team to play the Toyota Cheetahs in a Vodacom Super Rugby match in Bloemfontein on Friday.

Spies suffered a blow to the elbow in last weekend’s match against the Cell C Sharks and it did not recover as hoped. He will be replaced by Jacques Engelbrecht, who moves up from the bench. Wiaan Liebenberg will replace Engelbrecht on the bench.

Should he take to the field, Liebenberg will make his Super Rugby debut.

Flip van der Merwe takes over the captaincy.

Vodacom Bulls lock Grant Hattingh will make his first appearance for his team this season on Friday against the Toyota Cheetahs after being included in the side for the Bloemfontein clash.

Hattingh replaces Paul Willemse in the only change to the side that came up short against the Sharks in Durban last weekend.

Flanker Deon Stegmann remains unavailable for selection due to a groin strain and will again miss the match, with Jono Ross donning the number six jersey.

Media Release

Vodacom Bulls coach Frans Ludeke made it very clear that his team’s performance against the Sharks was not of acceptable standards en that they need to rectify that with a convincing performance against the Cheetahs.

“It was clear during our review that we totally underperformed and all accepted the fact that this was not even close to the standards we have set ourselves. We have put that behind us now, as we look towards the Cheetahs match with a positive and determined frame of mind. They also had a disappointing result and would like to bounce back.”

Ludeke confirmed his confidence in his player corps and the style of play.
“We know it will work, but then you have to apply it properly and execute your plays. This is something we will work on this week.”

Vodacom Bulls captain Pierre Spies, is adamant that they not only need to deliver an improved performance for their fans, but also to themselves.
“We are a new group, but we need to maintain the standard of excellence that was set in the past. Last weekend’s performance did not measure up against those standards. We realise Super Rugby is a marathon, not a sprint, and that there will be hick-ups along the way, but we did let ourselves down with that start. The nice thing is that we can put the record straight immediately. The squad realise that and we will be a better team on Friday.”

Vodacom Bulls (with Super Rugby caps): 15 Jurgen Visser (12), 14 Akona Ndungane (97), 13 JJ Engelbrecht (34), 12 Jan Serfontein (13), 11 Bjorn Basson (55), 10 Louis Fouché (20), 9 Francois Hougaard (57), 8 Jacques ‘Vleis’ Engelbrecht (15), 7 Jacques du Plessis (2), 6 Jono Ross (5), 5 Grant Hattingh (21), 4 Flip van der Merwe (Captain – 64), 3 Werner Kruger (93), 2 Callie Visagie (24), 1 Dean Greyling (39).
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi (3), 17 Frik Kirsten (32), 18 Marcel van der Merwe (4), 19 Victor Matfield (125), 20 Wiaan Liebenberg (0), 21 Piet van Zyl (33), 22 Handré Pollard (1), 23 Ulrich Beyers (0).

Notes:

• If he takes to the field, Ulrich Beyers will make his Vodacom Super Rugby debut.
  • Piet van Zyl, who represented Cheetahs in 32 matches and Marcel van der Merwe, who played in three Super Rugby matches for the Bloemfontein side, will face their former team mates for the first time in this competition since moving to Pretoria.
  • If he takes to the field, Victor Matfield will become the most capped South African in Super Rugby as he will play in his 126th match (117 Bulls, 8 Cats). He currently shares the record of 125 appearances with John Smit and AJ Venter.
  • Francois Hougaard is one try away from 100 Vodacom Super Rugby points.
  • Coach Frans Ludeke (117 matches) will extend his record as the most experienced South African coach in Super Rugby. He is the most experienced of all 15 coaches in the competition as well.

51 Responses to Super Rugby: Bulls change 1, Stegmann still out, Spies now out too (Revised)

O gonna…. Stegmann still out, Ross still at openside, Hougie & Louis Fouché still the halfbacks and Jurgen Visser still at fullback.

As mens aanhoudend jou kop teen dieselfde paal stamp, GAAN JY bloei!

Now how to pick on Bru?
    By how many will the Bulls lose?

Sorry this is as GBS said – they just don’t want to see, realize, listen and learn

3 @ Gena_ZA:
    If they are stubborn AND stupid, I’m afraid that there are no pills to help out.

Bulls will have to learn the difficult way…

4 Of the Bulls kickers were in the top kickers this past weekend… OK granted only 4 sides played.

But it is not only the amount of kicks that one worries about, it is how accurate they were or were’nt (in the Bulls case) or whether those kicks were the correct option at the time.

The Bulls backline is just WRONG – scrumhalf, flyhalf, outside centre and fullback!

In addition the Bulls are trying to make an average No 8 an opensider (Ross), it simply won’t wash… and they still do not see that Callie Visagie only made 1 tackle the whole game, missed 3 lineouts with overthrows and in addition put one in skew into the lineout.

The only thing which might aide the Bulls on Friday night is the fact that the Cheetahs themselves were way below par on the weekend.

Last Saturday was only the first game of many still to come, and although they lost, I don’t think it will be wise to make wholesale changes after one game. What message will that send out to the players dropped? The season is long and in all probability Ludeke will have to call on some of those dropped again at some stage, and then it won’t help if the psyche is messed up. They contracted this group so they hardly have a choice but to give the players the benefit of the doubt for a couple of games.
    The opposition will latch onto the fact that after one game wholesale changes are made and will thrive on the uncertainty. Remember that their weekend opponents also come of a loss, and an even worse one than losing to the Sharks away, so I wouldn’t give them any idea that my side is panicking if I were a coach

5 @ nortierd:
    I also do not want wholesale changes… but let’s face it, some changes needed to be made…. and that would also have sent the needed message to players that they need to buck up or move out.

Hooker is a critical position, so too scrumhalf and flyhalf… and we saw the value Piet van Zyl and even Pollard added. Those 3 positions are probably the 3 most important positions on a rugby field!

I would simply have played 3 bench okes in the starting lineup, and moved 3 starters to the bench….

Is making 3 changes considered wholesale changes, if the match-day 23 are still exactly the same 23?

Next week should sort out openside flank, when Stegmann returns.. and then a further 2 or 3 more player shuffles could have been made, getting rid of the additional positional farkups.

Now, as it stands, the Bulls are still left with all their wrong playes in all the critical positions, because no changes having been made.

The dynamics of the side is now still fatally flawed, and we’ll see the same type of playing pattern, the same type of mistakes and probably the same type of result.

I agree that Hougaard should not be playing 9, but the problem is he is probably your highest paid player and it would seem he is the one believing that he is the heir apparent to FdP. Maybe he just has too much clout and they have to do what he wants?
    I would also like to see what Pollard can do at this level, but Fouche has done his apprentiship under Steyn for a long time, similar to when Steyn was understudy to Derrick, so perhaps they want to see what he can do now that he is the senior 10 who has bided his time.
    Pollard did not really impress in the CC last year, so maybe they are slightly hesitant in pushing him into the starting slot right away. If you have a decent 9, read, any 9 but Hougaard, maybe Fouche will do well.
    The hooker is a contracting problem more than a player struggling. Surely they could have foreseen that with Chili and Wepener going, they had to get adequate cover from someone who has been around the block a bit?
    I think both the Bulls and even the Stormers missed a trick in not offering a contract to Andrew Hore after it was clear no NZ franchise was interested in his services. He could have provided decent cover at hooker, and similar to Chris Jack at WP a couple of years ago, some experience could have rubbed off on the youngsters.
    The playing pattern of the Bulls won’t really change, but neither will the Stormers, Lions and Cheetahs too much. The Sharks might play away from the typical SA blueprint, but they have the players, coaching and more importantly, the self confidence to do so

The Bulls will play much better. I have confidence in them. That rust will be gone.

Patience people patience

Crap team,but will still beat the Cheetahs.

I reckon the Cheetahs will win this game, they had good defence this past weekend and the bulls showed they cant really score tries, unless its against 14 men.

The only question will be if the ref will favour the Bulls to compensate for last weeks non-try.

Time will tell!

Angel

They say the best way to learn a lesson is the hard way. The message didn’t go through last week, so we must do it again.
    I still think we can win as the Cheetahs have never beaten the Bulls in Super Rugby since 2006.
    I just hope the players who know they are better aren’t getting themselves other contracts.

Cheers Cheers Happy-Grin @ Snoek:

Sharks are sitting pretty.
    Out of just their 8 derbies they should palm 32 points plus at least 4 bonus points for 4 tries or more minimum.
    That should give them about 36 points from just playing the other SA sides.
    They have some nice games at home and should get another 22 points if they should maybe lose 3 games, leaving them with 58 log points. They should even top 60 points if they only lose to say the Crusaders and Brumbies away.
    Should be enough to top the combined log.

After one game against the meatheads from Pretoria you’re predicting the Sharks to top the log, dear oh dear Norty.

NZINCHINA wrote:

After one game against the meatheads from Pretoria you’re predicting the Sharks to top the log, dear oh dear Norty.

They have an easy ride in a weak SA conference Noodles. They only really have tough games away against the Saders and Brumbies and maybe the Tah’s.
    They play your whipping boys in Durban as well, so they might only meet the Chiefs in a final for the first and only time this year.
    Before then they have it good

If one more player or coach says that Super Rugby is a marathon and not a sprint, then I’m gonna vomit!

@ IAAS:

Whether it’s a marathon or a sprint, sadly most teams fail to make it out of the starting blocks in any case

@14 @ nortierd:

No mate. Whilst the Sharks should, if all goes well, top the SA conference, there will be losses along the road as well. SA derbies aren’t for the faint hearted. The Sharks will have had a long stint of home matches before they go on tour – who is to say that injuries won’t affect them before they go on tour – I’m not wishing anything but this is when they go deep into Super Rugby season and will need a strong squad to enjoy a successful tour.

This tournie finishes in August. Plenty surprises still to happen. Super Rugby is a marathon……….ag vokkit, now see what you made me do.

Sure, but after one game you have them topping the log.

@ IAAS:

Topping the SA log historically has counted for very little, all this talk of titanic SAFFA derbies is pie in the sky stuff, you boys need to learn to win when it really counts.

@ 21 @ NZINCHINA:

Mate, I’ve been there, done that. I’m a Stormer supporter as you know.

I’m just countering the argument that the Sharks winning the SA conference is not a done deal.

The Stormers have 2 matches, one home, one away, before the Anzac tour. Saders, Chiefs, Reds and Brumbies away will define how the rest of their season goes.

Where’s your mate, Chch? Lets see action.

@ IAAS:

Fair call, CHCH as you know is better suited for Barbie dolls and Robbie Deans posters. Chiefs or Crusaders to win it again, Sharks to win the SA conference.
    This place is great for rugby news etc but farken boring compared to the mighty KEO banter, I’ll probably be banned for mentioned KEO on here.

@ NZINCHINA:

Yeah, it is a bit slow. But should liven up this weekend with 7 SR matches and the 6 Nations as well. As GBS stated, there were something like 65 – 70 people perving last weekend, I mean just reading the posts. I’m sure a few of them are ex-keo who are not sure whether or not to make the move or not. I’m sure we’ll see more familiar nics as the season progresses. As you know, some people just can’t help themselves.

23 @ NZINCHINA:
    You may mention Keo, no problem.

Howzit GBS. I feel sorry for Willemse who got dropped – he must feel like the scapegoat for the loss which to my mind is unfair. If Matfield had replaced him in the starting line-up with Willemse dropping to the bench, that would be one thing.
    Unlike Naka who kept faith in his squad.

@ IAAS:

Good stuff, bed for me.

Good website, more banter required, it’ll come.

26 @ IAAS:
    Hi Mr HAAS,

I am deeply worried about the Bulls, as you can see from my comments above!

Fark, I’ve been a busy fella… all sorts of Graphic Design work is being done for Rugby-Talk, including business Cards, Posters and a 3.6m wide x 2.0 m high PVC Banner.

It is totally new design work by a graphic designer… and the site’s own design will follow suit, as soon as we get the designed stuff back.

I will be doing the site design myself, basically an almost black site background, with a much souped-up Rugby-Talk Logo, totally new Font-work… bright and brilliant colours… and heaps more pzazz to the whole design.

27 @ NZINCHINA:
    Buddy, we had over 500 comments yesterday alone on R-T… and our Online readership is getting very bloody strong.

Remember, if you want more banter, you have to create the comments which will be the subject of that banter… so get busy and get your mates to do the same… as long as we have some civillity amongst bloggers, and not a heap of trolling and bad behaviour, I’m more than happy.

Of course we need to differ and support different franchises and countries… that’s what it is all about.

I do not like playig policeman, and the need almost never arises, because we have set a tone of “Friendly banter” as a community here and not “Cuicidal disorganisation” here on R-T, from the outset…. and it will stay that way.

This is the year of the SHARK!!! Go Jake’s boys

Total 82 users including 0 member, 82 guests, 0 bot online