HSBC Sevens World SeriesThe New Zealand leg of the HSBC Sevens World Series, in Wellington, was played this weekend.

The South African Blitzbokke started their bid to win a 3rd Tournament in a row in fine fashion, by beating Wales 26 / 0 and beating Portugal 27 / 5.

The Blitzbokke’s next challenge was England, and the game was won by England, by 19 / 5. Both England and South Africa advance to the Cup Quarters, England played Samoa and the Blitzbokke played Australia.

New Zealand comfortably beat France, 47 / 0 in the last game of Day 1, after earlier losing to Fiji, but also advanced to the Cup Quarters, where they played against Canada.

At the 2nd Day of the tournament, New Zealand and South Africa advanced all the way to the final, with Fiji beating England in the 3rd place play-off.

New Zealand won the final by 21 / 0 against the South African Blitzbokke, capitalizing on mistakes and shutting the Blitzbokke out in the 2nd half.

Latest Results

45. 08 Feb 2014 – 21:30 New Zealand 21 – 0
South Africa Final Cup
44. 08 Feb 2014 –  21:00  England 7 – 14 Fiji Third Place
43. 08 Feb 2014 –  20:30  Canada 10 – 12 Australia Final Plate
42. 08 Feb 2014 –  20:00  Scotland 14 – 24  Kenya Final Bowl
41. 08 Feb 2014 –  19:30  Spain 12 – 28  United States Final Shield
40. 08 Feb 2014 –  19:00  South Africa 10 – 0  Fiji SF Cup
39. 08 Feb 2014 –  18:35  England 0 – 31  New Zealand SF Cup
38. 08 Feb 2014 –  18:00  Australia 34 – 0  Argentina SF Plate
37. 08 Feb 2014 –  17:38  Samoa 0 – 27  Canada SF Plate
36. 08 Feb 2014 –  17:16  Kenya 24 – 7  France SF Bowl
35. 08 Feb 2014 –  16:54  Wales 0 – 28  Scotland SF Bowl
34. 08 Feb 2014 –  16:32  Portugal 10 – 31  United States SF Shield
33. 08 Feb 2014 –  16:10  Tonga 12 – 17  Spain SF Shield
32. 08 Feb 2014 –  15:39  Fiji 29 – 7  Argentina QF Cup
31. 08 Feb 2014 –  15:17  Australia 0 – 10  South Africa QF Cup
30. 08 Feb 2014 –  14:55  Canada 0 – 24  New Zealand QF Cup
29. 08 Feb 2014 –  14:33  England 21 – 5  Samoa QF Cup
28. 08 Feb 2014 –  14:06  France 14 – 12  United States QF Bowl
27. 08 Feb 2014 –  13:44  Kenya 34 – 0  Portugal QF Bowl
26. 08 Feb 2014 –  13:22  Scotland 38 – 12  Spain QF Bowl
25. 08 Feb 2014 –  13:00  Wales 19 – 12  Tonga QF Bowl
24. 07 Feb 2014 –  21:56  New Zealand 47 – 0  France Pool B
23. 07 Feb 2014 –  21:34  South Africa 5 – 19  England Pool A
22. 07 Feb 2014 –  21:12  Samoa 12 – 15  Australia Pool D
21. 07 Feb 2014 –  20:50  Canada 24 – 5  Argentina Pool C
20. 07 Feb 2014 –  20:28  Fiji 45 – 14  Spain Pool B
19. 07 Feb 2014 –  19:38  Wales 45 – 19  Portugal Pool A
18. 07 Feb 2014 –  19:17  Kenya 40 – 7  Tonga Pool D
17. 07 Feb 2014 –  18:56  Scotland 19 – 19  United States Pool C
16. 07 Feb 2014 –  18:35  France 5 – 26  Fiji Pool B
15. 07 Feb 2014 –  17:54  New Zealand 55 – 0  Spain Pool B
14. 07 Feb 2014 –  17:33  England 21 – 7  Wales Pool A
13. 07 Feb 2014 –  17:12  South Africa 27 – 5  Portugal Pool A
12. 07 Feb 2014 –  16:51  Australia 24 – 0  Kenya Pool D
11. 07 Feb 2014 –  16:30  Samoa 31 – 7  Tonga Pool D
10. 07 Feb 2014 –  16:09  Argentina 17 – 12  Scotland Pool C
9. 07 Feb 2014 –  15:48  Canada 29 – 12  United States Pool C
8. 07 Feb 2014 –  15:27  France 21 – 15  Spain Pool B
7. 07 Feb 2014 –  15:06  New Zealand 7 – 12  Fiji Pool B
6. 07 Feb 2014 –  14:45  England 36 – 7  Portugal Pool A
5. 07 Feb 2014 –  14:24  South Africa 26 – 0  Wales Pool A
4. 07 Feb 2014 –  14:03  Australia 33 – 5  Tonga Pool D
3. 07 Feb 2014 –  13:42  Samoa 24 – 12  Kenya Pool D
2. 07 Feb 2014 –  13:21  Argentina 19 – 14  United States Pool C
1. 07 Feb 2014 –  13:00  Canada 17 – 14  Scotland Pool C

298 Responses to HSBC Sevens World Series: Wellington Sevens – Results & Fixtures

Nee wat, laat ek liewer n bier gooi en my beesstert-pot aan die gang kry.
    Bliksem, dis n teleurstelling manne.
    Tjeers eers.

177 @ Gumboots:

Doing very well and you? Great to see the good okes all coming over here. This is one of the best rugby sites you will enjoy it especially during Super Rugby when the games are on, nothing beats this site for live games.

We are just being outplayed. everything sucks. nz targeted our rucks. either pushing us off the ball or putting us under alot of pressure then before we knew it by being 14-0 down.

Good game nz. won this tournament with brains vs us and england.

Lekker bru, thx. Enjoying the Cape as usual.
    Nice to see you again.

182 @ Puma:
    Talking about LIVE GAMES, we have 2 Six Nations game today!

howzit puma welcome back from retirement

183 @ MacroBull:
    We have to learn from our mistakes here and bounce back for the next tourney and try and push for 1st again on the log. NZ will go tops now.

I was planning to come over for some time – just been so busy since late last year. I will enjoy the blogging for sure… Warn the people to have a good sense of humour when I get on a roll… 🙂

Ulengo almost scores, foot out

NZ Penalty, seconds left

Final Score: New Zealand 21 / 0 South Africa

188 @ Gumboots:

Hope more of the good okes come over this is a great site. Always good to chat to you bill. Were you not in Vancouver over Christmas? Or have I mixed it up with someone else. If so how did you enjoy it? I had my Scots mates here for two whole damn months Nov and Dec and my blogging came to a stand still in those months…hahahaha. Now on a healthy diet as it was too much parting when they were here.

Was expecting a better showing, but with sevens anything is possible… Haven’t seen any of the games so can’t really comment…

192 @ Puma:
    typo. parting = partying

191 @ grootblousmile:
    Very poor from us. Hope we bounce back in the next tourney. We had been doing so well up until now.

Yes I was in Vancouver for over six weeks. What a great city… Will probably return in November this year… We have a group of guys who email each other. I think most are moving here anyway… GBS met the team at Loftus… not all were there but quite a few…

OK, so New Zealand win their home tournament, congrats is in order for them…

186 @ MacroBull:
    Howzit bud, Nope it was my Scot Mates. They were here for two months Nov and Dec left early Jan. So blogging for me came to a stop and partying began…. hahahaha. Now on a healthy diet for a few months…hehehe

196 @ Gumboots:
    Never been to Vancouver but one place I would love to visit. Have been to Toronto, though probably not a nice as Vancouver.

196 @ Gumboots:
    Atlas, Stormersboy are here… and contributing.

Varing (Fern) has been registered for a long time, have not seen him back here yet.

Some other Voldy (Keo) okes also walked over, Cane, Tuff Gong… and a few others.

we usually dont learn though. we usually struggle against the nz/fiji physicality.

It does not make sense to play both branco du preez and cecil africa. snyman came on too late.

Sorry but this was really a pathetic performance by the blitsbokke. NZ did what they always do against us namely targeting the breakdowns. They just simply outpowered us at the tackle ball. Fact that we still get beaten with same old recipe is almost to much to handle. Secondly, the fact that neither players nor coach could see what was happening is very annoying.

Vancouver has a mild climate – Toronto was like -30 while Vancouver was around 3 C.

Nortierd is also here… – working on Brumbies boy, UFO and a few others…

Suppose I better get into a shower and then do the Six Nations Live Game Articles for later….

Eish, forgot, can’t go shower before I fix a leaking pipe… hell I have trouble with underground plastic Poly-cop pipes… keeps perishing at the copper knuckles and joints!

204 @ Gumboots:
    UFO is registered here, think he was also a friend of Jinx (who died a while ago).

Don’t know a Brumbies Boy, can’t remember if he blogged at Voldy when I was last there in July 2009.

Oh yes, NorTIER is also one of you Loftus okes….

Indeed he was a friend of Jinx. So he is here already… Great! Must also get CharlesM over… Jeez people came and went on Voldy as you call it… You never knew who was who in the zoo… BB has been there for a while though…

Man up at the tackle ball or avoid it all together that should have been the half time message. Second stop kicking because they have figured out our one-dimensional line out play. None of that was said at halftime. Performances like this is the reason why I normally don’t watch the blitsbokke. Eich I am annoyed with this bunch.

207 @ Gumboots:
    Have not seen UFO for yonks here, but he joined when we did a tribute to Jinx, after the good old poet passed away.

Total 120 users including 0 member, 120 guests, 0 bot online