New ZealandSouth AfricaAll Blacks (17) 29 / 15 (10) Springboks (Final Score)

The New Zealand All Blacks and South African Springboks did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand at 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time, 07:35 GMT).

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (1)
  • Tries – Kieraan Read (2), Brodie Retallick (1), Sam Cane (1)
  • Conversions – Dan Carter (1), Beauden Barrett (2)

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Bismarck du Plessis (1), Pat Lambie (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (1)

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (Captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Charles Piutau.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Bryan Habana,  10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss , 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Juandré Kruger, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Jano Vermaak, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Date: Saturday 14 September 2013
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 09:35 SA Time (19:35 NZ Time, 07:35 GMT)
Expected weather: High of 14 low of 9, 30% chance of rain, 20 km/h wind
Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant referees: Jérôme Garcès (France), Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)

429 Responses to The Rugby Championship: New Zealand vs South Africa – Live Game Article

389 @ McLook:
    Ek sal NOOIT die uitslag van hierdie game aanvaar of goedpraat nie!

kakste superbru “WP” in my lewe

@ McLook:
    Dankie tog , die mees level headed rugby vriend van my sien dit nes ek. Dit maak my so flippen bitter. Ek moan al jare daaroor. Die God(McCaw) het nie eens gespeel nie. Hoe kan die NZ rugby die IRB so rule. Is refs regtig so overawed by the All Blacks?

389 @ McLook:
    Ek sal NOOIT die uitslag van hierdie game aanvaar of goedpraat nie!

I lost all interest after the first yellow card. Worst was I had New Zealand guest at home. It was a disgrace to rugby and most fair minded New Zealanders would agree with that. Who wants to win like that. If I was the captain I would have walked with my team off the field at the time of the first yellow card.

The whole yellow card thing is a disgrace to the sport. It gives the referee to much influence over the outcome. Do a white card and review the event afterwards but don’t mess-up the contest by sending a player off.

Whow. So what did you think of that? Let us know please. Here is Jean de Villiers’ comments afterwards, the diplomat captain….http://www.sarugby.co.za/article.aspx?category=sarugby%2Fspringboks&id=2108144

A friend on Facebook said I love Mallet’s comment. The refs complain that they are also human and can make mistakes. 2 assistant refs, a TMO and television slow motion replays and they still can’t get it right….!!! What more do they want….!!!

the best thing to take out of this match is that if the ellis park game is the RC is tue decider. then that game will be one of the biggest games in a very very long time.

Has anybody’s Kiwi friends come to try and boast about the win or to sympatise with the kak reffereeing?

Would like to know how the Kiwis perceive this match!

McLook… tell us about the vide in New Zealand, would you please.

Pity the Bokke could not get the bonus point in the end.

Now New Zealand is 4 Log points ahead on the farcical Log!

I hope the world condemns this game result, Poite, Officiating, TMO who was ball-less… alles!

394 @ McLook:
    McLook,

Feel the same about the yellow cards. It robs the game of any contest and mostly at this level. Once Bissie went off for the first yellow which he should never have received, we all here that was watching said exactly what John Mitchell said after. That the IRB has to look at the yellow card sin binning again. As it ruins the game totally. They should give a yellow card but punish the player after the game by making him miss the next game. Something like that.

If a player does what Nonu done then a red card has to be given and a player sent off. Then only it has to be done. We see so few red cards these days so we will hardly see a player off the field. Feel so robbed of seeing a great contest. Has just about taken my interest from this RC away now.

400 @ grootblousmile:
    I said during the week I was more worried about the ref than us losing. I really thought had the ref had a good game we would win. I still feel like that. This ref robbed us for sure of any fair contest. He almost done the same to us against the Scots this year. He blew us unfairly at the breakdowns and almost cost us that game.

397 @ MacroBull:
    Macro bud, we have our work cut out for ourselves now. This loss without picking up a bonus point will make the last game very tough for us now. Well for a starter we HAVE to beat Australia at Newlands with a bonus point as the ABs no doubt will beat the Pumas in Arg with a bonus point. If we that would still make them only 4 points ahead of us at Ellis Park. We then might have to beat them there with a bonus point to win it. Unless our Point Difference is better than theirs at the time.

This ref has cost us huge. Even if we lost and picked up a bonus point it would have been a lot easier for us from here on. We very nearly got it in the end just not to be.

Has anybody’s Kiwi friends come to try and boast about the win or to sympatise with the kak reffereeing?
    Would like to know how the Kiwis perceive this match!
    McLook… tell us about the vide in New Zealand, would you please.

The vibe here is one of extreme dissapointment. The victory feels empty even though the supporters feel the AB’s played well. General feel is that neither of the two cards were fair.

389 @ McLook:
    McLook,

This game and the world cup quarter final we played, both games were the worst officiating that I have seen in my life.

Something has to be done about it. IRB has to step in and ban refs that get it so horribly wrong.

I just said this morning on keo site, that if we win this game and the one at Ellis Park I would definitely go next year to NZ to watch our Boks play there. Good grief that thought has totally changed now. Imagine if I went to this game to watch a unfair contest? I would have totally have wasted my money.

Why even try if you get cheated out of a fair contest? I blame the TMO most of all. He just made absolute stupid remarks/calls with both yellow cards against Bismarck.

389 @ McLook:
    McLook,
    This game and the world cup quarter final we played, both games were the worst officiating that I have seen in my life.
    Something has to be done about it. IRB has to step in and ban refs that get it so horribly wrong.
    I just said this morning on keo site, that if we win this game and the one at Ellis Park I would definitely go next year to NZ to watch our Boks play there. Good grief that thought has totally changed now. Imagine if I went to this game to watch a unfair contest? I would have totally have wasted my money.

Yes spare a thought for people who travelled to NZ to watch this match. The same happened in 2010 twice with yellow cards against Bakkies. It ruined those two contest as well.

407 @ McLook:
    Well we have had enough McLook. IRB has to step in now and sort out this bad officiating. The ref totally ruined what should have been a great game between two equally good sides. Today it was not a fair contest at all.

Look I know it was no fault of the ABs that Bissie was sent off it was the ref. However, I will not acknowledge this win. Felt more like we were robbed as we could not play with our best and only had 14 men on for 30 min.

Another thing we lose Bissie then we had to lose Alberts as well that was playing brilliant. So effectively we lost two of our best players.

Did you see how dominant our scrum was before all the fiasco of the carding?

Yip, if the kiwi have any guts they will ask IRB the scrap this match of the record books. Like it was never played and request that it be treated as a draw in terms of this years championship.

Well it’s late in Nz. Going to bed now. Talk tomorrow again.

A NZ Lady said: I agree that the ref was shit, even as an all blacks supporter. Don’t tear apart a team for winning, they didn’t ask for a shit ref!

I am sorry i disagree with you a bit, we went up against in aus “having” to score 4 tries and we nearly lost.

We need to win against Aus in cape town, if we get a bonus point doing it then awesome.

Argentinia not Aus

412 @ MacroBull:
    ABs will play Arg and beat them probably by a bonus point. They are already 4 points ahead of us. If they pick up the bonus point against Arg and us only the win against Australia they are then 5 points ahead of us on the log. We will have a mountain to climb then to win the cup at Ellis Park. We would then HAVE to win with a bonus point to win the cup and we might not even, if our point difference is lower than theirs.

So for now it looks like we have to go for the 4 tries at Newlands.

412 @ MacroBull:
    Us not getting the bonus point now in Mendoza could cost us huge.

Then again we may not have lost today had it been a fair contest. So this tourney for now does not seem fair.

Anyhow, we know what we have to do now. Go and get the 4 tries against Australia. We don’t we can say goodbye to our chances at Ellis Park even if we win we probably will not win the cup.

Not a good sign when the ref in talking to the 2 captains allows an AB waterboy to listen in and give advice?.???? Non Poite non!!! This game will be subject to scrutiny by the IRB ref board and in the Aussie/ Argentinian game there were similar cockups! Interesting that the Sky team commentators all agreed that the refereeing decisions were terrible! Go WP!

If we are going to go for 4 tries we will be going against our natural game. sure if we get the advantage and the oppertunity in open play to score we have to take it… but winning at all costs matter.

Id rather us win both home games 3-0 than to lose one.

Our goal should be to win, if we are going to go out thinking we need 4 tries we will lose.

3 seuns gaan dood en kom in die hemel. Petrus sê vir hulle, julle is te jonk dood, spring van daai wolkie af en skree jou lewens droom en dit sal jy word…die eerste seun spring en skree “advokaat” en wragtig, 20 jaar later is hy ‘n advokaat. Die 2de seun spring en skree “dokter”, en wragtig, 20 jaar later is hy die land se beste dokter. Die 3de seun hardloop en trip oor ‘n boks en skree “stupid doos”, en wragtig, 20 jaar later referee hy vir die AlL BLacks vs Springbokke rugby match op 14 September 2013 !!!

@ Timothy Bornman:
    “NZ would not have been able to win the fair contest. So they fixed it.”

“The All Blacks have lost all credibility in my eyes. They are the biggest posers in World Rugby. And NZ is upset because Bissie broke little poor Carter with the cleanest tackle in the match. And the public over there need to go back to school as they are uneducated. Boooing a player for a undeserved yellow card.”

you are such a pathetic individual. NZ “fixed” it did they? I can tell you right now, many kiwi fans were also disappointed in the referee, but to suggest NZ fixed the game is really the ramblings of someone with no brain whatsoever.

I have seen the true side of Saffa supporters over the last couple of days, after the game, mainly on other sites but the vitriol and hatred directed at NZ is wrong and reflects poorly on ALL SA’s.

WE did not blow the whistle, we did not make the decisions, but we are complicit because he got some calls wrong?

but jah, its NZs fault that a neutral referee got the calls wrong.

Were you just as outraged when Habs stayed on the field? he deliberately took Dagg out of the game, but that seems to be forgotten by all Saffa supporters. He did not once look at the ball, ran 15 metres past t aqnd collided with Dagg, cynical and very blatant.

but no mention of this huh Timophee?

Messam was to blame for Bissie elbowing him in the throat??

seriously?????
    if anything, it was accidental by Bissie, but I can imagine the outrage if a kiwi player had done that on a SA player…

“superBul
    September 14th, 2013 at 11:34 SAST

Congrat All Blacks, but somehow the IRB must stop helping you ”

Im done with Saffas, the entitlement and conspiracy loonies have totally worn me out. One only has to read this thread to see the contempt and hate for NZ, even though the ref was French? truly pathetic.

so much for respecting the rivalry huh?

I see no one here has mentioned Habs indiscretion, so I will post it again as my last post on this site.

good day to you all, and goodbye.

@ nga puhi:
    Have to say that many Saffers over-react to these situations. There is no call to blame the All Blacks and/or all kiwis and/or all French people. It is really childish to blame anyone but the referee/s. It may be true that the referees tend to target the Boks for foul play because the Boks are known as a physical side and the players are very easy to niggle and retaliate at the slightest provocation. There is no call to label the ABs cheaters and it is just plain silly to not recognise the result. We, as Bok supporters must put pressure and blame where it belongs – Sarfu, IRB and those player and their coaches who tolerate dirty or foul play and encourage or permit their players to retaliate for every little niggle.
    Personal attacks against innocent people who have absolutely nothing to do with this is just completely revolting and idiotic. How can one justify wanting to go and beat up any frenchman or kiwi as if they are personally responsible?
    It is true that we saffers are very passionate about our team and our sport and can get carried away in the heat of the moment and say silly things. I hope in the cold light of the next day that we on this site can calm down, apologise for our comments that were out of order and stick to putting the blame where it belongs – the referee!

Total 47 users including 0 member, 47 guests, 0 bot online