MTN Golden LionsMTN Golden Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has announced his team to face the Blue Bulls, in round three of the 2013 ABSA Currie Cup, at Loftus on Saturday evening.

Ackermann has made several changes to his side which narrowly lost 33-25 to The Sharks in Durban last weekend.

In the forwards, lock Franco van der Merwe has returned from Springbok duty and will start this weekend. Willie Wepener has also been included in the starting team after recently joining the squad.

Meanwhile, in the backline, Marnitz Boshoff will start at flyhalf with Chrysander Botha promoted from the bench. As a result, Elton Jantjies drops to the wood.

Golden Lions: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Robert de Bruyn, 12 Dylan Des Fountain, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Guy Cronje, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Derick Minnie (Captain), 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Chris van Zyl, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Jacques Van Rooyen
Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Lambert Groenewald, 19 Warwick Tecklenburg, 20 Tiaan Meyer, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Lionel Cronje.

30 Responses to Currie Cup: MTN Golden Lions team to face the Blue Bulls

So, Willie Wepener falls straight into the Lions side, to face his Blue Bulls mates… Franco van der Merwe also back from the Bokke.

Apart from scrummie, left wing (defensively frail), both centres, Tannie se Liefie (Helberg) and Chrysander Botha at fullback, the Lions have a good side. So, in essense, the forward battle should be immense and both backlines leaves a lot to be derired. Only real quality player in the Lions backline is Marnitz Boshoff.

So which backline do you rate better? Your blokes, or my blokes?

2 @ Lion4ever:
    Difficult to say….

Blue Bulls scrummie, both centres, Sampie Mastriet & Jurgen Visser are supposed to be a bit more classy, but Tony Jantjies & Travis Ismaiel are not good players… and Marnitz Boshoff is a class above Tony Jantjies, as is Tony’s struggling brother, Elton.

Not impressed by either backline and comparing them both to what is available at the FS Cheetahs and WP’s midfield and outside backs, they need some serious work.

Think the battle will be up front… in the engine rooms.

How can he play for the Lions, did he not play for the Bulls against the Stormers in the first game? Docking points coming up.

Volmink if allowed some space can be devastating, as he showed against the Sharks. Helberg is a journeyman, but can do the job. Botha must catch the ball in the air, and he also has some gas to spare. Des Fountain is doing the job at no 12, but he is not a Hollenbach. De Bruyn is inexperienced, but has potential. And G Cronje, sigh!!! is a bit better than his brother. How the Lions back line fires will depend on how the 9-10-12 axis combines. In some ways its a pity that the Jantjies brothers are not both starting. Would have been interesting as sibling rivalry can bring out the best in brothers, or cause them to have huge brainfarts. But its going to be an interesting game.

A couple of years ago, Vermaak played for the Lions and when the Blue Bulls announced that they had signed him, he was playing for the Blue Bulls the next week.

Jeez, this song gives me goosebumps…

There is just something in this song and something in Brandi Carlile….

4 @ superBul:
    They can transfer anytime now… not like long ago

I see the ex Stormers / WP telletubby loosehead prop, Wicus Blaauw, the oke who looks like the Toy Story hero, Buzz Lightyear… has signed for Edinburgh.

One would have thought they would have wanted a decent prop in stead…

9 @ grootblousmile:
    Ahh so that would explain them releasing prop Welshman John Yapp for a season loan to London Irish, did wonder why they were doing that as Yapp played well for Edinburgh last year plus they also lost Chunk (aka Allan Jacobsen) who retired. Must be a move initiated by Alan Solomons.

9 @ grootblousmile:
    But you quite clearly need to brush up on your knowledge of front row play GBS as this is part of what his welcoming announcement says : “The 27-year-old arrives next month with a wealth of experience forged in the top-flight competitions of the northern and southern hemisphere, and is widely revered as an immensely physical front-row technician.” And none other than Mr Solomons said: “He’s a very strong loosehead prop and is very good at his core roles, especially scrummaging. I believe he will be an asset to Edinburgh Rugby.” Wink

11 @ Bullscot:
    Hey, Solly was’nt going to say “Fark fellas, I bought a kak loosehead prop because we are slightly short on money and I am a bit of a total doos myself”, now was he?

Of course you talk your player and new signing up, as if he’s the best thing since sliced bread…

Blaauw was useless at the Stormers, as useless as tits on a bull… and if you remember at the time we described the Stormers Tight 5 as a “Light 5”!

Neewat, let him play for Edinburgh… I would not want him anywhere near South Africa or any South African side, that’s for sure!

12 @ grootblousmile:
    That’s why I ended with Wink lets hope he has improved then in his time at Biarittz, you know I don’t see much of the SA rugby so can’t debate the issue either way. Will be good for Edinburgh if he does turn out a good player, their are a few scrums in the selectful highlights package on the announcement that show Stormers scrumming quite strongly, actually pushing us Bulls of the ball at quite an alarming rate in at least one scrum

Blaauw is kuksleg, slow as an ox, with none of the handling skills required of a modern international prop.
    He was the talk of Upington during his high school days there, and afterwards for Griqua schools, but he never lived up to expectations.
    He is nowhere near the calibre of Bees Roux, for instance(Bees is also from Upington Duineveld High,incidently).
    Solly bought himself a bag of Kalahari bulldust here, I fear.

14 @ Pietman:
    Ag no man Pietman ‘Kalahari bulldust’ that’s not what we want to hear, I guess then my comment 11 to GBS is for you too Wink Tounge-Out Happy-Grin

No in all seriousness guys you would hope that the longer one works the better you become in your chosen profession, the French leagues are quite tough and although I’m not sure how many seasons ago he left Stormers one would think if he had the potential to make it to that level in the first place there then surely Blauww will come to Edinburgh that bit better than he was when we left Cape Town.

16 @ Bullscot:
    Why did Biarritz release Buzz Lightyear anyway, for Edinburgh to be able to have signed him?

ARE YOU SURE?
    THIS COULD MEAN IF WE MAKE THE SEMI FINALS AND WE NEED A PLAYER FROM ONE OF THE TEAMS NOT IN THE SEMIS , HE CAN PLAY?

ag sorry the caps again

There must be a window, for transfers

18 @ superBul:
    As I understand it, if you sign the player on a contract basis for a year or more, and the player is not loaned out like you suggest it could happen, he is eligible to play.

I don’t know what the Currie Cup Competition rules state when it comes to Semi-Finals and Finals, if a player must have played or been eligible forr a number of games already.

Maybe like you say, there is a window period for transfer between Super Rugby and Currie Cup, that would explain the Jano Vermaak situation last year and this Willie Wepener situation as well too.

Here are the relevant SARU Regulations:

4. MOVEMENT OF PLAYERS BETWEEN CLUBS AND PROVINCES

4.1 When the New Club or New Province intends to enter into a contract with a Player from his Home Province for the first time, the New Club or New Province shall advise the Home Province prior to entering into a contract with the Player. The Home Province will first be granted an opportunity to equal or better the offer made by the New Club or New Province, subject thereto that the Player is prepared to enter into a contract with his Home Province.

4.2 A Non-Contract or Contract Player leaving or proposing to leave an intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, to play for an intended Transferee or Transferees, as the case may be, has to complete and sign an Application to be Transferred (Schedule I).

4.3 A Player leaving or proposing to leave an intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, to play for an intended Transferee or Transferees, as the case may be or a Rugby body not associated with a Transferor or Transferors as the case may be, shall not be Registered or eligible to participate in competitions or matches, including practices, organised, recognised or sanctioned by that/those intended Transferee or Transferees, as the case may be, or SARU, as a Contract Player or as a Non-Contract Player until the Clearance Certificate (Schedule II) has been signed by the intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, and the intended Transferee or Transferees, as the case may be; and clause 4.13 below has been complied with. Players contracted with a Club have to be cleared by his Current Club and his Current Province.

4.4 A copy of a Clearance Certificate must be sent to the intended Transferee or Transferees, as the case may be, a further copy must remain in the possession of the intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, and a copy thereof shall be sent to SARU on demand.

4.5 The intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, shall not consent to the issue of a Clearance Certificate if that Player, on receipt of the application by the Player to be transferred, is under suspension on disciplinary grounds due to Misconduct in accordance with Regulation 17 of the IRB or foul play in accordance with Law 10 and / or breach or breaches of Law 3.11(c), Law 4.5(c) and Law 6.A.5 of the Laws of the Game of the IRB.

4.6 An intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, shall be entitled to refuse to give its consent to the issue of a Clearance if the Player concerned has not fulfilled any of the obligations under the terms of his contract with an intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, inter alia an obligation to play for an intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, until a date after the intended date of transfer..

4.7 Save in the circumstances set out in Regulations 4.4 and 4.5 above, an intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, shall not be entitled to refuse to give its consent to the issue of a Clearance Certificate.

4.8 Disputes relating to the issue of a Clearance Certificate shall be referred by a Province only, to the CEO who shall initiate an enquiry into the matter and/or have it adjudicated in accordance with the provisions of the Disciplinary and Judicial Matters Regulations, preferably within three days.

4.9 Sub-Regulations 4.2 to 4.8 above and 4.10 to 4.13 below shall be applicable in regard to —

4.9.1 A Player contracted with a Current Province and contracted with a Club (“the Transferors”) when contracted with a New Province (“the Transferee”).

4.9.2 A Player contracted with a Current Province but not contracted with a Club (“the Transferor”) when contracted with a New Province (“the Transferee”).

4.9.3 A Player contracted with a Current Province and contracted with a Club (“the Transferors”) when contracted with a New Club outside his Current Province (“the Transferee”).

4.9.4 A Player contracted with a Current Province but not contracted with a Club (“the Transferor”) when contracted with a New Club outside his Current Province (“the Transferee”).

4.9.5 A Player contracted with a Current Club and not contracted with a Province (“the Transferor”) when contracted with a New Province (“the Transferee”).

4.9.6 A Player contracted with a Current Club and not contracted with a Province (“the Transferor”) when contracted with a New Club outside his Current Province (“the Transferee”).

4.9.7 Or some other unforeseen movement of a Player authorised by the Chairman of the NJC, or his nominee, for the purposes of the payment of a transfer fee in terms of this regulation.

4.10 Subject to 4.11, an intended Transferee who wishes to negotiate the terms and conditions of the movement of a Player contracted with an intended Transferor or before the Player’s contract has expired, shall in writing request permission from the intended Transferor to enter into negotiations with the Player concerned or his Agent. No negotiations, directly or indirectly, are permissible prior to obtaining the said permission. This sub-regulation is not applicable to a player contracted with a Club, but not contracted with his Province.

4.11 Notwithstanding 4.10, an intended Transferee may negotiate the transfer of a Contract Player from an intended Transferor to an intended Transferee and may enter into negotiations with the Player concerned within a period of 120 days prior to the expiry date of a Player’s contract or if such expiry date is after the end of October of a particular year, negotiations may take place within a period of 120 days prior to the end of October of that year without seeking any permission as set out above. This sub-regulation is not applicable to a player contracted with a Club, but not contracted with his Province.

4.12 Any Transfer fees payable to a Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, for the movement of a Contract Player shall be agreed between the intended Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, and the intended Transferee or Transferees, as the case may be.

4.13 A Player shall not be Registered or eligible to participate in competitions or matches, including practices, organised, recognised or sanctioned by that/those intended Transferee or Transferees, as the case may be, or SARU, , until the agreed transfer fee is paid in full to the Transferor or Transferors, as the case may be, unless the parties agree otherwise.

Bottomline is the old Province must issue a Clearance Certificate and the new Province must Register the player as one of their own…

Here is the link to the full SARU RULES AND REGULATIONS:

http://www.sarugby.net/content.aspx?contentid=19360

14 @ Pietman:
    Bees is in negotiations to play at the Lions.

de Klerk is dragging his heels a bit. Maybe worried about any political ramifications.

Officially Bees needs to get game fit, but my info’ says KdK is a bit cautious, which is quite strange coming from him.

If you heard some of his rants in private you’de realise, the KdK in front of the cameras, and the man in private are quite different.

You must have really laid the charm on with that “aangenaaide” family member that you gave the PC quote to.

He reckons I must tell you you’re “a great ou”.

24 @ Scrumdown:
    But I AM a Great ou!

dankie tog die prokurower het daai lang legal doc vir my geinterprit, nou ja kom ons sien of Kevin wakerder is as Cheeky laasjaar

26 @ superBul:
    Ek het die SARU Rules & Regulations ook onder die Menu, onder ABOUT, LAWS & REGULATIONS gepost vir toekomstige gebruik.

Nouja, Boots & All is verby… tyd om te gaan skuins duik!

YesYes, howzit?
    Bees is hungry to play, for sure. I really like this oke, and just look how well he did when he came on for the Lions in his last two games. He reminds me a bit of CJ vd Linde in his prime.

(‘Political considerations’ se moer, die man het toestemming om te speel. Hy het sy straf uitgedien en verdien n kans.
    KdK moet sy flippin gat in rat kry, die Leeus kan nie bekostig om weer op bestuursvlak met leierskap te sukkel nie, hulle moet nou vasvat.
    KdK begin al hoe meer Cheeky Watson-erige raak lyk my, praat net groot en stof skop op.)

Don’t know why Blaauw left or was released from Biarritz, was he only signed by them on a short term contract or was he released early? There can be a number of reasons why players move about. Only time will tell if this was a good signing or not for Edinburgh, its hard to compare levels but the top few teams in the Pro12 could do fairly well in Super rugby not win it but perhaps reach knockout stages or at least mid table while the bottom teams may struggle in the Vodacom cup, there is quite a difference in quality between the top and bottom Pro12 teams so may be a level he shines at. Anyway it will sure be fun hearing the commentators try to pronounce his name Happy

Total 137 users including 0 member, 137 guests, 0 bot online