BullsThere was a clean bill of health to the Vodacom Bulls squad that conquered the Highlanders on Saturday, but a number of players from that match are recovering from bruises and light strains, team doctor Org Strauss confirmed on Monday.

Bulls Media Release

The likes of Flip van der Merwe (calf), Francois Hougaard (knee), Werner Kruger (flu), Jan Serfontein (lower leg), Dewald Potgieter (knee), Frik Kirsten, Juandré Kruger (hamstring) and Lionel Mapoe (knee) will all only train on Tuesday, while a call will be made on Louis Fouché on Wednesday. He has a hip pointer.

Chiliboy Ralepelle (knee) will also return to the field on Wednesday.

Jacques Potgieter and Dean Greyling have been declared fit, following ailments last week and a specialist will this week determine when Zane Kirchner will be able to return.

The screw in Zane’s finger was removed on Friday and he should be fit to play sooner rather than later.

25 Responses to Super Rugby: Bulls report some bruises and bumps but nothing severe

Good news that there are only some bumps and bruises… we need a fully fit Bulls side leading into these important weeks ahead!

Must say, I’m impressed with the Bulls management of players thus far this season!

Also impressed with the Cheetahs management, no wonder the 2 SA sides who have managed their players best both lead the SA Conference, compared to the injury ravaged Sharks and depleted Stormers.

The Stormers woes I ascribe not due to injuries though, but rather due to the fact that they have no clue at scrumhalf and flyhalf in 2013. Stormers hooker stocks are limited now too… so it starts to compound the problem.

Where would I assault the Sharks this coming weekend to ensure a vital win?

Firstly I would give proper consideration to the breakdown points, securing ball well there and secondly I would target the Sharks in midfield, just wide of the covering loosies. Of course the Bulls lineout domination is also a very valuable weapon to use.

If there ever was a time that The Sharks are vulnerable, it might be this weekend… but one would have to box very clever!

A scrap against The Sharks on Sharks soil is never easy and The Sharks will still be hurting from their sub-standard tour down under, so I expect them to raise their game considerably for the Bulls. They also have the players to dominate up front and we have sometimes seen that they do manage to boss the Bulls in the physical exchanges, therefore my contention that the Bulls should give careful attention to the breakdown battle.

Early week optimism tells me I must back the Bulls for a win this weekend… but as the week unfolds I will probably get more conservative in my approach. I will leave my SuperBru picks till both sides have been announced and we have a better feel for the match-ups to face.

I would play the following Bulls side:

1. Morné Mellett
    2. Chiliboy Ralepelle
    3. Frik Kirsten
    4. Flip van der Merwe
    5. Juandré Kruger
    6. Deon Stegmann
    7. Arno Botha (I feel he’s a bit more physical than Dewald Potgieter, altough Dewald’s tackle count is seriously bloody awesome)
    8. Pierre Spies (Captain)
    9. Jano Vermaak (Hougie was baaaad on the weekend, Jano is miles ahead of him at present)
    10. Morné Steyn
    11. Bjorn Basson
    12. Jan Serfontein
    13. JJ Engelbrecht
    14. Akona Ndungane
    15. Jurgen Visser (I feel Zane’s thumb still needs a week or more)

Replacements:
    16. Callie Visagie
    17. Werner Kruger
    18. Grant Hattingh
    19. Dewald Potgieter
    20. Francois Hougaard
    21. Louis Fouché
    22. Lionel Mapoe / Wynand Olivier (I’m not too impressed with Lionel Mapoe)

I think Jan Serfontein and JJ Engelbrecht could rip the Sharks a new one, if employed correctly… and with variation in the form of Bjorn Basson cutting in with clever angled running at the Sharks midfield too.

On the bench I’d rather have a couple of good utility backs, with Hougie covering scrumhalf and wing and I’d rather pick an extra utility centre to run at midfield when he comes on, rather than pick a wing. Anyway, in an emergency all of JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Francois Hougaard or Wynand Olivier could do duty on the wing… and Oupa Akona or Bjorn Basson can cover fullback in an emergency.

Goooooooooooooo Bulls!

A Stormers supporter today said to me that the prime Centre combination in SA at present is Jan Serfontein and JJ Engelbrecht and I was a bit hesitant to accept that, but I must say JJ Engelbrecht has tidied up his backline defence nicely and does not shy away from tackling lately and the 2 of them have combined very nicely to rip the hearts out of the opposition.

They function well as a unit, combining nicely with Morné Steyn…. and the closest other centres would have to be Jean de Villiers and Robert Ebersohn, both playing at No 12.

None of the Sharks centres have impressed, in fact that has been their principal worry in recent weeks. At outside centre Juan de Jongh and Johann Sadie have been nothing spectacular. I believe careful combination picking is important and I urge Heyneke Meyer to do the same, when he picks a Springbok squad.

At present, No 9 (Jano Vermaak), 10 (Morné Steyn), 12 (Jan Serfontein) and 13 (JJ Engelbrecht) of the Bulls would have to be my 1st choice backline Bokke, whereas at left wing I would pick Bryan Habana over Raymond Rhule (due to Habana’s better defence). On right wing I would go for Willie le Roux and at fullback, believe it or not Hennie Daniller has been steadier than anyone else…. with Joe Pietersen getting a favourable mention. Backup scrumhalf would have to be Piet van Zyl and backup flyhalf would have to be Demetri Catrakilis.

In the forwards, one would have to go with Coenie Oosthuizen (JC Janse van Rensburg on the bench) at Loosehead, Adriaan Strauss as hooker and captain and with Jannie du Plessis at Tighthead. At lock I would play Eben Etzebeth at No 4 and Juandré Kruger at No 5 (Andries Bekker going to Japan rules himself out as far as I’m concerned), and with Pieter-Steph du Toit as backup lock.

In the looseforwards, the two No 6 Openside flankers I would choose for the Springbok group, would be Francois Louw and Heinrich Brussow. The No 7 Blindside flankers would have to be Lappies Labuschagne and Arno Botha… with Willem Alberts a close call behind them. At No 8 it would have to begrudgingly be Pierre Spies and this is possibly where Willem Alberts or Arno Botha could double up in their loosie roles. Pity Duane Vermeulen is injured.

Other Loosies close to my selection include Siya Kolisi… and possibly a wild card like Vleis Engelbrecht. South Africa is absolutely blessed with wonderful loosies.

This selection is quite a variation from the Springboks of 2012 and most probably not very close to what Heyneke Meyer would go for… but hey, we all like to play selector from time to time, don’t we! Personally I would have to reward current form over having had a history at the Bokke last year…

Players falling heavily out of the Springbok selection bus as far as I’m concerned in 2013 are: Patrick Lambie, Beast Mtawarira (injured), Bismarck du Plessis (till he regains match form and fittness), Marcell Coetzee, Francois Hougaard, Juan de Jongh, Lwazi Mvovo and Zane Kirchner (till he regains game form and fittness).

Hmm. Some well thought out and constructive comments.

Is your new venture stimulating your grey matter?

I haven’t watched many games this far into SO, but did watch both local games on Saturday.

The Bulls actually impressed me, but more so after Vermaak came on. Hougie looked VERY rusty.

Serfontein looks the real deal, and Engelbrecht was very workmanlike.

I’ve been a bit dissapointed in the Bulls scrum the last few seasons. Seems almost as if they now consider it as just a means to re-start the game instead of a potential launch platform for attacks from set piece.

Again though, it seemed better with Jano clearing the ball a bit crisper on Sat.

I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised come Saturday evening. I reckon a 10 – 12 point win is on the cards. All is not well in KZN methinks.

Cheetahs flattered to decieve somewhat this weekend IMO. A good win, but the Reds were below par.

That said, I think their running game will cut the Kings to shreds.

As for the “mountain goats”, it’s a lottery. Until they change personnel they’ll remain an enigma.

Coetzee proved with SA that he’s got no vision. A leopard can’t change it’s spots.

Lastly, Heyneke. You really believe he’ll advocate change? I don’t think it’s in his DNA.

He’ll go with JdV at 12, chubby Steyn or JdJ at 13, and don’t be surprised if Meyer Bosman is in the mix. I hope I’m totally wrong.

Would like to see Serfontein given a chance. Raw talent.

Don’t work too hard.

GBS picks Coenine at loosehead?

Great points Rudi, except for the selection of Jannie. He has been the most disappointing player this year for the Sharks. Just terrible, and given the Sharks context that is saying a lot.

I would go for Frans Malherbe. Or anyone else, just not Jannie. Must be the laziest player of all time.

Take Jannie’s stats from last weeks game:

Minutes played: 52
    Tackles attempted: 9
    Tackles successful: 5 (56%)
    Rucks attended: 0
    Runs with Ball: 0
    Turnovers (negative): 1

Just ridiculous.

No Rucks, no Runs, 55% tackle completion rate.

9 @ Stormersboy:
    South Africa is extremely thin at Tighthead… and Jannie was a reluctant pick by me… but honestly I do not see Malherbe or Patrick Cilliers as better, neither do I see Werner Kruger as better or heaven forbid Lourens Adriaanse…. one for the future might be Frik Kirsten, but not yet by a long shot.

8 @ Loosehead:
    Yip I do… Coenie die Boef is great at Loosehead but very kak at Tighthead, that experiment failed.

7 @ Scrumdown:
    How does one NOT work too hard, please explain… hehehe

Jannie only shines when his boet plays with him.

That’s because the Stormers 1-8, and 11-15 are used as flyhalves and not their recognised no 10, who when given full reign to play his natural game will generally cut the opposition to shreds, however AC is too scared to use a thinking player.

That may be true if you only look at a scrum situation.

Take a look at the stats from the last stormers game, a game that they last as we all know:

Pat Cilliers:

Minutes: 40
    Tackles attempted: 8
    Tackles completed: 8 (100%)
    Carries: 3 (7 meters)
    Rucks: 3

Frans Malherbe:

Minutes: 40
    Tackles attempted: 4
    Tackles complted: 4 (100%)

So in that context you can see my point. Better than Jannie by some distance.

14 @ Stormersboy:
    Yip, but you can get about the same stats for Lourens Adriaanse, Werner Kruger… and some more… but it still does not make them very good tightheads!

Jannie’s been overplayed big time… no wonder he’s down in form.

One gets stats, more stats and damn lies… in the process. Stats are a rough guide only, the naked eye is still a better measure!

A game they lost. Not last.

At least not yet.

I disagree. At best Jannie is a guy who holds up his end in the scrum. He’s been a lazy bugger for the past 3 years.

Lets look at the first sharks game, Jannie was fresh then:

Minutes: 56
    Tackles: 3
    Missed Tackles: 1.

The guy is just lazy.

Doesn’t deserve to be a Springbok IMO.

Pat is as good a scrummager and a much better player.

Hell Brok Harris is a better player than Jannie. Plus you get an extra flyhalf in the bargain 😉

17 @ Stormersboy:
    O flok, someone who touts Verbrokkel Harris, has to have had something weird to smoke!

I take your point about Doc Jannie…. so Werner Kruger and Frik Kirsten would have to do…. hahaha

Talk to me about the rest of my selections… in the other positions bar tighthead… what do you think?

I think your selections, and particularly the reasoning behind them is spot on.

I doubt that Jean will be left out though. Will most probably captain the team too. All things considered he’s had a fairly good season as a player.

Also Kruger: is he available? I was under the impression that he wasn’t in the mix. I remember Meyer saying that PSDT is being considered at 5 for that reason. I could be wrong.

I am usually of the mind that tours like this are a great opportunity to bring the youngsters through. To that end players like Serfontein must be in the mix somewhere.

19 @ Stormersboy:
    Juandré Kruger is still available for a while till he goes north…. but at least he has not signed in Japan like Bekker.

Whatever the case, a Bokke replacement must be found for Juandré Kruger, and I would ease Franco van der Merwe and / or Pieter-Steph du Toit in gradually in the June Tests.

You are of course right that Heyneke Meyer will opt for Jean de Villiers… and as Captain too… I would have broken away from that, and picked combinations.

I am also a believer in combo’s.

The Bulls 12/13 is looking really settled. As is their 9/10. And by 9 I mean Jano.

11 @ grootblousmile:
    Well I see you weren’t in the office at 04h00 when I was, so one of us isn’t working too hard!

22 @ Scrumdown:
    Are you bragging or moaning?

23 @ grootblousmile:
    Moaning……..was half expecting to “sleep in” until 05h00, but my Greek “client” phoned me at 21h30 and asked for some changes on a design so that he could take it with him on the 07h00 flight to Botswana.

Eish it’s not easy……………………………………………….

24 @ Scrumdown:
    That freegin Greek has you by the goolies…. squeezing at the most inoportune times…

Total 97 users including 0 member, 97 guests, 0 bot online