Patrick LambieI am thrilled with the win against tough opponents in such testing conditions Sharks coach John Plumtree admitted after his team’s 29-22 victory over the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein. “We just had to get the win, even if it was ugly he said.

He was quoted as saying “we were very nervous about this match as we did not get everything out of our pre-season games, the players are just very happy to start with the win which will without doubt give them confidence going forward.”

“I was concerned about our ability to attack and defend for long periods. We were pretty knackered in the second half and I hope we will be better off when we play the Stormers in round two. There is lots of work to do.”

One could see both teams were rusty and so it is understandable that it was not the perfect game by any means and as the game ebbed and flowed. It showed that both teams had a lot to work on before their next encounters. ”The Sharks will face the Stormers in their next match so hard work awaits us he said.”

“We were pretty inaccurate and sloppy at the breakdown in the first half and we didn’t keep them under pressure which was pretty frustrating because it is such an important area. We also coughed up possession when we should have been getting points and that was the message at half-time – to keep the ball and we would be all right.”

Coach Plumtree had lots of praise for Vodacom Man of the Match, Pat Lambie, who delivered a faultless display of kicking, converting all seven attempts at goal and marshalling general play with a mix of tactical kicking and a good running and passing game.

“I thought he was outstanding, in his kicking at posts and in his long kicking game,” said The Sharks coach. “He did everything right in this game and he is benefiting from having experienced guys alongside him, JP on his inside and Frans outside him. He is definitely on track and he’s going to get better and better.”

He also had words of praise for the players who came off the bench and contributed at a time when The Sharks were under a lot of pressure. “The fresh legs at the end made a huge impact. Meyer Bosman made one try-saving tackle, Jean Deysel did some really big things as did Pieter-Steph du Toit. The bench was important and I thought our scrum was outstanding.”

“The lineout was also pretty good. The two hookers have worked hard with Franco van der Merwe.”

The good news on the injury front was that there were no concerns to come out of the game. “There were a couple of hard knocks and bruises and Lwazi Mvovo had to come off but everyone should be ready next weekend.”

He also praised the Cheetahs for their fighting spirit and coming close to winning the game after being down 21-5. ”I was getting ready to prepare for a losing speech”, he said. “There is no doubt the Cheetahs will be winning many games this season.”

106 Responses to Super Rugby: Sharks – It was an ugly win but we will take it

Hello Sharkie from a national point of view good to read that Lambie had such a good game, especially his goal kicking, many of us already appreciate his running game abilities and defence but there have been lingering question marks about his boot so hope he can take that on and push hard for Bok selection later this season as a guaranteed goal kicker too, yes yes I know its still early season

Hey BS mate, you well?? And yes i agre, look Lambie is a youngster still so he will learn morte and more with every match, that he has huge BMT though is no maybe,

I am just pleased we came away with a win. If we think about it last year we lost our first few games. Some subs just never worked this time round, then Plum had no choice as Mvovo picked up a knock. Odwa normally is so solid and this time his defence was not great. I wonder if it is time to bring in Sithole and give him some game time off the bench? Odwa is not getting any younger and we need the others to step up now I think. They only way is game time. Thought PSDT was very good too when he came on. Wonder if we will see him start this season? I think we may and would like to see him and Franco start a few games. PSDT is pure class and the more game time he gets the better he will become.

Thought Franco was superb for us and Beast was outstanding as was Lambie. Enjoyed Fransie being captain as well he done a fine job there. Think our game plan worked well here using the boot more this time as this is altitude and it was damn hot out there also that way it never played into the Cheetahs hands. For me anyhow it was a good first game for us. Need to be sharper against Stormers though and really not to fall asleep in the last 15min.

Go Sharks!

2 @ Sharks_forever:
    Howzit bro, How you doing? Hope well.

Lambie was superb on Saturday. He will get even better as Plum has said.

2 @ Sharks_forever:
    Lambie’s kicking game has come on leaps and bounds. He is slowly turning into the complete flyhalf.

2 @ Sharks_forever:

What you make of Franco? I thought he was terrific as was Beast. Kanko too had a good game, he will get better too with each game from here on.

2 @ Sharks_forever:
    Going good thanks Sharkie hope all’s well your side? Yes it would be good to have a decent reliable Bok backup for Morne Steyn, so nice to see Lambie starting well and with Goosen back from injury there will be some good competition for that backup flyhalf slot.

Hey bro, doing well thanks, your side?

Lambie did great yes, and Franco was very good and so to Beast etc, I am however not always the biggest Botes fan, but trust me on Saturday he was huge, for me our unsing hero.

Uhm good thanks boet, by the way? Lambie is the current Bok 10, so it was nice to see good form from Morne and Goosen(2nd half) as back up to Lambie 😉

8 @ Sharks_forever:
    Always well thanks.

I had no problems with Botes he done well.

Just hope the rain stays off for our game as that could spoil things a bit. See rain forecast for the whole day on Friday and on and off for Saturday. Jeez I hate these night games in Durbs. Humidity so high by 7pm when we kick off. Humidity too spoils a good game. Would rather we had a 5pm or even better 3pm kick off though 3pm in this heat probably wont be good either. For me a win is all that matters on Saturday not too bothered about the bonus points just yet, just need to pick up the wins for now and worry about the bonus points in other games.

7 @ Bullscot:
    Howzit BS, How you doing bud?

The last time I looked it was Lambie that was the Bok flyhalf, so it seems right now it is the others that will be good back up for him….. Wink Happy-Grin

I agree with all you said, just wait anothe week before you implement all this and thanks for your understanding
    Sincerely, a worried Stormers fan

2 @ Sharks_forever:
    Lambie’s kicking game has come on leaps and bounds. He is slowly turning into the complete flyhalf.

that is the brilliance of King Carlos Approve

lambi is net n stopgap opsie op flyhalf omdat die regte bok flyhalf beseer was.toe hy eers sy voete gevind het,het goosen net 20 min nodig gehad om die game op sy kop te draai Pondering @ Sharks_forever:
    lambi is net n stopgap opsie op flyhalf omdat die regte bok flyhalf beseer was.toe hy eers sy voete gevind het,het goosen net 20 min nodig gehad om die game op sy kop te draai

14 @ smallies:
    Hoekom was Goosen dan vir 60 minute kak?

Nee man, julle verafgod die knapie en hy het nog boggerol bewys nie… behalwe natuurlik dat hy blerrie goed beseer kan raak!

😆 Smallies, @ smallies:

Uhm Rather show some spine my Free State Friend and give credit where it is due, Lambie outplayed Goosen on Saturday, and is right now the better 10, And no do not even go there as i too am a big Goosen fan, these 2 youngsters are the future of bok rugby at 10, add to that Pollard at a later stage.

Sharks were impressive in the first half, dominating the Cheetahs in every department, but faded very badly in the Second half… is there a fittness and conditioning problem at the Sharks?

Hi Rudi, and congrats on a good win, Morne had a super game too, I said it before and i say it again, this bloke is not done yet, He outplayed Jantjies hands down.

The 2 best Flyhalves on display for South Africa this weekend was Morné Steyn and Patrick Lambie, third was Demetri Catrakilis…. Johan Goosen comes in a distant 4th, and Jantjies a very distant 5th.

I’m saying it will stay that way….

Maybe a little but as PLumtree said, the heat and thin air really got to them as the game got faster in the 2nd half,

Also Rudi i have on many occasions said Oosthuizen is not a good scrummager, what is your thoughts on what Beast did to him on the weekend?

13 @ fayaaz:

Could be and a master stroke by Plum in getting him to help… 😉

14 @ smallies:
    Smallies it was more Sarel coming on that turned the game and therefore it helped Goosen too. Wink

Lambie was top class from the word go…. 😛

14 @ smallies:
    Also Mvovo picked up a knock and was taken off. Odwa defence let a try through.

LOL

Judging players after one outing, tsik tsik

19 @ grootblousmile:

Spot on. Lambie and Morne was by far our best fhs this past weekend.

heineke meyer reken goosen is baie spesiaal,so ook naas,nou wie is ek dan om met die bulle se rugby royalty te stry….

morne het goed gelyk.vergeleke met laas jaar.

niemand kon daai drie keer nie.daai pass van bok nr 10 goosen was pefek getime absuliete perfeksie gewees van DIE beste 10 in die land

17 @ grootblousmile:
    Really don’t think a fitness problem or conditioning. WE always start slow and for us to pick up a win in our first game it is a bonus so to speak. We also without many top players. So I am chuffed we won that game.

The game turned when Mvovo had to come off. We also allowed ourselves get drawn into a open game, which I doubt was our strategy for this game. The reason we had Lambie kicking for territory and also not only that it also keeps the energy as to a fast game. You have to remember we played in 35 degrees heat and at altitude. Our boys not used to the altitude as we never always play well at altitude especially in Feb month with the heat combined. Our game plan for this game was spot on we used the kicking game more here and it worked, but Cheetahs did draw us in and we almost lost it by losing focus to what was working for us. The Boys did get tired with the altitude.

Total 65 users including 0 member, 65 guests, 0 bot online