The HSBC Sevens World Series was in South Africa this weekend, with the Cell C Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens tournament, the last Sevens tournament on the circuit for 2012.

New Zealand took the spoils after beating the South African Blitzbokke 12 / 5 in the Semi-final and thumping France 47 / 12 in the Final.

It was a better weekend for the men from South Africa though, getting through the pool stages unbeaten, also winning the Quarter final against the USA, but then stumbling against New Zealand, by only 7 points. South Africa demolished Argentina in the 3rd Place play-off, beating them by 35 / 0.

Pools:

Pool A: South Africa, Samoa, France, and Australia
Pool B: New Zealand, Fiji, Scotland and England
Pool C: Kenya, Wales, Argentina and Spain
Pool D: Portugal, Canada, the United States and Zimbabwe

Results – Day 1

1. 08 Dec 2012 –  11:00  New Zealand 14 – 7  Scotland Pool B
2. 08 Dec 2012 –  11:22  Fiji 29 – 19  England Pool B
3. 08 Dec 2012 –  11:44  Kenya 21 – 17  Argentina Pool C
4. 08 Dec 2012 –  12:06  Wales 12 – 5  Spain Pool C
5. 08 Dec 2012 –  12:28  Portugal 26 – 12  United States Pool D
6. 08 Dec 2012 –  12:50  Canada 26 – 0  Zimbabwe Pool D
7. 08 Dec 2012 –  13:12  Samoa 7 – 29  South Africa Pool A
8. 08 Dec 2012 –  13:34  France 31 – 5  Australia Pool A
9. 08 Dec 2012 –  14:06  New Zealand 24 – 7  England Pool B
10. 08 Dec 2012 –  14:28  Fiji 19 – 21  Scotland Pool B
11. 08 Dec 2012 –  14:50  Kenya 26 – 14  Spain Pool C
12. 08 Dec 2012 –  15:12  Wales 7 – 12  Argentina Pool C
13. 08 Dec 2012 –  15:34  Portugal 17 – 12  Zimbabwe Pool D
14. 08 Dec 2012 –  15:56  Canada 12 – 26  United States Pool D
15. 08 Dec 2012 –  16:18  Samoa 7 – 26  Australia Pool A
16. 08 Dec 2012 –  16:40  France 5 – 12  South Africa Pool A
17. 08 Dec 2012 –  17:14  Scotland 12 – 33  England Pool B
18. 08 Dec 2012 –  17:36  Argentina 21 – 14  Spain Pool C
19. 08 Dec 2012 –  17:58  United States 21 – 17  Zimbabwe Pool D
20. 08 Dec 2012 –  18:20  Portugal 28 – 7  Canada Pool D
21. 08 Dec 2012 –  18:52  New Zealand 12 – 24  Fiji Pool B
22. 08 Dec 2012 –  19:14  Kenya 14 – 33  Wales Pool C
23. 08 Dec 2012 –  19:36  South Africa 17 – 7  Australia Pool A
24. 08 Dec 2012 –  19:58  Samoa 12 – 7  France Pool A

Quarter Results – Day 2

25. 09 Dec 2012 –  11:11  Australia 24 – 14  Zimbabwe QF Bowl
26. 09 Dec 2012 –  11:33  Kenya 19 – 17  Scotland QF Bowl
27. 09 Dec 2012 –  11:55  Canada 21 – 36  Samoa QF Bowl
28. 09 Dec 2012 –  12:17  England 14 – 7  Spain QF Bowl
29. 09 Dec 2012 –  12:39  South Africa 17 – 7  United States QF Cup
30. 09 Dec 2012 –  13:01  Wales 5 – 35  New Zealand QF Cup
31. 09 Dec 2012 –  13:23  Portugal 7 – 10  France QF Cup
32. 09 Dec 2012 –  13:45  Fiji 12 – 15  Argentina QF Cup

Semi Results – Day 2

33. 09 Dec 2012 –  14:17  Zimbabwe 21 – 14  Scotland SF Shield
34. 09 Dec 2012 –  14:39  Canada 12 – 29  Spain SF Shield
35. 09 Dec 2012 –  15:01  Australia 24 – 21  Kenya SF Bowl
36. 09 Dec 2012 –  15:23  Samoa 15 – 12  England SF Bowl
37. 09 Dec 2012 –  16:05  United States 19 – 26  Wales SF Plate
38. 09 Dec 2012 –  16:27  Portugal 12 – 26  Fiji SF Plate
39. 09 Dec 2012 –  16:49  South Africa 5 – 12  New Zealand SF Cup
40. 09 Dec 2012 –  17:11  France 10 – 7  Argentina SF Cup

Finals Results

41. 09 Dec 2012 –  17:43  Zimbabwe (0) 0 – 33 (12)  Spain Final Shield
42. 09 Dec 2012 –  18:08  Australia (5) 26 – 14 (14)  Samoa Final Bowl
43. 09 Dec 2012 –  18:33  Wales (7) 26 – 14 (7)  Fiji Final Plate
44. 09 Dec 2012 –  18:58  South Africa (21) 35 – 0 (0)  Argentina Third Place
45. 09 Dec 2012 –  19:30  New Zealand (21) 47 – 12 (7)
 France Final Cup

408 Responses to HSBC Sevens World Series: Cell C Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens – Fixtures & Results

France also looking good, demolishing the Ozzmob.

France 31 / 5 Australia

Blitzbokke’s next game is against these freegin Frenchies, later today

New Zealand wins 24 / 7 against England

Scotland beats Fiji 21 / 19

33 @ grootblousmile:

Well done to Scotland for beating Fiji. That was a big win beating Fiji.

35 @ Puma:
    Yip, that was a big one… very unexpected

Argentina 12 / 7 Wales

The Porra’s are playing some great 7’s rugga

And how poor is the turnout? 13000 according to officials in PE,

We must not take the Frenchies lightly, their victory over the convicts was pretty convincing

38 @ Sharks_forever:Howzit bro, how you doing? Hope well.

Agree the turn out is very disappointing. Last year on the Friday they had many more. The very reason they scheduled the 7s for a Saturday and Sunday was so the supporters could come. Could be like gbs and I was speaking earlier that some just don’t have the extra cash and especially this time of year. Saying that still in these times thought we would see around 25 thousand at least there.

Anyhow have you seen the new SharksRugby site? I normally look there each, just been busy and have not looked there for awhile. Looked right now and really impressed with the new layout.

#40 meant – look there each DAY….. lol.

38 @ Sharks_forever:
    Portugal are playing some great 7s rugga. Surprised to see them playing so well.

Hey bro, well and you?

Na bro they have had no rugby on which to really spend money this year accept one test?? George used to get more people as a venue and it is far smaller than PE?

According to some Voldy bloggers PE is the HUB of sA rugby?? 😆

Also some talking about poor Durban turnouts?? well besides weather player it’s part to worsen matters as is the case with the golf tourney being playing in Durbs at the moment, Stats show the Tank having larger crowds than Newlands and Loftus in the last 7 tests played at each ground

So for me PE is pretty disgraceful in this tourney, it’s a once a year thing and also you have rugby all day, 🙄

And as for the sharks new website,? it aint bad

one must also take into account the amount of matches played by the big unions? SR and CC etc?? all the more reason to declare in my view that the PE turnout is KAK

43 @ Sharks_forever:
    I am always well….lol.

You are totally correct there that PE have had only one test so absolutely then they should have had many more at this tourney. Honestly expected to see at least a half full stadium. This is a once a year tourney and it should be supported well. Just look at the New Zealand 7’s there is NOT one empty seat. Probably my favourite 7’s tourney to watch as I only really watch ours and theirs sometimes the Hong Kong and Dubai.

Well there you go our Tank had more than most this year. I think it is deceiving to look, as they camera always goes over the East stand to the high right and left and really NO-ONE wants to sit there those are truly lousy seats. They are just about all the time empty. So if one looks up there they think we have not filled our Stadium. But most seats in all get taken. I know many complained about the CC final but really it was just those seats up there that were empty. Think we had something like 46 000 for the final. Our stadium holds 52 000 so not bad at all. I watched the Semi of the Super Final last night again just going through my pvr to see which games to delete. I noticed there were quite a few gaps of empty seats at Newlands as well. Unless those supporters bought tickets and never turned up.

What are your thoughts of us moving over the road? I think it is time we do that, only of course they have to build extra suites. I enjoy the Tank but it is really dated. Also we have such a small screen and only one. Most stadiums have two.

Portugal 17 / 12 Zimbabwe

I am talking about most the times the tank is quite full for Tests and CC finals. I remember the 2008 and 2010 CC final and the tank was sold out. Even the bad seats up in the East Stand that time.

Okay back in a half hour. Just need to do something, catch up a bit later bro.

Wow, Ozzmob also destroying Samoa…. phweew

Australia 26 / 7 Samoa

Now for the game between the Blitzbokke vs France

France score first… 5 / 0

Cornal Hendricks makes it 5 / 5 and one Frenchie has a Yellow Card

Blitzies must come out of the blocks quickly in the 2nd half

Bokke take the lead

Blitzbokke 12 / 5 France, quite a bit of time to go

12-5

Total 52 users including 0 member, 52 guests, 0 bot online