Sitting here this morning bored out of my skull, wondering what to speak or write about got me thinking how big a part rugby plays in our daily lives.

And with no rugby this week everything seems empty and lost, blogger’s have gone into limbo, I mean can life go on? My point here is we should just talk about what we all do best, Just talk KAK…….

We can talk rugby yes, even though it is a quiet week, but there are a lot of things we can speak about, I mean we can speak about Puma’squeaky knees, Rudi’s slet sappies and hand brakes and brake shoes.

I mean there are the clowns on Voldy we can all laugh about? Or my fight against anyone dissing my Sharks or Loosehead (Loskoppietjie) can tell us why he is a fitter and turner? Lions supporters can tell us how they are going to get through the next year with no Super Rugby.

Oh hell, I can babble away all day but come on peeps, lets discuss all the issues on hand, Smallies come tell us how much you dislike the Sharks and that we have stolen all your players, Just For Kicks come tell us about ostriches and how their vision is clouded with their head up their @sses, I mean in the ground?

And of course let’s post some music and funny clips, I mean this is the ONE and ONLY blog where we can enjoy ourselves, this is the first year I have known Morné (Pissant) that he is smiling (WP trophy cabinet has a trophy at last).

Guys, all that is asked is that we do not get personal to the degree of insulting each other or each other’s family, but get your asses over here and kick up a storm!

145 Responses to The let’s talk K@#$k thread!

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:

I am in PMB now mate, so not able to go check out the place, but it is so important with restaurants what the Location is, for example, you have to know what you niche is. either fancy or grill etc, so many people open places thinking well i can kinda do everytjong, you cant,

for me one of the most important things with sports pubs in this country is what they offer, most offer very little,

Is there an outside area?? or is it in a complex?? etc, so hard to really say mate

88 @ Sharks_forever:
    One player we gonna miss huge at the start will be Bissie. None of our Hookers are in the same class.

Without Bissie, then Plum might have to think of having a Kleinhans or Cloete in the team. Or Deysel will have to start. We also better hope that Beast or Jannie don’t pick up injuries on this eoyt, if any pick up a injury we will struggle at the start of SR, much like we only really started to come right once we got Beast and Alberts back late in the tourney, also of course Kanko he was the reason our lineouts suddenly were working too.

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:

Thats the problem, you have to have something going for people to stay
    1) why do couples go to Spur?? PLAY AREA FOR KIDS
    2) What do most South Africans eat at rugby/Sports?
    3) What happens after the Rugby?
    4) Is there entertainment?
    5) what Marketing is being done?? If people dont know about you???
    6) Do they advertise with their regulars?? ask them what they want??

So many questions i can ask, problem is so much depends on the premises,

In a nut shell had we had Bissy?? we would have won the Cup

Add to that Fransie and KAnko, but mostly BIssy

GBAI,

I like a place with live music either before or after the game on the big screen…

@ fender:
    Are you in Cape Town?

All good questions to ask. Place has only been open a few months now. Pop in once you’re back in town.

94 @ Sharks_forever:
    Yip, Bissie is class, even with just him there it would have been different. Though in SR once Kanko started we just seemed like another team. I think it did all start to get together for us once we got back. We only lost to the Chiefs and just at that and the Lions game. There in the Lions game think they were all thinking of the Bok test the next week, just not sure how we fell asleep there. After the tests we carried on from before the Lions game, only better because we had Kanko in the lineouts and doing the calls. Our lineouts were excellent with him there. Against Bulls and Stormers who have the best lineouts. So we have to get him back, I know he said he is coming back, but that is what Fourie said to Stormers and stayed in Japan.

93 @ Sharks_forever:

Good advice there. I must say I like a bit of music before and after as well. Good food, with good beer and wine is a must too. Big screen they all have a big screen these days so no competition there, it is the food/drink and good atmosphere that brings people and make them stay after.

GBAI,

Ja, Northern Suburbs behind the Boerewors Curtain..

Nooit Sharky!

So the only reason you lost the CC final is because Bissie wasn’t there?

The secret is to do things that people want, and be differnt to other people

what will make people want to come to you and not to the restaurant up the road from you

94 @ Sharks_forever:

To think of it in the last game of SR before the play offs we played Cheetahs. We were losing at one stage by 14 points to zip. It was only once Bissie came on around the 34th minute that it all changed. They still had Brussow on he only went off after the break. We scored straight away once Bissie came on. He is most definitely the most important player for us. Just must watch giving penalties away. Though towards the end he had cut that right down.

@ fender:
    LOL
    shhhhhhhhhhhh its our excuse and we keeping it 😆

101 @ Sharks_forever:
    Agree. Also keep the food to a good standard. Some places the food goes down once they have big crowds coming. Food standards have to stay top class, well for me anyhow. Does not have to be a huge selection to choice from, just must be always good what they offer. Good music too is a must for a rugby crowd to stay after and of course the drinks.

Cool. Thanks for all the advice – I’ll pass it on. Gonna be interesting next Sat, because I assume I’ll be the only Ireland supporter!

106 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Howcome you support Ireland and not the Boks? Were you born there? Or your parents are they Irish?

Hell no! I support the Boks! But – I feel a strong Irish connection for some reason – there is no scientific explanation for it! I support – Boks, Ireland, Stormers/WP. Other teams I CAN support – Griquas, Kings, Lions, Pacific Island nations and . . . ANYONE playing against Australia and New Zealand!

OK Sharky, you and Puma had me worried there….

But how come you’re back in PMB? I thought you were settling in nicely here in the Cape between the winegums and the dentures…

108 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Okay so next week you will be supporting Ireland and Boks, but Ireland more so….lol.

Well to be honest not really looking forward to watching our Boks. They just not playing well, also their game plan is just so boring. Will of course support the Boks, but really not very worried if we lose. Never felt like that before, have to be honest. For now looking foward to Super Rugby again.

You got it! The game plan does bother me a bit, but as I said previously – given the ages and skill levels of a lot of the really good youngsters appearing recently, I think the future of SA rugby is in safe hands!

Ok Sharkies, lots of squad depth there it seems, but give me a 32.

111 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    It is the game plan that has gotten to me, we are predictable and very boring. We will be the same on this tour, especially in the wet conditions. Hope come next year our Boks are playing some attractive rugby. A few selections have been wrong this far as well. Not all, but some have been and have cost us.

Still support our Boks, just not that excited for this tour, as I normally am.

Bakkies on Stand-By for Boks.

This from sports24

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Boks put Bakkies on stand-by
    2012-11-01 15:42

Bakkies Botha in Toulon colours (AFP)
    Related Links
    How Flo changed Meyer’s mind
    Mitchell in Sale Sharks role
    Fans slam WP ‘high rollers’
    Cape Town – As the Springboks prepare to travel to Europe for their end-of-year tour, coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that Bakkies Botha will also be on stand-by for their tour along with Marco Wentzel.

News broke on Wednesday about Wentzel being a possible go-to man in the event of injury and Meyer has now confirmed Botha is also being put on stand-by.

“If we get an injury at (number) four, Bakkies [Botha] would be the stand-by man, but for five we’ve looked at Marco Wentzel,” said Meyer during their training camp in Cape Town this week.

“I’ve been in contact with them and they’re both on stand-by.”

Wentzel received his second and last Springbok cap in 2002. He moved to Europe 2007 where he played for Leicester Tigers, when Meyer was the English team’s head coach in 2008.

Wentzel now plays for another English club, London Wasps.

In the event of injury, Meyer was not planning to play any lock out of position as set-piece management might pose problems.

As a result, it was unlikely specialised number fours Eben Etzebeth and Flip van der Merwe would make the starting XV as a pairing but offered options off the deck.

“Flip has really played well this year and Eben has been exceptional,” said Meyer.

“In a sense you’d love to have two guys who really put in the grafting work. (They) could be tough guys in overseas conditions.

“The set-piece is so important over there. I’d love to play them together, so maybe off the bench it could happen.”

Meyer said Etzebeth had been fantastic this season but with lineouts being a technical area, a specialist number five was required.

“Eben has been brilliant but they (him and Van Der Merwe) haven’t called a lot of lineouts together, and it’s such a technical area these days.

“It requires such a lot of preparation, and we only have three (training) sessions.

“I believe we need a specialist five lock in those conditions. I did look at a guy like Johann Muller (of Ulster) for the tour but he is also injured.”

Meyer still believed that experience was a vital aspect to any Test match-winning side.

Meyer felt the spate of injuries which has robbed him of several Boks was the result of them playing too much rugby.

“The players can’t play Super Rugby, Currie Cup and Test matches,” said Meyer.

“I have had a lot of meetings with the players. They have a social and family life as well. As things are presently, these guys are never at home.

“We will lose more and more players to overseas teams if we don’t manage them properly.”

Meyer believed going forward that for South Africa to become and consistently be the best team in the world, the right systems needed to be reviewed and put in place.

@ GoBokkeAndIreland:We had a big screen at our place for the world cup, and it worked very well. We decided to make it a family style place to come – in keeping with our normal everyday theme, and it’s like Sharky says, it’s what else you have to offer thats important. We have a deli/restaurant a few meters away from the tasting room where the telly was, and a large open garden with tables and chairs, so those that didn’t want to watch could sit out there. We also have a large dam in front of the restaurant, so the kids could go fishing, swimming and kayaking, so everyone was kept amused. We also served homemade pizza’s during the matches which worked.

We found it worked out to be very popular indeed. Only word of mouth, and after the first few matches, everyone was watching the rugga. People would come from Capetown and Hermanus to watch (we are in Elgin).

So, I think it is what you after as well as the match itself, any angle that the public will buy into.

112 @ Stormersboy:

Think this will be the 32:

Forwards:

Beast, Jannie, Herbst, Chadwick, Bissie, Burden, Cooper, Bresler, Van der Merwe, J. Marais, PSDT, Alberts, Coetzee, Daniel, Deysel, Kanko. Botes or Kleinhans

Backs:

Reinach, Mcleod, Jordaan, Fransie, Whitehead, Bosman, Lambie, Butch, JPP, Mvovo, Odwa, Sithole, Ludik and Vijoen. Prinsloo or Fred Zillinga

I think that could be our 32. Just off the top of my head there.

If I was Meyer I would be thinking of Bakkies,not on this tour but from next year. Would play Eben at 5 and Bakkies at 4. They would be lethal together!

If he does truly not want to mess with positions (strange as he has done in other areas), then he should be looking at home next year at the very good young locks we have here coming through.

115 @ Just For Kicks:
    Sounded great there JFK. You keeping your farm when you head off to Scotland?

I bike at Oak Valley quite often, great place to ride.

@ Puma:Yup, keeping just a small share, just to keep us interested!!!!
    @ Stormersboy:Me too, did the race there a couple of weeks ago, and was there again last weekend as the kids did the Spur adventure race. You must pop round here next time you are in the area – we’re Highlands Road Estate – but we’re only here till end of November

Total 64 users including 0 member, 64 guests, 0 bot online