I am even though I have tried to see this in a positive light, of the opinion that Lambie is being set up here to fail.

Since joining the Bok setup Lambie has been coached to play differently, and also one can see his kicking style has changed, as well as his tackling, another thing of course as mentioned he now stands deep in the pocket.

Now for me it is no use telling one player he can play his natural style and not the rest of his team mates who are not used to the style Lambie normally plays, bar of course one or 2 of the players.

If one looks at the forwards it is easy to see why a plain running rugby style struggles as the ball in phases are always slow as the tight 5 are not hitting a ruck as they should.

The looseforward trio, although playing well and defending well as a unit, are very slow in getting to breakdowns thus most of the ball has already been slowed down or been lost.

In the previous matches, to take Juandré Kruger as an example and as I re-watched the matches again, where one is not all nervous as to who is going to win et cettera, it was interesting to see how little this player was doing, how many tackles he missed (7 in 2 matches) and also how poor his attention to what his job was at the broken play.

By the way, on 3 of the 7 missed tackles it was Lambie who had to make the cover tackle for the tackle missed by Juandré.

Now getting to the backline, who again are nowhere and this is where my biggest concern is and why I have this feeling Lambie is being set up to fail.

Firstly the players in the backline are not honed in to play an attacking running game as has been seen so far, and all one has to do is break up the backline into individuals.

Zane Kirchner, all be it he has been secure on defense and the high ball, is not even an integral part of the backline. He never joins the backline and he never runs running lines to create overlaps, he never hits the line at pace thus leaving the backline a man short whenever they attack.

Wings cannot be blamed here, as it comes not due to the lack of coaching and although JP Pietersen does do this, one hardly sees Francois Hougaard do anything besides defend, who by the way is very poor under the high balls.

Centre play is a huge problem and it matters not how many passes Lambie makes, but if the ball is not passed further that the No 12, no move will be successful, Jean de Villiers just does not pass.

I do not really want to lay blame at the feet of Juan de Jongh here, as even though he is known as a ball hog too. He had his first match and actually played well but never received the ball to be able to pass it to the next player.

Now to scrumhalf, where Ruan Pienaar also seems to be under some form of coaching and under instruction to play a kick-and-chase game or who knows what.  Ruan, when he came on as a substitute in the English tour to South Africa series in June was in the situation that his service was snappy, yes he had faster service than Francois Hougaard and his option taking was good.

Suddenly Ruan is slow behind the srums and rucks and kicks 90% of possession away – and a kick one must remember is only as good as the chaser – and in the case of the past two Test matches it became an attacking weapon for our opponents against us.

Lambie is clearly very unsure as to his role and has looked out of place, something we don’t see when he plays for his provincial team, this also does not help towards flow in the backline.

There is also the problem of forwards in the backline and it is probably the biggest problem we have, as our forwards do not try attacking with off-loads and creative play, they all run to steam roller the defense in front of them, where they go to ground and ball is taken off them or slowed down.

I am sure if one looks more closely you would find more issues in our play, so how will one man in our team be able to make us a running rugby attacking team if it is not entreched in the whole team’s mindsets, and not an integral part of their style of play and drummed into them or being the style they play at their provinces?

This is the reason for saying Patrick Lambie is being set up, be it on purpose by the coaching staff or not, and to be very honest one can say the same for a few players in the Bok setup as one can’t see Juan de Jongh weave magic if he never gets the ball for example.

303 Responses to Has Patrick Lambie been set up to fail? Come give your view!

Good NIght old timer brudda 😆 with wobbly knees. catch up 2morrow

If we win tomorrow, the Springboks would only have lost 3 Tests in 2012…. (Won 5, drawn 2, lost 3)…

We should have won the 2 drawn ones… and the First Test against the Wobblies we could have won too, and the 1st Test against the All Blacks we could have won too… just silly naiivity cost us those…

Ou boet , die sogenaande wonderlike Bokke bestaan nie, ons het in die JW,PdeV en nou HM era nog nie eens by 70% wen uitgekom nie. So hou op om voor te gee Morne was in watte toegedraai. Wat ek wel weet hy het soms games met sy dodelike skopwerk gewen, games waar HY n verskil gemaak het.

Ons het die WB in 2007 op n skinkbord gekry Puma, dink mooi.

We just have to win boet, It will also help HM in the sense that there is light and even with changes made the base is strong and good to work from.

Super noone is saying Morne was wrwapped in cotton wool , you protest to much i think?? BUt if you think that bulls team with DuPreez did not enhance Morne’s game ur dreaming, MOrne has suffered somewhat since Fouries departure, whether you wish to ackowledge it or not

I hope the Springboks can string 2 good halves together tomorrow… that would make me rest much easier in December.

Won’t be flawless… I mean after all Lambie will be playing… and some other Sharkies… but what the heck…. hehehe

Die great Bokke is seker nou manne soos JPP(met sy great som totaal van 15 driee in sy laaaaaang loopbaan) Jean de Villiers( Test summary: Tests: 83 Tries: 20) ensovoorts. Great in ons mind , but a laughing stock in NZ

254 @ Sharks_forever:
    Protest too much??

… and you guys about Lambie?

… en die stilte daal neer, soos ‘n poep deur ‘n worsmasjien…

😆 Rudi, Hey if you remember i have stated he should drop Lambie and play Morne who atleast knows and understands his style of play 😉
    We at the Sharks want Lambie to stay a running flyhalf hehehehe.

Jokes aside though, it matters not how well he or Morne or which ever flyhalf plays, the players around you need to play the same,

Kirchner needs to hit the line where possible, JDV needs to pass some times at least ( or get skipped by Lambie lol)

The tight 5 need to hit the collusion points more, and pass sometimes as well not just moer voort.

Loosies hopefully wont be to slow, I am not sure as to the pace of the Pommie loosies,????? and they too need to offload and play the game.

Lineouts i am sure we will be fine. Scrummy?? needs to take better option and not kick everything and also quicken his service to the backline,

Lambie needs to also try varying his kicking, our lineouts are good we can compete on their ball. and yes he needs to attack the advantage line, players around him must read what he is doing and run off him, run into good spaces, alles is nie moer oor mekaar nie.

@237
    Pasop dat Betty Smith van IOL jou nie nog n keer innie kooi vang nie, anders is jy weer in Drum , Bona, City Press, Son en al daai geskrifte….

The problem is the Lamb boikie must have a good passing SH that can throw the ball half the length of the field but Lambie must play flatter and he wont need that length ball so just blame RP. I dont like him anyway so yes lets blame Ruan

Soek bietjie vars rugby nuus, manne… en skrywe so paar Artikels… kom, kom, kom, help my bietjie… vervlaks!

Look, to settle this whole Lambie/Morne thing we should just pick Peter Grant and be done with it.

251 @ Pietman:
    Debbie Flokken Smit se ma se auntie se moerrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

@ grootblousmile: difference is i am not sitting here blamming MOrne for everything, I mean i could now answer5 Super on the fact that JPP’s lack of tries?? who was the 10 he played with most?? MOrne, also Fourie as 9 and so on and so on.

Rudi then also please show me boet where i come in here and blamed morne whenever we played poorly and lost?????? I would love to see it??????

Hey now i have been, look how busy this thread was 😆

254 @ Stormersboy:
    Eish, Pop-Gun Grant…. Peter San, the Kamakaze pilot….

Nee jinne, eerder Pop-Gun Lambie… hehehe

@ Pietman: Overjoy

Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy Overjoy

256 @ Sharks_forever:
    You protest too much… hahahaha

@254
    I agree.
    Or Ismaeel Dollie.

262 @ Pietman:
    Ek is nou nie juis dollie oor Dollie…

I’d even settle for Elton Jantjies.

🙂

Come now Super thats a weak arguement, and siding more with being vindictive, Lambie untill he got to the Boks under HM only plahyed flat, he was never one to stand back in the pocket, and if you think it was not the coaching staff changing him to play there you are being Naive.

Lambie needa crisp flat quick pass, Like MOrne would have also played well with Tommy Du Plessis that actually did pass half way across the field 😉

Funy how some are trying to tell us, Lambie sommer changed his own style of play and decided he wanted to just kick everything? 😯 I guess Lambie made the BUlls play the Kicking game they have for the last no of years and not HM and the coaching staff after him????

In Naas’s time they actually did not just kick everything, They used to score brilliant running rugby tries, set up by powerhouse forward packs,

Morné Steyn is the Rugby man’s flyhalf…
    Johan Goosen is the Thinking man’s flyhalf…
    Lambie is the Drinking man’s flyhalf…

… and Elton Jantjies did not get bloody game time yet…

Rose is ook nog darem daar….julle sal hom net by die huis moet gaan haal innie Strand, sy BMW staan iewers in Gordonsbaai in n fish&tjips-winkel, maar verder is hy ok.

Play Butch 😉

Nope MOrne had Fourie doing the thinking for him, now there was a real thinking player, thats a fact

Total 17 users including 0 member, 17 guests, 0 bot online