The Springbok rugby run-on side to face England on Saturday at 16:30 SA Time (14:30 GMT) is unchanged from last weekend, with Pat Cilliers on the bench in place of CJ van der Linde and Elton Jantjies replacing Morné Steyn.

CJ van der Linde, who did not have a stellar game against Scotland and for that matter against Ireland, was injured during Monday’s practice and the decision was taken to send him home to South Africa.

Elton Jantjies has not had any game time on tour yet and it was to be expected that he would either start or be on the bench for the England Test, in light of the fact that it would be his only chance to showcase what he’s got in comparison to Patrick Lambie who has not set the world alight in the first two Tests of the tour. Elton Jantjies will be able to stake his place off the bench and the hope is that he is given sufficient game time, to be measured, under the same circumstances as Patrick Lambie.

The side is as follows:

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Jaco Taute, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

103 Responses to End of Year Tours: Bokke starting side unchanged, Cilliers & Jantjies on the bench

29 @ Sharks_forever:
    Nobody calls me a liar (making up fibs), Tjarkie… the man must be bloody desperate to have Lambie playing at all costs.

30 @ Sharks_forever:
    Not a chance in hell, to go from one style to the next does not happen in one week.

What might happen is that the game plan is slightly tweaked and coupled to that one or two players might suddenly hit some gaps… which results in numerous tries… but a change in game plan… not likely!

Thats why i said it would be funny, honestly dont see a change from last weekend accept a little more accutary from the players, also the players keeping up for the full 80.

As for Pooms boet, you know him well enough to know he will not have meant to call you a liar, Honestly think he misread what you had said.

33 @ Sharks_forever:
    Jeeez, I also hope for 2 complete halves, and not just one.

We have not had one Test this year with 2 halves which were equally good, I think the closest we came was at Loftus against the Ozzmob.

28 @ grootblousmile:
    Hey, go read again. Shout That is exactly what I was talking about. You obviously not reading well either… Overjoy

You said EITHER ‘START’ or on the bench. I am talking about you saying ‘START’ where did the start come from? Pondering if he has not ever been on the bench yet, do you SERIOUSLY think Meyer was EVER going to start with Elton in the ENGLAND GAME really? Then you the only one thinking that Pondering if he had not even been on the bench???????? GET REAL now. Did you not hear Meyer that he was NEVER going to start with a youngster and have another on the bench? as that was the very reason he said he wanted to have INSURANCE Morne on the bench. Now he changes his mind and MORNE is weg weg weg sommer gou gou. How did that happen? Did he have pressure or was it that he has confidence in Pat that he does not need his insurance Morne there now?

I think by now we know how Meyer thinks. I can honestly say he would never have started Elton in this test without having him have some gametime in the NH CONDITIONS. So you saying start is misleading in your article. On the bench yes, if he had some gametime like I said in my post above he may have thought about a start here for Elton… Wink

Actually boet what i meant about style change was more in the line of what you answered, where we play the same but throw in some line runs etc here and there. some running counter attacking where possible.

If we played the full 80 min against Scotkand like we did the first half? and just here and there ran the ball like when we had over laps?? shit we coulda beaten them by 35

And for me thats possible if we keep playing for 80 min and the more the team believe in each other, I also think our mental prep is lacking.

And fully agree boet, we need to play more 80 min games, we are shooting ourselves in the foot by not doing so.

Welcome back misseur Kneemoania 😆

35 @ Puma:
    I would have started with Elton, Lambie has been poor to average… simple as that.

Hope Meyer gives Jantjies enough game time to show what he’s made of and to compare that showing properly to the average hand Lambie will deal us again in this Test.

Goooo Bokkkkkkke!!! probably won’t be able to log in over the weekend, so enjoy it lads. England won’t be easy to beat – will be licking their wounds after last weekends debacle, so watch out for the backlash!

41 @ Just For Kicks:
    Left you a message on the Bulls Squad thread…

39 @ grootblousmile:
    Ag man gbs you make me like this… In-pain HOW can you start a player in the game that is the biggest of the tour without gametime there? Please tell me? YOU heard Koen say it is played different in the nh. Meyer would never have started with Elton unless he had gametime. That is throwing a player under the bus. Much like Lambie having to play this gameplan he has been thrown under and set up to fail.

You would have started with any player besides Lambie. Your hatred for him staging up Morne at the Tank is showing. So I take that with a pinch of salt….. Be Happy

25 @ Sharks_forever:

Approve

Next year we build it up. Gbs makes me mal but he is a good oke…hehehe. Just his hatred for our fh …. Angry

43 @ Puma:
    Morné Steyn has not been good this year and probably for quite a portion of last year too… I have said as much.

Lambie was a big fishy in the small pond of the Currie Cup… but we now know he is a small fishy in the big pond of Test flyhalf play.

Would have had Elton Jantjies start… hell he was thrown into the All Blacks game at Soccer City for most of the game.. and I would have had Lambie come on as replacement, for the 2 to be measured against each other in terms of what Heyneke wants, going forward.

Heyneke thinks different, that’s HIS prerogative.. and after all he said he wanted to measure the flyhalves on this tour, to decide who to go with next year… so I expected and still expect Jantjies to get a fair bit of game time in order to make that measure.

I don’t dislike Lambie, I think fullback suits him better, I truly do.

But anyway, you will construe whatever I say as an onslaught against Lambie, which it ain’t!

@ grootblousmile:Rudi, great to talk to you, will catch up soon, and on Skype when we get over there.

46 @ Just For Kicks:
    Great man!

Shout if there is something we can assist with on the SA side…

41 @ Just For Kicks:
    When are you leaving? If this weekend have a good flight and keep in touch with us here. All the best to you and Bean1 for your new adventure in life!

Rudi, check out this article, now i know we cant believe everything we read, and i also know it’s a voldy journo, but he is in England and has hadx chats with HM. I wonder how much truth be in it??

Greater freedom for flyhalf Lambie

21 Nov 2012

RYAN VREDE, in London, reports Heyneke Meyer has given Pat Lambie the directive to stand flatter and attack more with ball in hand in a bid to get the best out of him.

There were widespread cries of relief when Lambie was installed at pivot ahead of Morne Steyn for the first Test of the tour against Ireland and then given the backing of his coach through three Tests. However, it was also lamented that Lambie would have to temper his natural attacking instincts to suit the Springboks’ pragmatic method.

Lambie attempted to play that down prior to the Lansdowne Road Test, saying that there was a flawed perception of him as a running flyhalf, arguing that his game was more rounded than that. However, on the evidence of what he has produced tactically in the last fortnight, his kicking game is certainly more work in progress than it is finished article.

Lambie has proven to be potent when taking on the defensive line himself or creating opportunities for his outside backs and this is what Meyer hopes to see more of against England at Twickenham on Saturday.

‘It’s a huge ask, there’s this perception that when you put a young player like Pat in he is immediately going to be a world beater. That doesn’t happen at this level. The defences are too well organised,’ he said.

‘But I’ve had a long one on one with him and told him to play his natural game. He has always been a guy that takes on the line and plays really flat. He played too deep in Dublin and Edinburgh. I’ve said to him I want more on attack, I want him to get the backline going. Its a test for Pat going forward, but I really need a good performance from him on Saturday.’

Meyer’s instructions to Lambie and the inclusion of Elton Janjties ahead of Morne Steyn on the bench suggests the Springboks will seek to keep the ball in hand far more than they have for most of this season. Certainly privately the coaching staff feeling there are a couple of defensive vulnerabilities in the England backline, particularly at flyhalf, where Toby Flood has been exposed against elite opposition.

With the forecast for cold but clear conditions at kick-off, the Springboks will be assisted in their cause to ‘play’ more. However, it would be wrong to expect an expansive and open approach from the tourists, who will still be very cautious in their territory, taking minimal risks but then looking to be more adventurous deeper in England’s half.

It is of course a tactical path that has worked well for them at the venue in recent history, with 2008′s 42-6 win achieved in this manner. Peter de Villiers picked an abrasive pack that day and they gave a mediocre backline an excellent platform from which to test their hosts. This mirrors the situation the Springboks find themselves in at present, with a highly cohesive and powerful pack attempting to service a backline that has yet to inspire.

Perhaps it will come on Saturday, with Lambie tasked with playing a central role in any such demolition.

Well lets wait and see how much truth is in that?

Hi Puma,
    I was just wondering what you consider to be world class no 10s? I was running them all through my mind, and Michelac is good, the Argie guy is not too bad, and all the rest I recon pretty average with the great exception of the ABs, still no one to touch Dan Carter, Cruden is not far behind, and Barret would probably make it as a number 10 in most other national sides (purely my opinion of course) or am I forgetting someone?

45 @ grootblousmile:
    He is a very very good flyhalf boet. You know well he does not play this type of game and it does not come natural to him. I have never seen him play a bad game at fh for Sharks, where he plays his natural style. Remember he had to learn this game style they wanted him to play in a week or two before the Ireland game. To see a fh like Pat kicking up and unders was a shame really, he is way, way better than having to play that sort of game. Then if he wants to play fh for the Boks he had better fit into this style as that is what they play there. Just don’t come and play it at the Sharks. He actually had a good first half better than most are giving him credit for. Some line kicks never went well and the up and unders. Also our forwards have not been great, in both games they only had a good 40min. You can’t expect a fh to play well if his forwards are not getting any good ball. Also Ruan hardly ever passes to the fh it is always going to a forward and he too is way too slow. Another thing Jean is next to Pat and that does not help either, if he gets the ball that is it we know he will never pass and go to ground with it. Pat’s defence has been brilliant. No question about that. His kicking at goal has been very good too. Missed some but not as many as the others in a full game. Elton was just okay boet, he too struggled, not in the first 10min but after that and his defence is not that great. I rate his game every where else just his defence, he will get that right at the Stormers that is for sure. Goosen was okay too, where we played well was when we only had to play against 13 men against Oz. These 3 flyhalves will need more than 3 games to fit into this style of play. They all attacking flyhalves that like to take it flat and put their backs away, none of them enjoy the up and unders you can see that. Elton’s up and unders were not great either. Not his natural game style either.

Another thing the amount of pressure put on Lambie to perform straight up in on this tour has to be unbelievable. It would have been on Elton as well. Meyer giving them these few games to decide is not on. He should look at them in Super Rugby next year, then again both will be playing a different style, which I enjoy watching them both play.

For Saturday I do hope our forwards play for a full 80min. That would allow us to keep the pressure off. We chased in the Ireland game and against Scotland we were holding on for life. Need them to play a full game and not 40min.

45 @ grootblousmile:
    He is a very very good flyhalf boet. You know well he does not play this type of game and it does not come natural to him. I have never seen him play a bad game at fh for Sharks, where he plays his natural style. Remember he had to learn this game style they wanted him to play in a week or two before the Ireland game. To see a fh like Pat kicking up and unders was a shame really, he is way, way better than having to play that sort of game. Then if he wants to play fh for the Boks he had better fit into this style as that is what they play there. Just don’t come and play it at the Sharks. He actually had a good first half better than most are giving him credit for. Some line kicks never went well and the up and unders. Also our forwards have not been great, in both games they only had a good 40min. You can’t expect a fh to play well if his forwards are not getting any good ball. Also Ruan hardly ever passes to the fh it is always going to a forward and he too is way too slow. Another thing Jean is next to Pat and that does not help either, if he gets the ball that is it we know he will never pass and go to ground with it. Pat’s defence has been brilliant. No question about that. His kicking at goal has been very good too. Missed some but not as many as the others in a full game. Elton was just okay boet, he too struggled, not in the first 10min but after that and his defence is not that great. I rate his game every where else just his defence, he will get that right at the Stormers that is for sure. Goosen was okay too, where we played well was when we only had to play against 13 men against Oz. These 3 flyhalves will need more than 3 games to fit into this style of play. They all attacking flyhalves that like to take it flat and put their backs away, none of them enjoy the up and unders you can see that. Elton’s up and unders were not great either. Not his natural game style either.

Another thing the amount of pressure put on Lambie to perform straight up on this tour has to be unbelievable. It would have been on Elton as well. Meyer giving them these few games to decide is not on. He should look at them in Super Rugby next year, then again both will be playing a different style, which I enjoy watching them both play.

For Saturday I do hope our forwards play for a full 80min. That would allow us to keep the pressure off. We chased in the Ireland game and against Scotland we were holding on for life. Need them to play a full game and not 40min.

Pooms boet, you sure wanted to get that message across 😆

Okay why it came up twice have no idea?????

who knows Pooms, it happens now and then.

did you read the article i just posted?? @ Sharks_forever: Interesting if it’s true

54 @ Sharks_forever:
    Not sure what the bloody hell is going on???? Just pressed the submit button and it came up twice…. LOL. I am like Pieta with these things……..hehehehe.

I see it’s is raining in Durban again, cricket being rained out yet again lol

56 @ Sharks_forever:
    Going to read it now.

Where is your article bro? Not showing up.

Having a problem here again, taking forever to refresh and post.

Total 52 users including 0 member, 52 guests, 0 bot online