Australian Super Rugby sides are allowed 35 players each, moved up from 30 in 2012, in their Extended Player Squads for Super Rugby 2013.

Two of the Australian Super Rugby franchises, the Brumbies and the Reds, have both finalised their 35-Man squads.

rugbyweek

The Brumbies have added Stephan Van der Walt and Mark Swanepoel as the final members of the 2013 Super Rugby Extended Playing squad (EPS) squad.

The Brumbies 2013 playing roster is now full as Van Der Walt and Mark Swanepoel have occupied the final two EPS positions.

Van Der Walt arrives from Queensland where he has been playing with Queensland Country and the University of Queensland.

A former Sunshine Coast boy who migrated to Australia with his family from South Africa at the age of 8, Van Der Walt has the size and speed to make it as an outside centre or wing at Super Rugby level.

Backs Coach Stephen Larkham said Van Der Walt had many similar traits to Clyde Rathbone in the way he attacks.

“We’ve signed Stephan from Queensland as a very passionate, aggressive outside back,” Larkham said.

“Stephan is a bit like Clyde – he’ll run over the top of you before he’ll run around you. He’s a big guy with quality skills and I’m looking forward to seeing what he can do with the benefit of a fulltime system.

“He’s got good size and speed and we think he’s probably slipped under the radar a bit so it will be exciting to see how he goes.

Swanepoel joins the Brumbies from New Zealand where he has been representing Canterbury in the ITM Cup.

A former Western Force player who claimed four caps between 2009 and 2011, Swanepoel was on the cusp of featuring for the Crusaders in 2012 before returning to Australian shores in search of more opportunity.

Another player with South African heritage, Swanepoel is a big, physical halfback who intends on pushing Ian Prior and Nic White all the way in the hunt for the starting No 9 jersey.

“He gives us coverage now, particularly with Nic White missing the majority of pre-season through his shoulder injury,” Larkham said.

“He’s only flown in this morning from New Zealand but you’d have to say that early inspections suggest he’s a very promising player.

“At 22 he’s been in Super Rugby before, he’s got four caps with the Force and also spent time with the Crusaders so that experience will certainly work in his favour.”

All 35 spots on the Brumbies roster have now been filled.

The Reds have announced their Extended Playing squad (EPS) for the 2013 Super Rugby squad.

Queensland’s EPS for next season boasts new additions in backrower Jarrad Butler, lock Blake Enever and outside back Joel Faulkner along with returning members in front-rower Kevin Davis and playmaker UJ Seuteni.

All three new inclusions were former QAS Reds Academy members in 2011 before joining the inaugural National Academy when the development pathway changed in 2012.

Butler and Enever have been rewarded for their 2012 efforts where they were plucked out of the National Academy by Reds Director of Coaching Ewen McKenzie to make their Super Rugby debuts for an injury-hit Reds side late last season.

Enever got a small taste of Super Rugby when used as a replacement against the Melbourne Rebels in round 16 while Butler made his debut a week later against the Highlanders before earning his second Super Rugby cap in the Reds regular season finale against the NSW Waratahs.

Faulkner has a strong background with the Reds where he was member of the Reds Academy in 2010 and 2011 and will now offer the squad increased backline depth with his ability to cover fullback, centre and wing.

Seuteni remains the youngest member of the EPS and he will continue to develop his game at flyhalf after a 2012 year where he joined the group following his final year of schooling at The Southport School.

Davis also enters his second year in the EPS and will be aiming to build on the experience gained during his first year by offering further depth at both hooker and prop.

McKenzie said the 2013 EPS offered a good mix of experience and youth and would be crucial to the team’s 2013 campaign.

“Last season proved that you need more than just 30 contracted players to survive in Super Rugby so it’s important you have a strong group of players coming through the EPS as they will be forced to step up at some point during the year,” McKenzie said.

“Nick Frisby and Albert Anae were two examples from last year’s EPS who successfully made the transition into Super Rugby and have been rewarded with fulltime contracts for 2013.

“We’re fortunate to have an EPS group next year that has a strong background with the Reds either through our former Academy system or in last year’s EPS and we’re confident they have the ability to follow the same pathway as both Nick and Albert.”

61 Responses to Super Rugby: Reds and Brumbies have finalised their EPS squads for 2013

I think the Brumbies will top the Aussie conference next year. They done very well in their first year with Jake and expect them to do even better next year. Now they have Pocock and Hooper at Brumbies, both exceptionally good at protecting and stealing ball at the breakdown.

This Van der Walt player sounds like a good player, if he is anything like Rathbone that is, he will be a handful at outside centre.

So far Brumbies seem a step ahead of the rest getting their players ready for next year. With Larkham, Gregan and Jake they have some of the best coaches all round.

1 @ Puma:
    Must say, I agree that the Young Brumbies did very well under Jake in the first year under him.

I also expect them to end top of the Aussie Conference in 2013

2 @ grootblousmile:
    Yes I think they will. Good coaches and now getting some really talented players in as well.

Jeez we have saffa born players now playing everywhere around the world.

Just looking at Sharks Players for next year.

Props:

Beast
    Chadwick
    Jannie
    Herbst

Hookers:

Bissie (Back around Mid April)
    Burden
    Cooper
    Hadebe

Locks:

Bresler
    Van der Merwe
    J. Marais
    P. Marais
    PSDT

Loosies:

Alberts
    Deysel
    Coetzee
    Daniel
    Kanko
    Mtembu

Flyhalf:

Lambie
    Butch
    Bosman

Scrumhalf:

Reinach
    McLeod

Centre:

Jordaan
    Whitehead
    Fransie
    Bosman

Wing:

JPP
    Mvovo
    Odwa
    Sithole

Fullback:

Ludik
    Viljoen
    Prinsloo

Not sure who else right now, but those players will be there. For me the biggest worry is hooker and prop. Without Bissie to start the season we need one of Cooper or Burden to really step up. Bissie is a massive loss for us until he returns towards end of April. If Beast or Jannie goes down, don’t think Chadwick is in the same class as Beast and Herbst is okay but not the same as good as Jannie is as we saw on Saturday.

I am pleased we have Butch as back up flyhalf. Some may not think so because of his age, but really he is still a really quality flyhalf as we saw when he played for Lions. Bosman too stepped up in the CC season and played well at fh. Bosman will cover fh and inside centre. Whitehead will cover inside and outside centre. Fransie will be ready to start come Feb. He had that op on his ankle about 4 weeks back now and they said it would take 3 months to heal proper. Pleased we have such good centres, at on stage that was where our cupboard was bare and we struggled there, now we have really some of the best centres playing for Sharks.

Also pleased we got Van der Merwe on loan from the Lions. A class lock he is.

4 @ Puma:
    Good depth!

Vulnerable at Hooker till April, vulnerable at lock despite Franco van der Merwe going to the Sharks… but I bet Pieter Steph du Toit will add good value there.

Will be contenders for the title, I feel.

Not too worried about our Locks in the lineouts, I think it is definitely coming from our hookers throwing. We also have PSDT at lock for next year. Another brilliant player that played excellent for the Junior Boks this in the wc this year and he was top class for our u21’s. Pleased he will be in Super Rugby next year. We did have him for a few games this year, but he had already then picked up that ankle injury playing for the junior Boks. We will see his class next year for sure.

We will also have Kanko back that was brilliant in the lineouts and he also done the calls.

7 @ grootblousmile:

Ja, must have been typing my last post about PSDT as you posted yours. Think he is going to be a star lock. Was superb for the junior boks but he played blindside flank for them. Think we will use him at lock.

We have a problem at hooker until Bissie gets back. Burden did play well for us when Bissie got injured when we were touring this year. I think he was totally undercooked for this game on Saturday. He just never had enough game time, because before he left to tour with the Boks he was playing really well for Sharks. Think he is better than what he produced on Saturday. He really must feel he let his team down. Feel for him really. He will get it right next year. Though NONE are Bissie, and we will miss him huge.

We might see Kleinhans been selected in the squad for S15 next year as well. Just put up players there that I know for certain that will make the squad for S15.

Good team. As far as experienced depth is concerned, probably the biggest squad. You do have some vulnerabilities, one of them being your lack of top quality players in front row depth. Your back up players are good, but have had problems from time to time.

They will be contenders for sure.

I hope we will be able to match you guys, but we’ll just have to wait and see! That’s the great thing about this game, anything can (and sometimes does) happen, take Saturday for example, on paper we were the weaker team but the ball isn’t round as they say!

I wouldn’t count the Bulls out either though, they have a good squad and their youngsters will have 1 year’s more experience, and there are some great talents there.

7 @ grootblousmile:
    I hope we are contender for the title again boet. Only this time hope we win it and not come 2nd.. 🙁

It has been a long, long road for my Sharks and their supporters. Over the years we have been darn good in Super Rugby getting to many finals and semi finals, but that means nothing if we don’t win the tourney. Time will tell if it is our year. Super Rugby is the Cup now I want us to win more than anything. I love the Currie Cup make no mistake, but we did win it in 2008 and 2010. We have never won a Super Rugby Cup. That is the one I want the most right now for my Sharks to win.

You know the feeling well as your Bulls have 3 Super Rugby Cups.

What the relegation of the Lions have done to the SA setup is that it has strengthened the top 3 teams without just “re-arranging the deckchairs” as it were, ie the Lions being substituted into the Kings.

The Bulls got Mapoe
    The Sharks got Franco and Butch
    WP got Pat, Rhodes, Elton and Jaco (the biggest recipients)

So the top 3 teams are stronger which will make them a lot more competitive over the season especially in the 2nd half when injuries are likely to start taking their toll.

11 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:
    Bulls biggest problems will be Pattern of play (game plan), ill dicipline, needless kicking… and I feel we are one monster prop short!

Lineouts will be good, getting enough ball possession should not be a problem…

To be honest, I’m worried about the Bulls!

11 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:
    Howzit bud,

I personally never thought you had a weak team at all on Saturday. Not sure why people wrote your team off before the game. I never and nor did S_L. Both of us said it could go either way and both of us were nervous for the game. Remember one thing, youngsters fear nothing and they always bring the unkown. They were very good as I expected.

Next year yes, Sharks will be short at prop if Beast or Jannie pick up injuries our replacements are not in the same class, well not yet anyhow. Lock we are covered. Hooker is where we may struggle without Bissie, but I expect Burden to be far, far better than he was on Saturday. He was totally undercooked after not playing hardly any rugby for 2 months. It was a waste for him to be with the Boks as he just toured with them. He would have been better left at home and playing CC for Sharks.

Anyhow next year Stormers, Bulls and Sharks will have good teams. All of us. It is how we play the game that will count in the end, like it did this year.

I think Stormers getting Jantjies will make a big difference. Jaco well, he may or may not. Joe was very good on Saturday. You have better outside and inside centres that Jaco. Jaco should only play fb. Then you are covered with Joe and Jaco there. For me it will be Jantjies that will make a difference to your team next year. Grant was not that great this year, solid but that is it.

The Likely WP squad is also looking well stocked at the moment:

1. Kitshoff; Deon Carstens
    2. Liebenberg, Fourie, Scarra
    3. Brok, Malherbe, Cilliers (also at 1)

4. Eben, Elstadt (also at 7), Rhodes (also at 7)
    5. Bekker, Steenkamp

Loosies:

Burger; Vermeulen; Carr; Kolisi; (Fourie); (Rhodes); (Elstadt)

9: Schreuder; Groom; Duvenhage
    10: Elton; Grant; Van Aswegen
    11: Bryan; De Allende
    12: JDV; Brache; (De Allende)
    13: JDJ; JP Dup
    14: Hekkies; Aplon
    15: Taute, Pieterson

What I like about this squad is the genuine versatility amongst many of the players, covering more than 1 position.

I may have left some out so apologies if I did but I am looking forward to a good season next year and a stronger finish than in years gone by!

Here’s hoping!

13 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:

Strictly speaking we only got Van der Merwe. Butch’s contract was coming to a end after CC with Lions this year and he was always after that wanting to come back to Sharks. So we would have got Butch anyhow. So basicly we only scored getting Van der Merwe. I feel had we not had Lambie at Sharks, Jantjies would have come to us as well. The very reason he chose Stormers was that he would start every game for them. Lambie is our 1st choice fh and will start most games. I am pleased we have our 4 top fhs now spread around and not playing for the same team. That gives them all game time at fh. Goosen at Cheetahs, Lambie at Sharks, Jantjies at Stormers and Morne at Bulls. Better for SA rugby.

They are well stocked with good youngsters though and you never know, a guy like Serfontein at 12 or Mapoe at 13, players who haven’t yet got Super Rugby experience for the Bulls may turn out to be a revelation next season. It’s quite possible that the Bulls will contend strongly for a playoff spot, top 4 or 5 IMO.

What you do lack is two great scrumming props who don’t give away too many penalties, you guys really struggled with that this year. Hopefully FL has been working on that with them.

13 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:

Stormers scored big with Lions been relegated. They have Cilliers, Rhodes, Jantjies and Jaco.

I wish Sharks got Lions loosehead on loan. JC Van Rensburg is a superb player and would have been brilliant cover for Beast.

Yes true but what I meant is that your gain (Butch) is still the Lions loss. In that sense the top 3 are stringer for the Lions demise.

As for Elton, who knows. He will get the chance to prove himself next year behind a pack that should have parity in some games and the upper hand in others. Then he will have no excuses. Cometh the hour and all that!

Butch is a great backup for the Sharks, who didn’t have a great 10 backup, not like this year with Freddie. Now you do.

18 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:
    The upside effectively of the Lions Franchise falling out is that the Bulls will have access to the players from the Lions Super Rugby playing partners, the Pumas and Leopards in addition to their normal resources.

Not that one could really use many of them… but if you take it that the Pumas drew twice with the EP Kings and lost the First Division Final by only 1 point to the EP Kings, there are some quality players there… but maybe more… a very astute Pumas coach!

Jimmy Stonehouse is reknowned to do a hell of a lot with very little in the form of raw talent and quality.

I would rope in Jimmy Stonehouse to assist at the Bulls for Super Rugby.

20 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:

We are stronger for getting Van Der Merwe that is all. Butch was always coming back to Sharks. His contract ended with Lions at the end of their Currie Cup. Now we are covered well at lock. With Bresler, PSDT, Van der Merwe, J. Marais and P. Marais.

The only place of concern for Sharks will be hooker until Bissie gets back, but I think Burden will be better come the start of SR than he was on Saturday. But NONE are Bissie, so yes, Bissie is a huge loss until he gets back. Prop if we lose Beast or Jannie to injury then that is a worry, because you could see how we struggled at the start of this season with Chadwick and not Beast being there.

We totally covered with top class centres, and loosies. Our wings are great as well, but not sure about the cover there. Odwa is excellent make no mistake he is not fast, but just so damn good under the high ball and his defence is top class and always in the righ place at the right time. We covered at fb too.

Yes Jimmy is a great coach.

The one player that I expected a lot of interest in was Minnie. He’s a very good deck player and they are like hens teeth these days.

22 @ Puma:
    Now you just need a good coach…. hehehe

Yes, it will come down to the play on the day, no obvious front runner at this stage. The cheetahs will also be up for it from time to time, especially if the get their injured players back, i.e. Goosen, Juan Smith, Heinrich, Coenie, they are all workd class and will make a huge difference.

20 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:
    Well we had Lambie as our 1st choice fh and he played in 9 games until injured. Then it was Freddy on his own and if he got injured we never had a class back up. Now if Lambie picks up a injury again we have Butch. Also Bosman has come along very well in Currie Cup at fh. He is a really good flyhalf. Not in the same quality as Lambie, but Butch is a perfect back up.

24 @ grootblousmile:
    I personally think we have the best coach. Plum is a very, very good coach. Sure he got it wrong with selection this week, but he never gets that too wrong. Burden should not have started Cooper should have and Deysel should have started as well. Said during the week Deysel should start.

Anyhow think we okay with our coaching thanks very much, you could see how we finished this year! Nothing wrong with Plum…. 😛 ….. hehehe.

25 @ Maak die WP almal Bokke Stromersboy:

Cheetahs could beat any team on their day. They always a threat. Especially if they get some of those players back in time for SR.

Kings, I fear for them.

27 @ Puma:
    Is your player base and player depth so good…. or is your coach so good?

Think carefully…. very carefully, about it!

With the players you have had and still do have for next year, you should have been Super Rugby AND Currie Cup champs…. easily!

I honestly just can not see Kings winning a game next year. Well if the relegation game against the Cheetahs was anything to go by.

Just imagine the Kings against the Chiefs? Oh bugger, I really can’t. And they have Chiefs at home in PE????? Gonna get a massive hiding. I fear for them truly. They not ready for Super Rugby at all.

Total 36 users including 0 member, 36 guests, 0 bot online