Herewith a team by team breakdown of the selected sides for this weekend’s Currie Cup Premier Division Semi-final matches.

Vodacom Blue Bulls:

Vodacom Blue Bulls coach Pine Pienaar made no changes to his side that beat the MTN Lions last weekend for their Absa Currie Cup semi-finals clash against The Sharks in Durban.

It is the first time this season that Pienaar could name the same 22 on consecutive weekends and the coach feels that this could help them carry some momentum into Saturday’s showdown.

“Nothing that happened during the normal part of the competition will matter on Saturday. This will be about 80 minutes and who executes best. It is nice to know that we have some momentum with us, following the return of our Springboks and the way they came into the team,” Pienaar said.

“We finished well last weekend and will be looking to continue with that. We will have to start well, as the Sharks have proved many times that they know how to close out games when leading on the scoreboard.”

Vodacom Blue Bulls captain, Dewald Potgieter, points to the fact that at least half of the squad has won the Currie Cup in their careers.

“We know what a special effort will be needed to go all the way. We have been with our back against the walls for long spells this season, but responded every time, which is typical of the characters you find in this squad. They won’t quit and that will be the mind-set again this weekend against a team that is well respected, but not unbeatable.”

Blue Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Dewald Potgieter (Captain), 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Mornè Mellett.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 CJ Stander, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Dean Greyling.

DHL Western Province:

Springbok captain Jean de Villiers has become the third Western Province international this week to be ruled out of their Currie Cup semifinal encounter with the Golden Lions on Saturday.

De Villiers, will miss the remainder of the 2012 Absa Currie Cup with a Grade One hamstring strain, but he is not considered doubtful for the Springboks’ year-end tour of Ireland, Scotland and England next month.

The WP and Bok skipper was sent for a scan on Wednesday afternoon after being forced to withdraw from this weekend’s Currie Cup semifinal clash against the MTN Golden Lions.

After consultation with the WP team doctor, Dr Arthur Williams, and further advice from a specialist, De Villiers faces a three-week lay-off and is replaced by Marcel Brache in midfield.

He joins fellow Boks Andries Bekker (toe) and Tiaan Liebenberg (back) on the sidelines.

Flank and stand-in captain Deon Fourie admitted it is disappointing to lose players of that quality.

“It’s not ideal but it’s happened to us many times this year, so it’s not strange to us,” Fourie said.

WP head coach Allister Coetzee made four changes to the side that defeated the Free State Cheetahs last weekend.

Lock De Kock Steenkamp, hooker Siyabonga Ntubeni and inside centre Marcel Brache come in for the injured Bok trio.

“Fortunately De Kock Steenkamp, Scarra Ntubeni and Marcel aren’t strangers to our systems,” said Coetzee.

“They’ve always played well when given a chance and now they have a chance to start again.”

The final change to the WP line-up sees Gio Aplon take over at fullback from Joe Pietersen, the latter dropping down to the bench where he is joined by Deon Carstens, Wilhelm van der Sluys and Damian de Allende who come into the matchday 22 this week.

Looking ahead to Saturday, and facing the defending champion Lions on their own turf, Coetzee added: “They are the champions and a few players who did not play against the Bulls are returning from injury. They’ll be even stronger (come this Saturday).”

Western Province: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Don Armand, 6 Deon Fourie (Captain), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Deon Carstens, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Damian de Allende, 22 Joe Pietersen.

Date: Saturday 20 October
Venue: Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 19:10 SA Time (18:10 GMT)
Referee: Marius Jonker
Assistant referees: Sindile Mayende, Stefan Breytenbach
TMO: Johann Meuwesen

The Sharks

Jean Deysel will win his 50 Absa Currie Cup cap for The Sharks in Saturday’s semi-final when they host the Blue Bulls at Mr Price KINGS PARK for the 4.30pm kick-off.

He is one of a host of Springboks who will feature – for both teams.

In changes to last week’s side, JP Pietersen shifts to the right wing in place of Odwa Ndungane who picked up an ankle injury against Griquas last weekend and hasn’t come through a late fitness test. Jacques Botes, another player under an injury cloud (back), also failed to make it through and will miss out this week. The third player facing a late decision was Steven Sykes who has been bracketed in with Peet Marais on the bench.

After playing off the bench last weekend, the Springbok duo of Lwazi Mvovo and Jannie du Plessis start this week, while Beast Mtawarira and Willem Alberts, who were rested last week following their heavy workload in the Castle Rugby Championship, have been recalled and will feature off the bench.

“We’re starting Jannie, it’s a big game and he had some Currie Cup action last week,” explains coach John Plumtree of the changes he’s made. “He’ll be partnered by Dale Chadwick and Kyle Cooper, and then we have a whole front row on the bench with Craig Burden, Beast and Wiehahn Herbst. It could be wet and having Willem Alberts and someone with experience like Steven Sykes on the bench will be important because how we finish the game off could be vital.

“There were a lot of choices, but I don’t think we could ignore what the guys have achieved without the guys who are now back. And we also couldn’t ignore the importance of experience.

“Everyone is just really excited.”

The Sharks:  15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Keegan Daniel (Captain), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Jandre Marais, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Dale Chadwick
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Steven Sykes / Peet Marais, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Meyer Bosman.

MTN Golden Lions

The Golden Lions Rugby Union announced the MTN Golden Lions team to play DHL Western Province on Saturday, 20 October 2012 in the second semi-final match of the 2012 Absa Currie Cup competition.

There are eleven changes to the starting line up who played the Bulls last weekend:

1. JC Janse van Rensburg returns to Loose Head Prop in place of CJ van der Linde
  2. Jacobie Adriaanse replaces Pat Cilliers at Tight Head Prop
  3. Franco van der Merwe returns to the starting line up at Lock in place of Paul Willemse
  4. Cobus Grobbelaar replaces Jaco Kriel at Openside Flank
  5. Jaco Kriel starts at Blindside Flank in place of Derick Minnie
  6. Warren Whiteley replaces Willie Britz at Number Eight
  7. Michael Bondesio starts at Scrumhalf in place of Ross Cronje
  8. Elton Jantjies replaces Butch James at Flyhalf
  9. Jaco Taute starts in place of Deon van Rensburg at Outside Centre
  10. Ruan Combrinck moves from Fullback to Right Wing to replace Deon Helberg
  11. Andries Coetzee starts at Fullback

On the bench there are six changes:

1. CJ van der Linde or Pat Cilliers will start at Replacement Prop in place of Jacobie Adriaanse. The final decision will be made on Thursday
  2. Hendrik Roodt replaces Franco van der Merwe at Utility Forward while Franco moves to the starting line up
  3. Derick Minnie plays at Utility Forward in place of Warren Whiteley
  4. Ross Cronje is at Replacement Scrumhalf in place of Whestley Moolman
  5. Butch James slots into Utility Back in place of Elton Jantjies who starts this week
  6. Deon Helberg is at Utility Back in place of Lionel Mapoe

This match will serve as Cobus “Baywatch” Grobbelaar’s Benefit Match ahead of his retirement. Following his many years of loyal service, Grobbelaar will be given a percentage of the gate takings from Saturday’s semi final match.

Golden Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach / Dylan des Fountain, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Jaco Kriel, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg (Captain)
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 CJ van der Linde / Pat Cilliers, 18 Hendrik Roodt, 19 Derick Minnie, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Butch James, 22 Deon Helberg.

47 Responses to Currie Cup: This Week’s Semi-final teams (20 October)

So, Jean de Villiers is also crocked for WP.

This is the team i think should play on Saturday Also taking into account one or 2 injury concerns and not being sure if those players will be ready to play or not I believe we need a big mobile fast and very strong heavy bench,

Some might say i am mad to want to put Odwa in place of Mvovo? but with the rain forcast and the form Odwa is in?? and Odwa is strong under the HIgh ball?? no brainer really.

Here is my team:
    15 Ludick 14 JPP 13 Jordaan 12 Whitehead 11 Odwa/Mvovo 10 Lambie 09 Reinach 08 Daniel 07 Deysel 06 Coetzee 05 Bresler 04 Jandre 03 Jannie 02 Burden 01 Beast

16 Cooper 17 Herbst 18 Alberts 19 PSDT/Tera Mtembu 20 Mcleod 21 Bosman 22
    Mvovo/Odwa/Viljoen

Unless PLum goes for a 5-2 split as is normally the case against the Bulls. Bench would then be Cooper, Herbst, Sykes (I hear he might be ready after injury), Alberts, PSDT, Mcleod, Bosman

I know i have Odwa at 11 but thats purely because he would play in place of Mvovo, obviously if Odwa does play he and JPP would swop around.

Also if Sykes is still injured bring in Peet Marais, brother of Jandre, big strong mobile lock. but he is fast and defends very well.

2 @ Sharks_forever:
    Odwa is injured, ankle injury!

@ grootblousmile: He will be doing a late fitness test tomorrow Rudi, Thats why i have Mvovo’s name next to Odwa’s 😉

Jean de Villiers is out for the rest of the Currie Cup with a Grade One hamstring strain, but he is not considered doubtful for the EOYT.

bAD TOSAY THIS BUT IT COULD FREE hEYNECKES HAND IF HE CAN MISS THE eoyt
    He did not inspire ME, maybe someone else.
    Sorry Caps was on

It will be a Bulls / Lions final.

@ Loosehead: Nothing better than everyone writing the Sharks off 😉

8 @ Sharks_forever:
    No disrespect, but when you look at how the Bulls played last weekend [against the Lions second stringers I know] they are almost unstoppable.

You compare the Sharks to the LIons second stringers?? and also having to play the Sharks in Durban?? eish boet, wanna share some of that strong shit ur smoking :mrgreen: 😆

10 @ Sharks_forever:
    Were the Sharks not meant to announce their team yesterday, like the rest of the competitors? Or are they still locked in the Rudolph Strauli days of announcing a team and then changing it just before kick off? Cnuts, the lot of them The-Incredible-Hulk

Rudi if you are watching?? here is the Sharks team…

18 October 2012 (12:26) – Jean Deysel will win his 50 Absa Currie Cup cap for The Sharks in Saturday’s semi-final when they host the Blue Bulls at Mr Price KINGS PARK for the 4.30pm kick-off.
    He is one of a host of Springboks who will feature – for both teams.

In changes to last week’s side, JP Pietersen shifts to the right wing in place of Odwa Ndungane who picked up an ankle injury against Griquas last weekend and hasn’t come through a late fitness test. Jacques Botes, another player under an injury cloud (back), also failed to make it through and will miss out this week. The third player facing a late decision was Steven Sykes who has been bracketed in with Peet Marais on the bench.

After playing off the bench last weekend, the Springbok duo of Lwazi Mvovo and Jannie du Plessis start this week, while Beast Mtawarira and Willem Alberts, who were rested last week following their heavy workload in the Castle Rugby Championship, have been recalled and will feature off the bench.

“We’re starting Jannie, it’s a big game and he had some Currie Cup action last week,” explains coach John Plumtree of the changes he’s made. “He’ll be partnered by Dale Chadwick and Kyle Cooper, and then we have a whole front row on the bench with Craig Burden, Beast and Wiehahn Herbst. It could be wet and having Willem Alberts and someone with experience like Steven Sykes on the bench will be important because how we finish the game off could be vital.

“There were a lot of choices, but I don’t think we could ignore what the guys have achieved without the guys who are now back. And we also couldn’t ignore the importance of experience.

“Everyone is just really excited.”

The Sharks

15. Louis Ludik
    14. JP Pietersen
    13. Paul Jordaan
    12. Tim Whitehead
    11. Lwazi Mvovo
    10. Pat Lambie
    9. Cobus Reinach
    8. Keegan Daniel (Capt)
    7. Jean Deysel
    6. Marcell Coetzee
    5. Anton Bresler
    4. Jandre Marais
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    2. Kyle Cooper
    1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements
    16. Craig Burden
    17. Tendai Mtawarira
    18. Wiehahn Herbst
    19. Steven Sykes / Peet Marais
    20. Willem Alberts
    21. Charl McLeod
    22. Meyer Bosman

12 @ Sharks_forever:
    Strong squad of 22… but surprising 15 starting.

Some chinks in the starting 15’s armour…. 2 out of the 3 in the front row are average, both locks are average at best, great loosies… freegin awesome backline. Strong bench with 6 Springboks manning it.

Going to be bloody difficult for the Blue Bulls, their defence will have to be spot-on and intensity and passion levels will have to be sky-high!

@ grootblousmile: Boet even though i agree, the Sharks front row will be just fine, Cooper is in excellent form and a stronger scrummager than Burden.

Chadwick is a very good scrummager, just useless in defending and ball carrying.

Those Locks are very strong and probably of the best defensive locks we have in SA, and with the expected weather?? i reckon they will do just fine.

It is the bench however i think that gives us the edge?? albeit a small edge, that is a very big strong and experienced bench, So that for me says a lot.

For me the Sharks must not fall into the trap and try playing the bulls style by kicking ball away with continuous up and unders, well kick out if in own 22, dont play there, other then that sharks must pressure bulls with big defense and keep the ball in hand.

Boet this match will be a humddinger, it is such a pity about all the rain expected.

I am glad though the team has been practicing everyday in the rain, up and unders were pouring down

just picture this:
    we may have the following scenario by next year ….
    the winners of the cc (lions) aint playing superrugby,
    whilst a team from the vodacom cup (cheetahs) is!!
    if it does come true, then let me be the first to say ..
    well done SARU, very well done!! Crazy

add to that, a team that NEVER played cc in superrugby, lol

#16, 17
    and no,
    i dont expect wp to go beyond this weekend!

16 @ ashley:

Sjoe Ash, you really think that the EP Cnuts will be in the CC next year at the expense of the Vrystaat?

I am going to support the Lions on Saturday. Disapproval

14 & 15 @ Sharks_forever:
    Dang, you guys are confident… guess your team just needs to pitch up at Kings Park to go through… with that EXCELLENT FRONT ROW and EXCELLENT LOCKS!

However, the Rugby ball has an odd shape… and sometimes bounces funny…. last time out there was a 1-point difference in the rain at Kings Park.

That said, the Sharks are favourites to win, at home, with a better domestic record this season… and the Blue Bulls not having such a stellar season in the Currie Cup.

wanted to go dance this weekend … funny thing is they dont ask for id’s anymore … they just asked whether i’ve seen wp win the cc in my lifetime … when i said yes, they turned me away because “i was to old”!!! Cry

loosehead @ 19
    no, i dont believe so … but this (at this point in time) is a scenario that actually show the way SARU operates!!

21 @ ashley:
    Talking about too old… I have my 30th Matric Reunion on Saturday….. eishhhhh

loosehead @ 19
    read #18

gbs @ 23
    bliksem!! lewe daar nog mense wat saam met jou matriek was??? Amazed

16 @ ashley:
    Hello Ash, well up until last weekend I had to read in blogland about how useless my team was and why should they be competing in Super rugby next year as they would be facing possible relegation, guess most of it was in jest but still annoyingly so, people have short memories…who made it to the knockout stage of this years SUPER rugby and were the 2nd best team on the log in SA conference. Anyway thats all academic now as we are playing in Durban on Saturday and its the Free State facing relegation – do feel as always in these situations sorry for the team who looses out fans.

Also not stricty true what you say about a team possibly from the Vodacom cup (Cheetahs) playing Super rugby, firstly the relegation match involves the Free State currie cup team, not the Cheetahs franchise and as you know Griquas forms part of that franchise and are still in the Premier section of the currie cup. Also its not for relegation to the Vodacom Cup its to the b section (or whatever they call it) of the Currie Cup. I know am being lekker petty hey just because I can Tounge-Out

17 @ ashley:
    Presume you mean the Kings Ash, is there not a subtle difference between them in Super rugby with EP, Border SWD making up the franchise, whereas the team playing for Currie Cup promotion is EP. Will there be any players from Border and SWD playing for the Kings franchise in Super rugby next year? Haven’t watched those teams for ageas so not sure which of if any of their players would be good enough to make the team.

17 @ ashley:
    What level of competition did Western Force and the Melbourne Rebels play in before they played Super rugby… Pondering

bullscot @ 28
    are you poking holes in MY argument? how dare you!!! Pleasure

25 @ ashley:
    So klompie, ja…. hehehe

Ons was ‘n gesonde klas, goeie atlete en rugbyspelers… en die wat nog lewe het klaarblyklik goeie mediese skemas gehad…. hahaha

Flok, ons was 320 Matrieks in 1982!

(Jy vergeet, Tripples wat ook saam met my was, lewe ook nog…. hel ons Hoof, Fanus Booysen – ‘n vriend van Pietman, lewe ook nog)

Total 54 users including 0 member, 54 guests, 0 bot online