There was a buzz at Loftus today as thousands gathered to watch the afternoon open practice session on Loftus main field. Fathers, mothers and heaps and heaps of children attended to watch Heyneke Meyer’s squad of 30 go through their paces. My son, BonzaiGBS, was our resident photographer and took hundreds of photographs.

There’s some good news and some bad news, I’m wondering which you want to hear first….

Well, to keep the suspence, I’ll start with the bad news!

7 Springbok players of the 30-man squad did not take part in training today… well 5 actually, with 2 players taking part for only a very short duration.

3 Of the Springbok squad who were involved in Currie Cup action this past weekend were sidelined with niggles. Coenie Oosthuizen who played 35 minutes in the Free State Cheetahs loss to the Blue Bulls on Saturday told this web site that he was generally stiff and a bit uncomfortable but should be ready in the week. Lwazi Mvovo had his slops on and was clearly uncomfortable due to a hamstring problem but the Springbok doctor was sure it was just a niggle.

Jacques Potgieter took limited part in training before pulling up with a groin strain which he already felt after the Blue Bulls game.

3 Springboks not involved in the Currie Cup also did not train at all, namely Flip van der Merwe who apparently has a slight calf strain, Francois Steyn who rolled an ankle in the first 5 minutes of the morning training session and who sported crutches but he should be OK to go on Saturday after scans indicated no real concern. Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira was absent from training. apparently suffering from flu.

Now for the biggie…. Johan Goosen… he took limited part in training, barefoot, sporting a left heel injury (the foot he has to plant when kicking at goal and not the golden kicking foot), whereafter his foot was strapped up to some or other machine, probably intentioned to massage the foot and to keep swelling at a minimum.

Now for the good news…. the other Springboks were on fire and the team spirit is quite evident, lots of on-field communication, and lots of dedication evident… the moves coming off like a dream.

Heyneke Meyer spoke to the number of journalists out there and he was positive and happy.

Of course the first questions one would expect from a flee-bag bunch of journalists, would be regarding Morné Steyn… and on one such question regarding why Morné Steyn was not left out of the squad in total following Heyneke Meyer’s contention after the All Blacks Test that he needs rest, an interesting answer was given indeed. If Morné had been left out of the squad it would simply have meant that he was immediately available for Currie Cup duty, which would then of course mean he would not get any rest and would surely be played. The suggestion was made by Heyneke Meyer that he would get more rest at the Springboks, should he not be chosen to play in the next two Tests. Take that as you may, but to me it indicates that Morné Steyn might just be rested this weekend or sit on the bench…. if Johan Goosen’s heel injury is not deemed an impediment to him starting and playing. Am I reading too much in a statement like that?

It is clear that the team and coaching staff are happy to be back in South Africa and it is also clear that they all feel that there is movement in the right direction.

Jaco Taute was running in Francois Steyn’s place at inside centre during training, although it must be said that it is extremely hard to gather who would be starters for Saturday, as the players were interchanged regulary with one another.

Shortly before the end of practice Ruan Pienaar and a minute or two later Jannie du Plessis, joined the rest of the Old Grey sick report squad on the sidelines, with no less than 5 Old Grey’s (former learners of Grey College in Bloemfontein) sitting out the end of practice… Francois Steyn, Jannie du Plessis, Ruan Pienaar, Coenie Oosthuizen and of course Johan Goosen.

During the signing session afterwards, Jean de Villiers had an ice pack strapped on, Jannie du Plessis sported 2 ice packs.

As is customary, the Springboks were ALL available for autographs and photographs with fans afterwards, and as is customary they were all friendly and down to earth with all the requests for their prized sigantures on caps, jerseys, hats, T-shirts… one lady in a wheel chair even presented her broken leg’s cast to be signed by all and sundry.

These Springboks proudly represent their Country and they are doing it with dignity and grace…. I will keep supporting such a lot of fabulous sportsmen!

Will see if I can select a number of photographs, taken by our photographer to add to this Article, a bit later.

Gooooooooo Springboks!

32 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Springbok training report for Monday

Thank you very much for this report. Very interesting.

1 @ leon:
    Plesier Leon… dit was vir my lekker om daar te wees… en nou met julle te deel.

Ja, gaardie verslaggewers. Hulle haat Morne nou. Plaas van ondersteun kritiseer hulle net.

Great to read things sound so upbeat there from Loftus thanks GBS, sounds like you enjoyed it. Pity about the injuries you mention, had this been the weekend after a test you may have expected various minor bumps and bruises but at this stage with more than a week since the last test they are more of a concern I think. Have been saying for the better part of a year that Morne Steyn has been overplayed so had he been ommitted from the squad to rest it would have been disapointing if he wasn’t granted that rest period.

@ leon:
    Die enigste ouens wat morne mag kritiseer is ons die fans wat 600 rand n maand vir dstv betaal en rugby kaartjies koop en wat club rugby gespeel het omdat ons lief is vir die game…

@ smallies:
    Jip. Ek stem saam. Ek praat daar spesifiek van joernaliste wat spelers persoonlik aanval. Joernaliste moet baie meer profesioneel wees.

Fark, reads like a military hospital on the edge of the Somme in the first world war the day the troops were sent over the edge!

Hope they come right in the next few days. Go Bokke

Oh, and just some clarity on Heyneke Meyer and his Walkie Talkie…

I was chatting to Bokke Manager, Ian Schwartz, who sits next to Heyneke in the Press Box.

He says thet Heyneke is a passionate guys and has always done this… but in context, what Heyneke apprears to be shouting into the Walkie Talkie is mostly positive reinforcement like “You’ve got them now, keep the pressure up” and such similar stuff.

Puts a new perspective on things!

How does the old Indian saying go… “Don’t criticize a man unless you’ve walked a mile in his moccasins”

7 @ Just For Kicks:
    Niggles should be mostly gone by tomorrow…. Flip also indicated to us that he was OK, and it was just precautionary.

They looking good on the pitch… was standing right next to the touchline and the intensity and speed at which things are done is MUCH, MUCH more evident from there.

Quite impressed, the players know exactly what is expected, know the drills… and doing everything 100%.

Interesting from Heyneke is that there’s about 94 calls on the field for plays and situations, so rightly he says that because of that it takes time to phase a newcomer into the system and all these calls.

Pieter de Villiers (Ex French prop) is quite involved in training, so too Van Graan, Carzis… and Heyneke directs everything from vantage point right in between the players ON the field… a real hands on man.

Well done on your pick Rudi, I see you are off the bottom of the Log this weekend. Even I, with my terrible record have rocketed up into the top half.

Rockstar baby!!!

Who-s-the-man Who-s-the-man Who-s-the-man

@ grootblousmile:Sounds like you had an awesome day

11 @ Just For Kicks:
    Was good!

BonzaiGBS is busy having a look at all his pics…. will also go through it and select a few prize ones, then put them up here

10 @ BobbejanklimdiebergStormersboySpringbokJan:
    Fark… did I have a good week on Bru… surely you jest!

After Saturdays match at Loftus, I went to the one Hospitality Box where Rugby Freak (who plays in some of our Pools) and his friends were gathered….

Showed them how to drink Tequila…. hahaha

Also enjoyed a few Old Brown Sherries.

Good folk!

Ja look I cant talk. If I hadn’t gotten my picks 100% with some margins (by some stroke of strange luck) I would have been right there with him.

Still time.

Sounds like a good day. It was an enjoyable game to watch I must say. Arno Botha impressed me, as did Rhule. Some nice young talent coming through.

15 @ BobbejanklimdiebergStormersboySpringbokJan:
    On Currie Cup Bru, I’m lying 47 of 56 in our Rugby-Talk pool… but I’m boyed by the fact that there are 9 under me….one of which is Gena_ZA, who won one of our pools this year… think it was Super Rugby.

This Currie Cup is completely unpredictable!

16 @ BobbejanklimdiebergStormersboySpringbokJan:
    Yip, Rhule and Arno Botha is outstanding!

Was also impressed with Morné Mellett, the Bulls prop, who got man of the match

See you on the flip-side… time to go in

Meyer refuses to bow to pressure

By Ken Borland

Pretoria – South Africa’s under-fire flyhalf Morne Steyn could keep his place in the side to face Australia on Saturday in the Rugby Championship following injuries to Francois Steyn and Johan Goosen.

Morne Steyn missed 11 points with wayward kicks when South Africa lost 21-11 to the All Blacks in Dunedin on September 15 but his obvious replacement Goosen has a bruised heel.

The 20-year-old took part in some training in Pretoria on Monday, albeit barefoot.

Goosen’s injury, and the possibility that the Springboks will lose 53 caps worth of experience at inside centre if Francois Steyn cannot play, could delay what seems an inevitable changing of the guard.

“You obviously want to give players a break when they are fatigued, but if I hadn’t called Morne Steyn into the test squad then he would play Currie Cup for the Bulls,” coach Heyneke Meyer told journalists at Loftus Versfeld on Monday.

“The pressure won’t go away for him, the Bulls are also under pressure. It’s best to keep him involved with us, he’s taken a lot of criticism, but you’re still working with a human being and I can see that he is himself again back at home.

“I’m not just going to throw Morne away, he just kicked badly and Johan is not 100 percent and I’ve been bringing him through slowly. If I bowed to public pressure, then I would change the team every week.

“You can’t just throw a whole bunch of 20-year-olds in against the Wallabies and All Blacks, they’ll be slaughtered, and I won’t push anyone unless they are 100 percent ready,” the coach added.

Francois Steyn injured his ankle and was on crutches as the squad practised, but team doctor Craig Roberts said a decision on the 25-year-old World Cup winner’s availability would be made on Tuesday or Wednesday.

Having drawn with Argentina and lost to Australia and New Zealand on the road in their last three matches, South Africa take on the Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld in a last-ditch effort to stay in contention.

Meyer was confident his team could take the spoils against Australia despite a 26-19 defeat in Perth on September 8, after the Springboks failed to turn pressure into points.

“It will definitely be different playing Australia here compared to Perth, where we should have won,” he said.

“In the past we’ve done well against them at home and I have a good feeling about this team, it’s definitely developing, there’s a great vibe.” – Reuters

The sad thing here is:
    Goose injured, Stain plays, Aussies NEVER do well at Roftus, Boks win, all good, Satin for President, nothing wrong with Bok rugby, then we play New Zealand.

@ Loosehead:Satin = Stain. My most sincere apologies Tears

21 @ Loosehead:
    The 7 Springbok injuries or niggles (that of Johan Goosen included), does not look too bad, that said Johan Goosen did not walk on his left heel yesterday but rather walked on his left foot’s toes, so the heel bruising could be a bit of a problem.

Let’s hope it’s not an achilles tendon injury, because we all know how long that type of injury takes to heal.

22 @ Loosehead:
    At least you didn’t make a mistake and spell satin with an “a” instead of an “i”.

That would have gotten you into Grooot K@K.

Hello all, this is quite early in the week – Blue Bulls team already announced: 15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Louis Fouchè/Lionel Cronjè, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Mornè Mellett.
    Replacements: 16 Bongo Mbonambi, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Grant Hattingh, 19 Warwick Tecklenburg, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Lionel Cronjè/Willie du Plessis, 22 Ulrich Beyers.

Will Lionel Cronje finally get his start at 10 in the Currie Cup? Depends on whether Fouche recovers from injury it seems.

26 @ BullscotBok:
    On Saturday evening after the Blue Bulls / Cheetahs match, Pine Pienaar told us that Louis Fouché was sore….

So, yesterday before the Bokke practice at Loftus, BonzaiGBS and myself were sitting at the table next to the one where Bryan Habana, Juan de Jongh, Crusty & Clayton Blommetjies sat… joined a bit later by Lionel Cronjé (at Trademarx Restaurant at Loftus B-Field).

I asked Lionel about Louis Fouché’s injury and he confirrmed Louis was still not well but that a call will only be made later in the week regarding flyhalf.

It seems that Johan Goosen ran in the “Shadow Starting Lineup” at flyhalf for the Springboks today at training, with Morné Steyn carrying and opposing with the tackle bag against him.

So, maybe the prayers of a huge amount of Bokke supporters will be answered…. and of course giving credence to the way I summed the situation up yesterday after Heyneke Meyer spoke to us.

Hope his heel holds up well and is OK.

Fransie Steyn still did not train today… and it also seemed that Eben Etzebeth and Andries Bekker ran in the shadow Bokke locks… pity because I prefer Juandré Kruger far above Langbek.

27 @ grootblousmile:
    Ok cheers for that GBS, must have been good to get such close access to the players, when you were speaking to Lionel Cronje did you get the idea that he was feeling frustrated at his position in the pecking order or not? Have yet to see him play but he sure went to WP with a lot of hype as a youngster so it will be interesting to hear how good he really is and hopefully he can do the hype justice at the Bulls.

29 @ BullscotBok:
    Lionel looked quite content with the situation.

Total 82 users including 0 member, 82 guests, 0 bot online