Pumas (13) 16 / 16 (3) Springboks (Final Score)

The Argentinian Pumas and South African Springboks did battle in The Rugby Championships at Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza at 21:10 SA Time (16:10 ARG Time, 19:10 GMT).

Pumas:

• Penalties – Martín Rodríguez (3)
  • Tries – Santiago Fernández (1)
  • Conversions – Martín Rodríguez (1)

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (3)
  • Tries – Frans Steyn (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (1)

Argentina: 15 Martín Rodríguez, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernández, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Nicolas Vergallo, 8 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 7 Álvaro Galindo, 6 Julio Farias Cabello, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guiñazu, 1 Rodrigo Roncero.
Replacements: 16 Bruno Postiglioni, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Leonardo Senatore, 19 Tomás Leonardi, 20 Martín Landajo, 21 Lucas González Amorosino, 22 Juan Imhoff.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

Date: Saturday 25 August 2012
Kick-off: Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza
Venue: 21:10 SA Time (16:10 ARG Time, 19:10 GMT)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a high of 12°C, dropping to 2°C, a light breeze and a 35% chance of rain.
Assistant referees: Jérôme Garces (France), John Lacey (Ireland)
TMO: Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)

316 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Argentina vs South Africa – Live Game Article

i am ashamed, look lets be honest i am one of the guys back in 2007/8 who cried foul when HM was not apointed. Now if this is what HM has in mind i wish his speedy exit. Sorry this is ugly, this is not what i want to waste my time on.
    The man had the opportunity to bring in almost anyone, but he chose to pick his “ja Broer” staff from the Bulls. Well i really hope there is something hidden, maybe this is a massive decoy.

256 @ Piet-Springbok-Jan:
    Jeez Piet,

I have no idea. My heart feels sore to see our Boks playing so bad. We looked terrible out there. Worst performance from us in many years.

All Blacks will SLAUGHTER US. Oz will beat us too. We have no game plan what so ever. We looked totally clueless out there.

Ruan for a starters, has to start. Bekker is not up to standard. We had better hope that JPP can tour also that we get Kanko back or bring in CJ Stander. But heck we need a better game plan. Looked like we had been in isolation for 20 years and had no idea how to play rugby…hahaha. No laughing matter but we had no idea out there.

Just feel heart sore to see us playing such a useless game plan. It does not work.

253 @ grootblouBokJan:
    So are we expected to “toe the line” and bow down?

Agree, credit to the Puma’s, GBS, is there was some improvement in the second half, it was marginal. Bursts of energy every now and then. But for a charge down, we would have lost. So we managed to go through a few phases every now and then We managed to pass the ball down the line every now and then, heck, we even managed a skip pass or two – admittedly on overlaps. Perhaps thats what Naas means by creativity. No, there was no good rugby there. Puma’s are NOT a good side. We made them look good because we were so bad, and played right into their hands.

Meyer should get Carlos Spencer in. He got the Lions backline playing brilliant. For now he is without a job. We should not walk but run to get him in to help out this terrible utter mess of a game plan we play.

273 @ Scrumdown:
    No, you’re supposed to act reasonably… this is Rugby-Talk

I actually expected the Boks to come out in the second half as a different team and win convincingly. In the end we sneaked a lucky draw.

265 @ Gobble_BokJan:I’ve eaten enough humble pie for a lifetime. I retract every statement I made this morning! But hell, I thought the Boks were better than this. We will get a real measure of how poor we are when the AB’s play the Puma’s

Nick Mallet is as cross as a Honey Badger attacking a Rhinkals. Hehehe.

Come and coach the Cheetahs Nick. FFS. SS don’t appreciate you!

Guscott, Gibbs and Percy alluding to ‘lack of leadership’.
    Boks lucky not to have been carded (Flip).

Fark, we need Nick Mallet back. Is he the only one who can see the problem

We never at any stage looked like we could beat the Pumas. It was just our hopes and expectations that things would change. The Pumas are a very limited side. They are tigerish on defense and great spoilers and play on the margin of illegal, but they are not a team that play winning rugby. They play spoiling, niggling rugby. We should know that and adapt to it.

@ Piet-Springbok-Jan:
    Jip, ek stem saam maar die bokke was heeltyd onder druk. Bokke kon glad hulle gameplan afdruk nie.

Well the studio is cooking, never heard so much criticism after a game.

284 @ superbokspringJan:
    It’s right… they MUST criticize!

276 @ grootblouBokJan:
    “Reasonably” is a relative term. If I was to put my ISO auditors hat on I would have to deduce that I was not “unreasonable” in any of my comments, and can draw a “reasonable” comparison to all of them.

But as I said earlier, “all to their own”.

It will take an AWFUL AMOUNT OF GOODWILL from SARU before I’ll give them a good word again. They have no honour and their word counts for NOTHING.

It’s not about the Lions in SR, but about SARU’s INABILITY to keep to their word.

If my keeping to my principals is a problem, then so be it.

Mallet would have been the best coach, but unfortunately he had already burnt his bridges with SARU. HM is the best we’ve got. He just has to be made to realise that he can’t motivate every player to play well. He has to pick the right players first.

Well we can kiss the RC goodbye. That is for sure. All Blacks will beat Arg home and away and probably pick up a bonus point both times against them. They will beat us in Dunedin and probably at FNB too. I thought we would be leveling pegging by then and it would be up to that game at FNB. Thought we could beat them there. BUT HECK NO we will never beat them. Not ever. We were even better last year.

Should try and play the Sharks Super15 off-loading game plan. Meyer needs to speak to all the rugby brains we have in sa right now. Speak to Plum, Sharks got it right at the end. I know we lost in the final but we had travelled the world by then. That game plan worked very, very well. That means we definitely need another flyhalf that can get our backs away. We will need Ruan to start too. Our centres have to stop crash balling and we need to stop this crasy kick and kick kick kick everything away and crash balling into the player. Try and off-load and find the gaps. Damn this was sad, sad to watch us play like this. Every team on earth will beat us if we keep playing like that, we will go backwards so fast.

@286
    Ek kan verstaan dat jy die moer in is broer, ek sou ook wees oor alles wat daar by die Leeuwens aangegaan het as ek jy was, maar dit help nie jy wil nou vir ou Hitler, Cheeky en die hele wereld se sosialiste hier bykom nie, LOL!

284 @ superbokspringJan:

I have not even watched that part. Have my pvr on so will watch and see what they had to say tomorrow. Just far to disappointed to hear even what they have to say.

@ PumaSpringbokJan:
    I agree with you on most things except that we will lose to every other team. No, we will beat most of the other teams, but we will lose to the teams that matter. Our wins against the inferior teams will just give HM license to carry on the same way.

279 @ Scrumdown:
    Mallett should come back and coach the Boks. I know he will not though. Damn who else do we have?

What happened to Mitchell? Was it that bad what happened at Lions? Jeez he had your team playing brilliant.

@ PumaSpringbokJan:

A full strength Sharks team would have whipped these Argies today, I am serious!!!

@ superbokspringJan:
    Appreciate hearing your report on what Mallet and co is saying as I don’t have access to that channel.

288 @ PumaSpringbokJan:
    I said before, we’ll end a distant third in the RC.

The Springboks won’t win a game in Australasia, and will really battle to win against NZ in Soweto.

All in all I can’t see the Boks winning more than 3 games in this campaign.

Ah well. Better Shut the f up. Already upset too many people today by having principals.

291 @ Gobble_BokJan:
    Which other teams will we beat? There is only Oz and All Blacks left to play. They both will smash us if we play like we done today.

We may even lose to Ireland, Scotland and England too if we play like this on the eoyt.

We in trouble if we don’t change this stupid game plan.

I wonder if our loosie combo wasn’t a large part of todays problem. To have 3 crash ball runners showed the opposition from when the team was named, how we would be playing this game.

Hierdie was ‘n skande! Was laas so skaam toe ons teen die Skotte verloor het. Die Bokke mag net teen NZ verloor. Nie Mickey Mouse spanne nie. Groen en goed moegoes!

293 @ Piet-Springbok-Jan:

With our off-loading game I think you right Piet.

Very sad to see our Boks playing this game plan. It made us look clueless and really looks like we have gone backwards by a long shot. Sad that. Even when we played in the quarter final last year we looked damn fine. Just a pity about the ref there. Ag, feel hugely disappointed seeing us play super kak rugby.

289 @ Piet-Springbok-Jan:
    So moet ek my beginsels wegsteek en soos ‘n gewoone Duitse van 1933 word?

Total 45 users including 0 member, 45 guests, 0 bot online