Keegan Daniel’s inclusion into the Springbok team at No 8 was one of five changes to the Bok side which last played against England at the end of June.

Daniel comes in for the injured Pierre Spies, and coach Heyneke Meyer said the young player would provide the team with “that X-factor”.

Sport24

“Pierre is one of the senior players and when you lose an experienced player like him it’s a big setback,” Meyer said at the team announcement here on Wednesday.

“But I’m glad for Keegan because it’s a big opportunity for him and I’d like to see him taking it with both hands.

“It is a step up for Keegan, but he has really been playing well. I am really looking forward to seeing what he can do at this level. He’s got an X-factor about him.

“It will be a hard, physical game on Saturday and we are looking to Keegan to bring that (X-factor) that can make a difference.

“He’s got to run from the back, as the No 8 covers from the back, so it’s going to be a big challenge. He was good against a physical team like the Chiefs and also against the top defensive team, the Stormers.”

Spies’s absence brings to six the number Bok loose forwards on the injury list, and Meyer said he had to carefully ponder the selection options for Saturday’s showdown.

“I did consider moving Willem Alberts to No 8 so that Jacques Potgieter could come in on the blindside flank. Such a move would have given us more ball carriers.

“But Marcell Coetzee is not a specialist openside flanker and he carries the ball a lot, so I think we are covered when it comes to big ball carriers.”

Meyer also had to make a brave call at lock. That resulted in dropping the capable Juandré Kruger, who ran the Bok lineouts against England. Andries Bekker will take over that role on Saturday.

“I had a difficult decision at lock and dropping Juandré wasn’t easy,” said Meyer.

“He is a good player and he did not let us down against England, so he is a bit unlucky. However, Andries is an extremely talented player and this game is at his home ground – Newlands – so that swayed it.

“I went with Flip van der Merwe as the cover on the bench because he’s been outstanding when he’s come [on] as a replacement in the Bulls’ matches. Also if something happened to Andries, Flip is very capable of making the lineout calls.

“There has always been a question-mark over (the fitness of) Eben (Etzebeth) and I would have opted for a 5-2 split on the bench, but with JP (Pietersen) out I could not do so.”

Two of the reserves, prop Pat Cilliers and Bulls three-quarter JJ Engelbrecht, are the new caps in the squad. Meyer said he kept an eye on their progress and felt the time was right to blood them at international level.

“It has been a while in coming, but they have both earned their places with good performances,” said Meyer.

“Pat hasn’t been playing a lot of rugby, but I am looking forward to seeing what he can do against a great pack like the Pumas have.

“We can never have enough experience and players can only gain experience by playing.”

70 Responses to Springboks: Heyneke Meyer – Keegan brings X-Factor

Looks like Heyneke Meyer was strongly considering the 5 / 2 split in the replacements, which I advocated yesterday… but he also gives his reasons why he did not do it.

Good to have a coach one can understand, believe in and reason with… intelligently!

Another thing, I hope for once the Nation now comes to terms with the fact that Heyneke does not have a Bulls bias in selections… for goodness sakes, he chose not 1 single Bull in the run-on forwards and only 3 Bulls in the run-on 15…

Compare that to 8 Sharks in the run-on 15, 6 of them forwards… plus Lambie, Ruan Pienaar (Ex Shark) and Pat Cilliers (Ex Shark) on the bench.
    There are 4 WP / Stormers in the run-on 15.

Not a single Cheetah makes the run-on side, only 1 on the bench
    Not a single Lion makes the run-on side, only 1 on the bench

With Heyneke seemingly going for X-Factor in selecting Daniel as opposed to brawn and size, coupled to the plethera of Sharks strewn about in the side, I think we need to re-examine whether the Springboks and Heyneke’s game plan and style of play will be so ultra conservative as people make Heyneke out to be or how they believe the Springboks will play under Heyneke. I think we are in for some entertainment…. and maybe some periods of brilliance by the Springboks, but still not perfect or without falter in certain aspects.

Where are those Heyneke doubters now?

I know one thing, the Sharks supporters MUST be thinking Heyneke is the best thing since sliced bread… I mean look how many of their favourite sons are playing!

@ Spooony:
    NO < NO < NO i would have removed this post if i still had the rights, Spoony this type of comment belongs at Voldy

Meyer also had to make a brave call at lock. That resulted in dropping the capable Juandré Kruger, who ran the Bok lineouts against England. Andries Bekker will take over that role on Saturday.

“I had a difficult decision at lock and dropping Juandré wasn’t easy,” said Meyer.

“He is a good player and he did not let us down against England, so he is a bit unlucky. However, Andries is an extremely talented player and this game is at his home ground – Newlands – so that swayed it.

OK read all this , close your eyes and imagine these words spoken by the previous coach, now would that make perfect sense….. if the Springbok pack is under siege from a big forward onslaught by the Pumas as we expect. Remember here we all laugh about our tallest, longest center….. To me playing the 2 semi injured locks is a clear sign of HM trying to show the SA public he is not a blind Bull coach. He is gambling with the team because he under estimates the Pumas.

“There has always been a question-mark over (the fitness of) Eben (Etzebeth) and I would have opted for a 5-2 split on the bench, but with JP (Pietersen) out I could not do so.”

Fark is he mad, read the sentence above, if Peter said something like that he would be torn apart. I dont think he is so clever saying the above, then again English is not my first language. So with my poor knowledge of the taal he says, Eben is not 100% right/fit and he would have loved to pick a backup for him.

“We can never have enough experience and players can only gain experience by playing.”

If these words were spoken by prev coach I would have jumped on his back and say, dear Mr De Villiers the Springbok team is NOT the place to train, only the very best must wear the Springbok jersey. Let them get their experience at Super rugby level.

Really my early opinion on HM is that he also need a good spokesperson, he is saying very controversial things , one thing that can save his but though is results. Just like all of us had a initial go at PdeV in year one, and all backed him after his great 2nd year when he had superb results so will HM be watched by all in SA.

OK now after my comments i read this article on News 24 by Rob Houwing

Flip on high alert for Boks
    2012-08-15 22:27

Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer
    Cape Town – It is apparently some 10 years, an era just preceding Victor Matfield’s virtual ever-presence, since there was a complete absence of Bulls players from a start-out Springbok pack.

But that will be the case on Saturday when South Africa tackle Argentina in the Castle Rugby Championship opener at Newlands, featuring an all-Sharks front row and loose trio and the Stormers pairing of Eben Etzebeth and Andries Bekker at lock.

Earlier this week, the Loftus franchise seemed sure to still have at least one representative in the shape of regular No 8 Pierre Spies, but then his injury ruled him out of the tournament.

Throw in the fact that Bekker has been preferred to Juandré Kruger for the No 5 jersey, and Bulls fans’ only consolation is three backline representatives in the form of Zane Kirchner, Morné Steyn and Francois Hougaard.

But there is further comfort in the fact that Flip van der Merwe and Jacques Potgieter will be available off the bench – with the former, in particular, clearly primed for at least some second-half involvement against the Pumas.

This is because coach Heyneke Meyer admitted at the team announcement on Wednesday that Etzebeth, the 20-year-old who has become so valuable to the cause at No 4 in a short space of time, “is not quite 100 percent fit (so) there’s a bit of a question mark”.

He said it was unfortunate omitting Kruger entirely from the match-day 22, after his full involvement in the recent England series.

Bekker and niggling back injuries are often synonymous, but in this particular instance it seems the Bok management are slightly less concerned about his readiness right now than that of his starting partner, and Van der Merwe is better suited to an Etzebeth-type role.

Meyer said: “It was a tough call there because it would have probably been easier having Juandré on the bench because you always want a five guy who can cover the lineouts and Juandré has really proved himself: I said as much to him.

“I told him it was simply a case of giving Andries a chance; that I didn’t actually ‘drop’ him (in the truest sense of the word) but wanted to see what Andries can do – and then probably stick with the best (of the two) going forward.

“But I always felt, too, that Flip brings something different off the bench; he’s been brilliant (in that capacity against England) and he was the obvious choice given Eben’s situation.”

Van der Merwe, whose 120kg also provides handy bulk if it is needed for scrums as the match develops, already boasts 14 Bok caps although he seldom starts for his country.

On that score, Meyer re-emphasised that he wanted the Boks to gradually return to their scrummaging reputation of old.

“I felt that at one stage our scrum had ceased to become as dominant as it used to be. But England have a very good scrumming pack and I thought at times in that series, especially the first Test, that we really fared well there.

“We know that Argentina have always had a very strong scrum as well – basically having a full front row on their bench doesn’t make it easier and even their hooker (Eusebio Guinazu) is actually a prop. So we need to be at our best.”

theunis.botha.96 – August 16, 2012 at 01:21

Report commentComments Policy

Eben a valuable asset for Springbok rugby. Better to rest him in order to let him recover 100%.

HEAR , hear.
    and may i add send him to the Bulls lock factory for some final adjustments and fine tuning. 😆

Also read this interpretation and with that i stop my rant and hope that Meyer did not waste time to gell his team. Hope he did not offer op continuity for some experiments in a game where he clearly underestimates the Pumas.

“Meyer has also preferred the local lock pairing of Bekker and Etzebeth, with Bulls lock Juandre Kruger dropping out of the match 22. Kruger started in the three-Test series against England because of injury to Bekker, who has recovered from injury. Meyer told the media he wanted to see Bekker in action and that in the context of the match and the opposition he felt it better to include Flip van der Merwe as the back-up lock. He said in future it would be a straight choice between Bekker and Kruger as the starting 5.

‘I thought that Juandre did brilliantly against England but this is at Newlands and I want to see what Andries can do and then stick with the best guy going forward. It’s great to have that competition in the side,’ Meyer said. ‘Juandre dropping out of the 22 altogether was tough on him but Flip has been brilliant off the bench and with Eben not 100% fit [Etzebeth has struggled with a hip injury for the last three weeks but passed a fitness Test] it made sense to have Flip there. He’ll make the lineout calls if Andries should be injured.’

Or in Pierre Spies’s Book you tell me.

@ Spooony:

Censored

@ Spooony:

I thought you were Wooden Spoon from Voldy.
    Quite obviously you are not.
    My apologies to our old rugby comrade Woody therefore.

Must say I was I bit dubious after your first week or so of posting here, judging by your continuous shyte stirring and lack of respect for other bloggers.
    And now you come up with this profane attitude on top of it all?

You have the honour, though, of being our first blesphamous blogger in three years.

Why does HM play Eben against the Pumas then?
    Why not give the boy a two week or so break, instead of putting him up against these ‘bone crushers’?

Let’s hope EE comes away from this battle unscathed; what we don’t need is another ‘Tucaman’ encounter with these wild men from the Pampas.

@10 “blasphemous” (sp., I think?)

Hierdie klong het my nou vroegoggend so de moer in, self nie seker van die spelling nie!

@ superBul:Eish, it’s good to have you back. You add a whole different perspective, and I like what I read!!!!!!

From my point of view, I think it is madness to play a player who is under an injury cloud, both from the players pov and the team perspective

12 @ Pietman:Haha, we all know what you meant!

Thanks JFK, you know i look around the web a lot, yes even at voldys. There is a much calmer blogging lately, but there is some real valid points made there. There HM is not so popular and some unreasonable comments were made. So i will not put head in the sand and follow blindly.

Reading through the first few pages i found it quite funny that the Bulls currently in the Springbok side are the most discussed and off form players in the team. Even here we questioned Morne, Zane(not me) and Hougie(not his wing play. Even the choice of Flip instead of Juandre had me wondering. JJ i like his initials , it is the same as mine, but has he proved enough to be a Springbok. Remember how Jake and Peter was taken appart for using the Bok games to try players out, to play them in form.

No sorry Mr Meyer you took the toughest job in SA and there is one thing that will save your skin, WIN, Win ,win.

My view about Jake was , and i still hate it. You dont gamble with Bok history just to be measured with a over rated WC tournament win.

haha although if there was to be a repeat of the battle of tucuman” the first guy id want next to me would be Eben.

In the words of Mr T, I pity the fool! 🙂

The next guy Id want next to me would be Ashwin. You okes all know why 🙂

tell me Im wrong! 😀

Sure, Eben won’t stand back, and that worries me!
    Even Tiaan Strauss and Mark Andrews and his cousin (the front ranker/accountant from the Cape, what was his name?) got moered all over the pitch at Tucuman( thx for correct spelling, I’m a bit doff this morning after a short night).

Of course, the rest of the Etzebeth ‘clan’ would have loved to be involved in a Tucuman scenario, if you know what I mean; they would have cleaned up that old town quicker than you are able to say ‘Epping is n gommie plek en Ruyterwacht Primary is n kuk ou skooltjie’).

(*Saw a clipping in a bar in Gansbaai the other day, Clifford in his Springbok blazer after winning the Golden Oldies Heavyweight Title in wrestling in Switzerland. Even the Gansbaai Saloon becomes a ‘larney place’ when Cliffie enters through those swinging doors….).

Keith Andrews, @17, (as I said,a bit slow over here this morning).

Btw, from your post about ‘koshuisrugby’ yesterday it sounds as if you were in the ‘Bosch’ about the same time as one of our irregular bloggers here, Pollie?
    Handre’s father, scrumhalf, also captained WP Craven’s, lives in ‘The Ville’ CY.

Haha yes that was an epic battle. Our guys were hamstrung by the fact that they were expecting the scuffles to subside after a while so they kept trying to play Rugby when it was obvious that the Argies had something entirely different planned……

Ja the prop was Keith. Nice guy, met him a few times, he was with SARS for a bit, now heads up personal Trust in CPT.

Ok ja i was there in the late 80s. Good times. Haven’t come across Pollie, but there are a bunch that I still see. Dont remember him to be honest. It was a big place. i also live in the Ville, very happy here.

Haha! Nou’t ek lekker gelag! Almal op die Tube kyk my aan asof ek mal is! Superbul en die res wat amper hartaanvalle kry. Ou Spoony, jou kakstirrer!

@ Rugbyprof:
    Bygese, godsdiens komments op ‘n rugbysite vol Bloubul fans is nou regtig vir kaksoek! Mens moet ander se gelowe darem respekteer, al voel jy nie dieselfde nie.

Sounds as if I was about 20 years ahead of you then!
    (Son lives in ‘The Ville’, offices in Valmary Park, he is next to the golf course boundry, I think the 8th hole, street mamed after some flower.
    I used to live in Kenridge (near water tower) and played rugby for the ‘Ville’ for two years at that old ‘plaaskraal’ field with light bulbs for flood lights, after being ‘dropped’ by Bellville RC……
    Nice town that, Loosehead also lives not far from the golf course.)

Spoony’s wayward comment was removed… and here’s the warning Spoony, your final warning… no shit like that, ever again!

Lekker man, where you these days?

Saudi and Dubai at the moment, until end of year contract runs out, but still have some other business to finish up in the Gulf.
    So, will be in and out of SA for a few months.
    But wife beginning to get anxious to get back to the Overberg now, can’t blame her…

Please remove my#9 as well…..ek is nie meer moerig nie, dankie. Bully

Morning everyone.

Jeez really looking forward to seeing what our Boks can do on Saturday.

Good luck to Keegan hope he has a great game.

SharkBoks had Walsh in their last two games and see he is the Ref again this week. Wow that will be 3 times in a row for them. They surely must know how he blows by now…….hehehe. Walsh must feel like a fixture in our team… well sort of..hehe.

Hope Eben comes through this game injury free and too Bekker we really do need them both for the big guns (Wallabies and ABs) later in this tourney.

Also looking forward to seeing hor Cilliers goes. Great that he is getting a chance here. Deserves it too.

23 @ grootblousmile:
    Good, because he had it coming for quit awhile now. Our good blog here was becoming more like voldy.

28 @ Puma:
    quit = quite

OK. Interesting. We have a holiday place in the Overberg, nice to get away. Get out there as often as we can.

Total 44 users including 0 member, 44 guests, 0 bot online