Will simply recapturing his metronomic best place-kicking standards against Argentina at Newlands on Saturday be enough to cement Morne Steyn’s ongoing place in the Springbok side?

Sport24

That is a million-dollar question on the lips of many observers, and obviously best answered at some point by the man who has shown undying faith in the Bulls No 10 for several years, Bok coach Heyneke Meyer.

It was an area of Steyn’s game – undoubtedly his strongest suit by reputation — that went unusually absent without leave in the recent series against England, where his place-kicking record dropped to below 60 percent.

And if Steyn is missing his shots at the posts, the argument goes, how else does he justify retention by the national team?

So the 28-year-old is probably under at least a certain amount of dual pressure in the opening Bok assignment of the Castle Rugby Championship: get his mojo off the tee back quickly and also demonstrate that he does have the broader attributes to bother the very best the southern hemisphere has to offer as the tournament roster only gets more daunting for the Boks.

Officially, at present, Steyn is unsurprisingly not feeling any special flak.

At a media briefing on Sunday, backline coach Ricardo Louscher only uttered routinely: “He’s been a professional for a long time … he will know what he needs to work on.”

Loubscher also repeated what captain Jean de Villiers had said a few days previously: that the clean-cut flyhalf had played his part in some of the tries the Boks scored against England.

Such statements may carry a ring of truth, when you replay video evidence of the three-Test series, but there’s also a case for saying you would expect your No 10 to be reasonably central to various attacking plays anyway, given his positional stationing on the park.

Interestingly, at least two critics in New Zealand, home of World Cup champions the All Blacks, chose at the weekend to pinpoint Steyn as some sort of restrictive handbrake to consistent Bok success.

Columnist and former Test bad-boy front-ranker Richard Loe said in the New Zealand Herald: “(South Africa’s) biggest selection question is over first five-eighth (flyhalf).

“If they select Morne Steyn, that will slow down their attacking play. They need a (flyhalf) who runs on to the ball and can get their backline away; they have some interesting characters in that backline … such as Frans Steyn in midfield alongside Jean de Villiers.

“That gives them some real crunch going forward and on defence – (but) having someone like Steyn at 10 also tends to rob them of the spark that can come from (scrumhalf) Francois Hougaard.”

Loe suggested, nevertheless, that the Boks still posed the biggest threat to the All Blacks in the new, four-nation event.

“As ever, South Africa will be a danger to all teams at home – even the All Blacks, I’d suggest. Because of their forwards’ shortcomings, I think the Wallabies will struggle to win either of the two Tests against the Boks.”

Similar views were expressed in the same paper by scribe Gregor Paul: “It is hard to see it being anything but a two-horse race (between the All Blacks and Boks).

“There is significant playmaking talent in the Bok squad. Pat Lambie has vision, Elton Jantjies can run and pull strings and even Frans Steyn can slip into No 10 and get the backline moving.

“SA coach Meyer is a big believer in Morne Steyn, though. Steyn is a brilliant goal-kicker, great punter and an excellent but limited tactical navigator. He delivers the basic game the Boks revel in but they will never really hurt teams with him running the show.”

That is the sort of backdrop of public scrutiny, both here and abroad, against which Morne Steyn starts the Castle Rugby Championship on Saturday.

In fairness, he has allayed fears around his general footballing finesse and vision before, and there have certainly been good periods when the Bulls have not struggled for tries in Super Rugby with him in their flyhalf slot.

But if the Boks look unacceptably sterile as an attacking force even in victory against the Pumas this weekend, you can bet Steyn’s detractors will only crank it up like never before…

40 Responses to Heat heaping on Morné!

Rightfully so… the heat heaping on Morné…

But then again, it’s only his kicking to posts, I think his general play has in fact improved, is attacking the gain line well and distributing well.

Looking at the alternatives, each one of those has an achilles heal as well… Jantjies’ defence is suspect, Lambie is off form and to my mind a better fullback, Johan Goosen is injured and very young… the rest, well they bring up the rear anyway, by a long margin as well.

Put Jantjies on 2nd half at the latest, and let’s run at them!

Or move Frans to fullback, Lambie to flyhalf, JdJ inside centre, early 2hd half, imo.

Steyn’s general play has improved, from shit to just plain kak.

If he can’t kick the goals he add’s no value at all to any team.

3 @ Pietman:
    Howzit Piet, How you doing boet?

I somehow doubt Jantjies will be on the bench. It will be Lambie as he covers 3 positions. If Morne is not cracking it then we should bring in Lambie after the half at fh and see how he goes there.

We should be trying out new things playing against Arg. I feel we will be too strong for them. Then again who knows they may surprise us. First get a big enough lead then bring in some players and see how they go.

agree, i would love to see Jantjes with a full Springbok backline still in tact, dont bring the guy up when the whole back line is replaced and disrupted.
    That is the type of disruption i talk off in my first sentence. To many changes.

Think Meyer will start with this team:

1. Beast
    2. Bissie
    3. Jannie
    4. Eben
    5. Bekker
    6. Coetzee
    7. Alberts
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10. Morne
    11. Mvovo
    12. Fransie
    13. Jean (capt)
    14. Habs
    15. Zane

With the players in the squad I would have liked to have seen Alberts 8 Coetzee 7 Kolisi 6 or Keegan 8 Alberts 7 Coetzee 6. Just don’t rate Spies. He actually did play not bad against England but once back at the Bulls he was not great. Such a pity Kanko is not there. Also don’t rate Zane much but Lambie is out of sorts from now playing hardly any rugby since the England test. His best position is fh though. So I would have him come in there. Just that there is no cover for fb. Ludik should have been selected. Huge pity he was outstanding for Sharks in the last 5 games. I would have Lambie start at fh or bring him in later and see how he goes.

I know you really believe in Lambie and will trust your house on him but tell me in all honesty . If you had Dan Carter to pick from and Lambie , who would you pick?

I know it is impossible for me to mention Morne and Dan in the same sentence but who in SA can currently play that role, the Carter role. Sadly i feel he is light years ahead of all we have to offer. The work Carlos did with Jantjes makes me happier, BUT i dont know if our Springbok coaching staff can play a game plan to suit his best qualities. We needed a Eddie Jones type coach amongst our staff. Carlos is now available , maybe someone near Heynecke must suggest him as a consultant at least.

Back to work, chat later…

What about Pienaar?
    I don’t fancy Hougie as scrummie, we might just as well call up Ricky Januarie then!

8 @ superBul:
    Well that is easy. Carter. But like TJ on Reunion says Lambie is our closest to Carter. He said that during the S15. He rated Lambie better than Freddie at the time. He is a magnificent fh. Just that he was injured and Fred took over. When Lambie came back he was undercooked for fb. Last game he played was with the Boks and just 40min for Sharks. His best position is fh NOT fb like Meyer wants us to believe. They messing with the youngster shifting him all over. Lambie will play fh for Sharks next year like he did this year until he got injured and then Plum only played him at fb to accommodate Fred and Lambie to both be on the field.

Morne was not great this year Super. Not for the Boks or Bulls.

10 @ Pietman:
    Piet…. bwaaaaahahahaha. Ricky???? bwaahaha.

Ja bru, I don’t rate Hougie as sh either. I do rate Hougie though at a wing. Would rather start with Pienaar. I really like that Cheetah scrummie. Maybe he gets a chance eoyt.

Wou nog hello se toe waai jy al weer…..jy kom soek altyd net vinnig moeilikheid en dan verkas jy!
    Wink

8 @ superBul:
    Lambie has bigger bmt than Jantjies. His defence is better too and so is his kicking game. Jantjies kicking game is not great. Kicking at poles he is very good though. Lambie is a better fh than Jantjies.

Sarel Pretorius, yes! Good call Puma.
    Pity he wasted his time down under, but it’s great to see him back.
    Watch him and The Goose later this year…

If we looking for a sh to cover Ruan it should be the Cheetahs scrummie. Not sure why he is not there. Superb sh. He can come to the Sharks anytime…….hahaha. Only joking cheetah4eva..hehe. Great sh though.

15 @ Pietman:

Not Sarel Piet. Van Zyl that played for the Cheetahs this year. He is superb. Sarel is top class too but he has fallen back by going to the Tahs. Sarel was superb last year only has to work on his defence. Still prefer Van Zyl. He is also young. Think Sarel is now 30 years old.

15 @ Pietman:
    Piet,

Sarel will be on the bench and Van Zyl will start for Cheetahs. Van Zyl should be with the Boks to cover Ruan.

Oh ok, Piet.
    Played very well at centre for Boland two seasons ago, speed to burn that oke, very versatile as well.

(Piet van Zyl, hehehehe, pity Bryce Lawrence retired…he would have shat his pants if he heard that name!)

This is where the ABs have one over us, I reckon Aaaron Cruden is just as good as Carter on current form so Carter starts and Cruden comes on if Carter has an off day, in my opinion the two best fhs in world rugby today, however as far as I know SBW is not available, so maybe that evens things out a bit. Everyone knows Dan Carter, but any thoughts out there on Aaaron Cruden?

Laters bru, time for a glass of homebrew and my Ramadaan power nap Pleasure

@ cat66:
    Ohhhh sure, AB’s a totally different story!
    Heyneke’s acid test Afraid
    This is going to be one mother of a contest, as you say, Cruden just as good.
    Pity about SBW, I wanted him up against Frans Steyn…..

The weather at Newlands, Cape Town should be bad again (like this past weekend) if the weather indications for Newlands (predicting wet and wild under the mountain) on Saturday is correct.

It seems that would be why Zane Kirchner (as out and out fullback) would be chosen, not that it would be my choice. I would have Lambie at fullback.

I’m also starting to think Hougie is simply more effective on the left wing, his conversion back to scrummie has not inspired me all that much. Ruan Pienaar… well I personally don’t like him all that much, but he’s been OK when on at scrummie against the Poms.

Seeing as the weather will be wet, maybe I’d give Morné Steyn a final go at Newlands… but he’d better improve his kicking to posts, I’m getting rather upset that he has not turned things around yet. I would far rather play him than Jantjies though, but that’s my personal opinion for now.

Sonny Bill Williams IS AVAILABLE for the All Blacks, I have put an Article up to THAT effect earlier…. he’s available at least for the 2 Wallaby Tests… then might be further available depending on Conrad Smith’s injury recovery.

OK, my mistake, I thought the Reunion guys said he was going to Japan right after the Super 15, must have heard wrong. Be nice to see him against Frans though

19 @ Pietman:
    Sorry Piet to answer this late. Just had dash out quick. Ja have to laugh forgot that P. Van Zyl has the same name as that other Piet that tackled that ref at the Tank that time. Brycie would have not liked to have heard that name for sure….hehe.

21 @ Pietman:
    Ramadaan power nap! bwaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. 🙂 🙂 That was bloody funny Piet……hahahahaha. Enjoy the homebrew bru….hehehe.

Nothing indicating that Sonny Bil will be available after the 2 Wallaby Tests yet (in other words when Conrad Smith returns from injury)…. somehow I’d rather play against him than against the wily and underrated Conrad Smith.

Sonny Bill has been largely worked out and effectively neutralised by the stronger sides and international opponents, even his off-loads in the tackle has been stemmed to a large degree… still freekishly dangerous though.

As I understand it, he went to Japan, but was now released by his Japanese Club, considering Conrad Smith’s injury… so if Smith is back, there would be no such excuse and they might not release him for the remainder of The Rugby Championship.

25 @ cat66:
    SBW is only available for ABs against their two games against Oz. Then he heads off to Japan. Pity would have enjoyed to have seen him up against Fransie.

20 @ cat66:
    Cruden is just as good as Carter right now. So they really do have one up on us there having one great fh to start and the other probably to cover on the bench well. Though think no matter how Morne plays we will have Morne until Goosen comes back from injury. Pity as we could have Lambie getting game time there and with Goosen and Lambie we will be sorted at fh too. But Meyer sees Lambie as a fb and will play him there. I feel he is a little wasted at fb to be honest. Would get more out of him at fh.

To be honest, our no 10 depth is looking very good. We have MS, who is not everyone’s favourite, but the best candidate for HM’s game plan. PL is a good bet, but he does not have the same game breaking ability as EJ, but EJ lacks the line kicking ability of PL. However, we also have BJ showing some good form in this weekend’s CC.

Then we have JG on the injury list, and when he has recovered, a real prospect to surpass the Carters and Mehrtens of this world. I believe that if he stays injury free for long enough, he would surpass even the great Hugo Porta.

Total 55 users including 0 member, 55 guests, 0 bot online