South African Rugby officials have confirmed that the Southern Kings will play Super Rugby and that the Lions will sit it out for the 2013 Super Rugby season.

This will be for one year, whereupon promotion / relegation matches will be played, home and away, between the Lions and the bottom-placed SA Super Rugby Franchise, to see who plays the following year.

Cheeky Watson says that the voting went 23-6 in favour of the Southern Kings.

“All provinces have been consistently in support of the need for an Eastern Cape team in the Vodacom Super Rugby competition – Hoskins

“Our goal is to have 6 strong franchises covering the whole of South Africa, this decision keeps all of them in play on an annual basis – Jurie Roux

Jurie Roux: “We also canvassed Super 15 players before the season, through the Players’ Association, and this was their preferred mechanism”

Southern Kings CEO, Anele Pamba, confirms that they are in discussions with overseas players and some local (non-Lions) players. They will probably reveal names next Friday.

The 1st ‘BIG ‘ signing for the Southern Kings – Demetri Catrakilis has just announced he has signed for the Kings.

Cheeky Watson is very unhappy with the outcome of the 1 year deal, and says the Southern Kings will lodge an appeal against the ruling and ask for the 3-year guarantee promised by SARU.

“We are extremely disappointed at this result,” De Klerk said.

“This is a very unfortunate decision, which will result in a team taking part in a competition without needing to qualify on rugby merits,” he said of the decision to award the Kings a place in the competition.

The Lions boss stopped short of attacking SARU in his statement, but it is very clear they are not happy.

“We will take time to consider this decision and then to plan our response that best protects our players, staff, stakeholders and supporters,” De Klerk added.

More to follow…

SARU press release

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) on Thursday confirmed South Africa’s participants in Vodacom Super Rugby at a General Meeting of the member provinces.

The top four teams in the South African Conference in 2012 (DHL Stormers, Vodacom Bulls, The Sharks and Toyota Cheetahs) will join the Southern Kings in the 2013 tournament.

The teams were confirmed after the General Meeting accepted a proposal first tabled by the Executive Council in January. The proposal was that: “The franchise occupying the lowest log position of the five franchises at the end of 2012 would be relegated.”

The MTN Lions, who finished bottom of the South African Conference, will have the chance to regain their status in 12 months’ time. The Executive Council had previously determined that the bottom team in 2013 would play in a two-legged promotion and relegation series against the relegated franchise. The promotion/relegation series will also be in place in 2014 and 2015 – at which point the broadcast contract expires.

“All rugby provinces have been consistently in support of the need for an Eastern Cape team in the Vodacom Super Rugby competition,” said Mr Oregan Hoskins, president of SARU. “That decision was first taken in 2005 but their inclusion has twice been postponed.

“We made a commitment to the Kings to include them in 2013 and rugby has delivered on that commitment. The franchise represents more clubs than any other region – apart from the Stormers – and contains numerous leading rugby schools. It has been starved of top-class rugby competition for a decade and a half and now it has the chance to show what it can do.”

Mr Hoskins said that SANZAR’s decision to grant the 15th franchise to Melbourne in 2011 – rather than the Southern Kings – had created a dilemma for SARU. He said that the organisation and players had wanted a “rugby solution” to accommodate six franchises in five places and this had been delivered, as challenging as it was for the relegated team.

“The provinces asked for a rugby solution and we believe that this was the fairest and most transparent method to respond to what is undoubtedly a less than ideal situation,” he said. “We also canvassed Vodacom Super Rugby players before the start of the season, through the Players’ Association, and this was their preferred mechanism.Jurie Roux, the CEO of SARU, said that the decision to apply a promotion and relegation system from 2013 was standard practice in sport.

“We operate promotion and relegation in all our Absa Currie Cup competitions, with the bottom-placed team being relegated unless it wins a play off,” said Roux. “Our strategic goal is to have six strong franchises covering the whole of South Africa and this decision keeps all of them in play on an annual basis.”

Cheeky’s response:

planet rugby.com

SARU announced on Thursday that the Kings would play in the 2013 Super Rugby competition, with the Lions dropping out for at least one year.

“I think it is a ludicrous decision,” Watson said after the decision was made at a SARU general council meeting in Cape Town.

“It doesn’t make sense in rugby, not in business, not in the church.

“It doesn’t make sense in any sector of society that you are sitting with a scenario that you are in Super Rugby for one year and expected to achieve.

“But I think we, as the South Eastern Cape, play the hand that we are dealt and we make the best of it.”

SARU confirmed that the promotion/relegation playoff would also be in place in 2014 and 2015, at which point the broadcast rights contract expired and a different format could be considered.

SARU president Oregan Hoskins said the decision to include an Eastern Cape franchise in the Super Rugby tournament was first made in 2005, but was twice postponed.

“All rugby provinces have been consistently in support of the need for an Eastern Cape team in the Super Rugby competition,” Hoskins said.

“We made a commitment to the Kings to include them in 2013 and rugby has delivered on that commitment.

“The franchise represents more clubs than any other region — apart from the Stormers — and contains numerous leading rugby schools.

“It has been starved of top-class rugby competition for a decade-and-a-half and now it has the chance to show what it can do.”

105 Responses to Super Rugby: Breaking News – Kings in Lions out!

@ Lion4ever:
    The decision to stay at CC Park was not based soley on the naming rights issue which if my memory serves me correctly ends next year anyway. There were a number of factors to consider.

1. The Lions own their own stadium, even though the land it is on is leased for a niminal sum. Therefore they do not pay for the pleasure of playing there. If they moved to the FNB they would have to pay a negotiated fee.

2. The GLRU offices and trsining facilities are located at the JHB Stadium, a mere stones throw from CC Park. They would not have that luxury at FNB and so would have to arrange such OR RENT THEIR EXISTING FACILITIES from the city of JHB.

3. Where do the players and GLRU employees live? I can gaurantee you that the majority of them do not live in the South, which would in itself create problems with forcing employees to move locations and the possible CCMA and associated nonsence that goes with it.

4. Where do the majority of the supporters live? FNB would in all likelihood prove a short term hit with fans for a while, after which the crowds would dwindle to what they have been for the last 5 – 8 years or maybe even worse. As an aside I have an aquantence with a sports tour operator (for fans) situated in Cape Town who feels that EXACTLY that will ha[[en shpuld WP move to the Cape Town Stadium.

5. The biggest consideration for the GLRU was undoubtedly the suite holders. They are by far the biggest single source of match day income for the Union, and the number and COSTS of suites were probhibitive. Couple with that the VERY expensive catering and drinks costs that suite holders would have to pay and it all became a no brainer.

6. The last consideration was (I believe) that the GLRU have agreed to partner with the City Of Johannesburg in it’s efforts in the regeneration of the inner city. I don’t know when you last drove through JHB during a working day, but I can tell you it puts Ekhuruleni and Pretoria to shame in terms of its cleanliness and lack of street vendors.

So, the decision to stay at CC Park was not taken lightly. Of that you can be sure.

This is indeed a sad day for me personally, as well as (IMO) SA Rugby.

It’s easy to point fingers at SARU and swear at them and call all sorts of people names as I have seen elsewhere on the web today, but lets look at some facts.

True, SARU cannot be trusted. That has been shown over and over in years gone by. I have only had the pleasure of Mr Hoskins company on 2 occasions, but on both of those occasions he made commitments that he had absolutely no intention to honour, and made absolutely no attempt to do so. In other words he lied to me and those with me. He is therefore a liar.

He stated that the Kings participation would not be at the detriment of any of the other franchices. AGAIN HE LIED.

Having said that, if I can see through the man, why can’t the Lions management? Did they honestly believe that SARU would honour that statement

There is a historical precendence in SA Rugby that teams don’t get relagated (or promoted) automatically, they have to contest a “promotion / relegation” game to decide the matter.

This is different to Rugby in places like Europe. Up there, if you’re in the relegation zone, you go down. As simple as that.

Let’s face it, the Lions, MY LIONS have been piss poor for over a decade. I’ve even stated previously on this forum that they don’t deserve to be in the competition, and even based on last years Currie Cup win, I still believe that thery’re not good enough to be competetive in Super Rugby.

The GLRU / Lions Rugby (PTY) LTD have had this sword of Damaclese hanging over their head for 6 YEARS. Yje first occasion they were supposed to give way, a shares deal was done and they survived, only to continue in the competition with ABSOLUTELY NO SUCCESS WHATSOEVER.

I was proud to have been actively involved in forcing change at the GLRU FROM WITHIN THE STRUCTURES, leading to the election of Kevin de Klerk and a new Exco’ on 29th July 2009, but to say that I have been bitterly disappointed since would be an understatement.

Poor contracts. Even poorer court cases fighting the poor contracts. Constant poor Super Rugby performances. Constant poor press. Poor media relations. Clubs totally disillusioned with the Union. Poor financial results. Poor grass roots development. “Firing” of coaches by e-mail, and now relegation without even a whimper.

FFS, the GLRU website has a development report on it from 2010, and an advert for a new CEO that closed on 24th February 2012.

My poor Lions friends and supporters, I had hoped that the Lions / GLRU would have cleaned up their act and started operating their business as PROFESSIONALS, unfortunately not!

Maybe they’re just not cut out to be in the world of Professional Sports.

Don’t be surprised if there are wholesale changes at Exco and management level in the months to come, because one thing’s for sure, the current lot in charge have failed their fans, employees, sponsors and players miserably.

It’s a long road back from here.

And that dear friends is my 10c worth.

Now, isn’t there a professionally run sport on TV to watch? Oh yes the World Darts Championship.

Lions had their chances, knew what was coming. Cheetahs also don’t belong in super rugby. Stagnation year in, year out. Kings will be a breath of fresh air. Will get whipped, but luckily more points for SA teams as we will play them home and away. Even the useless Cheetahs. Guaranteed 8 points.

Phweeeeew….

I’m not happy about this!

… and you can be sure that we have not seen the end of it yet, like TonyM says, there might be hardfought battles yet about this one… should the SA Super Rugby pie and all it’s ancillary broadcasting and other revenue not be split 6 equal ways…

… even if it is, how will MTN and the Lions sponsors and financial backers react now?

Wow man!

I see Catrakilis has signed for the Southern Kings… wise move to play Super Rugby, but is it so wise in the long run if the Franchise is going to be pummelled every weekend…

Demitri Catrakilis is a star player and the Southern Kings have signed him as he is a match winner, tournament winner & Cup winner and games these days are won by a point or two and Catrakilis is the proverbial sharpshooter and displays profound character and sportsmanship.

He should have signed a year agreement with an option to renew depending where the Southern Kings lie in the SA conference of 5 teams in June 2013.

65 @ TonyM:
    I rate Demetri Catrakilis highly… and said the other day that the way WPRU has been treating him, we could expect a move to another Union soon… and here it is.

65 @ TonyM: I thought that the idea was to unearth, develop and or bring back EP talent, not to but ex-Joburgers via the WP?

Where is all the talent that is mean’t to be in / come from the EP? Are all the big name stars that have been mentioned going to return to PE to play under Puke and his old man?

According to Graeme Joffe, WP and Free State voted against the Lions

Loosehead – of course that was the plan.

1. Whip EP rugby, Border rugby and SWD into shape – performance wise by winning the ABSA First Division (nearly there)

2. Transform & establish an Academy – way off this goal

The problem really that I keep on about is that there HAS to be an international televised tournament for the team sitting out inn 2013, 2014 & 2015. There is none of this.

Secondly what is the goal for 2016-2020? A Super 18 with three conferences of 6 teams each with the the 3 top teams advancing to a knockout or roundrobin.

This decision is fundamentally flawed and disadvantages the Southern Kings (Border, EP & SWD)as well as the Lions (Lions, Pumas & Leopards) as no young player can establish playing goals or seek out a place in a team that is to play international rugby for longer than a year.

Then there is the matter – that I suppose – will be argued that the talent playing their rugby in the Eastern Cape in 2012 will in all likelihood be overlooked to seek out a quickfix to win some games against 14 seasoned and battle hardened SuperRugby teams. The physical onslaught will be unlike anything these chaps have experienced and will be brutal.

Multiple losses for the Southern Kings will see the black rugby talent and supporters turn their backs on the very team that is purportedly supposed to represent them and the area.

Instead the coaching set up is populated by Kiwis – which in my view is a total anathema and a terrible slight on all South African rugby coaches who are available.

Then if there is the promotion relegation factor that is accepted by all that the teams will be judged on performance from 2013-2015, why then would this not apply to a promotion/relegation series in 2012 to play in 2013 – after which there can be no arguments that the better team advances.

You do development at lower levels not at bloody Super Rugby. Then there is the Booooooooooooooo crowd who reminds me of the Tahs and their crowd

@ BokJan For Kicks:

WP and free State cause of the,as I thought (my post #38 above).

Don’t know why I, but I suspected it because of the characters involved in the management of these two unions.
    Also, WP might see this as an opportunity to off-load some of their ‘excess’ players in the EP (loan) for a year in order to allow them some game time (as they used to do with Boland/SWD). WP/Boland/SWD have always been closeknit rugby brotherhood traditionally and geographically, many of WP’s young players hail from those areas and the Border/EP (just go check the first year enrolment register at Ikeys or Maties).
    Free State? Well, perhaps they intended to covered their arse in case they end up last – they’d obviously rather play the Kings in a relegation shoot-out than any other SA team.

And that’s why I suspected they went for it. Just my instinctive reaction at the time…..

@ Piet-Springbok-Jan:
    Replace mistypped first sentence as follows, please (eishhh!,this new laptop also on the blink, have to edit all the time):

“See my post 38 above”.

Some typo’s further down as well, I see, sorry.

Why would the Cheetahs worry about relegation when that is a problem between the Kings and Lions?

Luke Watson salary is million. The highest in the country!

@ TonyM:

Looking at the boys from EP, SWD and especially Border at every Craven Week, there must be a huge pool of talent down there.
    What happens to these okes after school, I wonder?
    (You may recall, our first Craven Springbok came from Border, Andy van der Wath, the ‘Stellenbosch Express’. So did Springbok captains Basil Kenyon and Hannes Marais….and so on).

Something must be done to unlock this talent for the sake of South African rugby – apart from the politically popular ‘black development agenda’.
    How?
    Through this Kings concept being orchestrated politically and managed by an opportunistic, controversial ‘wannabee black rugby ambassador’ like our old friend Cheeky?
    I don’t think so bru’…….

@ 7andaBokJan:

You’re right, aplogies! I should have said the Cheetahs ensured that they won’t end at the bottom and then have to play the Lions.

Btw, welcome on RT, I don’t think we have met before, have we?

Vaaljan?
    Ashley, is dit jy!!!! Ek het laas jou onder daai naam in die Rapport gesien na die Voldy-berig.

Maljan onder die hoenders daar by on-line, ek maak nie kop of gat uit wie is nou wie nie.

62 @ Scrumdown:

Reading that post really is sad buddy. After last year’s Currie Cup win by the Lions I really thought they would turn it around in Super Rugby this year. Your team had so many injuries and that alone never helped. Now Joburg without a Super Rugby team just does not seem right.

I follow Scottish Football and there Rangers one of the two best teams for as long as I can remember in Scotland, have now been relegated to the 3rd division. Seems unthinkable that happened, but there they are in the 3rd division and they will climb back up I have no doubt, it will take a few years no doubt, but it is their supporters that suffer too. And Scottish football will suffer with them being in the 3rd division. Much like Joburg will suffer not having a Super Rugby team. Though Lions will get back to playing Super Rugby I am sure of that. It is their supporters for now too, that suffer this relegation. Also what will happen to your players? That must be of concern too.

I wish your union well and really hope when they do come back to Super Rugby they become on of our best. I hope they prove everyone wrong here.

Good luck mate. Just don’t give up on your team. They need your support.

Scrumdown, thanks. I know that there was a heck of a lot more to staying at Ellis Park, than just the naming rights. I know for me, Soccer City is about 10 minutes closer than Ellis Park. I have not been in Joburg since the beginning of the year, but even then it was looking good. Some work still needs to be done in the Hillbrow/Joubert Park areas. But if GLRU is working with the city council to improve the area, is that not a great transformation goal, given the current demographics?

63 @ Rugbyprof,
    Define your concept of stagnation? The general consensus is that the Cheetahs have improved annually in the Super 15. The only team that has consistently put them to the sword was the Bulls. Their level of competition vs the overseas sides, and the other SA franchises has been good. They even did well on tour.

As for the Lions, I don’t think many franchises would have done much better than the Lons given their injuries, and depth. That their administration has been a shambles is correct.

Replacing the Lions, with an even weaker team, that cannot win the 2nd division of the CC, and haven’t managed in the past years to gain promotion to the CC is hardly a rugby solution.

The Kings will never make the step up in a year, and Cheeky has been duped, beaten at his own game. SARU did gaurentee the Kings participation, but now they have to stay there. In the past 6 years of EC rugby, they haven’t managed to progress, yet teams like Griquas, KLeopards, and Pumas, who all face similiar challenges, have.

Blah blah blah, “black pearl heaven” Most of the talent there will still rather move to high profile unions rather than play for a politically tainted union.

The Lion King is dead, long live the King.

Super rugby is more than just participation, it’s the marketing, administration, contracting and coaching. Time will tell, but I doubtwe will ever hear of the Kings after 2015, unless SANZAR get the expansion, and even then the promo/relegation could see the Pumas, or Griquas could conceivably overtake the Kings

piet_springbok_jan @ 77
    my probleem ook. meeste ouens sn is redelik maklik, maar wie de Censored is 7andebokjan?

@ PumaSpringbokJan:
    I gave up my team….the moment ‘Kleinbraaksel’ Watson started captaining them,,,,faaark that, I couldn’t support a team under leadership of that little vomiting arsehole. Lost a lot of WP friends in the process, but so be it.

@ jan_vaaljan_die_springboksupporter_jan_uhm_jan!:
    Wetie, sal nou sien.
    Dink dis een van ons ou maters, anders sou hy eers ‘hello’ gese het en nie sommer net ingeval het hier nie.
    Mense is deesdae baie respekvol hier op RT vandat ou GBS so vinnig knorrig en moerig raak…

piet @ 83
    ek dink ou gbs is knorrig en moerig gebore!! :New-Arrival–Baby-Boy:

73 @ 7andaBokJan:Because Cheetahs know they won’t come last next year, and have to play the relegation match/es (I hear that it may consist of 2 matches)

BJFK
    thanks!

@ BokJan For Kicks:

Klein goddelose wetter! He had me puzzled there for a while.

hahahaha
    het julle Stormersboy se nuwe nic gesien?

Must admit I dont get it, forget all the politics, and speculations. To my simple mind, it was a very simple solution, Kings play Lions, winner goes to Super 15, loser does not, but as I say I have a simple mind 🙂

Total 22 users including 0 member, 22 guests, 0 bot online