Springboks 36 / 27 England (Final score)

South Africa and England did battle in the Second Test at Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg at 17:05 SA Time.

This was the live match discussion Article.

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

An effervescent Springbok side built up enough of a lead with 3 first half tries to keep the English winless in the series, which SA have now secured.

Man Of The match: JP Pietersen

The English can take heart from a spirited comeback that got them within 4 points of the Boks with less than 10 minutes to play. Their forwards particularly took the game to the Bokke in the second stanza who seemed to be somewhat disrupted by the substitution, both forced and tactical.

• Penalties – 3 (Morne Steyn)
  • Drop Goals – 1 (Morne Steyn)
  • Tries – 4 (Willem Alberts) (Bismark du Plessis) (Francois Houghaard) (JP Pietersen)
  • Conversions – 2 (Morne Steyn)

England:

• Penalties – 2 (Toby Flood)
  • Tries – 3 (Toby Flood) (Ben Youngs-2)
  • Conversions – 3 (Toby Flood)

South Africa: 15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Werner Kruger, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Bjorn Basson.

England: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 11 David Strettle, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (captain), 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler.
Replacements: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Alex Corbisiero, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Owen Farrell, 22 Alex Goode.

Date: Saturday 16 June
Kick-off: 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT)
Venue: Coca Cola Park (Ellis Park), Johannesburg
Expected weather conditions: Sunny with a high of 12°C, dropping to 2°C – a crisp Highveld winter’s day.
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Simon McDowell (Ireland)
TMO: Iain Ramage (Scotland)

279 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs England – Live Game Article

1 2 3 10

GO BOKKE!!!!!!! Bokke by at least 10!

Goooooooooo Bokke!

Goooooooooo Sletsappies, Jeagie Bombs, Engeltjie Piepie…. yellowtails, crayfish…. barra bing ting ting!

GOOOOOO BOKKE!

Moer die Pommies stukkend, Bokke! Klap hulle laat die snot spat en die bloed vloei. Let them cry and weep for their mommies, show them no mercy and make them tremble in anguish when thinking of this day. Woe unto them … and bring up the 50 points!

OK fellas… enjoy the rugby… and Goooooooo Bokke!

With Pietman & Kickers here, with their womenfolk (and Kicker’s kids), we won’t be blogging during the game, so it’s in your hands Turky, Oompie Puma, Kitaartjie, Bos_Otter, Srumdown and all the other wonderful rugby-talkers to go absolutely ape shit and let the comments rain down on this thread!

Scrumdown will be your CAPTAIN for this Article, steering the rugby-talk ship in the right direction.

Turky, especially you…. I’m counting on you to let the comments rain down, a plenty!

We’ll have a dreary old evening here…. just a few yellowtail on the braai, a number (as yet unknown) of perfectly legal crayfish on the braai… hooligan juice a plenty… spare a thought for the suffering we have to endure…. hahahaha

Ok Bossman. Enjoy yourselves. Wish I could be there. Am here in Italy in my shorts sweltering in 35 degree heat. I’ll sommer invent some comments and look for skoor with Bidibi. But don’t worry, won’t upset the other Rugby Talkers too much.

You better leave the Cape with your mark well and truly stuck there for time eternity.

It’s damn cool here in JHB, and the temp’ at kickoff is expected to be ±5°c. Max’ all day was 16, so by the end of the game it should be around 2°c.

Welcome to sunny and warm JHB!!!

Boks must not be complacent and underestimate the Poms. Take the points on offer every time. Hougie must not be permitted to take the quick tap. We can’t afford to rest on a lead. No lead is big enough. Full concentration for the entire match until the final whistle, not a second before. Maintain discipline, patience and concentration and this Bok team should come away with a solid win. Go Bokke!!

The Coke Tin sold out, and with no rain expected it should be just about full. Should be a great atmosphere for the Boks, and I think a bit of an eyeopener for the Poms.

England coming out.

Bokke onto the field to a tumultuous welcome.

A moments silence for Mof Myburgh and Willem Barnard, both former Boks. RIP ou grootes.

Anthems.

Bokke ! Speel voluit manne, van die afskop af.

@ bdb:
    Bidibi, we on the same side now mate, but does it mean we can’t still fight with each other?

Geez, but we have a beautiful anthem! A little tear in my eye there…

Hallo maaikies….sien ek is net betyds tuis vir die game

Game on!

Look how quick Hougie is to pass the ball this time

strong opening moments from SA.

9 phases so far…

England defense holding well.

dammmm

19@ bos_otter:
    Good to see.

Habs spills it just short.

1st scrum.

Darn it, Habs just short of the line and ball knocked on. Scrum to England.

15: van dat my span in pienk speel, baklei ek nie meer nie, nou net vrede en liefde.

Maar teen die Engelse is dit oorlog !

Goeie begin, jammer vir die knock.

TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

England sleeping as the ball went straight through.

lol….mooi WA

Waahaha! Alberts picks up the ball squeezed out of the scrum and runs in unopposed!

1 2 3 10

Total 67 users including 0 member, 67 guests, 0 bot online