The exciting young Toyota Cheetahs flyhalf, Johan Goosen, has been ruled out of rugby for four months so he will miss the rest of the Super Rugby season, the Junior Wolrd Cup and any inclusion in the Springbok senior side for the June Tests as well as for the Castle Rugby Chamionship against New Zealand, Australia and Argentina, due to injury.

Johan Goosen freakily injured his right hand shoulder (the arm he carried the ball in) in Bloemfontein on Saturday in the unfortunate loss for the Toyota Cheetahs against the Highlanders in their Super Rugby clash, in the act of scoring a Cheetahs try. The injury appeared to be a hyper-extension of the shoulder and a possible shoulder dislocation, with no other player falling on or over that shoulder.

He was stretchered off in the match when the Cheetahs were leading 30 / 9 and had to sit on the sidelines and watch on as the Cheetahs allowed the Highlanders to come back and take the match 36 / 33.

Goosen confirmed via his Facebook Page that he will miss the rest of the Super Rugby season.

“Thanks for all the messages, appreciate it! ”

“I am out for four months,” said Goosen.

This of course impacts on his participation and representing the Baby Bokke in the IRB Junior World Cup in June, having been picked in the squad.

Many pundits also believed that Johan Goosen was destined to represent the Springboks senior side in the upcoming June Tests against England and later against the All Blacks, Wallabies and Pumas in the new Castle Rugby Championship (replacing the Tri-Nations Tournament).

At the time of his injury Goosen was the leading points scorer in Super Rugby for the 2012 season, with 145 points, 17 more than the Vodacom Bulls flyhalf Morné Steyn.

What is even more worrying is that Goosen’s previous shoulder injury a few weeks ago was to the left hand shoulder, which basically means that both of Goosen’s shoulders are prone to injury and weakened in the process. Part of Goosen’s rehabilitation process should therefore focus on strenghening both shoulders, not only to recover from this injury but to fix both shoulders in such a way that it will not be a hamper for the remainder of his rugby career, which we all hope is a long and very industrious one.

39 Responses to Super Rugby: Johan Goosen out for 4 months

Goosen’s shoulder has been bothering him a while now, just a couple of weeks ago he was out injured with a shoulder injury… and I hope this injury is on the same shoulder and not the other previously healthy one.

Whatever the situation, this is a severe blow to the Cheetahs and to SA Rugby in general.

I was looking forward to see Goosen in the Baby Bokke as well as included in Heyneke Meyer’s Springbok squad.

Big, big pity!

Truth is that this type of injury doesn’t just go away.

It’ll be with the young man forever, and will in all likelihood have an adverse effect on his carreer.

Don’t know who’ll be Morne Steyn’s understudy against England now.

2 @ Scrumdown:
    Hello,

Watching the footage now I see that it is Goosen’s right shoulder which was injured in the dive for the try on Saturday…

The previous injury was to his left shoulder… I clearly remember that.

This basically means he now has 2 weak shoulders…

This is worse than I expected… far worse!

(Atricle amended accordingly)

I really feel for the guy, heres hoping he comes back stronger

2 @ Scrumdown:
    As expected… and this happened last night… a lot of Stormers supporters suddenly suggest that Peter Grant should now be the logical first choice for Bokke flyhalf or at worst as backup to Johan Goosen (last night before we knew Goosen was out for 4 months).

I cannot agree with that.

Peter Grant is playing well, attacking well, distributing well, defending well…. but he has a severe shotcoming and that is that he does not get distance on either his line kicks and neither can he slot long penalties at goal (his effective range is very short).

To me that is a cardinal problem, therefore steering me elsewhere in stead and looking at alternates I’m left with Lambie and Elton Jantjies at flyhalf… but they have their clear weaknesses too.

Elton Jantjies is a liability on defence, there is no getting around that, as Kickers pointed out this weekend.

Patrick Lambie is not such a dead shot at goal and in my opinion (strange action in bending the ball to posts when he kicks) and is better suited at fullback, where ( at fullback) I’ll either select him or Joe Pietersen or Jaco Taute for the Bokke.

…. but watch now how Heyneke Meyer will be attacked for Bulls bias, when he selects Morné Steyn as first choice flyhalf…

As long as they can find a good kicker at FB, I have no problem with Grant at F/Half – and shoot me for the bias. I think he would do well against England only. I wouldn’t want him for any other side, but because of the way the poms play, I think he would be perfectly suited to the game. He is the nearest thing to Henry Honibal, playing a similar ‘in your face’ kind of game, which I think, is what we need against the poms. The 3 tests are going to be all about attrition, there won’t be any pretty stuff. He would make a good impact player in my view, as long as we have a good kicker.

If the Goose was not injured, and not off with the babyboks, and Jantjies could tackle, and Sias was on form (nothing to do with last nights kick, he has been short on form this season), then I wouldn’t be saying this.

But when all said and done, it will be Lambie, and I don’t really have a problem there either

Oh, and I don’t think anyone will have a problem with Meyer picking Steyn – as long as it’s only temporary! Hahaha

5@ grootblousmile:
    Morne Steyn is the ONLY choice at 10.

Having thought long and hard over the last few weeks the problems that I see for Meyer are:

1. No STRONG tighthead prop. Doc du Plessis will be Ok v the English, but is not the long term answer.
    2. Inside centre has no real strong contender in SA. If Frans Steyn returns I’d play him, with maybe JPP at 13.
    3. Who to pick in the loose trio? Spoilt for choice.
    4. Who to pick as 1st choice hooker? Bismark not having a great season IMO. Strauss, Liebenberg and Chilliboy all playing well.
    5. Where to play Houghaard. (Not sure if he’s better than Vermaak, van Zyl or Sarel Pretorious, but should be in the team somewhere.

I expect the team against the English for the 1st test to have a very clear blue tinge about it, and in all honesty I don’t have a big problem with that.

If it’s a 50/50 call between a Bulls player and another I would EXPECT HM to pick the Bulls player, if only because of the personal relationships between the coaching staff and players.

My Bok side for the first England test as it stands now.

(Sensored due to the personal nature of the issue.)

For what it’s worth, (probably not a lot) I’d have A Strauss as my first choice hooker AND CAPTAIN.

8 @ Scrumdown:
    Strange, I was thinking of naming my Bok starting side too… and then withheld it… hehehe

I’m also not sure that the younger Jantjies brother is the best choice after Goosen for the Baby Boksd either.

10@ grootblousmile:
    Slap it up for a laugh, and I’ll give you my (red tinged?) Bok side.

9 @ Scrumdown:
    Adriaan Strauss is a former Bulls player and played a lot under Heyneke Meyer, so they know each other very well…. and I would not be surprised if Heyneke names him captain.

I would not be against it either!

Argh what the hell… think I should maybe put an Article up calling on the bloggers to name their choice of starting Bokke 15… with their No 2 in that position right next to each first choice name.

@ Scrumdown:interesting that HM said when he was chosen as coach that, if it was a 50/50 decision for a Bulls player or other franchise, he probably wouldn’t choose the Bulls player, so it will be interesting to see what he does.

I think the Bully boys are a bit paranoid about HM and his potential choices. I don’t think we will be upset at whoever he chooses to be quite frank, as long as they are clearly the best players in his opinion. I think that HM is very articulate, and he will be able to explain any decision he takes.

I do however feel very strongly that we don’t let GBS get too far ahead of himself. We all know that Steyn, currently, is the best choice F/H, but lets not tell him that, we really need to string him along a bit!

14 @ Just For Kicks:
    Fark you, wine fly!

Fark… we would clobber each other silly if we had to be put in one room and choose a Bokke side…. I would bring a baseball bat and a pistol with, just to make sure my choices prevail…. hehehe

16@ grootblousmile:
    And I’d bring my Kempies Bike Gang!!!!!!!!!!!

17 @ Scrumdown:
    Hehehe… careful, they’ll moer you first…

16@ grootblousmile:Would make for an interesting comedy show, thats for sure!!!

13@ grootblousmile:
    Let’s rather get all of the authors to do a joint article giveing their opinions on all of the SA Super Rugby sides, where they all stand at the halfway mark, who the Bok contenders are from each side and why, and then their Bok side at this moment in time.

The bloggers can then rip us to pieces and post their Bok sides.

Should make for some interested and heated debate as well as push the hits up a bit.

18@ grootblousmile:
    I (and the Captain) give the orders in this neck of the woods.

GBS, I think you should advertise a date and time for an open forum. We all post our Bok team at that forum, then we all moer each other stukkend online!!

20 @ Scrumdown:
    Man, to get the Authors to contribute alone, would be a massive task.

Maybe the 3 of us should do a joint one… to be ripped to shreds…

14@ Just For Kicks:
    The arguement doesn’t make sense.

If a player knows ALL of the coaching staff and is comfortable, and its a 50/50 call, that player should get the nod IMO.

Just makes more sense for a harmonious bunch of campers.

23@ grootblousmile:
    OK, go for it.

When should we be finished to post the article?

22 @ Just For Kicks:
    Yip, maybe a “Moer-My Thread”… and then I open the Blog up for ALL to comment, not only registered bloggers

25 @ Scrumdown:
    Fark, let’s get the format of the Article sorted first….

Watchit… ek moer jou sommer NOU!

Guys, got to shoot home. “Her indoors” has ordered that I must light a fire and burn some cow for the visitors from the Southern Kings area.

I’ll be up again in about an hour.

GBS, shout if you want my 5c worth on MY Springbok side.

28 @ Scrumdown:
    OK…. speak later, Biker

27@ grootblousmile:
    If I recall correctly, (and I’m sure I do) the only thing you “MOERED” in recent times was a tree with your Blik Met Wiele.

Chat shortly.

Total 27 users including 0 member, 27 guests, 0 bot online