The Stormers have received a massive blow with the news that centre and captain Jean de Villiers has injured ligaments in his hand.

Sport24

According to Die Burger, there are fears that De Villiers could be out for a couple of months, which will also be a big blow to the Springboks who play England in a three-Test series in June.

De Villiers was expected to play in Bok coach Heyneke Meyer’s team with Meyer indicating on Monday he will look for experienced players when picking his team to face the English.

Wing Danie Poolman boarded a plane for Australia on Monday to replace De Villiers.

The Stormers are busy preparing to face the defending champions, the Reds, in Brisbane on Friday.

De Villiers’s absence leaves Stormers coach Allister Coetzeewith a tough decision, as regular captain Schalk Burger is also currently sidelined with a knee injury and only expected back in May.

Andries Bekker is the Stormers’ vice-captain but he injured his lower back against the Crusaders and will miss the clash against the Reds.

Eightman Duane Vermeulen, hooker Tiaan Liebenberg and scrumhalf Dewaldt Duvenage are the other leaders in the group who could be considered for captain.

23 Responses to Super Rugby: Jean de Villiers out for up to two months

Eish, this is a huge blow, I feel not only was he coming back into some form, but he was a great captain – far better than Burger or Bekker.

There was some feeling that some of the top players should have been rested for the last clash, to rest them and to make sure that we would/could win the last two matches on tour. I disagreed, saying that I wanted to see the best rugby, not some second rate match. Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but if we had rested Vermeulen, Bekker, de Villiers and co., this wouldn’t now be an issue. But, hey, ho, thats life, and the game must go on!

Gio Aplon and Nick Koster both ok to play this w/end

Wow… in 1 week the injury bogey has really hit the Stormers hard.

Agree that Jean de Villiers made a fine captain.

Hahaha, absolute classic – Peter de Villiers says that he’s approached SARU over a possible role of working with club coaches, strangely, he says that he hasn’t heard back from them yet over his proposal! “I feel a bit useless at the moment. Sitting back home & nobody shows interest in trying to draw from experience that I do have.”

Very bad news for the Stormers and Boks.

4@ Just For Kicks: I heard it on the radio too, the man doesn’t seem to understand that he is not much of a coach.

6@ Loosehead:Hmmmm, not sure, but maybe, just maybe, the reason he feels so useless, is because he is just sitting at hame. Maybe if he got off his dainty behind, and got out there and did something, he wouldn’t feel so useless. I am sure there are loads of clubs/teams that would value his input and services. I personally know of one little fairly unknown club who have been losing staff left right and centre through disease, famine and higher callings, who would love his input – call it charity work, it would look great on his C.V.

If you or any other blogger could find it within themselves to help out the club concerned financially, all donations would be greatly accepted at their offices. They’re called the Blue Bulls

England will play two midweek tour matches in SA, against a South Barbarians side in Kimberley and a Northern one in Potchefstroom – Wednesday, 13 June: SA Barbarians South v England, Kimberley .. and .. Tuesday, 19 June: SA Barbarians North v England, Potch.

jfk @ 7
    lmao

7@ Just For Kicks: Wise words there Kicker.
    He would be an excellent member of the Bulls staff. He has VAST international experience, he speaks Afrikaans, he can coach the forwards, backs, defense and be manager as well as press spokesman. The Bulls are losing 5 coaching / managerial positions and he could fulfill them all.

5 for the price of 1, not even a Chinese Nock Off Shop can match that.

8 @ Just For Kicks:
    Mmmm, so they will have 2 preparation matches under the belt before facing an icy cold Bokke team for the First Test…. eishhhhh

Hmmmm, you guys ARE desperate to try and water down the Bulls, are’nt you!

@ grootblousmile:No, we are generous sports fans, always eager to come to the rescue of our ailing partners. Willing to help and offer assistance wherever possible. Able to offer vast intellectual capacity when required, just look at Loosie, Ash and myself. We’re your men. Where would the Bulls be without us?

Exclusive, just in from sportbilly – sportbilly.co.za.

In an unexpected move Heineken Meyer has announced that he will bring back the controversial ‘Springbok trial’ game before the test series against England kicks off in June. Meyer was quoted as saying that players would have a chance to play their way into the Springbok team and that these trials matches are a great way of establishing the first choice players in each respective position. The first of these ‘tests’ will be held on the Wednesday before England arrive in South Africa.

When Meyer was probed as to the thinking behind this he replied, ‘I need to make sure that the players I select are ready to play at the highest level.’.

The first trial will see the current Springbok incumbents take on a team called the SupeBoks which will be made up of commentators from the Supersport studios. Meyer insisted that, ‘These guys are the brains behind rugby in this country and I’m looking for players who can talk the walk as well as walk it.’.
    Early indications are that Victor Matfield will captain the SupeBoks and the first of their ‘think tanks’ will be held in the Supersport Randburg studios this week. Meyer announced the following squad to do duty.

15. Stefan Terblanche 14. Ashwin Willemse 13. Gcobani Bobo 12. Errol Tobias 11. Breyton Paulse 10. Naas Botha 9. John Robbie 8. Bob Skinstad 7. Warren Brosnihan 6. Rob Louw 5. Victor Matfield (c) 4. Kobus Wiese 3. Robbie Kempson 2. Hanyani Shimange 1. Toks Van der Linde

16. Owen Nkumane 17. Pieter De Viliers 18. Nick Mallet 19. Joost Van der Westhuisen 20. Joel Stransky 21. Gavin Cowley 22. Arnold Geerdts

Meyer said the door was not closed to the likes of Hugh Bladen who was controversially left out due to disciplinary reasons. ‘Hugh knows what he has to do if he wants to be included. Unfortunately ‘drinking fitness’ wasn’t one of the criteria we were looking for. I know what I have in Arnold.’
    Meyer also defended his decision not to pick the up and coming Supersport comments man, Ryan Kankowski in the No.8 position, ‘Ryan needs more experience and Bob provides that. You just don’t throw away test commentary caps.’

The management of the SupeBoks would be headed up by Andy Capostagno. Meyer said, ‘As a former postman, Andy knows a thing or two about delivery. We are expecting a lot from him.’. It is understood that the squad to play against England will be chosen after the trial.

11@ grootblousmile:Yup, btw. the players will come from the Currie Cup 1st division teams, no S15 players will be used

jfk @ 14
    lol lol lol

14@ Just For Kicks:
    The Probables to play in Blue, the Possibles in Pink?

17@ Scrumdown:Hahaha. I see theres a campaign afoot for HM to bring back Danie Gerber for JdV – just short term, mind you. He should be fit enough, apparently he thought of cycling the Argus

Coach Allister Coetzee today named his team to take on the Reds on Friday night at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, in the teams’ third tour match.

There are 2 positional changes in the backline with Bryan Habana wearing the 13 jersey, partnering Juan De Jongh who moves inside in jersey 12. In addition, Gio Aplon returns from injury at 11.

There is only 1 change to the pack with De Kock Steenkamp partnering Eben Etzebeth at lock, in for the injured Andries Bekker.

In the only change to the bench, Koster returns from injury in jersey 18.

Jean De Villiers is on his way back to Cape Town after sustaining an injury to his left wrist against the Crusaders. De Villiers will not be available for the next two weeks and will undergo further assessment in Cape Town as to the prognosis and rehabilitation period.

Andries Bekker remains with the Stormers squad, whilst DHL WP winger, Danie Poolman, has been called up to join the squad in Australia.

“Injuries are part of Super Rugby and it’s the teams that are best able to cope with them, that will do well in this competition.” said coach Allister Coetzee. “Losing Jean is a setback but we have a lot of leadership options and I am confident in the depth we have available and as to the temperament and ability of this squad.”

Your DHL Stormers team to play is:

15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Bryan Habana, 12. Juan de Jongh, 11. Gio Aplon, 10. Peter Grant (VC), 9. Dewaldt Duvenage8. Duane Vermeulen (C), 7. Rynhardt Elstadt, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Reserves: 16. Deon Fourie, 17. Frans Malherbe, 18. Nick Koster,19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Burton Francis, 22. JP du Plessis

Referee: – Steve Walsh

Kick-Off: 11h40 (SA TIME) FRIDAY 20 APRIL.

Nog ‘n WP speler uit, JDV. Maar hy sou in elk geval nie plek bo WO gekry het op huidige vorm nie.

21@ bdb:W(h)O? Hehehe. Still a strong team, looking forward to Friday’s match, hopefully we’ll still give them a hiding

bidi @ 21
    bliksem!!??? hoe laat het jy begin drink? 😯

Total 95 users including 0 member, 95 guests, 0 bot online