Former World Cup winning Springbok and now Brumbies coach Jake White has fired a broadside at South African rugby as he prepares to embark on his South African tour.

Sport24

Speaking to the Sydney Morning Herald ahead of the Brumbies’ South African tour, White told his charges to expect plenty of mind-games and warned them against letting the hostile reception he anticipates at Loftus Versfeld to disturb their focus.

“Let me warn you it’s going to be massive, they’re going to go for me I’m going to tell you right now,” White said. “They’re going to try and unsettle the squad by having some sort of dig at me, whether it’s that I’ve deserted them … I don’t really know what they’ll try and do.”

“But they’ll use whatever they can, not only to bring more people to the stadium but also to promote the game and to harp up the whole thing,” he said.

White also told his inexperienced team to prepare themselves for a baptism of fire in SA and to prepare themselves mentally for the pressure.

“The reality is they’re going to a rugby nation now who love their rugby, and will do everything they can to make sure they put the opposition under fire.”

“Nothing untoward, nothing illegal, they just love their rugby, they want to win and will put pressure wherever they can. It’s something we have to handle, and that’s the uniqueness of going back to South Africa, as a South African coach, with a team that doesn’t understand it.”

White eagerly distanced himself from his nationality and was keen to emphasise his loyalty to Australian rugby.

“I’m going back to where I was born and where I coached, but my home now is Canberra…I don’t want them to think, as in the players, that I’m going home. My home is now here.”

21 Responses to Super Rugby: Jake, we really don’t care that much, you’re just paranoid!

Who is we?

Sounds like Jake the Snake is scared that the BBRU will be giving away 50 000+ Energade bottels at Loftus and invite Johannes Nel as their honorary member for this game… Jake, get over yourself! Devil

1@ rugbybal:I would hope, most South Africans. I would hope that just because he has gone to ply his trade else where that we don’t have a problem with that. If he comes back here, I don’t think anyone is going to go after him – ” they’re going to go for me I’m going to tell you right now”. I haven’t seen any bad words about him coaching the Brumbies, in fact, quite the opposite. To go and tell a newspaper that we are going to do so, is paranoia, is it not?

jfk
    had the same reaction when i read this on supersport yesterday evening … ok, maybe it was more like “wtf???” 😀

Yeah, I don’t know what he is on about. Let’s wait and see if he is right. I hope he is not. Let’s just play the game.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Bryan Habana, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Nick Koster, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 JP du Plessis.

rugbybal @ 5
    the only reaction i can think about
    is if
    GBS
    jump on his back and hump him.
    cant think of anyone else that would be either glad to see him or care enough to react!!

@ Ashley:
    hehe I have also always supported Jake. He is a fine coach and rugby man. He is already doing better than expected with the Brumbies, that is why most of the Jake haters are so quiet about him. Glad they didn’t consider him for the SA job though. GBS is right I feel so at ease with Heyneke at the helm.

rugbybal @ 8
    😀 he’s is doing quite well (give or take)
    but
    its his comments i cant understand!! must agree with jfk … he’s paranoid, nothing else!!

duane vermeulen to lead the stormers … o ***!! Sad duane vermeulen to lead the stormers … o ***!! Sad

It is just a bit of hype.

I don’t know what everyone is getting so excited about? He has said nothing wrong.

I’m Jake the Snake, deedley dumb, deedley dumb
    With the Swolen head, deedley dumb, deedley dumb

Fark the man has gone totally nuts!

He’s always had a big mouth… but seems he’s got an even bigger ego to match that freegin stupid mouth of his!

He’s a good coach…. but fark me sideways, I won’t waste my time to give him a freegin hard time, just because he has left SA to go coach in Aussie.

Not scared of his team either, it is just another Aussie side, who to rights should have also lost a game against the Cheetahs but did not due to a cheating freegin referee… which would have placed them solidly in the bottom third of the freegin Combined Log of the Competition.

loosehead @ 12
    i dont see anyone getting excited bru.

gbs @ 13
    “Fark the man has gone totally nuts!” …. no better way to put it!!

14 @ Ashley:
    I thought my “Deedley, dumb, deedley dumb” was even better!

gbs @ 15
    lol
    btw, have you seen #7?

Just heard an interview on ballz radio with PdV, it must be so kak to just be dumped out in the cold after having had such a profile job. I don’t care how bad he was as a coach, he’s still a person. I hope he finds his feet soon

jfk @ 17
    i thought that he somehow would be involved at boland. havent seen much of him after our wc exit!!

16 @ Ashley:
    Hey… watchit!

Ek steek jou hare aan die brand, dan moer jy jouself dood!

gbs @ 19
    lol

Gbs

Hou gaan dit!

Ref cheating in the brumbies game…how about the bulls and crusaders game! Another cheating ref that robbed the crusaders of points.

Total 89 users including 0 member, 89 guests, 0 bot online