Bulls (16) 61 / Reds (3) 8 (Final Score)

The Vodacom Bulls and Reds did battle in Super Rugby at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria at 17:05 SA Time.

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (3)
  • Tries – Zane Kirchner (1), Wynand Olivier (1), Flip van der Merwe (1), Jacques Potgieter (1), Jano Vermaak (1), CJ Stander (1), JJ Engelbrecht (1), Bjorn Basson (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (5), Louis Fouché (1)

• Penalties – Jono Lance (1)
  • Tries – Dom Shipperley (1)

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Wynand Olivier,  11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

Reds: 15 Rod Davies, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Jono Lance, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Luke Morahan, 10 Dallan Murphy, 9 Will Genia, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Beau Robinson, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Ben Daley.
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 James Slipper, 18 Radike Samo, 19 Van Humphries, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Nathan Eyres-Brown.

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Stefan Breytenbach (South Africa)

336 Responses to Super Rugby: Vodacom Bulls vs Reds – Live Game Article

1 2 3 12

Gee whiz, this year’s S15 is tighter than a wh@re’s purse strings! Just factored in the 4 points for a bye (still to accrue to some teams) and the Cheetahs are then on 11 points, and the table topping Chiefs are on 21! So after 5 rounds, there is 12 points between 1st and 15th!!

Still lots of rugby to be played, and loads of upsets no doubt! Given that the Cheetahs could have and should have beaten the Brumbies! All of a sudden the Cheetahs don’t seem that crap! The only team that really put them to the sword was the Bulls, who could go to a max of 19 points! 8 ahead of the Cheetahs!

Log with the Bulls vs Reds and Stormers vs Lions still to be played (bye points worked in) is as follows:

Highlanders 21
    Reds 17
    Stormers 16
    Canes 19
    Chiefs 18
    Brumbies 17
    Tahs 17
    Sharks 16
    Bulls 14
    Saders 14
    Cheetahs 11
    Blues 10
    Rebels 10
    Force 10
    Lions 9

And if the Cheetahs had squandered that bonus point, they would have dropped from 11th to 14th on points difference!

Bonus points are going to be crucial towards the end. Bulls should be able to move to 19, and Stormers could move to max 21!! Go Bulls, Go Stormers/Lions

Cool

@ Cheetah4eva:
    You can’t work in the bye as you’ve done above mate. The very purpose of giving 4 points for the bye is so all the teams are on a comparative footing at the same time. You have added in teams future bye points now already which would mean that they would have played an extra game vs the teams that have had their bye.
    I know it’s confusing, but just accept that the official log as is, is the best presentation of the situation. Just imagine if there had been no bye points – we would instead have teams with a game in hand. Therefore the bye points were introduced. You can’t therefore add the bye points to teams that have not yet had their bye. Capisch!

Hellooooooooooooooo

Go Bulle! Moer the Reds stukkend en klap hulle sommer rooi!

Go Bulls

@ grootblousmile:howzit, you all plugged into the hot seat?

Beeeeg game this one

Kobus, there are no ‘if’s’ in this game, the Bulls will play well, and they will give the Reds a good klap

Per your advice, I went for the Bulls by 23. If they lose, I may have to hunt you down and bury you permanently in your cellar.

6 @ Just For Kicks:
    No Kickers, alas, a couple of things happened and I could not go to Loftus…

… one of those things in life, I suppose…

Kom Bulle, groot wedstryd.

Right, admit it, which Bulls haters have picked the Reds?

I see the Reds are in their flowery shirts again

10@ grootblousmile:You see better from the arm chair…. Wink
    than at Loftus.hehehehe.

13@ grootblousmile:
    For a good cause, for some charity in Africa they said last week.

Hoop Sadie kry sy kans om ‘n goeie wedstryd in te kry.

Players coming out…

Stand up for the National Anthem of the Bulls!

9@ The_Young_Turk:If you can’t find me, you can always use your dog to sniff me out!!!

Eishhh, Kaplan

10@ grootblousmile:Oh well, I am sure your presence at the stadium will be sorely missed, but at least you can see it on your big screen

Damn, and i’ve just shot the mutt….

Reds kicking off

Fluck! No link yet. Anyone??????

Good initial burst by the Bulls… then a sloppy pass

Bulls steal the Reds ball, chip through, almost nice for Bjorn Basson

How is Dallan Murphy’s haircut – he gets the biscuit award for daft mullet of the day

@ Turk,
    Why the heck not, it was an hypothetical projection anyway! Stormers, Rebels, Lions, Brumbies and Chiefs etc have 4 points for a bye, and the teams like Cheetahs, Bulls and Sharks don’t! So the Log is skewed anyway! Only real reflection is to accrue 4 points to each team.

Regardless the point was, that the gap between 1 and 15 this year is much smaller than last year!

Go Bulle!!!!!!!

Bulls look fired up… couple of needless mistakes, but looking good

Has Hougaard been sniffing around the tattoo parlour on his days off?

Bulls scrum… let’s see how they go

1 2 3 12

Total 42 users including 0 member, 42 guests, 0 bot online