Lions (8) 28 / Hurricanes (14) 30 (Final Score)

The MTN Lions and the Hurricanes did battle in Super Rugby at Coca-Cola Park, Johannesburg at 19:10 SA Time.

• Penalties – Jaco Taute (1), Elton Jantjies (2)
  • Tries – Jaco Taute (1), Franco van der Merwe (1), Butch James (1)
  • Conversions – Elton Jantjies (2)

• Penalties – Beauden Barrett (5)
  • Tries – Andre Taylor (1), Dane Coles (1), Cory Jane (1)

Lions: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Doppies la Grange, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Michael Killian, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Joshua Strauss (captain), 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Marius Coetzer/Hendrik Roodt, 19 Cobus Grobbelaar, 20 Tian Meyer, 21 Butch James, 22 James Kamana/Lionel Mapoe.

Hurricanes: 15 Andre Taylor, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith (captain), 12 Tim Bateman, 11 Alapati Leiua, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Chris Eaton, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Jack Lam, 6 Faifili Levave, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben May, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Tristan Moran.
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu’u, 17 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Brad Shields, 20 TJ Perenara, 21 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 22 Charlie Ngatai.

Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Ben Crouse (South Africa)

278 Responses to Super Rugby: MTN Lions vs Hurricanes – Live Game Article

1 2 3 10

What are we braaing?

Hellooooooooooo

What’s happening at the Coke-Tin?

@ Loosehead: I will be putting a few sirloins on the coals during half time. Mitchells beer and red wine will be drunk.

2@ grootblousmile:
    Lights are on. some absolutely fantastic singer beating out a tune. Think it might be Bono.

Lions have been out running drills and warming up for 25 minutes.

‘Canes came out in dribs and drabs and all seem to be doing their own thing.

Quite a breeze from right to left up here in the stand, but the flags are limp down on the field.

Ah, Canes doing some co-ordinated drills now.

Just saw Taute put a kick over from the 15m line, 55m out. Reckon the Lions should give him more chances, but having said that, I never noticed Butch miss one at all.

3 @ Loosehead:
    Handbriekie came home just now…. she is gatvol, to say the least.

I’m soooooooooo glad I don’t have to suffer the Politics of Corporate life.

Too many side-shows and far too few people with brass balls!

Let the game begin and Lions roar…..gggrrrrrrrrr, GO LEEUWENS, kou hulle my welpies !!!!! Shout Let the game begin and Lions roar…..gggrrrrrrrrr, GO LEEUWENS, kou hulle my welpies !!!!! Slam-Dunk Let the game begin and Lions roar…..gggrrrrrrrrr, GO LEEUWENS, kou hulle my welpies !!!!! Shout Let the game begin and Lions roar…..gggrrrrrrrrr, GO LEEUWENS, kou hulle my welpies !!!!!

Sorry, double shout!

4 @ Scrumdown:
    Does not look like there are many people at the Coke-Tin…. is my assumption right?

5@ grootblousmile:
    Can’t take that BS either.

At least I know that if my boss is in a k@k mood, I have the goods to get the d00s out of it. (Provided there’s still money for mix of course)

6 @ Pietman:
    Pietman… when you insert the “Gesiggies”, they tend to go double or triple when using Internet Explorer… so before you publish, just Edit and delete the unnecessary stuff.

8@ grootblousmile:
    Stand on the camera side is starting to fill up. The family stand always seems empty for night games. 19h00 kick offs are just too late to bring the kids out IMO, and because that’s an alcohol free stand the die hards won’t sit there.

Only 22450 at the game last week. I reckon they might get to ±15K tonight if they’re lucky.

9 @ Scrumdown:
    Too true!

I’ve been working for myself now since 1989… and think I’d never be able to work for a boss again.

I’d either moer the DOOOOS the first day or tell them to get knotted!

Ciao a tutti!

12@ grootblousmile:
    I’ve just agreed to let someone work with me, but I don’t reckon he’ll be able to meet my standards.

When I was in Swaziland I told my PA to take a hike because she couldn’t write a letter to my standards.

Makes for too much sh1t work though.

11 @ Scrumdown:
    Well, 10 of the 15K will be there because of Rugby-Talk…

Ja, dis kuk, veral as jy n vrou van verkeerde kleur is….gister weer n dramatiese storie gehoor van PietVrou se vriendin innie Kaap, haar ‘mede-bestuurder’ werk halfdag vir meer geld, en so aan. Daai RDP en BEE is meesal sommer n ‘smoke screen’ vir bevordering van inkompotente fokk@l doenners.

13 @ The_Young_Turk:
    Hello Mr Fruit!

14 @ Scrumdown:
    I find it hell of a difficult thing to delegate work, simply because I know I can and would do it better myself.

It’s a bitch to be a perfectionist!

Vark, looks like the Feline dancers are stepping up their game a bit.

16 @ Pietman:
    Dit gaan juis onder andere oor die tipe kak… die fokkers van Human Resources daar by haar plek is BEE appointees, en saai net kak en hare.

Ek sal nie sulke kak vat nie, flok hulle!

Best man or woman for the job, irrespective of the hue of the skin… that’s what it should be about…. but unfortunately is’nt.

So they shout “Nepotism”, “Favouritism”… and whatever.

Ek sal so ou blaai laat hy omdraai en sy ouma vir ‘n eendvoël aansien!

Players coming out

Players coming out.

Come on Lions! Moer hulle stukkend! I bet my house on you!

Vark those yellow numbers on the Lions jerseys have to go.

Can’t see the k@k from where I’m sitting.

How do they look on TV?

game on

25 @ Scrumdown:
    I’m faster than you on the buttons…. hahaha

Turn over Canes.

Lions support too slow. But Canes too lateral.

3G v ADSL?

Penalty Canes… almost a good break out by the Lions

Hmm. Minne pinned early on.

Go Steve you good thing!

1 2 3 10

Total 20 users including 0 member, 20 guests, 0 bot online